(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

justamum,

your bb not skinny lah, mine drinks 190ml (x4) also ard 7.55kg. His PD said he's average size. His b-date is 24 Oct 05, abt 2 wks younger than your bb

yippee,
a bit skinny leh, pd said based on wt, he 30th percentile only. he said maybe my bb quite active and doesn't nap much so dats y.

huh? My PD only told us he's average size never say which percentile. Maybe she think & know we v kanchiong abt our bb wt coz my bb birth wt is only 2.74kg . Maybe I go & check the chart later on the bb health book. Mine also active but he usu naps shortly after each feed.

sharon

Since you have tried that 2 veg before, I dont think it will be a problem. If you are afraid, introduce lesser tsp first.

san

how long u cook? soak ah? dont think mil will remember to do it. normally i cook the porridge for 2hrs on high heat. not sure how long mil cook though.

Chloe

Brennan also faced constipation problem after starting solids. Try to make him drink more water lor. cos it really helps somehow. if your BB dont want to drink through bottle and teat, try feeding with spoon. Brennan also dont like bottle when drinking plain water, so i've learn to use spoon to feed him. at times, he can take 30ml.

jenifur,

no problem. oh janelle sick ah.. hope she's better. if there are people to share the same item as what i'm ordering, then i can cut my order to lesser pieces. just pm me la. u got my HP bo?

Wow, you all oredi introduced brocolli & vege in bb porridge liao?
I still put oni fish & carrots... hmm, maybe should start put brocolli too.

sneaky.. heard that silverfish head high cholesterol like ikan bilis.. that's why remove.. my zoe so far only takes kurau.. but small fish also good to give cos high in calcium

hi mummies:
currently, my 7mths ger is taking 3 milkfeed and 2 meals per day.
1st feed milk
2nd feed porridge
3rd feed milk
4th feed porridge/cereal
5th feed milk

when can we start to replace milk with another meal? and when should we totally replace the milkfeed with all meals?

my 24mths nephew still having 2 time milk a day. i think we shant taking off milk totally till they are totally on solid.

i am soooo happy!! tomolo gng marriott for 2 nites!!! lol... first yr celebrating hb's birthday with his own daughter.. whaha. and poor daddy got to sleep on the extra bed, cos my mum coming along.. whahahahahahhahahaha

whose bb constipation? try to add portion of apple or pear into the cereals, it should help. if nt try to give bb more water too. If not, then stop solid for few days.

my clar is pooing everyday, i stop cereals n porridge. she seems to have allergy with cereals and porridge she dun wan to poo. nw she poos everyday at least 2 times.

hello mummies, my boi got a little running nose. Think he is teething, drooling a lot. What i can apply on him to let him sleep better. He cannot sleep well coz the wet running nose is making him uncomfortable. Thanks

featherG, i bought the vapour rub for children to apply on his chest and a piece of tissue hung around his cot (near his face). alternatively, see a doctor and they would probably prescribe nose drop. samuel had blocked nose and the nose drop helped a lot in clearing it.

tattybear
420254.gif

Hello tattybear

Welcome to u & your bb.
My Kaiser is also 6mois +. At first also clueless until find out from my parents & maid.

Here's a simple summary of how i do it (actually tts many other ways of doing)
1) Soak rice grains in water overnight
2) Cook rice grains using slow cooker, together with fish/chicken & carrots/potatoes/other veg. U may also add in ikan bilis powder for more taste.
3) Cook for 3-4 hours

I quite lazy so always throw everything into slow cooker. Start simple recipe first lor. Enjoy cooking

Hi tattybear

Welcome

I cook Brennan's porridge this way.

Put rice, vegetable (cut into tiny bits), carrot (puree from fresh carrot) and threadfin (sliced thinly) into slow cooker at 9.30am. Will cook till 11.30 or 12.00noon.

Before feeding Brennan, I will take the porridge out and mesh it using feeding bowl with spoon.

hi all!

thanks for the tips. i will try to cook this Sat for the first time :p

currently i'm giving my Baby Raph Si Sen brown rice, seems like its not enuff for him and he will scream for more. and i don't dare to give him too much coz i find the texture too thick and its like very heaty leh.

usually after feed he will drink water like a fish which he usually doesn't :p

Jenifur, carole,

I finally brought Brennan to swim today. So happy. Went Yishun Safra. Was raining while we were about to leave the house fully equipped. Started to rain while we were at Causewaypoint, but we still went ahead with our plan. We waited until the rain stopped then went into the pool.

Brennan was abit puzzled with the new environment and he didnt dare to move alot. After a while, he started splashing water all over and got so excited. He was abit lopsided in the float cos he wanted to touch the water.

Hubby carried him and lie him on his tummy and he started splashing with his hands and kicking with his legs. So funny.. And i guess all these activity made him tired cos he slept the minute we were in the car.

Intend to buy a smaller round shaped float for him so that he wont be lopsided when he tries to touch the water.

Sneaky,

I remembered Samuel's float also quite big hor. will he tend to be lopsided if he tried to splash the water?

