(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Fiona, guess that's why.. your gynae does a "detailed scan" every visit so don't have a specific foetal growth scan..

How often are you seeing your gynae now? I'm 33-34 weeks now and seeing every 3 weeks..

Tks fiona.. m likely to do so.
btw anyone experience pain at the groin side esp when tossing n turning and standing up after sitting for a while...

fushiastar:
My last checkup was 5 weeks apart.. this coming one is 3 weeks apart.. I'm now in my 32 weeks..

fushiastar: i'm still seeing gynae 2 weeks apart for the next one and after this one, it'll be on weekly basis...

inc:
me also.. esp the tossing n turning.. and morning getting out of bed.. walking also pain but not as bad as morning when i get out of bed.. think its normal cos pelvic bone expanding.. thats what my gynae said lor..

Sneaky,
of course same practice, cos both of ur delivering at Mt. E wat.

Fushiastar,
starting from 32nd week, my check up is every fortnight. This wednesday gng for checkup again, it will be my last day of 35th week, so i guess after dat will be once a week liao lor.

inc,
dun worry, the pain is normal. like wat kuririn has mentioned, it's due to the expansion of pelvic bone. soon, or in weeks to come, u will find some soreness or discomfort in your virgina, as your cervix is preparing for the dilation. All these pain is enuf to cause u diffiulties in tossing and turning in bed....

I know that after 36 weeks, gynae visits should be weekly.. Thought that it is every 2 weeks from 32-36 weeks.. That's why just asking..

We are gonna see our babies real soon..

A friend of mine was asking me what's my best buy for myself during pregnancy... I thought for awhile and realise that it's my Farlin pregnancy support belt and my auntie Scholl shoes! Can't live without them, if not I get bad backaches and calf+ankle aches!

inc

I've also signed up with Stemcord.

Sneaky

Its ok la

Fushiastar

Is it a must to source for good anaesthetist? u mean i need to tell them who i want?? Tot only need to do that for PD.

Ya, i did some reading. Think I'm more comfortable with football hold feeding style. As for nursing pillow, i am still having doubts cos it seems that it will also kenna the wound area. I intend to use pillow instead. ie. put baby on pillow to prop up the height for easier feeding. so no pillow on my tummy.. but i think i will check with the lactation consultant after i deliver on breastfeeding. Duno if they will ask the consultant to see me or not.

If really got no choice, then i will feed baby with expressed breast milk from bottle lor.

But till now, i still hasnt got any colostrum leak. So worried i wont be able to breastfeed baby after delivery.

kris

any good anaesthetist to recommend at TMC? issit necessary to tell my gynae beforehand my selected PD or wait till the surgery day?

I'm already seeing my gynae every 2 weeks
now in 34+weeks. I think next time will be every week cos will be in my 37 weeks.

wah sehz.. ssl: u will be seeing ur baby real soon man.. if its me.. i will be so.. excited.. i mean at the same time a bit scared lah.. hehe..
good luck man..

ya really starting to get excited ever since i started to wash baby's stuff.

cant imagine me and hubby will be daddy and mummy by the end of this month.

SSL: I guess if you don't request for one, then one will be assigned to you.. There are always risks in any sort of procedure.. including epidurals, not all anaesthetists are comfortable with epidurals.. so since there's still time, just source for someone good lor..
Like for me, I'm delivering in NUH and there are the doctors that people will tell me to keep a wide berth from and the ones that are known to be more skillful.. Since I'm a private patient and I can choose my doctors, I would want to choose the "good" ones and avoid the others lor..
TMC should have lactation consultants that pop in to see you..
Don't worry about colostrum.. It's still early..

K, getting off work now..
Going home.. Hubby's cooking dinner tonight! Yum yum!

fiona: yah hor...haha...btw, my SIL recommended this anaesthetist called Katherine Yap...ask for her when you're in labour...hope she's on duty...she's very good, i heard...

talking about feeling uneasy at vagina area...i'm starting to feel numbness and sometimes a little ache at vagina and inner thighs leh. sometimes really feel like baby is coming already...sleeping is also a chore now...dunno why...

Hi Sneaky,
Thanks for your recommendation on Anesthetist. I will ask for her. Are you oso intending to get the epidural as soon as u step into the delivery suite, like me?

Our EDD is the same, scarly we are just next door and can hear each other's screams and shouts.hehe.

mybabydream,
I will be engaging post-natal massage lady. Each session last fr 1-1.5hr, cost $40. Gotta let her massage everyday. My sister let her massage for just 10 session and her tummy really flattens to pre-pregnancy one. However, this malay lady only serves pple staying in the East Area so as to cut her transportation cost.

Fushiastar: Kapo abit .. how come u go on ML so early at yr wk36?

