(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

snow & chris27:
Congratulations..

Just got home not long ago.. at end 36weeks, gynae said baby's head partial engaged liao.. she forsee I should be giving birth either on 38 or 39 weeks.. But she gave me a piece of bad news.. She will not be in SG from 15oct to 28oct..sigh.. why so suay and so zhun that this period she not around.. now trying to physco my baby to come out before my gynae flys off..

huh.... tat means.. give birth week 37? mmm... but usually.. baby will wan to stay till full term (esp for girls). jennifur: u different! haha.. but how true wun know lor..
tat will also mean tt.ur baby will be delivered by another gynae ah? mm..

sigh.. actually 37weeks baby is consider full term liao.. but also have to depend if she wants to come out early a not mah.. yup if my baby decided to come out during the period my gynae not around, another gynae will deliver lor.. my gynae did asked me which gynae I prefer so still thinking lor..

Jenifur:
I went to see him for the 1-week-after checkup. He said its normal. He told me I dun have to use antiseptic. Juz keep that area clean and use water will do. Did he tell u that also? Are u seeing him in 6 weeks time? What will the checkup be about, isit pad smear?

Unlatch baby:
Anyone having difficulty trying to unlatch baby? When I 1st latch baby in hospital, she refused to unlatch when I touched her lips. She will instead sucked even harder. How huh? Btw, I have not fed baby coz I am sick. But suddenly I realized that I can still bf her even when I am sick so long as I cover my mouth with a mask!! My idiot GP misled me, told me not to bf till I completed my medicines. Argghhh. Now my breast milk is almoz gone,muz start to latch baby soon.

But if you are on medication, I tot its better not to? Read that you should express it out (and not feed) when you are on medication, so to keep the supply.

mybabydream: yea.. u shouldn't bf leh.. its true.. should express out when ya on medication.. and throw the bm away. in the meantime.. supplement ur baby with fm.

mybabydream: if u are on medication, best dun feed ur bb with ur Breast milk. pump out and throw it like adel says. If u stop pumping out, u will stop having bm in no time.

adel/clarissemummy/ruff/mybabydream: When mummy is sick, as long as the medication given to her is safe for pregnancy (though she's not pregnant anymore) she can and should continue to bf bb. Just make sure to tell the doc/GP that you are bfing and he will give you medicine that's safe for bfing. Dun worry that you will pass anything onto baby cos as long as you are bfing bb he/she will be protected by the antibodies that your own body is making AGAINST your virus. I've fallen ill so many times while bfing my #1 and for thr 1st 8 months of her life she never fell ill despite my sneezing/coughing etc. She didn't even get chickenpox when a group of 4 chickenpox-infected children (their scabs were still wet then) surrounded her (much to my dismay of cos!).

So remember hor, bm is the BEST protection against illnesses you can give to your bb!

And the only time you should pump and dump is when doc gives you (or can't avoid not giving you) medication that is not suitable for bfing mums. Some GPs have little idea of when it's ok to continue toi bf and when it's not, the best is to give gynae or pd a call to find out!

SSL: The website that I once bought the powder shampoo from loh! remember you were asking me how fast they can deliver? But hor, I can't remember their web address... Delivery is quite swift and you can pay the courier upon delivery.

Congrats Snow!
I realised hor...babies look abt the same when they juz popped out...
Life w/o work is so shiok...i am on my ALs now, follow by MLs....
Nt sure if it's the same for ur, but 4 my Co, if my bb is popped earlier than maternity Leavedate, it will eat into my ALs. So LuGi. So i m asking my bb to come out only after 15/10...hee

ClarisseMummy:
is it?? I'm also having flu leh.. 2 weeks liao.. hopefully she can come out before my gynae flys off.. hehe.. but still no signs...

Hi SSL: you need the powder shampoo? I got the shampoo same as Kris thru website recommend by ClarisseMummy.
I never use leh coz I started to wash my hair cannot tahan anymore. I can sell to you if you want.

mayday: who can tahan dun wash hair? lol... i think CL will allow to wash but provided you blow dry str8 after washing.

