(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

ClarisseMummy: Now also if I stand up like have tummy ache. Then I sneeze also got pain. V embarrassing cos I sneeze then followed by 'ouch!'.. hehe..

lol... kris i understand.. me too.. i sleep half way, i will ouch.. i sit oso ouch.. stand oso ouch.. kekkeke..

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Pammie</font>,

What u can do is to store the frozen BM in a cooler bag w ice when u go out, only warm e milk when Tammi demands for it. U can keep e frozen BM in e cooler bag for at least 24 hrs. But remembered once breast milk has been refrigerated or frozen and then brought to room temperature, it will only be good in room temperature for 1/2 hour.

<font color="0000ff">Mybabydream</font>,

My wound was quite ok except it hurts pretty bad during e period when I had to shuttle between home &amp; hospital. Give Dr. Ang a call to check why is ur wound swollen?</font>

yeah! today is Friday!

I am getting bored at work...

Celine:
ya lor.. TGIF.. i'm also getting bored at work.. handed over most of my work to my colleague liao.. so nothing much for me to do liao.. hehe..

Later afternoon going for checkup.. can see bb again..

kris: ur baby is like mine.. gained 1kg within 3 weeks.. tts too fast le..

clarissemummy: i think am suffering from anxiety attack.. dunno why.. woke up a few times at night worrying about water bag bursting.. wonder if its normal. and dunno why.. for the past two nights.. even with the air con on.. i'm like suffering from constant hot 'flashes' as in like i will perspire so much and sleep without blanket.. when the air con's like at 21 degree celcius.. i usually sleep with 25 degree celcius..(air con too powerful le)
other mummies to be: do u have the same kind of experience? coz it seemed quite weird to me..like suddenly hot for 15 mins.. then ok.. then repeat again.

adel:
I had been sleeping without air-con for the past 3 nites due to my flu.. well b4 that.. I slept in air-con room without quilt somemore at abt 18 to 20 degree.. if not I will feel very hot.. on some nites have to on air-con and fan at the same time.. my poor hubby was shivering in cold.. hehe

jenifur, Kris

thanks for the tips on freezing bm. I have a few questions.

1. how long can we store BM in fridge (not freezer) before we must warm it for bb? is it 12hrs and not longer?

2. if I have BM stored in Freezer section, is it ok to bring it to the fridge section before warming it? say it's frozen and I want to feed baby in the night so I bring it to the non Freezer section. Is it ok and how long can i put it there?

Jenifr, do u have a sample of the cooler bag that i can use? i dont have a bag to keep bottles when going out nor a warmer, thinking of getting one.. and need some help here.

pammie: bm can be kept in lower compartment of fridge for 48 hours. Likewise if you bring it down from freezer to thaw. But of cos the shorter time you leave it there the better lah. The best is to melt the frozen bm by running it under a tap. Bm thaws v v quickly if stored in the Avent milk bags.

You can get cooler bags at Kiddy Palace. They are relatively small, v lightweight and have a sliver lining on the inside. But you also need to buy ice-bricks to keep the milk cold. Coleman is a good brand to go for ice-bricks. YOu can get them at Taka Dept Store, top level where the sports section is.

adel: Ya loh... today whole day a lot of BH... bb move and squirm also causing me a lot of pain.

pammie

Initially I also felt the uterus contracting pain when I try to let BB latch on to suckle. But now that the milk comes in, I didnt really feel uterus contracting when baby suckle. Could it be due to the binder that i'm wearing?

Ya, me wearing the binder whole day, only lately took it out when i sleep to air wound. Gynae say to wear the binder for one month. She didnt prescribe me any cream to apply on the wound leh. did asked her she say no need wo.