SSL: Went gynae visit today and my gynae told me she's going to give me a binder and ask me not to buy leh ... perhaps u chk wiz yr gynae first b4 buying one.

mybabydream: I'm engaging Mdm Rohaya who got experience in massaging ppl wiz scoliosis. Her pacakge is 490 for 7 session.

Hi SSL & Fiona: Can enlighten me on this stemcord tingy? How much do we need to pay?

Btw, anyone heard of 'excessive nipples'? Can share with me what is that?

fiona: don't mention it...i am intending to take epi after 2 hrs of pain...i want to experience it lah...if the pain is bearable, i shall continue to tahan for as long as i can w/o epi and finally give birth to baby naturally...i look down on myself...so i think epi after 2 hrs sounds more like it...for all you know, we may be screaming away like nobody's biz...haha...make sure you scream your nick (fiona) and i'll scream mine (sneaky)...at least we recognise each other and can encourage each other...haha

haha sneaky, dat's a good one...we shall scream our own nick out...haha.

Do u think ur bb will come out earlier? I got a feeling mine will come out earlier leh, dunno why. Actually I also hope she will come out earlier. hehe. My tummy is very low lying alreadi.How about urs.

Mayday,
I cannot remember how much I paid for the stemcord leh, cos i signed up long time ago in June under MOE benefits, so got some discounts.

if u sign up with stemcord, you will be given a box which has syringe, and other equipment inside. so during delivery, u just need to bring this box to the gynae, and he will draw the blood cell from your bb's umbilical cord. They need to collect at least 12milllions blood cell. If there's not enuf, stemcord co. will refund u accordingly.

there are currently 2 co. in singapore providing this service, one is stemcord, the other is cordlife. u may want to surf their website and find out more. Make comparision before you decide which to sign up.

fushiastar

will keep a lookout for recommendations from TMC

Mayday

Wa your gynae so nice ah. give u binder. dont think mine will. heehee

I paid about $1200+ (including GST) for first year storage and enrolment fees. Annual storage fees cost $250, starting from 2nd year onwards.

Fiona has sort of explained the rest to you. You can arrange to meet them before you sign and see which one you prefer.

For me, hubby compared both and choose Stemcord so we only met up with the lady from Stemcord. No promotion at the moment lor. TMC only has promo with CordLife.

Some gynaes or hospitals may have promo so you can check out. But dont sign up too late. think if last min (when u are going to deliver) got extra charges.

The lady I met up with is quite detailed & clear in her explanation to us. If you want, can email me and I pass you her contact.

hi fiona: can u pass me ur post natal massage lady's no? am staying in the east as well.. thanks. can pm me?

ssl: u.. already sign up with stemcord ah? is it really that good?mm.. maybe need to consider.. but cost wise.. like kinda expensive..

Sneaky , Fiona,
hey dont forget me! we are all due on 6 Oct (exactly 1 mth to go girls!) at TMC. wah lau, if we all start screaming our own nicks, i think the nurses will think i am mad lor. Imagine.. i will scream Mrs Tan!! then i think they will misunderst, think i am actually calling out for Mrs Wong. only called the wrong surname hahaha....

Sneaky, I also gonna do it like ur way. Try tahan a bit (not sure if can be as long as 2hrs) then will opt for epi. btw u know of any good or famous anaesthetist at TMC?

Oops...realised i made a mistake. Fiona & Sneaky are delivering at Mt E and not TMC. Got u 2 mixed up with Whitefloral...hehehe. paiseh.

Mayday, cos I'm currently working and am under contract. My contract ends on Sep30th after which I'm gonna stop working til the end of the year. My EDD is on Oct 22nd and I'm allowed to take maternity leave up to 28 days before EDD, so I'm gonna take from Sep24th onwards, if not, by the time I deliver, I'm no longer working and can have no maternity benefits

SSL: I dunno abt any recommended anaesthetists in TMC leh.. so sorry. I just go by whoever my gynae assigns to me cos I trust her. My gynae did ask me if I'll be going for the epi this time round and my answer to her was 'see how long my labour goes on for loh' hee.. cos during my 1st delivery my labour pains went on for 22 hours woh.. really couldn't take the exhaustion and had epi at the 14th hour.. so this time see how lah..

mybabydream: I'm getting Mdm Nani to do post-natal massage for me. I think also abt $470 or so for 7 sessions. She the one who did the massage for Zoe Tay.

Hi girls..

Feeling sad now.. Just now the nurse from hospital called me.. She said my sugar level a bit high.. then I will need to see the hospital dietician.. So tomorrow afternoon gota go down hospital again to see dietician and also take the device to measure sugar level.. Thought everything was fine cos waited for more than a week liao.. who knows.. sigh..

