(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

ClarisseMummy: Talking abt eggs, my gynae actually told me to eat MORE eggs yesterday! I was saying isn't it fattening and what abt the cholesterol and was told that (1)eggs are low in calories, (2)they provide COMPLETE nutrition cos LIFE hatches from an egg and (3)the thing abt cholesterol comes from what we eat is an OUTDATED concept in the medical world. The amt of cholesterol in our body, I was told, is determined by the ability of our bodies to get rid of toxins and such. So it's really more a matter of genes than what we eat... It was an enlightening session I had at the clinic yesterday!

clarissemummy: no choice but to think of it in this way hor..

i went out to buy lunch jus now.made me so angry... there's this auntie.. who stared at my stomach.. and asked.. ah.. this is ur first baby right? must be a boy.. tats why so small. grgrgr!!! somemore i was buying fruits from her.. felt like throwing the fruit at her. but think again.. i better save it for my stomach better.

kris: keke.. during pregnancy, eggs are totally ok, as they provide proteins to the bb for growth. But older ppl (elderly) cant take too much of eggs and esp those who super HEALTH minded, wont touch. I have lots of eggs during my last trim, as my girl was underweight, so i everyday eat eggs.

Adel: mine oso very small, tts what some commented..
dun be angry lahz. some ppl are like tt.
just listen n smile back.

yup.... noti is definite....

Sweetie: Havent decided on the epi or GA but I would like to be awake during the process. Didnt bother with the time and my doc oni perform operation on mon or fri. He said that Fri is alittle late so decided to opt for the nearest date. That next monday!!

kris

i didnt buy any latex teats, but i think those given by TMC will be latex ones. will take note. Btw, tot there's a standard time to sterilise?

erm... earlier i asked if its necessary to bring breast pump when we are in labour? whats your experience?

Mayday:

I dun remember the brand, but West Mall Tom & Step only have 2 types of nursing bras (ask the sales assistant), you have to try on both types to determine which type gives you a better fit.

Remember to test & remove the latch to see if ur nipple is well-exposed for easier bf.

Fiona

i dont have any remedy but maybe u can try putting ice pack on the cheek area where u can feel the ache, probably that will help to ease the pain. And probably avoid cold drinks as they may aggrevate the condition.

fiona: you serious abt the Avent BM storage bags ah?? aiyoyo...i only bought 2 boxes x 40 pcs leh...

sweetie: i'm also down with a terrible cough...thanks to inconsiderate people around my office area who smoked in the office, causing the smoke to get to me through the shared air-con units...

all: i went for check up again this morning...gynae is very pleased with my culture test result. i am Strep Grp B, Yeast & Gardnerella Vaginalis negative...baby is considered full term if born today. he is deeply engaged now and can come anytime...gynae also mentioned that my baby will be less than 3kg during birth; that makes an easy labour.

as for jabbing pains, i'm experiencing it quite often now, especially at vaginal area...gynae asked if i'm experiencing tell-tale signs of labour and i told him i'm feeling a lot of pressure at times at my cervix and he said this is a sign of baby coming soon...whoa...

sneaky: me envy u!! soon u will be promoted to a mummy!! hehe.. aren't u glad? mmm.. no more sufferings from the kicks. but again.. *scratch head* dunno whats ur baby's schedule like hor? mmm.. are u excited excited ne? hehe..

Adel :
Tom & Stefanie also got another branch beside Lot 1 (CCK), quite a big branch.
Can try your luck there too.

sneaky:

Har? I oso feeling alot of pressure at my cervix area ley... but I still got 1 mth before my EDD ley... Huh, got to ask my gynae liao next week, dun want my bb comes out so soon ley...

Hi Sneaky,
Abt the discontinuation of Avent BM storage bag, I was informed by my colleagues, dat's y we so KS, bot so many boxes to keep. You can hardly find them in Robinson, JL or other shopping centre alreadi.

I told my gynae about the pain in my cervix, he did not mention anything like this is the sign of bb coming out leh. Instead, he did a check at my cervix using this tube..wow lugi painful man. Luckily there's no infection or stuff down there. He concluded that the pain is caused by the pressure exerting there. My bb's head has not engaged yet. Dunno y but Gynae oso said my bb can come out anytime, and my bb will weigh at most 3kg at birth. So I guess, maybe I should sleep and sleep more often so that the bb will hit 3kg and it's time she come out liao..hehe.

adel: well, i'm excited yet afraid. which mummy-to-be not excited abt seeing her baby, right? unfortunately, everyone at home hopes that he doesn't come out so early all because of others; MIL still in Italy till next fri and nephew will be celebrating his b'day at home on 1 Oct...so poor thing hor? i also wonder when little Samuel wants to come...i'd really love to cuddle him...

puea: well, maybe my feeling and yours different leh...i don't mean to scare you hor...gyane says this reaction is cervix thinning in preparation for birth...he also confirmed with me that hardening of my abdomen is very regular and strong now (Braxton Hick)...this is also a sign of soon-to-be labour...

