(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

hippobab.. no worries lah.. dun take her words to heart.. like wat ahFat had said.. 1 ear in & e other out

i wana try GD programme on my ger... any 1 noes where to get those flashcards here?

Malc is drinking 180mL each time, about 4 feeds per day. But now, he is only taking 120mL - 140mL. He can tahan this amount of milk for 4 hour, the same duration for 180mL. Think I should not be worried. He is weighing 7 kg now.

Malc is also using Avent no. 2 teats now. If taking plain water, I will use no. 1 teats for him.

Yesterday, went to my IL's. My MIL was carrying Malc, then when Malc saw me and my hubby, he tried to lean forward, struggling, kicking and said "ang goo... ang goo..." From a smiling face to a crying one. Probably, he meant "mummy, daddy, please carry me!!!" So funny.

Ah fat, my cub clasps her hands together like Horoshi, but only to aim them at her mouth LOL.

It will be great if we can find out how much the GD cards cost in JB. Very siong to DIY leh...

Hello every1,

Weekend passes so fast..haha...

Chin, Darion looks v different fr the last pic u posted. V grown up now

Furry..where's ur gal's pic..hei hei.

Attaching 2 recent pics of boy also:

371148.jpg
371149.jpg

Aprilpinky..our boys' hairstyle v similar..
who does your boy look like more? Mummy / Daddy?

Babies sure grow up very quickly, dun they??

Furry..i suppose u will be weaning Rebecca when in SHA? Will u be giving her organic food..the brown rice etc? If so, think better stock up here - I am not sure whether it is easily available in SHA. I mean, there are lots of organic vege in Carrefour..but grains... I am not sure.

Chin, is it..haha..I find his hair v amusing..my mum calls it rooster head..gong ji tou..hahahaaa

His eyes like mine the rest like his daddy including his long eyelashes... yours leh

Hey talking abt weaning..i think will start to give boy porridge water in his 4th mth when he learns how to sit

My boy has my features..the eyes (right side bigger than left!)..flat nose..and mouth. But the face shape is daddy's. So at one glance, he actually looks like my hubby. Closer look, then look like me .

Ya lor..somehow the hair grow quicker on top. My friends call it the mohawk (is that how u spell it)..red indian style.

Hey..

Chin, I don't think I'll do the organic route with cubbie unless her PD suggests. I will probably just do fresh foods like purees with her.

Darion is very cute..hee

April, here is cub at 8 weeks

371168.jpg

Here she is at her first swim at 10 weeks

371169.jpg

Chin, Aprilpinky, furryfurry: OMG all your babies so CUTE!! feel like pinching their cheeks....

Celest, furryfurry: Feel free to pop by my place if you want to take a look at the GD programme.

Sigh... Nowadays dunno wat happen to Hiroshi, he used to be drinking 120ml FM 3 hourly.... But, nowadays, he keep rejecting his milk, and crying loudly, anyone encounter this b4??

hippobab: Personally when i use certain brand of wet wipes to wipe my neck area, it will redden & itch. so guess it depends on indv bb. For my boy, I use Johnsons & johnson wet wipes during each nappy change. But will wash the buttock at least twice a day in a bath tub with a few drops of lactacyd. (cos mine poo twice a day), feel that washing will b cleaner & less irritating then if i were to wipe at the anus opening. But s long s yr bb is not allegry to the wipes, guess it will b fine. Tell yr MIL the bags r clean cos there's moisturer in most wipes & thats y the bags will b clean. Not harsh chemicals.

furry: Cub went swimming at 10 wks? wow she looks like she had great fun. I'm tiking of brinign mine for a swim 14 weeks aledi. But my hubby prefers to do so only when bb turns 1 : (
Did Cub shiver? How long was the swim?

Ah fat, thanks for your offer...I have been looking around for the GD sets and they are REALLY so expensive. Still praying and thinking about whether to invest in the set or not...and depreciate it over 2-3 children LOL.

3rascals, yah...cubbie loves water and her bathe so we figured she'll like to swim. We slowly placed her in the pool and held onto her as she got used to the new "Environment". She didn't shiver or anything and we only let her in the water for 5-10 minutes. We went about 5pm in the evening. My husband was like yours, afraid that cubbie would get germs, sink etc etc...but now he's looking forward to our next "swim"

Hippobab, We also use J&J (they have Hypoallergic line as well, w/o scent) but at home we'll use water at times as well. I agree, just need to educate MIL to let her know that "new modern methods" of parenting is not necessary bad...and your son doesn't have nappy rash or a red bum right? so nothing to worry about

furry: wow, 10 weeks and brought for a swim already! how did cubbie like it? I planning to bring my girl for swim only at 6 months. Your cubbie very sweet-looking..