Btw, any mummies who are keen to buy loose pieces of huggies swimmers to try, am selling mine
cos i bought 2 sizes and brennan cant fit in the s size (as usual)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/420819.html?1147444494

Is it too early to let BB sit in high chair? issit safe har? so far, i've been feeding brennan by letting him sit in sofa.

what about potty training? must we buy those type that he can sit on his own? currently me will hold onto him above the "tum pui" and "ng ng" to make him poo

I bet Brennan can sit pretty well on his own oredi. he can even sit on sofa. My bb up to now still cannot sit upright on his own leh... how? Oredi bot bumbo for him, he can sit on bumbo but just cannot do it on his own without bumbo
kao_frustrated.gif

Potty I bot the cheap type at kiddy palace. Just make sure his legs can rest nicely at the sides ie sides not too high. & my maid said round hole type more for girls, oval hole more for boys. Maybe...dunno how true

Ya he can. last time only with support leaning against sofa back. but now without support at the back, he can use his hands to support himself. think gotta train lor. my mil will train him one. Brennan used to sit in bumbo too but he likes to lean forward. Not his thigh too big liao so cant sit inside bumbo anymore.

now we are training him to walk using the walker. he only moves backward sometimes but only afew steps. think he abit lazy so better start fast. heehee

maybe boys pee infront so gotta be oval cos longer in length

My way of cook porridge
1) soak rice with hot water for 1 hour
2) Prepare soup base using fish, meat and silevrfish or scallop
3) Pour soup over rice and cook using fire over stove for 30 min
4) cover and leave it for 15 min.
5) Cook it over slow cooker for 1 hour 30 min

ssl, yes, it will lopside a bit. but the last time i brought him to the pool, i tried holding him in swim position. he enjoyed splashing more than in the float. try that!

Samuel can sit on his own and run in the walker already. he loves to play hide and seek with me. he'll chase me in his walker...so funny at times...

Wishing every mummy...

<font size="+0">Mu3 Qin1 Jie2 Kuai4 Le4!!!</font>

May we continue to enjoy happiness with our babies!
421343.gif

I'm new here... happy mothers' day to all!!!

my bb is boy 6 mths + now.. wish to bring him swimming but hubby is concerned abt chlorine effect on his soft skin + other issues

experienced mums, do you only go to indoor swimming pool? is ur bb afraid of the cold water? if go outdoors, does he hv to apply sunblock? hahhaa.. hope someone can give me some idea!!!

Hi Mummies, happy mother's day to all!

my baby girl is 6mths plus, born on 25 Oct 2005.
started feeding her heinz cereal &amp; porridge + veges.

my PD gave us a Nestle solid food guide, it says better to start with veges like carrot, potato for 6 mths.
8 mths onwards: chicken, fish, ikan bilis, tofu, etc.

thot of sharing these websites, very informative:
what food to introduce &amp; avoid: http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/solids.htm
http://kidshealth.org/PageManager.jsp?dn=KidsHealth&amp;lic=1&amp;ps=107&amp;cat_id=148&amp;article_set=21522
How to puree vegetable &amp; fruits: http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/pureestorehomemadebabyfood.htm

Hi Jo &amp; Flo

My boy is also 6mths +, btw his b-day is 24 Oct, just 1 day older than Flo's girl. He's born in Mt A. Why dont u gals pm Jenifur so that she can update your details in the bb chart here.

My bb Kaiser also has not tried swimming yet. Just bcos I hv not bot the right swimsuit for myself

Flo, do u start solids when yr girl is 6mths old? I noe my fren's PD told her to start only when 6mths old. But my PD says actually 4mths old can start already, depending on how comfortable the caregiver is with feeding a bb who cant exactly sit up well. Anyway, I started my boy when he's 4mth.

Jo

Welcome.

I've brought Brennan for his first swim last Friday. We went to Yishun Safra swimming pool. I bought those dive suit for him to wear instead of just swimming trunks and naked top. He sat inside a float and basically his upper part of his body doesnt come into contact with water when he is in the float.

But hubby carried him and let him do his kicks in the water with his hands and legs. We limit ourselves to max 1/2hr in the pool lor. But it was really fun. Didnt apply sunblock or anything on him.

Once he is out of the pool, i rinse him under the shower to wash off the pool water. then i use a small basin and put some lactacyd and use hanky to wipe his whole body, before dressing him up.

So far ok. Will definitely bring him for swimming again cos he loves it.

Hi SSL,

wow, sounds like fun already!!! aiya.. make me wan to bring my bb soon too... hhee..

where did you get ur dive suit? .. btw, what's lactacyd?

Hi SSL &amp; Jo

I just got my maid to dig out the handmedown swinsuit for Kaiser - it's looks something like a dive suit just tt it's 2 pc
maybe it's the retro type since his eldest cousin is already Pri 5, hehehe... Also got the float that looks like walker &amp; a life jacket. Tot maybe I shd just go ahead asap as I shd be no reason to procrastinate now...

Jo, why dont u go to any one of the archive links above I see if u see any bb chart included there. If yes, just pm Jenifur there lor.

Hi yippee_ya_ya,

yah loh.. sounds like a lot of mothers having great time swimming with babies!
maybe i can start planning once my ds' cough recovers
kao_sad2.gif

btw, anyone has experience with aquaduck or speediswim?

jo: swim can be a good exercise for bb, and they will have a good nap after that.
i love the swim with my girl
i bet many of us do too.

Hi flotan,

My grace also born on 25 Oct 06. Our babies same day...

Brought grace for a swim on Sat near my mum's place. Delta Swimming pool, the one near Red Hill MRT, the baby pool is sheltered.

Grace was splashing all the way...