(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

ssl: average weight gain for infants should be about 150-200grams/week. this is just a rough guide.

jennifur: how can ur mil do tt? she is really too much.. i'm sure all of us know the torture of bf.. i mean.. waking up.. in the middle of night.. and etc.. argrg... relax a bit ok? next time.. dun let ur mil take care of her le lor..

garfield: my baby poos at least.. 4 times i think.. and each time sure got lotsa 'shit' keke..

i drank a lot of papay & fish bone soup, long tea drinks to boost my breastmilk supply.
So far i haven't pump out my breastmilk to see how much volume i have. All i do is to latch bb onto my breasts during the day to feed (at night my mil feed her formula milk as i think it is important to rest during my confinement.)so as to increase my milk flow.

my friend suggest to me to pump out to see the volume of the milk flow at least after 2 weeks.think i will pump out to check next week (which is my 3rd week into confinement).hopefully, will have enough for me to pump & store so that my mil can feed her my ebm during the night.

Jenifur

I feel very much for u.. Please make sure you tell her what she did is not acceptable! you are the mother leh! dont just pay her back $$ - take the chance to tell her otherwise she'll take over role of mothering thinking she knws best.. ! the color of BM is not like FM does n't mean it's no good, else we eat all the goodies like fish, etc for wat??!! aiyo...

please update Tammi's wt/ht.. 3.87kg/51cm..
she's underwt when most bb at 1 mth is 4 - 5kg.. That's because she is always sleeping. do u know at nite i give her 1 feed at midnite 60ML of EBM and she can last until 5am?! aiyo.. PD says not to let her go for more than 4hr without milk even at nite.. my milk supply is also diminishing.. v sad !! no longer feel engorged like i used to and she is also sometimes not satisfied after a feed, (now i know how SSL n the others feel, having to supp with FM).. PD presc me something to increase milk.. hope it works.

Clarisse mom , wah u got milk man.. i also take annum but nothing like bb sucking.. when I feed my bb my mom's always saying - aiyo y u feed again? she's full liao lah.. cannot stand such remarks sometimes. when I do EBM she takes only 60ml and pushes away the bottle.. I tried to give her FM, it's the same also.. after 50 - 60ml enuf liao.

Btw, PD says throw opened tin of milk powder after 2 weeks!!!

How much are your bb sleeping?? mine is Always sleeping! after bath sleep, after feed sleep, feels like 22hr of sleep a day! PD says normal woh..

oh ya, my bb also poos abt 2 x a day only... each time quite alot.. sometimes 3x but never after every feed like adel's.. i think it's normal...

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Amari</font>,

Here's what I do:-

1 cup of Oatsmeal in e morning. 1 cup of milo b4 lunch &amp; dinner. 1 cup of Milk (Powdered) in e night b4 bed. I also drink Fish w green papaya soup every alt day.

I also make sure tt I drink 1 cup of water at least half hour b4 nursing &amp; another cup straight after nursing.</font>

garfield,

if your bb take FM at nite, wont u get engorgement if u dont express? y not express 1st thing in morning then u can see how much u get.. initially i could only get 10ml or so.. v pathetic.. later i tried to do it when it's v v full, i get 60ml!! pathetic right? my bb already past 1 mth leh, still 60ml only.. so if I do have any EBM in the fridge, it's a v small bottle of 60ml at the most..

PD says 60ml every 2hr still ok, but preferably she's taking 90ml instead. But she's a small drinker except when going thro' growth spurt. anyway most of the time i do direct latch on so also dunno how much she drinks. as long as she seems satisfied after drinking i assume enuf for her.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Pammie</font>,

Told my HB to go tell her off &amp; also warned tt if such a thing ever happen again then I will NEVER let her take care of Janelle anymore.

3.84kg is considered underweight meh? My girl was 3.9kg @ 1 mth &amp; was told her weight is average leh.

Janelle is sleeping slightly abit lesser now. She will usually b awake 1-2 hrs in e morning, evening &amp; night.

As for poo, nowadays she usually only poos once a day, in huge amt</font>

pammie: maybe u try to express out during the morning the moment u brush ur teeth. i always managed to express abt 180ml early morning, cos middle of the nite i dun get to wake up or i dun need to breastfeed my girl, so morning breast full.
try to have a glass of warm drink like milo and milk, it help to give more milk.

my girl too now sleeps lesser, she will be up 1-2 hrs during morning, noon, evening n nite.
and she poos often, lol..

jenifur,

if i were you i will strangle my MIL 5 bottles of 120ml BM take us great effort to pump out ok how can she pour away! i dun strangle her i will curse n swear for at least 1 hour! :p

garfield,

me on total BF, bb poo 4~5 times a day yellowish colour

amari,

to increase your supply of breastmilk you have to consistently pump or latch on. I pump out every 2 hour interval and each interval will have 100~120ml in a day i will get 800~1000ml but i dun have much excess coz my boy drinking 100ml per feed at about 2 hour interval too so i hope my supply will increase else go back work will not have any excess storage

ling and SSL,

thnx for your recommendations for the venues

ssl,

you really think splitting up 2 sessions will be alright coz i would like to do that to convenient me n bb lah but scared overcrowded and some relatives refused to go off how...