Will try to clean that area when i sponge myself. But its actually sort of "hidden" beneath the folds of my tummy fats. hahaha

He managed to feed from my right breast yesterday
I am alternating each breast during each feed. My BM still not alot. Sometimes he drinks for 10mins, sometimes 25mins. But usually will top up with FM if he demands for more.

inc

My boy also cried from 11pm - 5am during the first few days he just discharged from hospital. He cries when we try to put him in cot, stops when being carried. He feeds well but just refuse to sleep and cries. Later we realised that we are under feeding him :p thats why he cries so much. Sometimes, they say baby getting used to the environment hence tends to be cranky.

kris

if i express my BM for baby, how long can i leave it in room temperature? or i must definitely put in fridge after expressing?

I intend to express it and store inside the glass bottles from TMC. its ok right? when we want to feed baby with EBM, we just pour into sterilised bottle and warm it up right. I try to limit myself from using those sterilised bag cos i only bought 1 pack of 15pcs.

SSL: I do feel pain sometimes at my left side wound when changing posture. Yes, outside might seems to be healed but we still need to be careful as internal wound takes longer.

I got no problem walking or squatting down but only feel itchy near my wound and I still got my plaster and binder on to protect it.

Hmm ... perhaps you can give her a call and chk.
Look for Mdm Rohaya at 94506374. Her charges are 490 for 7 session. First few treatments some joint part and pressure point v pain but after that ok. Massaging tummy can feel the soreness even today is my 5th session.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Pammie</font>,

Here's a pic of e cooler bag &amp; e Coleman Brite Ice I'm considering to get :-

322629.jpg
COLEMAN Brite Ice 20oz
322630.jpg
LUCKY BABY Cooler Bag

Planning to get them from Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group after my confinement</font>

<center>
322631.jpg
</center>

mayday

u havent remove your plaster meh? mine was already removed when i went back for review one week after the op. Now only wearing the binder.

Did Mdm Rohaya avoid the wound area when she massage for u? Did she bind u up after the massage? She come every day? I scared i will laugh from itchiness leh.. esp i have very sensitive tummy area.

pammie, inc, mayday

did u gals take any dang gui during your confinement? I am beginning to have more menses like red discharge lately cos my confinement food got dang gui.

how har?

kris: Can we mix bm fr freezer and fridge together? What are the steps we need to do? Let the freezer bm thaw first then mix wiz the bm fr fridge(or we should bring the bm out fr fridge at room temperature first?) Then pour in bottle and warm it but for how long? Use hot boiling water or warm water? Sorry for asking so many questions.

kuririn,

me too me too.... handover most work those cannot hand over need brain work but i no mood to think liao...so really coming to office like abit idling...:p

Dear ladies..... i am thinking of using epidural during my bb birth...but i read those articles... seems painful....
those who went thr it...how the feeling of it? painful?

SSL: my plaster is like those 3M kind can remove and paste back kind. So only bath then take out but will take out binder to air the wound for 3-4hrs per day.

She avoid my breast and wound area. Yes, being bind up but me will remove the binder before gg to sleep. She comes everyday as she try not to skip post-natal massage. You will feel soreness and not itchy one dun worry.

Yes, me took chicken soup with dang gui. My menses have been on &amp; off with red and sometimes black discharge. Tink shd be normal rite? Dun scared me leh ....

Taobaby

My dr(the one who jab me epi) was quite a humorous guy.. he actually helped me relax quite alot. and he will tell me to count down to 5 sec (again &amp; again).. i tried to think of the counting down den trying to FEEL wat is going on behind me
and when my body became very uptight, he rub my waist abit and i went back to relax mode

fun

my mum ever told me before say must eat after the blood has cleared. Duno leh. she's going to confirm with chinese sinseh for me.

Tao_baby

The doc that administered the epi for me is also very cute. he keep saying why u shake so much har? and will hold on to my hand (where the drip is) and monitor me very closely. Before he put the needle in, he will say, "ok going to prick now, 5secs" and keep asking if i'm feeling ok.

After a while, will tell me my right leg will feel numb (which is true) and followed by my left leg. When i dont really feel numb on the left leg, i moved my toes to show him and he adjusted the epi level.

