(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Hi Sneaky,
I have gathered the following useful information from my bro-in-law and some colleagues who delivered in Mt. E, but I believe all Pte Hospital practice the same thing as well.

Here it goes:
Make sure at the point of discharge, the staff separate your bills into 3 differnt sets- mother's bills, baby bills and delivery bills. In this case, the amount u paid will be cheaper because for mother and baby's bills, u can pay most, if not all by Medisave. Delivery bills can be SUBSIDISED by medisave (for my case, $1050 will be deducted from medisave for the delivery package, and $450 will be deducted from medisave for the antenatal consultation fees). So, after all deductions from Medisave and upfront deposit, usually you have to fork out smaller amount of cash.

When u did your pre-admission registration, they will ask u to indicate if you want to pay by cash, credit or medisave. So, if there's enuf money in ur medisave account, opt to use medisave to pay for everything (except the deposit). I opted to use my husband's medisave.

Hope this info helps.

SSL,

maybe your bb turn already??
I know its my boy's legs coz he will wriggle legs for awhile to try to stretch straight then his legs will sorta of stuck in my ribcage so make me feel so uncomfortable.

Next visit ask your gynae to teach you how to identify bb's different body parts very fun one

Yes I agree usually our gynae will be in the best position to determine what delivery method for us.

BUT we still must think about the reasons they give not follow whatever they said blindly.

do you have a list of what are the items to pack for our "delivery bag"? My gynae told me i need to start packing liao...make me feel so nervous suddenly.

And any brand to recommend for formula milk? I dun harbour too much hope on being able to breast feed so better prepare first. :p

ling: your Clarisse very special leh...next time must threaten her instead...do the opposite...keek

celine: must practice patience liao leh...next time when he's out, you need patience; cannot always smack mah...

ruff: i bought the impression bra @ $9.90 each and have been using it when i sleep...quite nice...my hubby is so amused by it and likes to play with it...makes me blush...

fiona: thanks for the info. will get my hubby to get this thing done...

morning ladies.. TGIF..

fushiastar:
yup I will..

I failed badly for my sugar test last night.. my parents in law no cook dinner so ate outside.. ate bee hoon in hor fun sauce.. at least now I know what I cannot eat and will aviod eating in the future till I deliver.. hehe..

sweetie: my MIL bought a small mosquito cover (looks like those food cover type) where baby is put inside it and zipped up while we were in Shanghai earlier this year...i can make use of that if baby is left in the living room instead of in my room...but i feel baby is being confined in that small cover...very poor thing...will consider if i'm going to use it...

Fushiastar: I saw it at Lot 1 KP selling at $30+ leh ... they got 2 types there .. mayb u can call & chk b4 going down ... juz in case me blurry blurry see wrongly ... haha

Morning, kuririn!

sweetie,
Yeap, my HB bought 1 from KiddyPalace, quite a big one ley. My mum teased him that it can be used to cover all dishes on the dining table liao... hahaha!

sneaky: u wear bra to sleep ah? wouldn't that be a bit not too comfy? i dun like to wear bra to sleep.. makes me feel suffocated esp now that stomach is getting bigger. hehe..

my hubby also said he wants to buy mosquito net.. due to sudden increase in mosquitoes.. he always kana bitten.. so he dun wan his little girl to be bitten too..

Do you believe in the electronic mosquito repellant? Or the mosquito patches?