Celine,

I think also for hygiene purposes shld not expose bb to overcrowded places.. 100 pax is alot of ppl and u wont have time to enjoy mingling also. I had party for abt 50 ppl and there were ppl I didnt even get a chance to speak to..

remember to express some milk beforehand so u can give to yr bb during the FM celebrations as it would be troublesome to go away to a corner to feed her. that is if u are on TBF..

yes fully agreed with Pammie to express some BM before the celebration, so bb will have milk while we are all busy during the celebration. cant be gng MIA for a while with the bb.
My mum bought 2 lovely rompers from Metro Causeway pt yesterday! so cute!!! ekkekeke....

pammie

my baby sleeps lesser now in day time. he doesnt go to sleep after feed sometimes and sometimes have to carry him till he sleep. now he sleeping in his "day" bed (actually is the queen size bed that my CL sleeps on) keke

I actually intend to feed BB FM on the manyue day. Except the morning feed. and probably have one feed of EBM so that he can have after the morning feed. Now, i pump only twice (once in afternoon or evening and once bet 1-5am) and i can get 100 - 120ml. So i envy clarisseMummy, so much milk
Will also be letting my boy wear pampers that day. But if i feel my breasts are full during feed times, i will latch bb on so that he can still get some BM
sometimes he satisfied after feed,sometimes not. but i always top up with 120ml FM if he demands and see how much he wants to drink.

Celine

Like what pammie said, i feel that bringing BB outside is exposing germs to him. U can try to make sure the timings for the two sessions are not too close apart. Eg. Lunch (11.30 - 3) and dinner (6.30 - 9) then at least there is a gap of 3+hrs for u &amp; BB to rest and the guests to leave, cos food will be kept by caterer for the after session probably around 4. Relatives tend to stay shorter so u may want to put them at lunch.

Ya, Man Yue that day, BB must wear new clothes
tomorrow will be my boy's man yue
and today, I CAN FINALLY BATH. later after his morning feed, i will be in the bathroom singing and scrubbing for 2hrs. hahaha

can i check if your BB cry before he wants to urine? Mine does so not sure if its normal
so when CL realised that, she will carry BB to shh shh him in the toilet. (hence wont wet the nappy)

Usually i try to keep only one bottle of EBM in fridge lower compartment so that its fresh and being drank without the same day. Cos warming up takes time and sometimes my boy is quite impatient. Can only store for 2 days if its in the lower compartment lor. Somemore my supply not that much to have so many milk so rather let him latch on more often
(which makes it easier for me when CL leaves)

Been doing alot hands on now, wiping him and nursing and burping him. Cant seem to get burp after each BF. what about you girls?

SSL: lol 2 hrs?!?!!?!? u wanna ur feet n fingersss all wrinkles isit? lol. My girl scream n cries when she poos! aiyo.. pee she dun usually cries .. but cfm chop n stamp poo sure cries.

my girl burps loud, scare my CL n me deaf like tt.. kekek.. see her sometimes very cute. but when she cries... aiyo THUNDER!

jennifur,

i would be so angry too. My mum discourages bf, so don't know if she will do the same when I let her take care of bb. Don't know how to convert her to a believer in bf. She feels that pooing 6-8 times a day is very taxing on bb buttocks and bb keep doing the mouthing action.

besides the Hep B 2nd jab, do we have to bring bb for any check upon 1st mth? How do you know the weight/ length of bb at 1 mth? Routine check?

Jenifur,

If it's me, i sure cry in front of my hubby, show him how sad i am!! :p make him do something abt it :p
Actually i will be more angry with my hubby than mil leh.. cos he purposely tell me wat she did and didnt do anything abt it!!! more angry with him lor!!

SSL, Jenifur,

Kenshin is fine, except that he still fusses quite a bit even after feeds, changing diapers, burping. Sometimes really dont know wat to do when he is like that. Pd says so long he is drinking and growing well, then all is ok. He might be a bit colicky only. He is on EBM now, but i do latch him on every now and then, depending on whether his mood is gd or not. At night, he is on FM - Similac becos too troublesome to warm up EBM at night when he is wailing and so impatient to wait. So 1 day only abt 2 feeds of FM, and the rest all BM lor.

