(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

Congrats... U so on still can come in to post ur waterbag burst.</font>

<font color="119911">sneaky</font>,

<font color="119911">ling</font>,

what do you mean huh? i dun understand.... what better be safe than sorry??

<font color="119911">adel</font>,

some on the way to pop and some on maternity leave busy taking care of bb so this thread really slowing down alot.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Wat Ling meant was by posting ur exact time &amp; date, U r giving away ur child's Shen Chen Ba Zhi (Eight Character) which can be used to do alot of things</font>

haha.. icic..

i too have kinda lost count on who has given birth and who has not le.. haha.. but nvm lor.. i figured its alright ba.. its a place to share ur happiness and ask questions anyway..
to me.. it helps to kill boredom..hehe..

<font face="Calisto mt"> According to e EDD list, next one shld be MDL &amp; Aical who seldom post, follow by whitefloral / Snow etc... But then EDD is not accurate anymore so wondering whose BB can't wait to come out.....

Anyone has any news from mybabydream? Tot I rem her posting tt she also gota delivered soon. Wondering how's Inc recovering... Cannot wait to see Samuel/Brennan &amp; Geneviev's pic</font>

jenifur: kekkeke.. sneaky still in Hosp. tonite i am gng to see her.. i will ask her got take pics or not.. if not i will take n post.. provided she agree.

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Ling</font>,

Ok... Send Sneaky my regards. U also b careful urself hor... Dun b so active anymore, might b ur turn anytime. Take more rest so tt Clarisse will gain some more weight</font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Adel</font>,

Fret not, it's gona b ur turn soon.... Honestly Motherhood isn't exactly fun too.. I kinda missed being MTB.

Someone shld invent a machine to translate BB's Cries

jennifur: actually am not really looking forward to motherhood yet. mmm.. enjoying the peace tt i have now. so quiet.. n everything.

morraine: mm.. you are one who's dying to see ur cub ah.. haha.. dun worry.. ur cub might want to come out 2 weeks before edd? who knows?

haha.. quite true.. am suffering from the cramps recently. dun even know if its the bh contractions or what.. really. so confused being the first time mum.. to be.

congrats inc!!

i am in dilemma want bb to come out soon coz i am so tired and heavy now but dun want bb to come out so soon coz still want to enjoy abit of peace.... *sigh*

adel: like u faster than me hor.. kekkee.. i wish Adel water bag burst burst burst.. whahahaha... :p

kekek celine.. kekek enjoy peace? lol.. for now.. kekek till bb comes out.. will be singing to u liaoz. keekeke

ClarisseMummy

U may ask yr gynea if he/she is tied up with any of these two company anot.. my gynea is with Stemcord, so we were given a reduce price for open an account

hi, cograts.. to all new mummy
jenifur,
nice to see you @TMC,so happy you come and says hello to me... and can you changed my little girl name to Sabrina..
my little girl comes out on 20 sep, weight 2.53kg

Just click on Upload Attachment (a window will pop up)
and then Browse... (click on where your photo is stored in your computer).

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">SabrinaMum</font>,

Took me a while to figure out it's you. Luckily I still remember your name &amp; co name from e email address u gave me. Actually wanted to ask u tt morning liao but it's either u busy or I busy so until b4 I go home then got chance to talk to you.

How's Sabrina doing?</font>

I am finally back home this afternoon. Here's my birth story.

I was admitted into the labour ward at 9.45a.m, was 2cm dilated then. Gynae was quite positive and assured me that i will be able to see my bb before sunset as 2cm dilation is a good start. hmm had my epidural jab almost immediately. At 4.45a.m, I was only 6cm dilated. By 5.45cm, I was 9cm dilated and gynae said it's time to push. As I was on epidural, I can't feel any contractions, so the nurses guided me when to push, tried pushing real hard from 5.45 to 6.15p.m...bb's head still cannot be seen, gynae almost gave up hope on me, as my pelvic is too small for my bb's head to come out...he was quite reluctant to use vacuum then, and I heard him tellilng the nurse to get ready the OT for E-C section. I was devasted at that moment...and told myself i die die also must push real hard, cos I do not want to end up in C-sect...then I pushed real hard, exerted all my strength..after 3 push, BB was finally out. PHEW!

It was an experience for my husband as well. hmmm husband's moral support during the pushing is very important.

BB weighs 3.210kg, and 49cm long. hmm gynae said it's considered big for my size, dat's y so hard to come out. She's beautiful and glad that she inherited all my features, big eyes, long eye lashes and deep double eye lids. She inherited the dad's thick lips though. Will post the pict here as soon as I have time to upload.

