(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Hi sneaky,
I just did my pre-admission registration today, have booked the Paedetrician and anesthetician as well. Will be using Dr. Wong May Ling and Dr. Catherine Yap respectively. Signed up the package that include epidural...made up my mind alreadi, go in straight away adminster epidural...cos my threshold for pain is damn low.

last nite, my bb did not move at all, this morning, rush down to see gynae. really scare the shit out of me!Luckily nothing happen. I even saw her rubbing her nose during the scan, so cute. so far, have put on 13kg within this 36th weeks. The weight gain is considered alright for me as I am slightly underweight before I got pregnant, bb will not be more than 3kg, according to the gynae. hmmm I did ask my gynae if there is any chance my bb will be coming out earlier than EDD, but he didn't really want to answer me this question leh...he said alot of factor can cause early labour, so just play by the ears lor...hmmm.

Anyway, my gynae tie up with Mt. E, so I am paying special price. package (normal delivery with epidural) cost $1400 instead of $1900...so happy, got discount haha. How about u?

Adel,
I need to ask my sister the massage lady's contact number before I can pass to u,k?

Fushiastar,
Last nite, my bb din move at all, got worried. This morning went to see gynae, he placed one hand on my bb's head and the other hand on my bb's feet, press press abit, the bb started to move. Maybe u can try. But seriously, i think it's best u give ur gynae a call (like wat I did this morning) and see what he said. It's better to go down and do a scan and check fetal heartbeat.

My baby usually moves when I shower, eat or when I press on her.. She didn't move when I bathed this morning, or at breakfast or at lunch.. On top of that, I had to exert myself at about lunch time and got this awful pain at the bottom of my belly.. So really worried now.. I purposely pressed my tummy to make her move and she moved just a small bit and just once..Just drank warm milk and ate something, hoping she will move but she didn't move.. Sigh.. Anyhow, getting off work now. gonna call the hotline.. see what they say..

fiona: i did not book Dr Catherine Yap leh...but i will ask for her if she's around that day...wah...so fast you decided on epidural already ah...i've also put on the same amount of weight as you...i think both of us are very normal...i'm not sure about my package price leh...

fushiastar: don't get too worried, okay? maybe you eat something sweet...it will make baby move...

sneaky,
How come u dunno your package price? When I did the pre-admission registration, the lady advised me on the various package prices and asked me which package I am signing up leh.

Ya, I know my own limit, I know I cannot hold pain for too long one, so better to administer epidural the moment I step into the delivery suite, to save myself from all the unnecessary pain...hehe.

Fushiastar,
Don't worry, your bb will be fine.

All MTBs,
Have you heard of dry shampoo? I walked past Guardian pharmacy and this lady recommended me this dry shampoo. She told me she used this for her confinement for one whole month. No need to use water, just spray this dry shampoo on ur scalp and massage can liao. I just bot one small bottle. Told my mum, then she said last time when she used, her scalp develop dandruff. Anyone can advise if this is true? The brand of the dry shampoo is 'krodane'.

I think my thighs have started to develop stretchmarks. This morning, just discovered the back of both my thighs have this small cluster of red marks (like mosquito bites), until now, they are still there. Think they are really SM. Sigh, I apply clarins SM oil on my tummy, back, backside, but not my thighs...and now my thighs ganna...sigh...wanna bang the wall liao.

Fushiastar: Oic ... so how's yr bb? Everything ok? Better call yr gynae do not hesitate.

Thanks SSL and Fiona. Really quite pricey on this stemcord. Having 2nd thought now ...

mybabydream: I dun think she will be massaging the baby.

Mayday,
Why not u give stemcord a call, cos the rates are different for different gynae and hospital. like my gynae and Mt. E tie up with Stemcord, so it's cheaper. My friend and sister who delivered at a differnt hospital paid differnt rate as me. my sis is cheaper whereas my friend more expensive. For me, I only paid $650 upfront, then subsequent year will be $200 per annum.

hi fiona: thanks.. will be waiting for ur confinement lady's no.

kuririn: do not worry so much.. i tell u what u can eat to avoid.. high readings... eat yong tau foo with plain water! escapes all readings.. hehe.. i mean maintain low reading.. of blodd gluccose. plus stomach filling.. anyway.. juz a few weeks left down the road.. dun worry ok?

for those who went to taka and isetan baby fair, is there any special price for car seat. think e one onloan by my ex col too old so cant use, need to buy one asap.

wonder if i should go to e baby fair or kidsmall or kiddy palace to buy. any advice.

any brand worth buying but not too expensive. and normally till how old a child can fit e car seat.

ssl: there is this brand chicco that is quite good..
can take from infant to 4 years old. at about 200 plus.. usual 300 plus.. but i can't remember its at isetan or taka le..
hope this help.