Overall, the epi administration was painless for me.

mayday

she fully booked liao so i think cant liao. me still thinking to go ahead or not. Anyway, i duno about the dang gui thingy, CL said usually take after 3 weeks. So now waiting for my mum's reply after she consulted the chinese sinseh lor.

thanks for all the comforting words! I am much relieved now... initally i insist that i nv to use epi...then after "interviewing" many mothers... i decided nt to be "hero" liao...haha and decided muz take Epi during the "war".

Guess i dont have to worry so much on labour pain now....*phew*

Celine:
ya lor.. but come to office is better than staying alone at home.. cos at office at least got colleagues to chit chat with.. :p

Ok I'm going off for my checkup liao.. bye..

Hi SSL

yes, the clinic nurse told me if continue to eat dang gui the menses will come.. but then cl says hv to eat dang gui to pu the body.. i jus leave it as it is not as much as the lst few days...
yup sometimes, my discharge is also black.

tks kris.. hopefully not colic :p
well still trying to cope
my biggest challenge is the latching on...how come it seems so easy for all of u

btw, i hv taken out my binder
'cos of not bathing, i cannot stand the binder there as it causes more irrtation to my skin...

Tennyson: You can mix the thawed bm together with those from the lower section of the fridge or the other way round. It doesn't really matter.
When warming up the milk use hot water,not water at boiling point. Leave it in there for as long as it takes to thoroughly warm, which can be up to 20min. You may need to change the hot water once or twice though.

Another way is that if you store you ebm in a bottle in the freezer, and say your 1st pump is 30ml but your bb's feed is 60ml per feed, then it's perfectly ok to pour the next pump's bm on top of the frozen 1st pump milk. I hope you understand what I mean. In any case, if you mix the bm this way, the storage life should be taken from the oldest pumped bm.

inc

my discharge also not alot when i came home from hospital. only increase during last few days. thought of switching to normal pads but now increase so cant lor

But dont u feel that with the binder, it feels more "secured" i think i tend to slough cos of the wound, so my back hurts alot. haiz.... So now, hubby applying bengay for me again.

I apply powder to my binder. Did u sponge yourself? i did, at least better lor. But using the herbs water. abit sticky. Initially didnt put powder but after hubby suggested it, find that its very helpful and makes me feel better also. U can try that

My hair is starting to itch. heehee... got abit of oily smell (hope i'm not being too "er xin" to the other MTBS) Hope i can endure not bathing for one month. Actually wanted to bath after 1 week. See how it goes la. Just dont want to aggrevate my sore back condition. Really feel like washing my hair, but if wash hair, sure must bath right. unless someone wash for u, then wont kenna the body.

kris

any idea how long should c section mummies rest before they can care for BB? 1 or 2 weeks?

For those mummies who went thru c section, have u started to take care of BB. I only carry BB when i BF him. Of course, i will help out to get ready his bathing stuff, etc. I still let hubby and CL carry baby out from cot and pass to me during feeding time cos i dont want to lean forward and stretch myself to carry baby out. Still havent bath and change BB. Hope to start next week..

For those MTBs who havent buy maternity pads, I would like to recommend the one that we can get from Kiddy Palace, think the brand starts with "M". Me using it now, very soft and long. very good

As for disposable panties, the one from John Little (Impressions) very good, softer than Sorella infact. (and cheaper too) So you can consider

I have given birth via epi c-section on 23 Sept.. both baby &amp; me are doing fine now

Hi Jenifur,
Can help to update.. baby boy, Shaun on 23 Sept at TMC instead of Mt A as last minute arrangement with my gynae to go for epi c section
due to my amniotic fluid level is low.. baby Shaun is only week 36+ when I give birth to him.. luckily everything is ok &amp; we are discharge arter 2 days in TMC.. nowadays am busy taking care of him with the help of confinememt lady..

SSL: I think 1.5 -2 weeks will be safer leh..
anyway did you get the powder shampoo or not? I think that one should be able to help with the itchy scalp leh!