Mayday, the $30+ one too small to fit my cot...

fushiastar:
the one i saw at kiddy palace is u have to buy a stand to clip onto the cot then buy a net drap over it.. the total price is abt $50+ if i dun remember wrongly.. maybe this weekend i go bedok central see can find anything similar to that..
for the electronic mosquito repellant I'm not too sure.. u refering to the light one?? one of my colleague have the light one she said no use in the end sell away.. my hubby also debating whether to buy the light one..

ruff: where u bought the impression bra?

celine: my gynae oso suggested to me to go for induction aft 37th wk cos she said my BB is big.. actually i dun quite like the idea.. but on the other hand worried tt if it really grow too big if i carry til full term, the possibility of c-section wld be even higher.. haiz..

adel: yah...last time, i don't wear bra when i wear my sexy lingerie (before preggy lah)...but since i got preggy and when i cannot wear lingerie and when my nipples feel irritated by the rubbing of PJ (1 pc type), i started wearing bra to sleep...

fushiastar: i have 1 very very small electronic mosquito repellent that only produces very soft hissing sound to repel the mosquitoes...this one is definitely safe for babies...i got this gadget long long time ago...dunno where to find it liao...

ling: yah loh...he very funny one...he open liao, he said, missile preparing to shoot...terrible man

Re: Electrical Mosquito repellent
You can get the 'Mortein' brand from Econ Minimart or NTUC, it cost $4.50, if I am not wrong. It will last for a month. It comes with a odourless liquid in a container, so just plug into any socket and switch on whenever u like. Personally, I find it effective in fending off mosquitoes.

Re: Formula Milk
You may want to find out what brand of formula milk your hospital recommend. Nowadays, hospitals will recommend similar or enfalac A+ for its high quality or quantity of AA,DHA and SA. Initially wanted to get Similar for my girl as well, but because my husband has a family history of allergy (Aczema), I will be getting NAN premium for my girl to supplement my breastmilk instead. NAN is recommended for bb with asthma, and allergies by hopsitals.

Re: Hospital Bag
When u do ur pre-admission registration, they will give u a list of things to bring to hospital. I guess different hospital requires u to bring different things. I have compared my list to my sister's list, they are different.

Re: Wearing bras to sleep
hmm I never like the idea of wearing bras at home and not to talk about wearing it to sleep. From what I read from books, but I dunno if its authencity, we are advised to 'air' our breasts as n when we can, so as not to block the milk glands. In other words, try not to wear your bras at home or when u go to sleep.

fiona: my bra is very loose one...as mentioned in earlier posts, the smallest sized impression nursing bra is still a bit loose for me...i hope i did not tie my breasts too much...

Adel

I will be doing the washing after CL leaves. I think its ok. Cos baby clothing not alot. Can always leave the adult clothings to weekend to wash together with hubby's help.

Celine

I dont know why now that I'm sort of prepared to go for c section, and the thought of seeing him by end of this month, I never worry if he turn or doesnt
not like in the past, every gynae visit is a hope.

I will be buying a small tin of Similac Excellence formula for my boy, in case he needs supplement.

I've attached the hospital checklist which my friend gave me. Just as a guide. I also added some stuff on my own not in the list.

mime_msword.gif

What to buy before delivery.doc (27.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Kuririn

Dont be upset. Its the hor fun sauce (cos cook with starch ma) and not the beehoon that caused the higher readings. Just eat smaller portion of beehoon and try not to drink the sauce.

Sneaky

I've not used any insect repellent before. Will it emit insecticide or any smell?? If not, then I think i will buy that to put in baby's nursery. Also noticed more mosquitoes lately, probably due to construction nearby. So scary

Piyo2Mum : The bra is from OG. I got it from the one at Chinatown. But I should think they have it at other branches too.

ssl: me bought the bottle warmer to heat up bm. coz they say.. if use microwave, will kill all vitmamins.. if use hot water, sometimes.. can warm up unevenly.. thus causing.. stomach ache for baby. hope this helps.

Adel

what brand did u buy? where did u buy and how much? Me thinking of TollyJoy one cos its the cheapest in the market $25

SSL: i think it's better to be safe than sorry...this one doesn't use any chemicals or insecticide...it works purely on the very fine noise made by it...as for milk warmer, i got my colleagues to buy the AVENT one for me as a gift...hahaha

ling: maybe plump plump men are like that??? @#$%^

sneaky

wa so nice. me not working so no colleagues. paiseh to ask ex colleague to buy. or maybe i shall wait for them incase they give me voucher. heehee

ruff

think avent one is around $45-60. if u dont mind second hand ones, can get around $45

do u girls perspire more now? even at night?
i find that i'm sweating alot more.

