(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

SSL: lol.. .must be jenifur lahz.. buy lots of good mooncakes! kekeke.. Janelle cant wait lor...

looking at Jenifur, those who hasnt got their stuff ready..... go go go.. get it.. kekke. i am gng to get the disposable undies later.. i am so worried i gng to pop early.

Gong Xi Fun, Gong Xi Jenifur....

U both are one level up now [From MTB to Mummy liao]...

Wow gals, soon it will be our turn too...One of my friends' son also pop up one month earlier than his EDD too.

This made me worry as I have not pack my hosiptal bag and wash my baby items yet...Hee Hee...got to take leave to do it now...

Morriane,

I check with my gynae yesterday and he told me that he would not operate on me on the fibroids frist as he say it might shrink after birth...so still considering to go through C-section or natural birth leh....

BTW, Do we have to get the Dry Shampoo and Massage oils? Can I know what brand is recomendable?

Congrats Fun & Jenifur on your promotion!

Ruff,
my mum bought the herbs from a chinese medical shop in chinatown. let me know if you can't find in medical shops near your place. i'll ask her for the name of the shop.

Ruff,
You can get those herbal bath packs from any chinese medical hall. you just tell them for confinement one, they will give you the correct ones. My mum bot from the medical hall in our neighbourhood.

Nutnuts and all mums to be,
Yes, it's definitely time to pack your hospital bag and put them in your car or ur hubby's car, our babies can pop anytime from now...

Nutnuts,
I bot a bottle of dry shampoo from guardian pharmacy. Brand i think is Kolane, white bottle one. it comes in a spray form. However, I am still contemplating to using it during my confinemnt leh, cos my mum said last time she used (other brand) dry shampoo and her scalp turned out to be flaky and has lotsa of dandruffs. I heard similar comments from other pple using dry shampoo too.

Hi Kris,
Can I check with you if it is really necessary to bath the bb with tap water mixed with BOILING WATER? Can we just replace the boiling water with those from the shower tap on to the maximum heat?

What's the reason behind using boiling water, those boil to 100 deg using kettle?

Hi Fiona,

Thanks for your info... I dun think it is a need to mix tap water with BOILING WATER... as long as you are using the water from the heater. Maybe for the first few months, you can do it but after that it is okie.

Some ppl believe that Boiling water is more warmer than tap water...

ClarisseMummy, I got to start washing already. I have already hurry my mom to help me with it....Nowsaday, getting tired easily so hardly can do much plus my baby like to move ard so much inside that made made can't do anything....Sigh

haha... boiling water warmer than tap water? mmm.. just on the heater.. then the water will be so hot till even us adults.. can yelp!

washing of baby's stuffs: i have just finished buying leh.. u all think if its alright to wash two weeks before my edd instead? one month's like .. too long leh.. (which means now!) mm.. *lazy* am waiting for my maid to come in next week.. then train her.. then ask her to wash.. *sianz*

Nutnut,
Cos I know those nurses who conduct bathing workshop after you delivered your baby, will tell you to use boiling water instead as it can 'kills' bacteria. Dat's y i m asking if the water from heater is suffice to kill bacteria or not.

Adel,
I think it's better to start washing ur bb's clothes now...though one month seems to be too early, but we won't know if our bb will be arriving soon..rite?

adel: i washed mine in Late Aug... its ok. as long as u keep them at a plc with no dust. u never know when u are gng to pop... so do now, not later.. Like Jenifur, when i was talking to her on Sat Morning, she mentioned tt her cot is not even up yet, then on next moment she pop at 36 weeks... mai play play, do early. if not bb got nothing to wear.. ekkekeke

haha... i hope my baby will have something to wear man... ooo... if not he'll be naked at home haha.. somemore.. the weather recently has been pretty haywire... storm.. then sunlight..

mmm... so envy jennifur.. my baby is still kicking me away while i type this.. argrg...

SSL: Must use water at v close to boiling point for the bottles so that from the tap will not be hot enuf.

Fiona: Bathe for bb of cos dun need to use boiled water lah.. hehe.. those from the tap can liow loh!

FIona: If the pains are still there today at regular interval, with or without backache I think you should give the hospital a call to ask them for advice. It does sound a bit like real contractions.

