(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Sneaky: Its behind Clementi police post. Sunright Medical Add:blk 380 clementi ave 5 #01-374 t:67736100

The voucher is til end dec. : )

Ruff: my 7 wks bb also likes to out his hand/fingers into his mouth. I'll pull it out & say no. Hope he doesnt makes it a habbit

Dear all need yr help ....

I'm confused abt using glass bottle as EBM storage. I have similac in glass bottles fr the hospital. We can store EBM with the original metal caps or must be plastic? If so where to buy these plastic caps?

Those bird nest glass bottles can be used too?

For teats. I currently hv an avent size 1 teat.(nvr use b4) Do not wish to buy a size 2. Possible to make another hole in the teat? If can, how to do it?

adel: i think it's too big for brent lah...dat's why leaked. yah...you just bring along the pampers as if they are for brent loh...i just want 1 pc...

ruff: mine likes to do that too nowadays...i try to take his hands away frm his mouth whenever i see it happening and tell him no no with a playful tone and he is so delighted...keke

sneaky: am clearing stocks on petpet and sealer for Brent first... hiak hiak... anyway.. the sizes are smaller than pampers premium small..

no leh.. can't be the sealer is too big ne.. coz pampers premium is even bigger but never once it leaked leh..

Nowadays my baby likes to suck her fingers & hands as well. Seems like a lot of our babies same same!

June, I bought the plastic caps from this store at Blk 34 Upper Cross St called Cheong Choon. Each cap costs $0.80

june, thks...i go see see first...

adel, i want sealer if you don't want...save it for me...i pay you back...keke...i find the elastic sides a bit too loose, even for sam...lucky nvr leak ah...you saw it yourself that day at my plc...i also hv 1 more pkt of petpet S ah....when will i ever finish???

hmm.. I already started using petpet M size for my girl since she was abt 3 weeks old.. also tried ntuc M size.. abit big lah.. but lucky no leakage lor.. hehe.. she now using petpet M for day and pampers premium M for night.. cos S size ones very hard to find.. hehe

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

Nope I haven't got my waist back yet

<font color="0000ff">June</font>,

e plastic cap can fit similac bottles. I bought them @ Mt. Alvernia Hospital 4 $0.80 too. Nowadays I will jus heat up e milk in glass bottle then insert NUK teat for Janelle to drink.</font>

June,

Not sure if the store opens on weekends, but give them a call before you go down (tel:65323855). The shops opens only at 1pm. It's a corner shop on the 3rd floor.

I've not tried Sealer before. Is it better than drypers? And cheaper as well? Mamypoko is good, but kinda ex, so only using at night.

ling: yah...it's very soft; just like the MP you showed me...i kinda like the feel and size...how much is MP S-sized per piece ah? sealer is $0.29 per piece while PetPet S-sized is $0.17 per piece.

syl: to me, Sealer is way better than drypers; for your info, i condemn drypers ah! PetPet is economical and quite good if you're not a fussy user...

sneaky: MP i think its abt 0.37. Drypers is ok with clarisse and so does Pureen. But since this mth i am working, iwill get MP for Clarisse. let her have something better.

I dunlike petpet :p

fiona,
maybe you can meanwhile paste notices at the hdb blks that you want?
I was also like you, urgently looking for a nanny, kind of worried if cant find 1 b4 I start working so besides giving Adrian a call, I went around pasting notices as well. Whew, just within 2 days I have several calls liao. And just last wk, I found a suitable nanny for my bb.

bbmum,
Glad u find yr nanny. When you starting work?

Fiona,
You shd do what suggested by bbmum. Coz me also do that and is quite effective ... haha

Please read...I believe it has answers to most of our queries about storage of EBM...

<font size="+0">Frequently Asked Questions
Human Milk Storage Information</font>

What are guidelines for storing my pumped milk?
Your milk is a living substance so precious some call it "white blood". It is essential to store your expressed (pumped) milk properly to maximize its nutritional and anti-infective qualities. Human milk actually has anti-bacterial properties that help it to stay fresh. Giving your baby the freshest milk you have pumped ensures its high quality.

This information is based on current research and applies to mothers who:

* have healthy, full-term babies;
* are storing their milk for home use (as opposed to hospital use);
* wash their hands before expressing;
* use containers that have been washed in hot, soapy water and rinsed.
* All milk should be dated before storing.