Kris,
wanna ask u regarding confinement "rules", can u advise us on the Can and Cannot do during our confinement period? like whether can touch cold water, bathe, wat to eat or wat not to eat etc etc. I am totally ignorant abt such things so thought i'd better get myself ready. Thanks.

Fushiastar,
u saw gynae yest already? is bb ok?

Baby started moving again last night.. Phew
Called the hotline and was just told to lie down and monitor... Which didn't work.. After awhile, baby started to move on her own again.. Huge sigh of relief..

Woke up today to find my fingers looking like sausages! Water retention in my fingers is really bad.. Can't bend my fingers more than 45 degrees.. Thankfully feet still look ok, maybe cos i elevate my feet and do my ankle pumps faithfully every night.. But I'm on half day from today onwards.. Yay

fushiastar,
phew!! i am so relieved for u too!. maybe bb is just sleepy so cannot feel much movements lah.
Dont worry, i am also having sausage fingers...dam ugly man.my feet also swell and become so red esp at night.

Good morning girls..

Adel:
do u eat yong tau foo with bee hoon or without? do you drink the soup?? cos I find that the soup very sweet.. nowadays I only take bee hoon soup for lunch.. the chicco car seat u mentioned is it the model chicco vector?? I'm still sourcing for one.. duno want to buy a not..

fushiastar:
thats good.. u must be very relieved..

Last night had a bad leg cramp.. haven't had one for abt 2 mths liao.. after that cannot get to sleep.. keep waking up.. now very tired.. yawn..

mybabydream: the placenta will not really 'slip' out lah.. the gynae will prob ask you to cough and press on your abdomen to make the placenta come out easier.

Fiona: I do intend to use dry shampoo during my confinement. I think if dandruff develops it's just probably the dead skin on our scalp that wasn't washed out by water lah.

Mrs Tan: During my first confinement I bathed and did all kinds of things that ppl told me not to. I dunno if it's really true but I 'suffered' from that till now.. My water retention never really left me and seriously I'm not as strong as before. Basically ppl recommend not bathing for at least the first 12 days or so after delivery. And dun bathe for bb either. Keep yourself warm throughout (this is the part I find hardest to do cos during confinement you'll really feel v v v warm! perspire non-stop.) Avoid garlic (this is what my mom said.. she said it'll make bb smelly cos the garlic smell will pass through the bm), and my aunt for some reason just told me not to use salt in my confinement food but to use a high-grade light soya sauce instead. Drink LOTS of fluids cos you'll be feeling v thirsty most of the times, esp when bfing. And if bfing, keep on taking calcium, multi-vits and vit C. The calcium is a MUST!

And most importantly, try to get as much rest as possible. Backache after delivery is v common, whether or not you opted for epidural. So dun carry heavy things during confinement. Expect your ribcage to feel enlarged, and your pelvic bones too. For some of us our bone structure will kind of expand horizontally and some pre-preggy clothes will just never fit again even though you may return to your pre-preggy weight.

The confinement period to me is one month of physical discomfort.. thank goodness we're doing it during yr end when the weather is slightly cooler. But this time round I'm determined to stick to as many rules as I can tahan!

Fuschiastar: I didn't engage post-natal massage services the first time round, but I do believe it can help to alleviate water retention. Cos you see, that really is a big problem for me. My tummy went back to pre-preggy state within 4 days after my 1st delivery but I dunno if I'll be so lucky this 2nd time round. SInce this is v likely going to be my final pregnancy, I'm going to go all out to nurse my health back and try to look as good as possible.

Hi Fushistar: Can I chk wiz u is the incontinence sheet blue in color which can be found in KP & Pharmacy? I saw it in Pharmacy but dun dare to buy coz not so sure and afraid buying the wrong one.

Hi girls...

Havent been writing for quite awhile.... hope everyone is hanging in alright. I came across a reading that says towards the last month, the baby's movement is limited due to the confined space. Do not worry too much and give yourself unnecessary stress if your baby is not moving as much as before.

Try to rest more and do not be like me. I tried to do as much housework as possible before I am due (nesting syndrome) but ended up with quite bad water retention. The doctor made me rest for four days as he mention that serious water retention is a sign of upgoing pressure. If it worsens, induce labour is very likely. So do heed my advice. Rest more....

Well, my EDD is on the 1st Oct. sure am looking forward to the birth of my baby...... But havent decide on a name.