<font face="Calisto mt"> Here's something for Mummies who r Breastfeeding :-

Saving Breast Milk

Human milk varies in colour, consistency and odor, depending on the mother's diet and storage container used. Because breast milk is not homogenized, the cream will separate and rise to the top of the container. Breast milk may be safely stored by following these steps:

<u>Collecting Breastmilk</u>

1. Pump or express milk into a clean collection cup.

2. Transfer the milk into a clean storeage container. If you can, pump directly into a storage container, it will lesson the chance of contamination.

3. Label the container with the date and the amount of milk colleced, be sure to use the oldest milk first.

<u>Storing Breastmilk</u>

<font color="0000ff">Room Temperature</font> : 4 hours - it is suggested that to inhibit the growth of bacteria, refrigerate collected breastmilk if not being used immediately.

<font color="0000ff">Refrigeration</font> : 48 hours - breastmilk can be safely be stored in the refrigerator in a sterilized bottle or a disposable bottle liner.

<font color="0000ff">Freezing</font> : 3 months in a refrigerator freezer. 6 months in a deep freeze (-20 degrees C). Fill the container only 3/4 full to allow room for expansion during freezing. Freeze the milk in 2 oz. to 4 oz. portions. These smaller amounts will thaw quicker.

<u>Thawing Breastmilk </u>

1. Thaw the milk by holding the container under cool, running water and gradually add warmer water until the breast milk is thawed and warmed to room temperature for feeding. NEVER REHEAT OR THAW MILK ON THE STOVE OR IN A MICROWAVE OVEN.
The uneven heat of a mircrowave can scald a baby. Also, some nutrients are destroyed by over-heating in a microwave.

2. Swirl the container to blend any fat that may have separted and risen during thawing.

3. Feed thawed milk immediately or store in the refrigerator for a maximum of 24 hours.
Once thawed, breastmilk should not be re-frozen. It is possible to conbine fresh breastmilk with frozen milk. To prevent premature thawing, always cool milk before combing it with previously frozen milk. The amount of newly added milk must be less than the amount of milk alreadly frozen. </font>

jenifur: I think due to our climate it's always recommended (in this country at least) to store frozen bm for up to 2 months only leh (the longest I've come across so far is 3 months).. If deep freeze then can go on for 6 months leh..

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Chris</font>

Noted, hv updated e EDD list. How's Shaun doing? Do post Shaun's pic for us to see when u r free.

<font color="0000ff">Kris</font>,

Ya, forgot tt our climate is different..

clarissemummy: 3 days to go for u!!!!!!!!!!!! count down by the no. of hours better? what time ya going to hospital?

lol... adel.. appt at 12.30. usually by the time my turn abt 1-1.30 pm.. kekeke.. chances of having her out on 10/10 still rather high.. kekekke

oo..ya just hope tt urs wun be a 10 over hours long.. labour lah!! then she will pop on the 10/10 lor.. plus lesser suffering.. haha

Hi SSL

i oredi bathed twice as i cannot tahan liao...
my skin is pretty sensitive and i perspire a lot.

i did try to carry my bb to coax him
not much for feeding as m not direct latching him on..
did bend a bit to tok to him or try changing diaper at times

jenifur! thanks for the information.. v helpful!

tao baby,

i had epi too, it was painless for me, taking blood is more painful, let's put it that way. i had the same reaction as ssl - i also shook after epi was admin.

Hi, i had given birth to a baby boy on 04/10/05 at KKH. Name : Yong Shan. Share birth story with you gals later, very tired need to rest. Attached is my baby pics.

322751.jpg

kris

No i didnt. but my hair very oily liao leh. still can use powder shampoo? where got sell? will it cause dandruff.

inc

Try to avoid letting wind blow on you hor.

I also coax him, talk to him. Got a chair beside his cot where i will sit and "jaga" him. hee hee.

preciousmoments

it is very useful to have someone experienced to help u, especially for first time mummies.

Snow,

Congrats! Your little Yong San got alot of hairs har...

Adel,

I oso got 11 days to go...

Those of you storing your EBM, do you have a lot to store? (like is Supply much greater than demand)?? Store in the hospital glass bottles? I'm wondering how many bottles I should have...