(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

inc: it's water retention. put your feet up whenever you can.
Even when you sleep.

I did wif a bolster..
hope it does not signal other probs ;(

jus wanna to check if it is a common thing experienced by mother to be entering into 3rd trim or beg of 3rd trim..

will it go away?

water retention is a common symptoms for pregnant ladies..i suffer from it too....
but my water retention occurs mainly on my face & my fingers....tat is why i look quite puffy & ugly!!

my gynae also selling $30 excl GST for Neurogain hence I dun mind getting it at $26 if Unity is really selling at this price.

Hi girls..
Just got back from checkup not long ago.. Gynae said bb is growing well.. she said at 25wks bb ard 600gms.. she din really take measurement.. she did use a measuring tape to measure the size of my tummy.. duno wat is it for.. thank god that this time no glucose was detected in my urine..

till date at 25wks n 6 days, I had gained 7.9kg.. gynae said weight gain is good..

inc,
today, one of my colleagues pointed out to me that my feet are swollen. I am in my 29th week now (beginning of third trimester). They told me it's normal and it's due to water retention.

Suay, recently, many of my school teachers, including my principal, caught the various virus, they were either down with sore throat, cough or flu. I just ganna today. Now sore throat damn bad. Dare not eat lozenge, fearing that it will affect the baby. Anyone got any effective remedy?

Today many colleagues commented that my tummy is 'neat and sharp' so all guessed I am expecting a boy. but on contrary, I am confirmed thrice by ultrasound scan that I will be expecting a girl. Is this sharp tummy thingy another old wives' tale?

kuririn

The reason why your gynae measured your tummy with a measuring tape could be to check if the water bag together with baby size is alright.

That time gynae also measured my tummy. Hubby told me that cos that time, it was discovered that I got Gestational Diabetes and so she have to make sure my tummy is not too big, cos part of the risk of GD is that BB will grow too big and/or water bag also bigger. Gynae also didnt explain to me why she measured my tummy.

Fiona

Its better to get flu tablets from your gynae. I was told (by many) that if you are having a boy, its not obvious to see that you are pregnant from behind (back view) Ie. didnt expand too much on waist area. But if its a girl, then normally the expansion is at waist line. Not sure how true this is
But thats how they guessed mine

Fiona, SSL, many people said I'm expecting a boy due to the shape, but when I do ultrasound, it's a gal gal

Fiona n Winnie the pooh:
me too me too.. many people also guessed that I'm having a boy by looking at my tummy.. but then the detail scan confirmed that I will be having a girl.. so now hubby paraniod scared wait bb come out to be a boy.. hahaha

SSL:
My gynae no say anything just took the measuring tape measure liao then say.. good good.. size is good thats all.. so was wondering why.. thanks for enlightening me.. hehe

Fiona: try taking pei pa kao. It helps. Bring a big bottle to school and when you get back to the staff room and feel the pain, irritation etc, take a teaspoon. Does your school have portable microphones that teachers can use? If yes then maybe it's a good idea to loan it out to use during this period. Dun end up like me - lost my voice for a whole week, and basically MC for a whole week also.

Many also commented that I dun look pregnant from the backview. That's also a reason why people said I am expecting a boy.
I bought a lot of dresses and girlish top from HongKong...cannot imagine if my bb comes out to be a boy...what am I to do with so many pink, purple and red dresses.

Kris,
We have to buy our own Microphone but I dun have the habit of using Microphone cos the 'scolding' will be 'broadcasted' to other parts of the school and the whole school will know who's the tigeress in school...haha.

Btw, is pi pa kao safe for pregnant woman? I have been drinking alot of luo han guo to 'cool' down the heatiness in my body. Let's hope it works.

Fiona: Luo han guo could be a bit too cooling rite? I took pi pa kao for my 1st and current pregnancy. So far nothing has happened.
Perhaps you can try eating starfruits with salt. That was wat my GP told me to do when I went back to him after having lost my voice for almost 5 days. And it worked!

Aiyo, dun scold during this period already lah.
Are you teaching Pri or Sec? It's bad enough you have to project your voice in class.. scolding confirm will make matters worse!
strain your voice and upset you.

kris,
I am teaching in a Pri school. Luckily this year I am taking the best class, don't really have to scream and shout. But I do alot of talking.
I will try to get pi pa kao later. Thanks.

Long time never log in liao as I was overseas and only back this week. Just something to share with you but dun know how true is it....I went to BKK and my colleague from BKK told me that in Thailand, the ppl there believe there if the pregnant mom has a pop out belly they believe it's a boy...

Is it too late to take Neurogain now as thought of taking now? Can I know the benefit of taking it?

Fiona, u can take the starfruit juice but leave out the salt if you are suffering from water retention?

Nuttnuts:
wat is neurogain?? wat is it for?? is it a kind of supplement?? so far i'm only taking the obimin multivits from my gynae.. is it enough??