Kurrin: my gf ask me if i have flu, i told her ya.. slight.... she says .. timing coming.. as for when... depends liaoz.. Ouch tummy pain!!!

another gf says if u constantly have tummy pain, meaning to clear the rubbish inside ready to pop too.. never know.. one pop can have som much things to it.

mayday

i dont mind. then i can save $6. :p (paiseh, didnt ask if u are waiving that off for me, heehee) But where u stay? both of us delivered liaoz so cant really meet up to take right?

Maybe u can email me and we see how. My email addy: [email protected]

I'm here to announce the birth of my bb Tricia born on 4 oct 2005.

Here my Birth story:

On 3/10/05 aftn, went for my gynae wkly check. Was ask to go induce on the day itself at 10pm+ (I didn't ask y, probably gynae think it's time for bb to come out as she's just a day ahead reaching full term wk40 and i didn't hv any sign of labour yet at this stage)

Once reached TMC, hubby did the registration and i was sent to room ward to rest. Gynae came afterwhich and inserted drug in me to open up cervix.

My waterbag broke at 3.00am. Contractions set in slowly after half an hr or so, but still bearable.

Sent in to labour ward at only 8.30am the next morning, but then, contraction oredi got stronger and i've the urge to poo poo but was asked to hold on by the nurse

Gynae came to check on my cervix, and was only 4 - 5cm open at ard 9.00am+. Gynae predict my bb will be out most at 12.00noon. Contractions oredi got so intense and i toss and turn in bed,finally asked for gas to relieve abit. Nurses kept coming in and ask if i want jab?? I refused. die die want to 'tong' until fully diluted and at abt 11.30am,i was almost 9cm opened and was told that i'm ready to give birth

After a few push, bb's head still unseem. Gynae said my bb's still high up, asked me to give a hard push but failed. Gynae insert his hand to try pulling out the bb and the pain makes me to gave out a loud cry. Ended,i was asked to go for emergency c-section

Feel so sad that my effort in enduring the labour pain w/o epi did not pay off, but glad that bb came out safe and sound (cord was oredi 2 round strangle her neck at time of birth)

Sorry for my long post

mdl: congrats on the arrival of ur darling! u are really strong to perservere!! not ur fault tt in the end need to go for emer c-section! strong mum!!

clarissemummy: huh.. mai lah.. i thought its just coz am sick suddenly.. aiyo.. mine quite bad leh.. but seen my fav gp today and i kinda recovered after 2 doses of medicine! i really dun want baby to come out so early leh.. me still relaxing away.. the weekend with my hb.. somemore got one more weekend to enjoy.. sigh.. i think maybe should start packing lor..

Hi here my birth story:

on 03/10/2005, i going for my weekly gynae checkup and to do CDG, then result come up not favourable (my baby heartbeat a bit lower) so gynae instruct me to admit to kkh immediately for monitoring. At 10.30pm admited to delivery ward for 2 hours of CDG. result ok go back to normal ward at 1.15am

04/10/2005
8.00am ward doctor check my dilation and she say only 1cm dilated. i found that there is blood show when i pee. i quickly call for nurse but she said is normal to see the blood show after checking the dilation. I continue to do my another round of CDG for 1/2 hour.

10.30am go down to labour ward for another round of CDG.
12.30pm Gynae come and check im 1 cm dilation and i have irregular contraction. so he induce me by putting drug in my cervix. And continue CDG monitoring.Contraction still irregular and bearable.

3.15pm Results Ok, move back normal ward. Take chance to steal a bath and wash my hair. Hee Hee.

6.30pm Contraction still irregular but very close about 5 to 10 mins interval. Sound the alarm ask nurse to send me to delivery ward for pain relieve. Nurse check 3cm dilation, dily & daly until 6.45pm check again 5cm dilation. Cannot do injection only can use gas

7.30pm 6cm dilation, gynae was inform and instruction given to doctor on duty to rupture water bag.

8.00pm 8cm dilation, still hanging on. The urge to push is so strong but nurse & hubby encourage me to hold on. So pain, so much wanted to pass motion but still have to hang on.