Chin and aprilpinky, my baby also has the gong ji tou, this big tuff of hair that stands up in the middle. But the prob is, she's a girl! dun look nice like this.haha. Chin, darion very well-dressed, where u got his clothes from?

when are u mummies intending to start ur baby on semi-solids? what to give them? Where to get recipes?

How do you mummies stimulate your baby? When baby is awake, all I do is to talk to her, let her see her toys and watch tv. I'm very blur about all the GD programmes, kindermusik, baby yoga etc thingys. I'm interested to learn more, but hubby says they're not necessary.

Meixue, thanks
Cubbie enjoyed the short "swim" experience.

I'm not intending to let Cubbie be exposed to the tv till she's 2 at least...so trying to find other ways to engage her...:p..very siong I agree

ah fat,aprilpinky,chin and furry...can pass some "bah" to my boi bo.. he no bah on his cheeks lei.. :p

celest..celtricia fax me the form..u can ask her to fax to u..

hippobab..buay tahan ur MIL..anyway all MIL a lot of funny ideas one..like my MIL, pick "ang huay" for my boy every nite when we go back home so that no evil things touch him.. some nights,my boy wanted to sleep but ended up crying to sleep..she said it is my hamster issue.. ask hb to put my poor long neglected hamster in the balcony..

now i cannot do anything to her except LL..but i will prove her wrong..

feeds..i am not sure cos i am latching my bb during weekends and din keep track of time.. his feeds shld be the same bah..

Thanks, ahFat.
Furry - your ger looks so steady..like she is really examining the water. Very grown up..I think she looks wise beyond her age!

I am planning to intro my boy to swimming after 4 months.
I am also not letting Darion be exposed to the TV until he's 2 or 3. All the kids in my family (including yours truly) did not watch TV until 6..I figure that has done me some good.

To stimulate my boy, we just talk to him...and read him some stories..play some games with him. Sometimes also wonder what else to do with him...he is always awake!!

Meixue - Darion's cap is a gift..his clothes are from Shanghai.
Thanks 4 the compliment...haha..I love dressing him up!

Furry2, ur gal looked very sweet. I like the pics taken at 8 weeks. My gal still very botak. Haiz...

Ah Fat, My gal has been refusing to drink milk for almost 2 weeks liao. Brought her to kids clinic. Dr Lim said it's a common. She see 4-5 bbs, ard 3-4 months, wif the same problem every week. There wont be any med for it. My gal screams and cry as though we r feeding her poison like tat. She reject the milk, but she never reject latching on. Tis is how i bottle feed her,
Drag her feeding time, instead of 3 hourly, drag till abt 4 hourly.
I realised tat she stooped crying immediately once we stop feeding her, if she start crying when feeding, stop, dun waste ur effort n energy.
Play wif her to divert her attention tat it's feeding time. Wait till she cry a little to tell us tat she's hungry, then start feeding her again.Feed a quiet room, nothing to divert her attention away.
Lastly, 'dream-feed' her. Feed her after she fell asleep.
So far, my method works at least 80% of the time.
I read from another thread tat u are interested in the Ameda pump huh??

meixue:
When to introduce soild?
You can introduce solid when baby is ard 6 months, coz that is when iron starts to deplete & FM or BM can no longer provide enoff nutrients......

What are good first foods?
rice cereals, cooked apple, pear, carrot, potatoes, peas, banana. All food shouls be pureedor strained and mixed with FM or BM to form a consistancy slighly thicker than milk.

What foos are not safe for baby?
egg white, cow's milk, nuts, and shellfish. Advoid honey! NO salt or sugar.

parragraph taken from GD book, How to teach your baby to read:
1) children under the age of 5 can easily absorb tremendous amounts of information. The younger the child, the more effective it is.
2) The more information a child absorb below 5, the more he retains.
3) Child below 5 has tremendous amount of energy.
4) Child below 5 has monumental desire to learn.
5) Child below 5 can learn to read and wants to learn to read.
6) Child below 5 can learn an entire language and can learn as many as are presented to him.

nik: yeah, i am pretty much interested to pick up where i left, to BREASTFEED. dunno if can or not.... sigh, i am planning to be full time SAHM so that means it will be super duper hard for my hubby... Hoping to be able to breastfeed again to save some milk powder money. Sigh, I miss flying alot, what bout you?!? was suppose to go on a trip with hubby to tokyo, But hubby say japan too cold dun let me go... so sad. now all alone at home. hubby will be gone for a week.... sigh....