WTP, Kuririn,

Sometimes the theory doesnt really work on all preggies
If it really turns out to be a different gender, then u can lelong your BB clothes here.

Fiona,

U can try drinking some hot chrysantement (ju hua) but not barley water. Should be able to help u cool down slightly.

Nuttnuts

Your gynae didnt prescribe u Neurogain? i thin u mean the fish oil? Should be ok to take it now. Maybe u can check with your gynae. I started taking it after 20weeks.

Garfield

My gynae selling Neurogain at $28 (before GST). But i find it more convenient to get from her since i'm already not getting my folic acid from her (so paiseh lor) heehee

SSL,
.. so now I have to think of 2 names, 1 boy and 1 gal. In case when I pop, the gender is diff
. So far I haven't bought many clothes for my gal b'c she'll be wearing wat her elder brother is wearing for the 1st month. Just bought a few dresses...

Kuririn, Neurogain consists of DHA and AA. Some gynae don't prescibe. Mine recommnended and since this pregnancy I'm not eating as healthily as the 1st, I better take lor...

WTP

I find that gals clothings are more cuter than boys. And there seemed to be more options and selections at Shopping Centre hor.

SSL,

My gynae did not give me neurogain. He only give me multi-vitamin and folic acid only. It really made me wonder whether is it enough or not for the baby or not....Actually I did not eat any PU, I just eat as per normal....

Morning girls..

Nuttnuts:
My gynae also no prescribe me neurogain.. she only give me multivits.. she said multivits already contained folic acid so no need to take extra..

Tks for the info on swelling.. ya, my gynae also prescribe neurogain fish oil for my consumption since 22 week after the detailed scan. btw, how much exercise does all of u do? do all of u walk often? Heard exercise helps in delivery but wonder how much is enuff?

300594.gif

<font size="-1"><font face="courier new"> <font color="0077aa">as @ 25 Jul 05
MTB <font color="ffffff">............</font> <font color="ffffff">...</font>EDD<font color="ffffff">...</font> Weeks<font color="ffffff">.</font> Hosp. <font color="ffffff">.</font> Gender/Name
Fun ............ 01-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">30 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
MC ............. 01-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">30 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
QiQi ........... 01-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">30 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Mayday ......... 03-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">30 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
ice ............ 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
inc ............ 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font>
Mdl ............ 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
MrsTan ......... 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Aical .......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font>
Fiona .......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> Mt.E <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/Jenevieve</font>
Sneaky ......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> Mt.E <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy/Samuel</font>
whitefloral .... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Niuniu ......... 07-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Winnie ......... 07-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
SSL ............ 09-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Joycelyn ....... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font>
Pammi .......... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font>
Snow ........... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Viola .......... 09-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">29 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Mybabydream .... 11-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">28 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
breakbeats ..... 12-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">28 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Joan ........... 15-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">28 Wks</font> SGH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Jenifur ........ 17-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">28 Wks</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/Janelle</font>
Morraine ....... 18-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">28 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Puea ........... 18-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">28 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Chris .......... 20-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Kris ........... 20-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/Ember</font>
Fresia ......... 22-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Fushiastar ..... 22-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> NUH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/Zoe</font>
Ling ........... 23-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> RMG <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/Clarisse</font>
Sweetie ........ 23-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Tao_baby ....... 24-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Celine ......... 25-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Adel ........... 26-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Janice ......... 26-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Missysunflower . 26-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">27 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Garfield ....... 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">26 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Nuttnuts ....... 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">26 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
SusanY ......... 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">26 Wks</font> E.S. <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/GyAnn</font>
Kuririn ........ 29-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">26 Wks</font> SGH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl/Shirlyn</font> </font></font></font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> If you would like to join us, or update your EDD / Baby's name, please PM me! </font>

300596.gif

Good Morning everyone!!!

jenifur: thanks for the update...

wow, time flies, it's only about 2 months away before our babies are born...

300599.jpg

Hi every1,

inc: maybe you can consider climbing up stairs... like instead of taking lift to your hse, you walk up the stairs... i actually wanted to start few mths back,but no determination. However i have finally started last week,haa! Everyday u do it,think shld be sufficient ba...since it also helps to stretch your leg and hip muscles...

kuririn:

Same here, my gynae oso didn't prescribe neurogain to me, only giving multi-vitamin &amp; folic acid. He said that's enough liao.

<font face="Calisto mt"> MTB

Wondering izzit still ok for us to travel now? I understand for airline, they will still take u as long as u r below 35 wks. But will we face problem w e immigration? HB &amp; I thinking of taking a short break somewhere mid next mth, going either BKK or Krabi.</font>

<center>
300634.jpg
</center>

SSL, yeah gal gal clothes have more varieties but then for the 1st month she'll be mostly at home, so wait till after 1 month then see got nice gal gal clothes. Before that have to wear her brother's clothes lor... also I scare later come out boi boi then I really need to lelong the clothes liau...