Ling,
wah! sale until when? i need to get Avent milk storage bags

Clarisse's Mum:
good.. later lunchtime i can go see.. hee..
maybe i walked more my girl will decide to pop tonite or tomorrow.. haha

Pammie,

wah...be real thankful that Tammi is sleeping so much cos Kenshin doesnt! He is a very light sleeper and even after milk, he still wide awake one. Sometimes it takes abt 3 hrs to put him to sleep, then gotta rock and carry him..very tiring. I am amazed that he is doing well with so little sleep considering he is a newborn and newborns are supposed to sleep a lot.

Jenifur: Is yr MIL be the one to 'jaga' the maid for you when u gg back to work? If yes, then better tell her in adv the method of taking care of Janelle coz u r e mummy n of coz u noe wat is the best for her.

SSL: dun scrap too long leh .. better take care, if possible wait until 40days later then scrab scrab scrab!!

re:burping
my son oso burp v loud like adult leh .. keke ... but not always we burp him he give out the burp sound. According to my CL is ok as long as we burp them after each feed.

WHITEFloral

yes, routine checkup with PD when bb is 1mth old as well as do Hep B - at pD clinic will take wt and length. PD also measured her Head Circumference.

SSL

like you, my milk supp is diminishing then PD yesterday gave me herb - wow, today i got 2 engorgement.. aft i pump out 100ml i still got enuf to feed Tammi! never happ before leh... i'm not sure if it's due to the herb or not but yestday first day i didn't take any home cooked food cos' I was out the whole day.. at nite i had beef stew noodles and lunch i had yong tao fu. usu i have fish soup.. so I dont believe that fish soup gives milk.
I also find burping tammi difficult, not all the time i get a loud burp.. but PD says if fart also can count ! haha. so long as got air come out can liao.

I think yr bb cries when he wants to shh shh becos' u use nappy and he doesnt want to get wet.. good idea hor? it will be easy for u to toilet train him. For me, i use diaper all the way so pee or poo she can still sleep..

mothercare sales.. Baby Bjorn Carrier only $119 when usu $179.

ya Mrs Tan - when Tam sleeps I can go do my stuff... i brought her to my office yest and my col said next time u want bb to sleep also hard so let her sleep.. she slept thro' entire time I was in office!
btw, if let bb sleep on tummy can sleep longer.. but u must watch over him cos' more dangerous than sleeping on back..
boys are more active, that's y ken is more awake.

Pammie,

hehe ya i online now. Thats why i said gd that u can go do ur own stuff when tammi is asleep. cos i gotta rock and carry ken all the time when he fusses and that can easily take up to 3 hrs! dam shack! then wanna go toilet or drink water also cannot.

kuririn: walk more? kekek. better stand by ur bag at the door, so ur hubby can pick up if u really pop!

Amari: constant latching or expressing out will really help. but try to make sure if u express, try to pump till no milk, so more milk can be produce.

can check with you all, how long can breastmilk be kept if i keep in the fridge? and how long can breastmilk be kept if i store in the fridge freezer?

thanks in advance

For mothers who express BM, wat do u use to clean bb bottles n nipples -just water or with detergent.. n if detergent wat brand?

Yes, me xiang xiang liaoz... took one hour. ops mayday, i already scrubbed :p CL say wash hair must dry it, at least till 40days. which I will follow la. so probably wont wash hair every day.

Mrs Tan

Think Kenshin is very much like Brennan. refuse to sleep so much now during day time. and i BF during day except with 2FM supp if he's not had enough. Night time all FM cos like what you say, he will wail loudly and warming up EBM takes longer time.

pammie,

i see him kelian that he cries when he wants to poo, shh shh or fart. When when he is pooing, he doesnt cry one. until he finish, then he will announce...

Amari

What i did was to pump after each latch and slowly my BM ss increased. Of course, i also drank the papaya soup on alternate days. Now, whenever feeding time is near, i can feel my breasts heavier. I think sometimes my boy didnt had enough cos he has the tendency to sleep and not suck for food but suck for comfort.

kuririn

maybe u walk more then will pop. thats what happens to a couple of mummies if i remembered correctly.

pammie

i am using pigeon bottle cleanser and brush and teat brush to clean bottles. cos it comes free with my steriliser.

jenifur,

Wow, all wasted liao your great effort...

If I were you, I definitely quarrel wif her liao... :p

I had a problem wif my MIL too, even though she din do confinement for me &amp; din stay wif me.