Genevieve is soooo smart. She noes how to latch on immediately on the 2nd day. I latch her on every 3 hrs, one hr on each breast. Now hoping that my milk supply will come in soon. currently still supplementing her with formula milk once or twice per day. Do try breastfeeding, the feeling is great...and u will be attached to ur precious one almost immediately.

oh yes, when I was discharged from Mt. E this afternoon, Sneaky msg me to inform that she was out from labour ward. Visted her at her ward, she looked fresh though she was on epidural. Her bb samuel was sooooo cute. So coincidental to meet someone from the forum.

congrats fiona!!~~ mmm... now tt ya a mummy.. how does it feel? mm.. can ya kind of describe the kind of feeling when u see ur baby? i really wonder how will i react when i see my baby.. haha..

Fiona! Well done! You're blessed with bb latching on so well! wow.. 1 hr on each breast, u are a dedicated mommy!!
I started my little Tammi on day 1 and it's day 7 now and she's a guzzler! For moms who may be thinking of not breast feeding,please think and think again!!!!! The bonding u will have with your little one thro' bf cannot be replaced.. Only mommy has that privilege.. remember, no matter what problems u have, it can be only a teething problem! DONT GIVE UP!! speak to someone, there's always someone who's been there, done that and can advise u...

ADEL

I know what u mean.. the weeks following up to birth, i had all sorts of stomach pains, sometimes like wan to diarrhoea type and sometimes like menstral cramps. But for labour contractions, the distinct feature is that the pains last a shorter time and goes away and then comes back again. that's how u differentiate from other pain which usu just stay on n dont come in spurts/intervals. hope this helps. hang on !!

CELINE,

Sorry I also dont have the full story from Mrs Tan - guess she's in the best posn to tell it herself.. just know tat she laboured a long time, more than 10 hrs and then the dilation din't increase more than 2cm and so they prepared her for C section. that's all... sorri hor!

About C Section...

Hi moms - I originally wanted natural, thinking that it's the best and recovery is fastest. But I had epi C section. Just to let u know, the latter's recovery is also quite fast leh.. But I guess everyone's experience is different and bodies are also different.. I just wanted to allay the fears of moms who are afraid of C sect.. the pain is not so bad as u are given painkillers and they are ok even if u bf baby. By day 3 i was off painkillers and by day 6, the waterproof layer was removed. Today is day 7 and when I sneeze, i dont feel much pain.

The binder/girdle is very useful, to keep the whole area tight so please get one, whether natural or not.
My tummy is almost already quite flat and i've lost 9 out of 12 kg that I've gained.. hehe.. :D

BF helps u lose wt and uterus to shrink back to normal very fast.. !

Hi Mummies to be,
I agree with Pammie, the bonding you get from bfing is really indescribable. U noe, on the 2nd day of my hospital stay, when I started Genevieve on TBF, I was so attached to her to the point that when the nurse took her away from me to bring her back to nursery, I was like thinking of her almost immediately,and always looking forward for the next latch on session. when the nurse brought Gen back to me again after 3 hrs for bfing, I was like jumping for joy. Can u imagine?

Pammie,
So, after 7 days, has your milk supply comes in? mine has not....usually when will the milk supply comes in?

Adel,
Hmmm I should say motherhood really can change a person's life leh. Like yesterday was the first nite I handle my bb without any assistance. Tell u, it's horrible...hehe...the sleep will definitely be disrupted. She will wake up now and then looking for your 'breast' to latch. No matter how tired you r, you will still want her to latch. When u put her down to sleep, u will wake up now and then to check that she's breathing properly, her mouth is not covered by the blanket, etc....basically u can't sleep through ONE hour...haha...but I believe all these are worth it when you see the joy of seeing ur kid grow day by day.