Jenifur, I think you need a later from gynae to ensure that you are safe to travel and indicate the no. of weeks your are into pregnancy. I think different airlines have different policies... better check it out before booking...

MTB, does your bb kick you hard now? These few days the bb kick so vigorously that I can't sleep at night leh... talking to her also won;t listen... jialat....

Winne the Pooh,

Is it the position you sleep is not comfortable for your bb? Try to change the sleep position maybe will help.

My bb doesn't like me to sleep on right side... he always kick very hard too if i sleep on right.

i came across this information...

<font size="+0">The best sleeping position for a pregnant woman is on her left side. Your aorta and vena cava are slightly to the right of the center of your back, so laying/sleeping on your left side as much as possible ensures an unobstructed blood flow to your organs and extremities. You may be having some trouble sleeping now. Try one of the many maternity pillows or full-body pillows on the market. Sleeping in a recliner chair might also help, especially when the heartburn gets nasty.</font>

Sneaky/Puea, I have tried many positions but still the same. That's why got a hard time trying to fall asleep at night...

Thanks for the info, Sneaky.

WTP: no problem...i think it won't last too long...baby is quite sensible one..they can now feel mummy's emotions...give baby some time to understand you also, k? yesterday, i suffered very very bad sciatic pain till i couldn't walk or move for an hour...my SIL called me just to tell me to talk to baby cos it would help...and it really did! talk to baby as much as you can okay?

I agree! Somewhow baby seems to understand when I tell her to please be good and not move so much and so hard cos it hurts me..

I sleep on my side with a bolster at my back, small blanket below my belly and another pillow between my legs which are propped up on another bolster.. Poor hubby sleeps without pillow and bolster now.. He shares my pillow with me.. :p

nuttnuts

Different gynae will probably prescribe different medication. If u are concern, can check with your gynae if its necessary.

inc

i didnt do any exercise. only walk within my home, or if i go marketing. :p think will have to try walking staircase cos really heard that its good for delivery.

MTB,me too can't get sleep at night.My BB does not kick so hard but keeps those butterfly like movements when i am on my back. But i have to go back to my side as recommended, and then the movements become less, wonder why? BTW, my stomach also is pointed with no weight gain on sides, everyone says BB is a boy but my scan says she is a gal. My stomach is also low like my first one and people would say that it was time to deliver. But last time too, my BB was overdue. Isn't all this funny
kao_confused.gif

milkiway

I guess it differs from each MTB
Mine is like yours too, stomach low, no weight gain on sides and scan is a boy

MTB

Has your BB turn (ie head down, still in breech position)? Mine havent
so gynae ask me to talk to BB to turn turn.

Hopefully my boy will turn by next visit.

Good morning MTBs.. seems like me the earliest :p

SSL:
Talk to your bb more often.. ask him to turn.. thats what I did lor.. my little girl did turned when I did my scan last friday.. before that during the previous checkup she was in breech position..

Hi SSL,
My bb girl's head has turned when I did my last checkup on 19th July. I was in my 29th week then.

Yesterday, my sister just delivered. Cannot imagine the joy that I will feel when it's my turn. It's such an amazement to see a life which has beenn kicking in your tummy for the past 9 months, coming out...it's so real and touching.
we have about 2 more mths to go..jia you.

SSL, the bb has to turn so early? I thought only near the EDD then it'll turn. Some babies turn 1 week before. So dun worry lah...

Hi inc, i live at 12floor...nv tot of climbling fr 1st to 12th floor... I will press button 5, then fr 5th floor climb up to 12floor... i already find my two legs ruan liao when reaching the 12floor.
Ya, heard it is very good for natural birth.

morning everyone! I just came back from Genting yesterday! Wow...Malaysia is having their shopping sale and hor, the bb clothes at Genting shopping centre very cheap!!!!! I can't resist &amp; bought 3 pairs of bb gal clothing for my bb gal and it cost less than S$20!!!!
so excited...hehe..
and i think my bb gal knew that she is on holiday..she kept kicking me v hard..think she likes to travel like me..haha
how is everyone's weekend?

hi everyone...good morning!

garfield: wah..envy envy...i'll be going to KL's Sepang F1 Track this fri. hubby took part in track day. hope to be able to shop a little after the event since there's a SALE!!!

hey, anyone suffering from joint pain? my fingers feel pain pain and swollen. is this due to water retention? recently, my sciatic nerve hurt a lot a lot and is so unbearable that i cannot move my right foot. anyone with the same experience?

kuririn

Ya been talking to my boy to turn turn and asking his dad to do so too. hopefully will do the trick.

WTP

some babies turn earlier but not head not engage yet. of course i hope he will turn earlier so that i wont be so worried if last min dont turn, meaning i have to go for c section

sneaky

u should really see your gynae for your sciatic pain cos it seems to worsen alot. or is it the chair or sitting position not right? must take care ok