ahFat.. i've encountered e same prob too lately.. my gal cried when i tried feeding her tis morn.. in fact even when i bathe her juz now.. duno watz wrong.. she has been like tat abt 3-4days oredi.. bathing water is neither too hot nor cold & she cried until very cham type leh & i gotto dress her up as fast as i can to carry & hug her tight.. btw.. she hasnt poo for almost 5days! duno izit she is feeling umcomfortable leh..

when bb cry during feeding time.. izit bcos of colic?

venus.. sure.. i'll get cel to fax me when i go bk to wrk.. tks

afternoon ladies..

chin.. ya.. Orlando growth is consider above average.. so quite please wif it.. heh.. he was very cranky on d day of the jab as well as on saturday.. but no fever.. lucky..hee..

celest.. u nid the form ah.. u give me ur fax number tml, den i can fax it to u tml, as i'm on leave today.. heh..

cel.. i'll be bk in e ofc oni on 27feb leh.. heh heh
.. nvm.. tink there'll be a baby fair nx mth @ expo rite? mabe i'll sign up there.. txs ya

celest.. wah.. 27 Feb ah.. so gd.. ya.. there's a bb fair at expo nxt mth.. hee.. mayb sign up there will get more freebies.. hee..

cel.. actually im supposed to be bk on 22nd.. but i extended.. my bb going for 5in1 on 24th.
tats wat im tinkg.. sign up there & get more freebies.. heh heh..

phew.. my ger finally poo!!! after 5days! *sweat*
guess she reli inherited my bad habits

shall we fix a date and go to the fair together?
the baby fair will be on mar 10-12 @ expo hall 5B....
vote for either date.....
most popular vote wins....

Ah Fat,
Interested to see your GD cards leh. I'll be free on Friday... you home? I know how to go liao!

Yes, let's go to the fair together! Any day is fine... can take leave! got lotsa annual leave still!

Furry,
Cubbie's really cute! Did you bring her to a public pool? or a private pool? I'm quite scared of the rugrats in public pools!

<font color="ff0000">Welcome all newcomers!</font> I'll need to update the chart sooooooon! Those with 3-mth weight and length, please let me know (Got Cel's and Aprilpinky's liao)

All mummies,

Talking about weight &amp; lenght, my bb Valery oni 5.2kgs &amp; 63cm leh... Just turn 3 mth on 09 Feb.

very light hor?

dili: pop by lah.... fri hor, what time arr? i better clean up my place now it looks like a dump!! ater having Hiroshi, I hardly have time to do any housework other than laundary.... Just wondering how the rest can cope. You all super wonder women man!!

Furryfurry: fri can? come with dili....

celest: Fri can? come with dili....

HELP NEEDED:
Anyone has contact of part-time maid.... I badly need one now....
Anyone has contact for a good nanny for 2-3 months in pouggol area.... Need someone to take care of Hiroshi while I am at work... 2-3 months more before my contract with Shu Uemura ends.... or else got to pay 5k... heart pain!!

Looks like most plp voting for sat.... then lets make it sat lah... that will be 11 Mar..... Anyone has goot prefered timings??

venus,
your MIL also has rather funny mentality too huh. she is looking after your baby?

i hope my episode with MIL will tone down once i move out of the house (yes... i am staying with in-law
). i went house hunting at sengkang and punggol yesterday so hopefully i will be able to find one soon!!!

chin, i am also running out of ideas on how to stimulate my baby as she can be awake for long hours in the afternoon! i usually talk and read stories to her and let her play with her toys/cot mobile... rather standard. trying to avoid tv too. any mummies have interesting pointers to share?

BABY FAIR
Date: 11 Mar 2006
Time: To Be Confirmed
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 5

1) Ah Fat ( When you all see me dun laugh arr....)
2) Celest
3) Dili_mummy
4) Hippobab

C'mon.... Keep the list growing.....
Add your name yourself hor....
mai pai say arr.... All invited hor....

Me 1 2 join can?
But never see u all before how to meet huh?

BABY FAIR

2) Celest
3) Dili_mummy
4) Hippobab
5) Karen

Dili... im stil not sure abt gemma's wgt &amp; hgt as at now.. wil update u once i hv it ya..

ahFat.. cant cfm whether im going over on fri.. let u noe again hor.. btw.. which shu uemura counter r u at now? when u starting wrk?

hippobab..yup she is looking after my boy..she a lot of funny ideas one esp from her sources which is hubby's aunties..buay tahan her sometimes..

hubby's stand is to rather believe den take the risk.. weird hubby i got too..

BABY FAIR

2) Celest
3) Dili_mummy
4) Hippobab
5) Karen
6) Venus

karen: you take note of one of our hp number. maybe we'll meet at BK. when you see lots of mummy plus crying marathon babies.... that might be just us.... rahahahaha....