Kris, does post natel massage really help?
Kuririn.. just a few more weeks to go.. don't be sad.. baby will know that you are sad one.. at least yours is just diet control right? don't have to take insulin jabs.. Cheer up yah?

kuririn,
almost at the end of pregnancy already so jia you! just heed the advice of the dietician and u will be fine. dont worry ok?

hi fiona, maybe you PM me your contact number and i'll send you mine...when we're due, we inform each other loh...then we'll know if we're due together...haha..i also have a feeling baby will come early cos i keep feeling heavy at lower abdomen, inner thighs and vagina aches...i always feel baby's coming...

mrstan: unfortunately, we've chosen different hospitals to deliver our babies...if not hor...Mt E's labour ward will be super noisy ah!

fushiastar & Mrs Tan:
Thanks for the consolation.. just called up the nurse to check on my sugar reading.. cos she said slightly high only.. she said normal is 7.7 and my 2nd reading is 8.3.. she said is ok just need to control only not so serious lor..

Sneaky,
so exciting hor? the aches u are feeling are sure signs of bb's arrival...kan cheong leh...
hehe ya lor, so wasted that we diff hospitals, or else we have companionship hor? nev mind, just keep each other updated lor.

whitefloral,
where are u? wanna exchange contacts too? then can inform each other when we admitted.

mrstan: yah loh...so exciting...keke...and like fiona, my tummy also quite low lying liao...unfortunately, i dunno any anaesthetist at TMC leh...cannot recommend...

Adel,

I also seeing Stemcord this weekend to sign up. Dr Cheng has special rates w them. He strongly advises us to take up becos of the benefits but affordability has to be the top consideration. so you may want to at least speak w them 1st.

Viola

I've just PM u.

Adel

Its up to you whether u want to sign up for the cord blood banking. Some of my friends dont. for me, not sure if i'm having no. 2 so its better to have my boy's cord blood being bank, something like an insurance plan for him also.

Kuririn

Dont be upset. Your reading is not high
about the same as mine. Once u cut down your carbo and sugar intake, your reading will be alright.

I totally avoided sugar and cut down on carbo, so far, so good. Normally for me, I find reading at breakfast time is higher so dont worry too much.

SSL:
Thanks for the consolation.. I will not know how many times I need to test until tomorrow when I meet up with the nurse.. I'm also avoiding sugar since last week.. used to take a cup of tea with sugar.. now stop liao change to drink green tea.. been cutting down on rice intake.. now only take rice for dinner.. also cut down the portion.. breakfast usually I take wholemeal bread either with jam or ham n low fat cheese.. last week went to buy jam for diabetic.. Hope I can tahan thru the next 7 weeks..

kuririn

u must remember to take more meals. otherwise you will lose weight like me. i lost 2kg after i started my diet control. But gained back 0.7kg after i switched back to eating white bread instead of wholemeal bread 2 weeks ago.

Just look at the sugar and carbo content of the food u eat (be it biscuit, bread, jam, etc) some canned drinks (eg green tea also contain sugar)

And try not to take too much sugar replacement (eg. equal) cos not good for preggy.

Sweetness from fruits are ok, just limit banana intake cos it contains high level of sucrose/frutose (cant remember which one)

Last time i can only take 1pc of wholemeal bread with either peanut butter or margarine (low salt and low fat) or 1 slice tomato with 1/2 slice of cheese.

For a start, just have to trial and error. By the time u finish testing, u will be popping

SSL:
thanks for the advise.. I will take note..
u only took 1 slice of bread for breakfast ah.. I can't leh.. I get hungry easily.. now I eating 2 slices.. then 2 hrs later another 2 slices.. trying to split up my meals..

My baby's only moved once today.. Should I call the labour hotline? Suppose to call if there are less than 10 movements between 9-6pm..

<font face="Calisto mt"> Fishiastar,

Hv ur BB engaged? BB's movement will reduce once they engaged. If not then better call gyane to check</font>

jenifur, not engaged leh... aargh.. this is so so horrible.. why is she not moving.. i tried to press on my tummy and she always moves when i press but she's not moving today.. If she doesn't move again by the time i get off work, i'm gonna call..

hello everyone! i bought johnson &amp; johnson lavender &amp; camomile baby bath for my bb....am wondering is there a need to rinse off with water after bathing bb since i will only add small amt of the bath into a tub of water.

kuririn

I cant take 2pcs cos reading will be high. so i got no choice. thats why i lost weight.

Fushiastar

Maybe u try to find a place to relax, lie down if possible. drink warm milk or water and see if baby respond?

Yesterday my baby move alot, probably cos i didnt walk about alot. today, i so busy doing housework, didnt sense much of his movement too. but once in a while, i will rest and try to sense his movement.

tks to those who replied abt post-delivery massage? wondering whether does your package include baby massage and baby bath?

any idea whether once the baby is delivered, does the placenta slips out easily? or do we have to make another push for it to come out?