8.30pm Gynae finally came and start working. 10cm dilation, now then got the green light to push. 2 hard push and gynae ask me to hold, he do a cut and then 2 more push and he cut again. Then a finally 2 more hard push and my baby is out. Once out he give a healthy loud cry and start to pee. After that gynae do the stitching and I breastfeed my boy. Finally we move back to normal ward around 10.30pm.

haha... mybabydream.. tat sure sounds nice ah.. haha....

congrats snow!! welcome to the motherhood...

clarissemummy: hope tt u have finished packing ur darling's room le.. mm.. as for me.. still have not packed yet.. so probably later ba... oh yea.. but i went to do the preadmission thingy.. at gleneagles.. when we went for dinner in orchard.. hehe..

morraine: if u happen to see this.. i paid 1938 for a normal delivery in a 1 bedder. dunno why they max it.so i think u will pay 1200 for the 2 bedder.(tats only the deposit). all in all i think.. after the deduction.. if got balance(if lah) then return in cheque form to u. net/visa/master/cash all super accept!! haha.. as long as u pay!

took a brouchure to see what i need to pack! haha.. stated tt should pack after 34 weeks.. hehe.. am obviously late still.
i think u should have packed le ba..

arg.. my flu!! clarissemummy: i think a cold is a cold ba.. dun think will be in labour after tt. hehe.. if so.. all mums to be.. will fall sick near to edd le. keke... oo.. am seeing u soon.. real soon!

adel: i packed finished and cleaned the room n laid the cot sheet n bumpers too.
kekkekeke.. tomolo will be whole house spring cleaning after sending 2 of my 3 dogs away for boarding.

mydreambb: dun mention... we have never meet, but we are all friends here!

Am starting my search on first month caterer. Has anyone got any idea if Neo Garden (heard good comments about them) serves vegetarian food and is Halal certified? If not, any other good caterers that u have recommendations on that serves vegetarian and Halal food?

I actually wanted to try Neo Garden but hubby inviting Malay and vegetarian colleagues so bobian got to make sure the food they serve ok for them to eat lor. And my neighbours are also mostly malay, so can invite them to come also if Halal certified

kris

if BB didnt poo for 2 days, is that anything we can do? or have to bring to see PD? I asked Dr Ong during baby's review checkup but he didnt really give us an answer. That time he didnt poo for 2 days so Dr Ong inserted the medicine into his anus and let him poo.

btw, did u go to his AMK clinic before? was thinking to go there for his 2nd jab (think for Hep) rather than TMC.

kris

another question on injections.

I got the vaccine card from PD clinic indicating the vaccines and dates that i have to bring baby for injections.

1st mth: 2nd Hep B
3-5mth: Polop & DTPa
6mth: 3rd Hep B
14mth: Chickenpox
15mth: MMR
18mth: Polio & DTPa (1st Booster)
24mth: 1st Hep A
30mth: 2nd Hep A
6yrs: Polio & DT (2nd Booster)
12yrs: Polio & DT (3rd Booster) & MMR Booster

I remembered mummies mentioning those 4in1, 5in1 jabs. where will those fit in? issit at 3rd month, can let him take those in one jab instead of having to go every month (from 3-5 mths)?

SSL: Aiya I log in too late otherwise can msn.
Anyway, if bb on mostly bm, i.e., 90% bm with 1-2 fm in 24 hours then poop once in 2-3 days still ok. If on tbf, some bbs can dun poop for 7-10 days. But if on abt 50% fm then must poop everyday. Try not to rely too much on anal suppositories too much. Try giving a little bit of diluted prune juice to bb. Ratio can be 1:3, 1 prune juice, 3 water.

As for the AMK SBCC, yup, I've brought my girl there twice before. It's just as good as the one at TMC but Dr Ong isn't there most of the time.

As for the 5-in-1, 6-in-1, I really can't tell you v much cos I brought my girl for all those shots one by one.
So far my girl has had all the shots up to the Polio and DTP 1st booster shot. Wah.. the fever that came with it was quite bad.. You can try giving some yang sen water the day b4 his scheduled shot to minimise the possibility of developing fevers.

Oh, coming back to the poop issue, you can also bring bb to the GP and get some suppositories from GP as a standby. That's what I did for my girl. By the time she was abt 5 months or so her bowel movements changed and she can dun go for 5 days or even 6... (she was on abt 90% bm then) so I always have suppositories in my fridge. I would wait for the 6th day to approach then if she still dun poop I insert.