Fiona,
i know how u felt in hosp! u noe, tammi was on 4 hrly feeds initially, she was sleeping all the way so when she does'nt cry for milk, nurses wont bring her to me. at one point i was missing her so much i cried.. when i went to the nursery to get her , nurse won't release her... I told her i just want to see my baby! please give her to me.. I think the nurse thot i was going to break down so pushed her to me! hehe..

my milk supply was there right from beginning, I am very blessed. first 2 days were colostrum which is the best part of the bm, and Tammi took them all, 2- 3 day was abit light grey and now if I dont feed her, my breasts are engorged n start to leak like mad! the milk is now white color. as tammi is under wt, I give her FM as well - once a nite, 60ml. I'll increase to 90ml if necc so I can sleep thro' the nite. So far I've been sleeping from midnite to 6/7am.. v good hor?! she's an angel... :D

pammie.. u fed her bm from day 1? i was thinking if my baby comes out.. i'll probably..let him go on milk fomula.. so tt i can have a good sleep. i have not had a good night sleep for a very long while le.. sigh... like last night.. for no reason.. i couldn't sleep till 6 in the morning.. which was horrible..!! woke up at 9.. n then snooze till 11.. am feeling so tired now.. plus had an arguement with hb.. probably coz i was grouchy ba..cold war..a

congrats Sneaky!

saw the gynae yesterday, bb's engaged. Hope she comes out soon. Now it's like a wating game and mum calls me evday to ask 'hai mei you sheng ar?'

lost bit of weight but gynae say bb still growing. Good size to come out, asked me to stimulate my nipples, trying to do it. Anyone knows exactly how u do breast massage?

didn't know pple can 'do things' with sheng chen ba zi, was also scratching head why shldn't post the birth time.

Wow Pammie,
You are so blessed. you have milk right from day 1. Mine,sigh!miserable colostrum leh. As long as Genevieve is awake, I will latch her on...she will just sucklet an hour on each breast...but the nurses and PD told me that one hr is too long, over stimulation will cause soreness...but i dun care...all for the sake of getting the flow of milk coming. Today, 3rd day after delivery, i tried pumping milk for the first time, sigh...pumped for 30mins just collected 5ml of milk. They are soooo precious, that I use syringe to collect them and feed them to my bb, not even a drop was wasted...Hopefully my milk supply will come in soon. Did u eat anything to increase ur milk supply???

Fiona

Try having Fish head soup.. works for me
And actually if u chk yr nipples, they tend to have a lay of dried skin ard.. try peeling them off.. the pores will be free from blockage. Milk will come..

Fiona - what u are doing is excellent!!! Dot give up. very eager to talk to u - is there a way for u to PM me your email so I can give u my hp no. and we can help support each other on bf?

1. colostrum is the best part of bm. Dont say miserable colostrum. Day 1 and 2 is colostrum for me too and I treat it just like bm. It contains the antigens that bb needs!! so dont discount it!

2. after day 2, usu the milk is slightly greyish, light milk ( i can't recall what i learnt in antenatal class abt the diff stages n the milk flow..)

3. after day 4 when her suckling increases u also feel the milk flow is more and may start to leak or engorge. then u know the worst is over

Remember the amazing thing abt bf is that it works on demand n supply cycle.

Tammi was asleep alot, still is so i force her to wake up when it passes 4 hrs without any suckling. PD and nurses worry that if we let bb just suckle without actual milk flowing, bb will treat breasts like pacifiers and hard for other caregivers to handle bb when mummy not around.

For me, I dont use a pump - i just latch bb on whether she likes or not, usu i limit to half hour each breast, initially was 15min or sometimes when she's so sleepy, only 5- 10min but that's still progress for me, and yes my nipples were SORE from day 2!! But for her sake, I endured all the pain and it's worth it!!

Today is day 7 for me, and both breasts have been leaking and leaking - my c lady said it's ok at least i dont get engorgement, i tried to save some milk by expressing it manually using hands, it's pathetic!! Now waiting for fren to give me her electric pump so I can at least store some for emergency use - like when i visit gynae n dont wan to bring bb along..

Oh, forgot to mention, after day 3, I go on Demand mode, meaning i latch her on when she cries for milk, and no longer wake her up for feeds. She's a good baby and timing is predictable except sometimes she suckles well and then the milk she takes lasts a longer time so she sleeps longer. sometimes shorter but i'm at home so I dont mind this 'on demand' mode.. I believe when bb is bigger, her feeding hrs will adjust n become more manageable for u.

Fun! I had the hard skin covering - I didnt peel off! in case nipples cracked!! Instead, I air the nipples at nite and gave her 60ml of formula at nite so I can rest my nipples one nite and then the hardened skin was gone, donno where it went n nipples are not sore anymore. I also bought PURELAN nipple cream n apply it at nite now.

As for food, i'm not really v religious abt what I eat, confinement lady cooks normal meals, fish, pork, celery, ... i dont eat anything to stimulate milk cos' nutrition wise, i'm not an expert so leave to my confinement lady.