Mrs Tan and Kuririn:

Kris: Oh I see.. Still thinking about it..
Mayday: The one I got is blue
KP-Causeway point (the one at TPY doesn't sell) sells, I just found out that polyclinic pharmacies (sell per sheet at about $1 per sheet) and Shaw Plaza guardian pharmacy (in packs on 10 at about $10 per pack) also sells..

went to see gynae on monday...baby now 2.1kg at week 33. Gynae said if my bb more than 3kg at week 37 she want to induce me...
I was not very happy about this piece of new. I want my baby to come out naturally.

celine: dun be so unhappy.. i guess ur gynae is worried tt bb inside will be too heavy for u to carry to full term, and moverover, bb is growing in a very limited space right now, and bb will be stress and who knows the stress can make things worse. Gynae wanna induce u, at least still its natural birth, so dun worry so much.

but i thot we can let bb come out naturally even if bb is more than 3kg right?

induce birth got the danger of going thru emergency c-section leh...

my gf kana this lor same gynae ask her to induce at week 37 coz her bb is 3.4kg but in the end she got to go thru emergency c-section.

SSL, a bit slow for me but... u delivering soon!! congrats!! hehe... seem so long ago i bought the shoes from ur sis... =P

kris,
wah thanks for taking the trouble to type out everything. appreciate.

i've jotted down wat u've said and will also try to follow as much as possible. I can imagine the heat and perspiration and discomfort. I am already perspiring so easily everyday now so i can kind of imagine. For u, hope u can return to ur pre-preggie tummy after birth, shld be no problem lah.

celine: i dunno how small size u are, but surely gynae tell u tt for a reason. if ur bb gng to be bigger than 3kg at 37 weeks, which means once u hit Full term, bb likely to be heavier, cos dun forget, gynae's calculation only based on the bb's tummy volume and has not include the other parts of the bb body. Induced birth means, to likely break ur water bag and let u have dilation. But if the dilation is not big enough, u will be gng for C-section, as the longer time u wait for the dilation, the bb will be in destress, and it might lead to bb passing motion and causing harm to the little life.

as for ur gf, did she really tel u why she was wheeled for C-section? she might not have told u the full story.

at least u are stil given a chance to induce, where as me.. i am everyday praying hard tt my girl will turn down then in a breech position, which by 36 weeks i will likely opt for a C-section.

Fushiastar,
Glad that you baby is safe and sound in your womb.

Mayday,
As for the stemcord, we have to pay the anuual fees for as long as we terminate the service with them. However, when ur child reaches the age of 21, u can transfer the 'ownership' to him or her, i.e. he will take over and pay the annual fee himself or herself.

Give them a call, they are not the pushy type. There's no obligation to buy anything from them. For me, I signed up with them only to attend their talk and seminar twice, once in Mt. E, and once in my school.

Adel, Ruff,
My sister's massage lady's contact is 91872441, called Habsah.

Celine,
Actually yesterday I also asked my gynae if I can induce my bb at 37th week so as to 'shorten my sufferings'. However, he strongly discourage as, he mentioned that there is some risk involve in inducing the baby out, and most of the time u will end up in emergency C-section, which is more risky than natural birth. Hence, u will go through 2 different risks for one birth, not worth it.

fiona: u gotten her meaning wrong. her gynae wanna her to go induce at 37 weeks if her bb weighs more than 3kg.
its not her choice. she can insist on tt she wan to wait but then, having said that, which means tt bb will likely be too big for her to handle n may in the end landed for a C-section too.

<font face="Calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Celine</font>,

I can understand your feeling cuz my girl also overweight, 2.4kg @ 34 wks. My gynae also said if she continues growing then hv to induce. Hv discussed w my HB, if really induce then I'll jus choose C-Section cuz I've heard of so many unsuccessful early induce cases.

e only thing u can do now is to reduce ur carbo intake as wat my gynae advise. But then there's nothing much we can do cuz BB grows v fast in e last trimester. Jus hv to take things as it comes loh.</font>

<center>
313196.jpg
</center>

28 more days to go, before my bb turns 40th week. Counting down now, of course. Now one week school holiday, am contemplating to taking Maternity leave from next monday onwards (into my 37th week), cos very tiring now. Feet seem to be very restless, groin and virgina sore, every nite cannot sleep. Am fortunate that I dun suffer from backaches, and water retention in arms and fingers...or maybe not yet lah.

I am new member here! My bb is going to due on 3 Oct! I have same problem as Kuririn..G.diebetes..sad. Have been cutting down on my carbos &amp; sugar too! Doc told me NO WHITE BREAD, cut down my noodles &amp; rice by half..but nurses told me NO MILK, NO FRIES etc etc..freak me out! NO MILK??

Yesterday reported my blood glucose reading to my doc...still have to continue test weekly but tink maybe can reduce the nos of testing on the day (no need to test before meals)becos my reading seem ok now.

fiona: soon soon.. maybe u should start taking a break... rest home.. so far i dun have any wter retention too eventhough i have lots of water... but sleepless nites kill..

ClarisseMummy,
Ironically, to reduce water retention, u have to drink lotsa water to plush out the toxin in your body...maybe dat's why u dun have water retention lor.