And i find myself getting more tired and sleepy in the morning, so always wake up later than last time.

SSL:
I do feel warmer.. nite time with air-con and fan I still feel hot cos I will kick away my quilt.. my hubby give up on me liao.. now he shift the fan to blow at me only cos too cold for him liao.. :p
So good that u can wake up later.. I have to wake up early cos have to come work.. even if its on weekend, I will automatically wake up at 7am plus or 8am plus.. cannot sleep later than that liao.. cos cannot get to sleep.. but will tend to nap in the afternoon.. I also feel that my energy level start to drop liao.. getting tired easily..

SSL,
Wow so shiok no need to work...can sleep till as late as u like. As for me, because now is the one week school break, I get to wake up abit later than usual, 6a.m plus...cos on normal school days, I have to wake up at 5.30a.m, so now automatic will wake up early...hmm really cannot wait for next wednesday to come...I will be taking my ML from next wednesday onwards...now energy level really dropping as each day passes liao..cannot tahan for so long alreadi.

Ya, our body temperature is on the rise, i guess, dat's why feel sooooo hot. At nite, I will sleep in Air-con 'targeting' at me. I didn't cover myself with quilt but yet feel so warm. My poor husband gotta wear a T-shirt, and cover himself with quilt from head to toe, literally from head to toe...I can oni see his tiny nose breathing oni...all parts are fully covered...poor thing. But this kinda of 'sufferings' is nothing compared to our 'sufferings' rite?hehe.

kuririn &amp; fiona

wa, your hubbies must be very cold. heehee

For me, i didnt on aircon too strongly. i just didnt cover any blankets (but will try to cover my tummy area to keep BB warm and my back cos i got scatia pain) Also got on fan for ventilation.

Sneaky

ya usually colleagues will ask what we want, then get something practical mah. Wah so expensive ah.... ops... i saw those second hand ones selling around $45 and i already think its expensive. :p

heh, how's your scatia pain? getting better? Me still using the Bengay cream. Only if i dont apply, then will get the pain at times.

SSL:
ya lor.. sometimes he woke up at nite and try to cover the quilt for me but then I will scold him say I very hot dun cover for me.. after a few times he dun dare liao.. hehee.. he will cover himself until he look like a ba zhang..

kuririn

hahaha, u so fierce. my hubby once lie on bed, will sleep like a pig. its always me that covers for him.

But sometimes, when i wake up to go toilet in the middle of the night, he will also know and sit down on the bed.

inc

didnt really count how often my bb moves, but he does have big movements, especially lately.

SSL: yah...sometimes it's good to be working...as for my sciatic pain, it was gone for a while already. however, i am started to feel a little ache on the other side now...i hope it's not sciatica again...torturous ah...you mean you're still suffering from the pain ah? poor girl...

SSL,
you so lucky can sleep until shiok shiok then wake up I drag going to work but dun dare to take leave coz still got alot of pending work to finish cannot just go off maternity leave without proper handover.

my body temperature also increase alot! last time no matter what i always wear sweater in the company coz i am always cold but now i can wear sleeveless maternity blouse without sweater and dun feel cold.
At home my aircon use to be 24 degree and I will be cover with quilt now aircon goes down to 22 degree and me without quilt still feel alright only.

celine,

I got this brand benben face towel fr KP ... is in a pack, total 6pcs.
Bath towel too but no brand one .. cost $2.90 per pc.

inc: my gynae is at least 10 movements a day

Btw, anyone not yet go for hospital tour? Do you think is neccessary? Was thinking of gg for one alone coz hubby not free.
Will ppl find me weird gg hosiptal tour alone?