SSL: sorry! Forgot abt that! Actually if you're gonna stay in hospital for only 2-3 days then no point bringing pump cos there's too little to be pumped out. YOu wun be able to collect the milk at all cos it'll just at most stain the bottle. It makes more sense to hand express and collect in a small small small cup instead. If however you do go thru with c-section and will be in hospital for a week or so then you can bring the pump. But get your hb to bring to you a few days after delivery so that he can sterilise it first.

fiona: maybe you've wiped out all the supplies from major shopping centres leh? how much do you think is enough? maybe later i go and wipe some...hahaha...as for gynae's comments, i guess it depends on each gynae's experience...but it's never too late to start preparing leh...will sleeping really help?

Haha Sneaky,
Ya maybe my colleagues and I wipe out the supply. dat's y left none for you..haha

actually, bb will develop and grow when mother gets enough rest and sleep. So I was telling my hb teh other day that, since I am so desperate to see my bb girl coming out soon, I must sleep more, maybe 18hrs a day, so dat when she hit the 3kg mark, she will come out..but i doubt it will work lah..haha.

We are both in our 38th week alreadi, think bb can come out anytime. Must get ourselves mentally prepared though. I also read from books that the pain there signifies that cervix preparing for dilation. My tummy is also very hard and at times can really feel it's overstretched...

The swell in my foot has subsided after 3 weeks of swelling. Some old pple said that once the swell subside, it means the bb will be out soon. hopefully lor. I am looking forward to my bb girl's arrival and to cuddle her in my arms.

Hi sneaky,
I have PM u my hp no. Do update me when u r pushed into the delivery room ok? If I am next door, We will give each other moral support and cheer for each other.

fiona, for all you know, you and your colleagues are they ones...haha...then i must sleep more also...keke...indeed, our babies can come anytime now but i also really hope not. my cough is still bad and gynae told me just now that he hopes i get well quickly else the cough will cause pain at perineal area after i deliver the baby...so now, i guai guai, take the cough medicine diligently loh...my feet still swelling leh..that means baby won't come so soon...

fiona: yes, i've got your mail....i've also sent you a mail....and yes, we will give each other moral support...hip hip hooray!

breakbeats: Tks. Will try it on before I buy.

Adel: Haha ... I kena it too fr a coffeeshop aunty. She ask me boy or girl and when I replied her boy she nodded her head in agreement (like full of confident kind of face) and replied "ya can tell" ... so me kind of ignore her lor ... my office coll can even say my tummy so compact and joke abt it ...

Hi girls..

Reporting back from my checkup.. did the 8th mth detail scan.. ok here goes.. no weight gain from last checkup meaning weight still the same.. baby is 2kg at end of 33weeks.. gynae said baby is growing well.. size ok.. as for my GDM, she read the measurements i took and said i can afford to eat more cos the readings very low.. oh ya.. got a bonus from my detail scan.. the lady actually took a 3D scan of my baby.. she said since position ok and my water is enough so she took for me FOC!.. hehe..

316108.jpg

did anyone experience frequent "cramp" at the tummy these days? i started having it since last week, on and off. is it some kind of contraction or just cramps?

mybabydream:
i din experience frequent "cramp".. but i do experience frequent tightening & hardening of tummy.. told gynae about it yesterday and she told me to have more rest.. cos she said its actually braxton hicks.. if it get more and more frequent then i may go into labour earlier.. so she advice me to rest more..

Hi Mums-to-be!!!

First of all, thanks for all your concerns!

Here's my Labour Story:

At abt 2.45am, my waterbag broke, so i bath and prepared myself and admitted to Mt A delivery suit at 3.45am. The Pain was still bareable at that time, just a few menses cramps tat's all.
I rest and they measured my dilation is abt 1.5-2cm. So we waited for my gynea to reach, he reach at abt 7am. Measured again, was still abt 1.5-2 onli since 3-7am. So he decided to induce me and since i already agreed on jab epidual, i was jab on the hand and back at the same time lor. And before i was jab, i had to take some food lor.. cos after jabbing i wont be allow to eat anything.

My gynea actually predicted tat i will be done onli abt 6pm. So i laid on the bed till abt 3.30pm and nurse measured me again saying tat i am already fully dilated! which is abt 3 hrs early! den Gynea reached at abt 4pm.. den i started to push liao :p

I couldnt feel anything at all at the bottom while i push, so it was very difficult to judge where my strenght went to. Moreover i cant take in long breath.. keep taking short breaths.. BB head keep going in and out as i change my breath. Until tat i finally got him out, his hands were slightly blue so admitted for observation, till abt 9pm den was pushed to the nursery room.

By the time i can move my legs and after a gd rest was after midnight liao. den i got energy to go nursery room to visit him.

thats abt all... :D

*congrats fun*!!!
so u have been promoted le lo.. have fun in motherhood.. the rest of us.. support you!! *ganbatte*

mm.. the rest of us are still playing the waiting game. hehe..

hi, fun, congrats ! you same as me, but i still waiting le. yesterday doc check my cervix still not open yet le , have to wait for last week

so happy for you.

Today finally bought a car seat. And got promo for DBS Esso credit cardholder, buy the car seat got FOC booster, total just $169.
so happy.

Went for my gynae visit today. Adel & ClarisseMummy, as expected, my boy still in breech position. So most likely going for c section end sept.