Try exercising bb by moving his legs in a cycling motion and massaging his tummy in a clockwise direction to encourage bowel movements.

clarissemummy

thanks. i think so too
then i cant use them liaoz leh....

kris

Thanks for the advice. My boy now poo every day
should be 50% FM/BM ba. I usually will BF him in the day time and CL will feed FM after i sleep. His poo is yellowish in colour - which is normal for those on FM one right?

Think i will also bring him for the jabs according to the vaccine card
So if no poopoo, can only use suppositories ah.... ecks, so kelian....

clarissemummy

kris

FM is 1 scoop to 60ml of water. If i'm increasing the feed to 70ml or 80ml, how do i make FM? can we only make 120ml and let him drink until 70ml and pour the rest away? I know we cant anyhow estimate the FM scoop amount.

wah sehz. clarissemummy really is a super woman man.. she can search and give the info one lor..!! think u should change ur nick to searchengine.
haha....

manage to latch my boy today again. so happi but realise unlike expressed and feed, i dun know how much he eats...so wenever he cries, i m not sure if we should bf him again. pls help to advise. tks.

1. How long does ur bb suckle? mine can be as long as 1/2hr (though at times, zz). but wen i try to unlatch him, he will be awake again

2. Do you still express after feeding?

3. How about nite feeds? do most of u wake up to feed ur bb?

Tks.

Hi SSL

my pd suggested that 5 in 1. though there are more trips the bb needs not take more jabs at a younger month if u go for 6 in 1. so likely i will go for 5 in 1 but jus wondering if go polyclinic or pte. the cost is almost doubled.. but i do know pte will do assessment of ur bb

btw,

any of ur bb still hving jaundice.
my last check with my pd (abt 5days after discharge), the pd says he is hving a little jaundice (w/o doing blood test)

how long will jaundice go away?

Hi everyone..

My baby's born too
Just a quick update.. My home computer is down so using this at my parents place..

kao_babydust2.gif
Baby Zoe arrived on Oct 4th (37weeks and 3 days) in the afternoon, weighing 2.385 kg.. We were just discharged from the hospital today cos initially Zoe had problems with mantaining her temperature and had low glucose.. on top of that, she developed jaundice on Day 4 and needed phototherapy.. Today the doctors finally gave Zoe and me the Ok to go home after 6 days in hospital..

My birth story: oct4; 10 hour long labour..
545am waterbag burst, 600am admitted in hospital, 800am 2cm dilated, given oxytocin to speed up contractions, 12noon 3cm dilated and in too much pain, asked for epidural, 1pm epidural given, 2pm 5cm dilated, 3pm baby's head seen, 330pm started to push and baby Zoe arrived after about 6 pushes

I'm doing direct latch and expressing after latching, then feeding another 10mls of EBM after baby finished latching.. She's quite good, wakes up every 3-4hours to feed, so I sleep as much as she does.. Usually latch 10-20 minutes each side..

CL came too.. Hopefully will work out with her..

K.. gotta log off now and go home.. BabyZoe's due for a feed at 5 plus..

adel: kns.. kekeke.. i search all these sites before mah.. and kept it as favourites so can give everyone the links.. kekkeke.

Fushia!!! congrats!

hi sneaky

need your help! remember the milk powder (enfaMama) you gave it to me during our gathering few weeks ago, may i know where to purchase them??? i went ntuc, shop n safe & cold storage but all these store dont seems to sell this milk powder.

fushiastar: congrats ah!!! mmm.. another one on the list of motherhood le.. hehe..

clarissemummy: ur turn tomorrow.. remember to update me hor..

SSL : Another recommendation for HALA caterer.. Pattaya Garden. My office gets from them all the time. Food is very chinese and v nice.

hi cafe!!! wah...look for me until here ah?? keke...anyway, i think you can get it from Guardian pharmacy, if i'm not wrong...i was given by my gynae as a gift...so i don't know where i got it from leh...why not try Cold Storage...they carry most brands of mother and baby milk...good luck!

fushiastar: congrats on the birth of baby Zoe...enjoy your motherhood!!!