It's so tiring to work at this stage, wonder why so many pregnant ladies in my school can work till they deliver...

tml i am going for my check up..my 36th weeks! I am so anxious...recently alwas encounter stomach cramps/pain even last night but after awhile its gone. Heard from friends that, we will met these cramps or keep going to loo for business before labour!

Yah, I agree, working is more difficult, especially with sausage fingers, can't hold things properly plus the sleepless nights and the backaches, really envy those of you that don't have to work..

Hi Rachel
kao_welcome.gif

Rachel:
kao_welcome.gif

I will be seeing the dietician this afternoon.. but have to go see the nurse first.. she will teach me how to do the test.. when u say u test weekly, do u mean test once a week or everyday???

jenifur/Mrs Tan
If you two are reading...i just popping over to say hi...noticed you gals are so near to your EDD already..especially Mrs Tan..

so happy to see one by one of us graduating from our TTC journey &amp; now becoming mother!

After checking with the nurses, I was examined my suagr level is slightly high so I have to take the kit home to test myself.

I have to do it once in a week (normally the day we are free: weekend). Before meal, then after meal 2hrs..continue till dinner then bed time (7 times).

Last week is my 1st test at home. Now my reading seem ok so nurse said I can skip the before meal test.

fiona: i forgot the package price liao...i think it's S$1980...my threshold for pain also quite low...but 2 hrs of experiencing it is worth it..haha

Hi Rachel Pang, welcome!!! please feel free to share with us...

Sneaky,
Just wanna check with you, will your gynae be checking for dilation and viral infection in your V? if so, when will he check? We are in our 36th week alreadi, bb can come out anytime from 37th week, but so far my gynae didn't check for these 2 leh. And according to my sister in law, she said she don't remember my gynae performing any strep B test to check for infection.

Kris,
From your past experience, can u feel or how do you know your cervix has alreadi dilated? Does pain there = Dilation?

lbs!!
helloooo!! so nice to see u here in our thread. thanks so much for remembering me and jenifur. yes yes time really flies..i still can rem the time u tested positive and now u are already an experienced mommy liao, haha. ya, i'm now going thru the half excited half scared frame of mind cos really dunno wat to expect during my actual big day. how have u been? everything ok with u and ur bb?

kuririn: i always eat yong tau foo.. with bee hoon.. er.. usually i will eat.. the fish maw, vege,hotdogs..and tau kee.. after eating.. gynae tested me two hours later to find out that the readin was about 4. something. which is bery bery good. tats why i suggested eating yong tau foo.. ok? relax a bit.. dun feel that its the end of the world ok? if u have been eating lesser carbo and less sugar.. u wun get a big baby and then.. even better a smoother delivery..
(i hate those ignorant relatives who say that.. wah.. ur baby sure bery small one.. u see ur stomach so small! not like ur cousin(she jus gave birth last month)how i wish i can tell them..yah..if i want a bigger baby like 5 kg also can ! jus eat sugar everyday lor.) duh...

clarrissemummy: hello? can i know why is it that must induce at 36 weeks? isn't it a bit too early? i thought anything after 36/37 weeks then considered full term?

mummies: counting down the days.. le.. dunno whther to feel excited or wat.. read so many of them who has given birth.. complaining about having to take care of thier own darlings until dunno which is day and which is night.. so contradicting..

adel: lol... nono lah... 37 weeks is then consider full term when bb is of a certain minimum weight. if gynae finds bb will be to large at 40 weeks, so some gynae will advice to induce at 37 weeks. cos the weight calculation by the gynae is only measuring via the tummy, which is only an estimation. for bb who still in Breech position, at 36 weeks, gynae will advice to do a C-section and not induce after 37 weeks.

Whether induced at 37 weeks will lead to c-section, its very individual.

Adel

hubby also telling me he saw cheaper ones at Kiddy Palace. Probably need to go check them out this weekend liaoz.

Kris

My baby has been moving quite alot lately, and quite big movements too. Is it normal?

I dont intend to go for any massage if I'm having c section. Will my tummy revert back to its pre-preggy state? Just hope to save money and not sure if the massage lady will know how to do or not cos me got the c section wound

Jen

thanks. u still remember me ah. heehee

Rachel

Welcome
I'm drinking HL milk or marigold ones. Was told by gynae that its ok. I think your gynae may mean no no for those condensed or evaporated milk which we use to make coffee/milo.

fiona: yes, my gynae had taken vagina discharge sample from me during last visit (02/09 - wk 36) for culture test for Strep B and other viral infection. as for dilation, i think he look at it at the same time loh...

SSL: mine oso big movements! scary.. like sommersaulting inside... it hurts at times... tell her but she just dun care.. even do it more often..