Gynae say to wait for next week's appointment to confirm (she probably hope my baby will turn) heehee....

She asked me if i want to opt for GA or epi c section (half awake) and i told her the latter. She told me i must be prepared for it cos she had patients who just freak out. Well, of course i scare la, cos never been into operating theatre ma. But if i cant delivery baby in the natural way, the next best alternative I can choose to have will be to have epi c section, so that i can share the joy of my child's birth to this world, and hear his first cry together with hubby.

I've gained weight slightly (probably due to the white bread i'm eating :p) and my boy is now 2.7kg
I'm very happy cos I am very worried that he will be a small baby. Hope that his weight will be around 3kg during delivery la.

Hubby said no wonder I've been feeling very heavy at tummy lately. Sleeping at night can be tortue cos when turning, have to really hug my tummy and turn very very slowly.

Do u girls have increased discharge, those thick ones? i have them on and off.

Hi SSL,
Don't worry, let's hope that your bb will turn by next week, so that u can go for natural birth.

As for discharge, I do not have this problem. Didn't even bother to wear a panty liner as panties is always clean from white discharge. I read somewhere, but dunno if it's true, yoghurt helps to clear white discharge as it kinda neutralise the PH. Maybe u wanna ask around and try if pple can confirm the authenticity of this.

ssl:i have the discharge almoz everyday. your baby really grows fast! my baby's weight has slowed down coz gynae asked me to control my intake. very soon, u will be a mum!

fiona:for me, drinking coconut juice helps in reducing my discharge.

ssl: dun be disappointed. who knows baby may juz want to turn by next week. ok.. not scaring u or whatever though.. i have got a friend whose baby was in breech position till about to give birth.. then after that dunno how the gynae did it.. i think he inserted his hand into *there* to turn her baby and thus.. delivering him naturally. probably u can check with ur gynae with regards to this. mmm... at least that was what my good pal told me when her baby was in breech position.

as for the growth of ur baby.. i think its relatively ok huh! sounds like good news to me though. i think its a good size lo.

discharge: i think u dun have to be too concerned about this problem though.. it happens to most mums... mm.. as for me.. from first tri till now.. dun have.. but recently for the past few days.. i realised that i have got a bit. but i have checked.. that its alright actually. just keep ur there clean and dry.. and wear cotton panties..

*jia you* do.. the 'on the fours' on the bed when u are watching tv or reading newspaper lo. k?

hi all, good morning!

i've just received an sms saying that Jenifur has given birth to Janelle...

CONGRATS, JENIFUR!!!!!

Forgot to wish everyone here happy Mid-Autumn Festival! Enjoy your tea and mooncake under the brilliant Moon, with your love ones. This is the last chance we can do that with our love ones in private!

for the past 2 nites, I have been experiencing mild pain in my tummy, the intervals are like once every 20 mins.These pains are still bearable and accompanied with some backache. I guess all these are false contractions. Can someone advise wat's the difference between true and false contractions? When do we noe when to admit ourselves into hospital for labour?

SSL: dun be so dishearten yet... who knows last min ur bb give u a surprise..
some bb dun turn down till very last min, as some turn into breech and again down every other week. relax...
keep talking to bb, tell bb, if u in breech, its gng to leave a scar on mummy... and mummy dun look good anymore..
i think my girl knows when i tell her tt... tts y she listen..

these few nights i have constant pain in the place slightly lower than my tummy... and last nite the pain on n off.
getting real sleepless at nite..

Cant believe it!!!! i was only talking to Jenifur on MSN yesterday!!! lol.. we were still asking each other what else is missing, and she pop!!! lol.. Congrats Jenifur!!!!

Fiona, Adel, ClarisseMummy

I hope so too. Dont think my gynae is going to turn my baby for me cos i believe she would have done so if it can be done.
got trust in her.

She doesnt want to risk me going into early labour cos it would mean emergency c section, so advised me not to massage my breasts (cos i asked her if i can do so) cos it can trigger early labour.

mybabydream

i had my first coconut (share with hubby) yesterday.
kinda nice mild taste. didnt dare to drink too much. My mum told me eating green bean soup also quite "liang " one. esp those with sago.

kris

one stupid question to ask u. U mentioned to use hot water to wash the bottles and stuff right. Can i use those hot water from shower tap or i must use those boiled ones?

Hope Jenifur is doing well, was checking her compiled list, her EDD is supposed to be 17 oct. that means she popped 1 month earlier.

then again, her daughter probably want to come out earlier to share the yummy mooncakes with her parents. heehee

hehe.. good afternoon everybody!

Jennifur, congrats!! must share with us ur birth story ah!! hehe....one month ahead is too fast for me. hehe.. if i popped one month earlier like now.. i wouldn't know what to do le.

ssl: will do. i mean.. no harm asking lo.. if u are really keen in going natural. anyway, its ur choice! so long baby and mummy's fine.. who cares? haha

to all mummies: happy 'lantern' festival!!! burned my lanterns last night hehe...

Has anyone bought those herbal bath sachets for bath during confinement? WHere can we get them from?? Chinese medical hall?