Dunno where she got a recipe of chinese herbs saying that very good for confinement, so she went to those medical hall to get 2 sets of that herbs for me &amp; asked my mum to cook for me (my mum is the one who doing confinement for me). And then she said if it's good, she will get some more for me, &amp; she doesn't want to let me take the recipe down. Fine... my HB helped her to keep the recipe in her handbag. And who knows when she reached home, she realised that the recipe is gone! So she searched &amp; searched still couldn't find it. Then one day morning, she called me, asked me not to throw away the herbs after cooking, saying tat she can use the "cooked" herbs to get the medical hall people to write out the recipe again! Unfortunately, she is too late, my mum oredi threw away the herbs... Gone liao! She made a big hoha when she knew tat my mum threw away the herbs after cooking! And she called me &amp; scolded me why I do this to her?!
I was so frustrated ley! She is the one lost the recipe, why now she put all the blame on me??

She even said, "It's ok for me, I oredi gave birth to 4 kids liao, no need to use this recipe. It's oni good for you young peole ley."
I was thinking to myself tat time, "Then why you so furious??"

I let her scolded scolded &amp; hung up the phone.
Then I immediately sms my HB told him tat my MIL called &amp; scolded me over the herbs things.
My stupid HB called her &amp; even believed her that she din called me &amp; scolded me!!!
kao_angry.gif

I was damn angry &amp; quarreled wif my stupid HB. And I told him to go tell her dun have to get any herbs for me liao, I dun eat those I won't die too!
Who knows, on next day, my HB told me tat my MIL got the recipe back liao... she managed to get the medical hall people to write for her again. Wah kaoz!

Seems like we often have conflicts wiz our MIL hor ... anyway tell u gals tink I hv post natal blues but wiz my MIL only leh ... not anybody else. Especially when she came over to my hse and wan to carry Tennyson I will feel v discomfort &amp; wanted to cry ...

I dun like Tennyson to be cuddle in her arms leh .. how??? but still must ren &amp; pretend nothing happened.

I was not like that in the past, tink I began to dislike her after I get preggie coz during my preggie period I always kena say by her ... saying my tummy too small, saying I wearing too tight-fitting causing my tummy to be small then resulted bb will turn out small too. Wear pants also cannot will 'suffocate' my bb ... blar blar blar ... never even concern me by asking who gg to take care my bb or gg to do confinement for me!!!
I HATE HER THRUOUT MY PREG PERIOD and tink that's y now I behave tis way ... So sad

Puea: your MIL is over reacting. just cool down ok. dun get upset over such incident cos its never gng to worth it. making yourself angry n upset will affect both ur health and mentally. just brush tt incident off and stay calm and cheerful.

Mayday: old folks are old folks. their thinking cant be the in line with us. they will never gng to share your thoughts and neither would be share theirs. just keep calm ok.
little bb of urs wont like to see mummy upset.

kuririn!!! u steady manz!! u like speeding to robinson for good bargains.. kekeke.... dun say too fast, maybe after evening dinner.. ur water bag POP! burst! whahahahaha.. :p wat did u buy?

Clarisse's Mum:
I'm working near Raffles city mah.. walk over abt 10min.. then shop shop see got anything else to buy mah.. real last minute buys.. bought 3 more sets of long sleeves top and long pants.. think I only have 2 sets at home.. so bought extra lor.. hehe.. then go pack lunch back to office eat lor.. tats why so fast mah.. haha

SSL,

i was religiously cleaning my breasts during the 1st few weeks using a face towel and boiled water but not anymore lah.. v tiring mah esp nite feeds.. When convenient, I will wet a piece of tissue and wipe around it..

the pigeon nipple/vege cleanser v exp leh, i dont feel like buying..

i still clean my breasts and nipples using warm water with tap water before i BF. But just wonder if i go out, can i use wet wipes. doubt so hor... but if bring wet towels sure will dry up and got a smell if we keep inside bag even for a while.

pammie,

i always got afew bottles of extra EBM in frige so if bb full mth i use those to feed bb lor. You are right can't be doing the disappearing act else guests will think host doing wat leh :p

i use pigeon cleanser and water for bottles then put in sterilizer.

No need to clean nipple b4 feeding... esp dun use wet wipes cos got lots of chemicals. If really dirty and sticky, I think water is good enough.

maybe try bring along cotton puffs in the diaper bag, so when u need to breastfeed, wet the puff and clean the nipples. i dun suggest to use wet wipes to clean, some have fragance etc. no good for bb

hi all, talking about bottle cleaners, i think i prefer tollyjoy one. i've used the pigeon one and it has very low suds, diluted and must use a lot. the tollyjoy one is very very thick and just 1 drop is good enough for a few bottles...it has a nice fragrance and is more economical too.

i'm so envious of those who have a lot of EMB to store. i can only get 150ml a day at most (if i'm lucky) and am not latching my boy because he refuses my nipples. haiz...very soon, i will resort to 100% FM liao...this is not what i want!!!

sneaky: slowly lah. maybe u try latching him after u pump. surely he wants to suckle ur nipples too.
cheer up ok!