Jenifur,
congratulations on giving birth safely and smoothly to Janelle! very happy for u. So envious cos u can finally get to see ur daughter...who does she look like more? hee hee...so exciting. Do recuperate and rest well. We'll be waiting for ur birth story too.

Btw girls, this week is my last week at work, friday on half day. I wont have internet access after that so cant log in. But if i do pop, i will sms those whom I have their numbers. We're almost at the end of the race, girls. Let's jia you and praying for a smooth and painless delivery for all of us!

Jenifur.. Congrats!!!
Fast Janelle!

About boiling water to bathe baby.. I asked the same question too.. What the midwife at NUH said was that water from tap that is hot is enough...

Fiona: Forgot to tell you to try to change your position, like try walking around, sit down etc etc to see if the pain eases up. If it doesn't it's v likely the real thing.

Sorry think this is a repeated question but could anyone post the list of things to bring to hospital. do we need to bring diapers along for bb to wear in hospital...Tks.
Any mummy bring breast pump over as well?

Wow, Jenifur gave birth liao??
Congrats, Jenifur!

Hmm... this makes me more kancheong liao, jennifur's EDD is abt my EDD too... and yet Janelle pops up 1 mth earlier ley...
Think I better start packing my hospital bag liao. :p

good morning to all mummies. juz woke up as usual.

its raining now.. those mummies who wants to wash ur baby's stuffs.. i think better do so soon.. the weather has been quite wet recently though. mm..

me as usual, can't really sleep tat well at night.. and not to mention.. my son is up and kicking me.. as early as 7am.. when i don't even need to go to work!

inc: i'm bringing a new pack of disposable diapers to the hospital cos the hospital charges quite high for theirs. as for breast pump, i'm not bringing. prefer to let baby suckle...

puea: it's true...Jenifur has popped! gynae cannot tell when you'll deliver actually...they will normally say "a baby is considered full-term if borned after week 37...normally babies come between 36 - 38 weeks"...that's what my gynae told me...so i prepare loh...

hi inc,

tmc will provide everything for the baby. if you are deliveriing there, you just need to bring your toiletries, pjyamas and nursing bra...etc.

think its best if you want to check with the hospital.

Sneaky,
so kancheong hor? we 2 same same. if u pop already, think i sure get ready also since we same edd mah, hehe. this week we turning 38wks liao...so anytime can standby. wahhh this waiting game is really getting so long for me.

Hi girls..

Today on leave at home rest.. think I'm falling sick.. having sore throat now.. and feeling giddy too.. ate too much heaty stuffs on sat..

Kris,
Thanks for the advice on contractions. I guess they are false contractions lah cos i didn't experience any last nite. My sister told me, she experienced false contractions a few nites before her real contractions come..then she delivered her baby. Hopefully my baby is on her way to come out soon lor. Agree with Mrs Tan, this waiting game seems to be so long for us, though we are only like 16 days away.

Sneaky,
You do not need to bring your own bb's diapers. Mt. E will provide about 12 pcs of pampers NB size one. They are usually more than enough. However, if you prefer to wear those non-loop maternity pads, do bring along yours, cos hosp will provide those with loops one, which can be quite uncomfortable.

hi Inc,
As for whether to bring breastpumps, usually hospital will provide. However, like what Sneaky said, if we have time, it's better to let our bb latch on directly,to stimulate the milk glands, rather than using breastpump. Do remember dat the first few days the milk supply is close to none. So no point pumping rite?

kuririn: take care of yrself ah..

fiona: mmm... dun worry.. urs will come in due time. in the meantime.. mm.. maybe u should go out with ur friends to enjoy /have coffee and stuffs.. before u are overwhelmed with the baby's stuffs.. hehe.. enjoy while u can i mean. for me, i have already planned to ask my friends over my place to eat eat chat chat... on the weekends before am due.. (for suffering) haha... time is precious. four more weekends for me. hehe..

mrstan: indeed, we're only 17 days away...i kinda hope baby comes out NOT now but during this weekend or after that cos i'm still having cough leh...doc says i had better recover from it else it will be quite painful for me to be coughing after delivery cos of the wound...