Storage Guidelines
Storing milk in 2-4 ounce amounts may reduce waste. Refrigerated milk has more anti-infective properties than frozen milk. Cool milk in refrigerator before adding to frozen milk.

Human milk can be stored

* at room temperature (66-72F, 19-22C) for up to 10 hours
* in a refrigerator (32-39F, 0-4C) for up to 8 days
* in a freezer compartment inside a refrigerator (variable temperature due to the door opening frequently) for up to 2 weeks
* in a freezer compartment with a separate door (variable temperature due to the door opening frequently) for up to 3 to 4 months.
* in a separate deep freeze (0F, -19C) for up to 6 months or longer.

What Type of Container to Use
Refrigerated or frozen milk may be stored in:

* hard-sided plastic or glass containers with well-fitting tops
* freezer milk bags that are designed for storing human milk

Disposable bottle liners are not recommended.

How to Warm the Milk
Thaw and/or heat under warm, running water.

Do not bring temperature of milk to boiling point.

Gently swirl milk before testing the temperature. Swirling will also redistribute the cream into the milk. (It is normal for stored milk to separate into a cream and milk layer.)

Do not use a microwave oven to heat human milk.

Thawed Milk
If milk has been frozen and thawed, it can be refrigerated for up to 24 hours for later use. It should not be refrozen. It is not known whether milk that is left in the bottle after a feeding can be safely kept until the next feeding or if it should be discarded.

According to THE BREASTFEEDING ANSWER BOOK, page 228, research indicates that human milk has previously unrecognized properties that protect it from bacterial contamination. One study, Barger and Bull 1987, found that there was no statistically significant difference between the bacterial levels of milk stored for 10 hours at room temperature and milk that had been refrigerated for 10 hours. Another study, Pardou 1994, found that after 8 days of refrigeration some of the milk actually had lower bacterial levels than it did on the day it was expressed.

Expressed milk can be kept in a common refrigerator at the workplace or in a day care center. The US Centers for Disease Control and the US Occupational Safety and Health Administration agree that human milk is not among the body fluids that require special handling or storage in a separate container.

fun: dunno leh...i believe it is loh....but it didn't say NO...just not recommended only...so i think can still use lah...anyway, i'll be using them on Monday when i get back to work or rather have been using them already when i'm at my mum's plc...

Where can I get a waterproof changing mat? I know they sell it at Kiddy Palace but it's like $20. IKEA has as well, but I can imagine the xmas queue will be quite a nightmare. Any place else has economical ones?

Syl, there's this Jap brand of changing mat.. I think I saw it at Kiddy Palace. Its folded type. Its only $5.90 Its cheap and good.

<font color="0000ff">Question</font> : Do your babies start arching their backs when you carry them ? Mine does that. WHat "exercises" do you let them do? Put them on their tummy? Mine just turned 2 months.

Sneaky,

So fast Monday gg back to work liao.
The feeling will be very 'se bu de' and definitely will keep calling home to chk on Samuel ...

san,bbmum and tennyson mummy,
I have called up Adrian but was diverted to voice mail. Think he doesn't work on weekends. I will call him directly on Monday.

I thot of pasting notices at void decks too, but dun really like the idea of ah mao ah gao to call me. Some pple just want to earn extra money but not sincere in bbsitting u see. At least if i get a nanny from bbsitting agency, anything i can go back to the agency for a replacement and i believe agency do screen their bbsitters.

Am quite worried now in fact, left 2 weeks before school reopen. Cried a few times becos of this.

bbmum,
in the end, did u find ur nanny thru adrian or ur 'advertisements' at void decks? How fast can Adrian give a successful match? Can we go down to the bbsitter's house to look look before any obligations is made?

I need a bbsitter at Guillemard area, old estate, so am not too optimistic that i can get a bbsitter leh.

tennyson,
me starting work in 3 Jan. sianz..really hope to kana toto so that I can be a SAHM to solely take care of my dear bb.

fiona,
I got my nanny thru pasting of notices.She juz stayed few blks away.Tomorrow will be the 1st day of her bbsitting my boy but I will be there for half a day(at least for 3-4days) and see how she takes care.If she ok, then I can 'ban xin' liao.