Adel - i delivered bb at 1am, wheeled to ward at 2am and was wide awake the whole time - i ddn't sleep at all for whole of sat. I know wat u mean as I lost alot of sleep during 3rd trimester, and suffered insomnia but I no longer desire to replenish lost sleep. I just make sure I am alert enough to carry on day's activities.

Hence getting enuf sleep after delivery was not a primary concern for me and nurses said I was not able to immed. bf bb becos' of wound so gave her fm 30ml for 1st feed. at 6am, 5 hrs after I delivered Tammi, I bf her and went on TBF for the rest of my stay in hosp.

at home from day 4 - 6, I gave her 60ml of Nan1 at nite. My feeds per day is like every 2 - 3 hrs, then last feed around 1130 - midnite and then I dont feed until abt 7am when she cries. at 3am, my confinem lady feeds her fm.

when do u start to bf your bb in hospital? will the nurses feed bb FM before they send bb to you? my friend actually requsted for bb to be brough to her for bf immediately, even before cleaning up as she feels that bb suckles best during the immediate momments at birth.

If you have yet to get nursing bras, check out Seiyu. They having storewide sale. Got mine at $8+ each, Eternity brand. Impressions cotton pyjamas is at 30% discount, disposable panties at 15% i think.

hi i am back with a new member-baby jx who is delivered on 29 sept.she weighed 2.7kg.

i was admitted to hosp at 9am and my gynae broke my waterbag.contraction was very mild and i was really bored.nurse put me on drip but nothing much could be felt.gynae came and increased my drip.

i could not remember the exact time but in the afternoon,the contraction became stronger and stronger that i felt that i also wanted to poo.in fact that was the baby's head going down.the urge of having c section came to my mind.imagine the pain.

as my gynae discouraged epi,the nurse didn't want to give me.so i tried laughing gas which diverted some attention away from me but the pain was still bad.having the jab at the thigh didnt seem to work either.

by then dilation was 5cm and i was pushed to labour ward at 2++pm,and moaning in pain and grabbing my hubby.the urge to push was so strong yet the nurse asked me to hold and don't push.gynae was in the other room delivering. arrgghh.how not to push,i told the nurse?i made a few pushes b4 gynae came.then i pushed n pushed and baby popped!what a relief and sense of achievement!luckily the intensive contraction only lasted for 1hr+.

mybabydream: you are so lucky!!! the intensive contractions only lasted an hour plus.. sigh.. dunno whats going to happen to me... wonder if mine will be a long labour or not... so scared now...

pammie: ya so excited about ur baby!! haha.. jus look at the way ya putting it.. i think u super love ur baby for sure lor..anyway.. its good news..haha..

breastfeeding:
i tried bf on the 2nd day.1 of my nipple bleeded though baby did latch correctly.nurse said i latched her for too long(??).so now,i leave my left breast to recover 1st.

today is the 3rd day,when will milk come in?baby does suck, but i dun see any liquid coming out from my nipple, is it normal?but of coz i didnt latch diligently.i gave her formula milk too.

she doesn't seem hungry juz now,didn't want formula milk.and i wonder why...kinda worried.

morning MTB and mummies..

i went for my gynae check up on sat (1/10), and just as i expected, gynae will be inducing me on 10/10 and likely to pop from 10/10 onwards.
so if i MIA from then on, kekek all should know why liaoz.. kekke..

Hi pammie,
I tried to pump out my milk this afternoon, managed to collect 15ml! Was told that's considered alot...hmm I collected them in syringe and give them to my bb. I still supplement her with formula milk though...however, at nite, when i give my bb the formula milk, she refused to drink the normal quantity...and kept turning her head to my nipple. Left with no choice, I tried to latch her on, u guess what? she suckled happily and I realised milk actually flow out from her mouth! Yes, my milk supply has increased to the point that she's enjoying my breastmilk more than the formula milk now. I am so happy. I think i can slowly cut down on her formula milk feeding now and concentrate on total bf.

Mybabydream - congrats!!

Hi Fiona!

Very happy to hear you've persevered and progressed! well done and keep it up!!

Whitefloral
Thanks for the tips on Seiyu.. I'm looking for nursing blouses, any idea where to get good n cheap ones?

As for when u start, I believe u can request for it. my bb's first feed was 30ml FM. Subsequently TBF. Now 60 - 90ml of FM every nite so that she wont reject bottle feeds..
remember also to coax yr bb to drink water. it's good.

Adel

I think all moms are like me! :D