Hi Kris,
forgot to ask you this. For real contractions, is the pain bearable and mild type in regualar intervals, or issit those that are so painful that you can't even walk and talk properly? My colleagues told me it's the latter, but my sister told me it's the former, though my sister's threshold for pain is as low as mine. Strange. I guess I better find out first just in case I experiene some contractions in regular intervals, got myself admitted into hospital and later they check and send me home.

Sneaky,
Ya true, coughing can really agitate the wound and it definitely hurts. Hope u get well soon so dat ur bb can come out soon after u recovered.

Adel,
hmmm Can we drink coffee and tea? heehe. and effectively u will have less than 4 weekends if the bb decides to pop earlier. but u r rite, time is precious to us now...dat's why my husband always comes home earlier to keep me co. and we will spend our weekends outside...I guess once bb is out, we will hardly have any private time with our hb.

Sneaky,
u must take care of urself. hope u quickly recover to prepare for birth. drink lots of water. ya, i also aiming for next week when my maternity leave officially starts.

fiona: my colleague told me 12 pcs of diapers are definitely not enuf cos baby will poot poot after every feed. 1 day around 12 feeds and we'll be staying 2 days leh...

fiona & mrstan: yah...i really hope to get well soon...this type of dry cough is irritating too...poor baby...being rocked when i cough...

Fiona: Initial contractions can be mild to strong, but definitely in regular intervals. For me I could talk but couldn't really walk... It's different for everyone lah, but make sure to time the contractions to tell them apart from the false ones.

fiona: friends drink tea/coffee.. u drink milk or water lor.. haha.. doesn't neccessarily... mean that u must drink tea/coffee.. haha

i hope my darling wun decide to pop out earlier.. i think with hubby still quite alright lah.. 'er ren shi jie' still can have when baby is out mah. hehe.. jus let ur in laws take care of baby for one day when both of u want er ren shi jie. hehe

Hi Sneaky,
u mean one day 12 feeds? so many? I see my colleagues and sisters, they still left a few pcs of pampers to bring home leh...hmm guess I KS abit, bring along my own just in case not enuf. To buy from the hospital is definitely gonna be costly.

Hi Kris,
Thanks once again. I just checked with my cousin, she said when she experienced mild and bearable pain (not in regular interval) which went off after a few hours, she called her gynae and her gynae asked her to get herself admitted into hospital. The gynae didn't perform any check on her and just broke her waterbag once he arrived.

I have another colleague, who experienced the same thing as my cousin, admit into hospital, nurse or gynae checked and there's no dilation or watsover, then were asked to go home after staying in the hosptial for a day...

Same mild contraction, but different way of handling..strange...I am so confused. Hopefully mine is either a show or waterbag burst...straightforward and no confusion. hehe.

Fiona: Hehe.. ya lor.. but have show doesn't mean contractions will start leh.. I had a show with my #1 and my contractions only started only abt 17 hours later. I was sent home cos even though I had a show there were no contractions.

Kris,
Wow getting more and more confusing now...hmm guess dat's what all first time mum gotta go thru lah hor?I guess for me, when in doubt, call the gynae, it's always be better to play safe than sorry.

argrg.. me got stomach upset ah.. diarrhoea.. somemore.. made me so weak now. sianz..

have u all taken ur lunch? mm.. am thinking.. how nice would it be if i am at overseas now. hehe,,

wish that i am in the streets of paris/venice/italy... sipping my tea/wine away while i watched passer bys... busying with their own stuffs. mm.. how relaxing. coz now am on leave le.. nothing to do everyday.. see and read the postings everyday.. sleep..
life's like a bit aimless lor..

fiona: imagine baby crying for milk every 2 hrs...that makes abt 10 - 12 feeds a day, right? wah...how did they manage to bring home some? maybe that's their 2nd packet leh?? indeed, hospital charges every damn thing up to cotton butts and they are costly...

in fact, i'm also quite confused abt the contractions...wonder how it feels to be real and whether i will recognise it or not...

sneaky and fiona: dun worry lah, somehow we will know it's the real thing even though we've never felt it before. You body will just tell you that this time it's DIFFERENT.