I did called Adrian and he is indeed very prompt in replying.He gave me 2 potential nannies to interview and I personally think they are very experienced.Been to their place to see see look look also.However, I still paste notices becos the 2 nannies from Adrian do not really stay near me..need to drive for at least 15min.Mine is also an old estate(Balestier area) so he does not have any on-hand.
So I juz tried my luck pasting notices 1st then see how until I found this near-by nanny.
My hubby &amp; I are thinking if this nanny really cannot make it,then we will engage 1 of the nannies recommended by Adrian.

Infact, I think you can rest assured the nannies recommended by him cos I personally go down to the nannies plc and interview them and I can see that they are really quite experienced and I am quite impressed actually from the advices that they give wif regard to taking care of bb and also the way they carried my bb,can see one lah! If not for the distance,I will surely engage his service.

If I am not wrong, you dun mind bedok res. area rite?He did told me bedok quite alot of nannies but few babies so quite competitive..that means maybe you can find 1 who charged only 450 or 500/mth.

Fiona:
sorry now then see ur msn message.. was away from the computer.. anyway I just confirmed my nanny yesterday.. Adrian was very efficient.. Think I called him on monday (12/12) and went to 3 nannies place before I confirmed.. the one I confirmed was about 10min to 15min drive away from my place..

my hubby also like u dun like the idea of pasting notices so engage service from agency lor.. anyway he dun charge agent fee..

Hi San,
I managed to get Adrain just now. He seems to be very efficient and confident of his service.Though he's not at his office and so, does not have the data of all his nannies, he can straight away tell me 2 nannies (whom he claimed are very good) near my workplace and residence. Hope to hear from him tomorrow. M really desperate now, esp time is not at my side.

Fiona,
Do not think so much now ... let's pray the 2 nannies recommended by Adrain are very near yr place and school.

Din noe so many mummies in Oct thread also engage bbsitter ... thought I'm the only one here ... keke ...

Btw, those recommended by Adrain how much is yr nanny charging? Can share?

bbmum,
Think every mummy here all want strike TOTO and become a SAHM so that we can have more time to see our bb development hor ...

Nowadays I always look forward to weekend coz can spend more time with Tennyson.

mayday: yah...i will definitely think of bb all the time...haiz, really she bu de leh...like bbmum, i hope to kena toto so that i can be a SAHM too...

sneaky,
I understand how u feel. I think i will cry for my Gen when I am back at work.

Btw, is ur boy's neck stiff liao? my Gen is coming to 3 mths but her neck isn't stiff yet, abit worried as my niece's neck stiffen when she's 2 mths old.

fiona: i'm still ok so far cos i'm rushing something...as for neck, he's almost stiff though at times, he'll shake a bit...don't worry lah...every baby's developement stage differs.

haiz...toto,toto,when r you coming to me??
Juz sent my boy to nanny's plc dis am and only stayed for a while then leave...Guess what? I cried so uncontrollably while walking towards the lift...so sad &amp; se bu de to leave him there. Hope this feeling will leave me soon cos really nan shou leh. Am praying hard that my boy will be happy under the nanny's care if not I really dunno wat to do.
Sometimes we human very contradicting hor,juz last wk I was so happy that I found a nanny for my boy,telling myself whew..got time for myself liao, can meet frens for hi-tea,go shopping within these two wks etc etc,but who knows my feeling changed so suddenly today.Cried so hard and no mood for shopping also..funny..

Alone at home now, feeling kind of empty.Miss him so much leh...think got to fetch him back earlier today.

i bet sneaky wilkl rush home the moment her knock off time comes.. whahahaha..

sneaky: 24 wat time?

adel: cake i ordered liaoz. and pen told me tt there might be someone else gng to bring cake too, but i say dun worry, Adrain, Adel, Raymond, Penny, Yew Kit and carole will be able to wallop the whole cake. kekeke...

bbmum: its normal to have such feelings.
just like me... hoping to spend more time with my girl, but yet i have to work. Leaving her in the care with my PIL or even my mum feeling very very empty. tts why when i am gng out hi-tea or even meeting friends i usually bring her along. when i am working, i have no choice to leave her in other ppl care.

i bring my girl out with so often till my mum complain, always bring bb out... but if i dun bring, then how? haiz..

Hi Oct moms!
Apologies for jumping into the thread unannounced.
Can I just check, has any of you gotten the Moms in Mind sling for your BBs? Is it useful? Thanks in advance!
348660.gif

stray cats: i gotten one MIM sling.. my girl loves it.. she sleep very long inside. and it helps u to cuddle her while u typing or eating.

ginger: lol... come come come more often! kekeke