(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

kris

wa, then i cant go liaoz... too exp for me

u using all the soothing range. i think i used their ultra calming cleanser before too. and body lotion.

Is their hydrating mask paper form or gel form? is it a big bottle?

SSL: will try to walk ard more often...i'm so afraid of standing up after sitting down cos the nerve would hurt...phoebia liao...

SSL:
thanks.. maybe this weekend I go tampines metro check..

All:
do we really need the PJ?? I'm planning to just wear t-shirt n shorts at home.. btw are u all planning to get nursing bra? when best to go buy??

sneaky

ya i know. maybe u can put pressure on your other leg (where there is no pain) to stand up, rather than using the leg where the pain is. at least it will help.

kuririn

PJ is for u to wear after delivery when u are in hosp. Cos of the stitches, it would be better to wear dress and button top is easier for breastfeeding.

my friend passed me 2 JL nursing bra, but i intend to buy another 2 more. Probably from Ero (if cant find any at JL) cos quite like the one i saw the other time and not expensive too.

SSL:
oic.. how much is the Ero nursing bra?? I read from the Aug/Sept MTB thread.. seems like alot of them went to buy the Eternity brand from Seiyu @ $9.90.. quite cheap..

SSL: sekali both side pain pain how??? kekekeke

kuririn: btw, do you intend to buy WIRED nursing bra or non-WIRED? i saw 1 triumph without wire nursing bra quite nice and comfy...it cost around $48...

SSL, sneaky :

fushiastar is right, there is a word "NewBorn" indicated on the packaging for MamyPoko... it's different from the "S size".
But I can't get it from the NTUC ley... only saw Guardian (in Lot1) and Cold Storage have it.

As for pads, I tot got to buy those specifically for maternity ones? I saw Kiddy Palace got selling, but only 1 brand.
I know Kotex got another type too, not the loop ones. Can go search in Watson, I saw it in Watson.

kuririn

Ero one costs $19.90. Me quite particular about the material so was looking around for the material i like. Maybe will check out Eternity one to see the material too
Btw, Ero one is non wire

Sneaky

Huh, wont la. at least u take extra care not to over strain your pain side when u stand up or take the staircase. cos u can fall if the pain attack u suddenly. thats from my experience lor

Puea

Was told not necessary to get maternity ones. But i guess maternity ones are more absorbent thats why some prefers to get them cos we wont know how heavy the flow would be. And frequent changing would mean higher cost??

I think i still stick to my normal ones
but will buy those for overnight or max and longer ones.

Luckily fushiastar mentioned it here, otherwise i didnt know got Newborn one.

Any idea about PetPet brand? oh, i think just now i mentioned $8+ is PetPet one. :p sorry for the confusion.

Me thinking of buying Pet Pet and Mamypoko.

SSL: the hydrating mask is cream-like, and it comes in a medium sized tube. Not very big, and I vaguely recall it costs abt $100 also. Erm, the Derma range is really quite ex lah, but it is so far the only range I find most suitable for me cos my skin is really super-sensitive. There is also another hydrating gel, which is less intensive than the cream and cheaper as well. Abt $50 I think.

kuririn: ya, the button-top PJ kind of gives you more modesty in the hospital when you bf, but once at home, go for the t-shirt!

Puea: maternity pads are usually a must for the first few days after delivery cos nothing else can tahan the flow. After that those extra long ultra slim pads will do. Hope this helps.

SSL: Pet Pet is good for the first 6 months! And cheap too! After that you will have to consider using better quality brands cos bb's urine will increase and likelihood of leaking will become high.

Oh, and seriously it's better to have a pack of maternity pads just in case. To give you an idea of what the flow could be like, you can actually have it flowing down your legs like water! That's what happened to me!

Went for checkup yesterday...was amazed by how fast my bb has grown. She's now 1.5kg! last month she's only ard 600g. Alot of my colleagues oso commented that my tummy suddenly ballooned! I am now in my 29th week...still got 11 weeks to go, cannot imagine how big and heavty my tummy will grow then...

wow, really more girls than boys now. bb weighs 1.3kg at 28weeks. Put on 11kg so far. Having difficulty sleeping at times, feels breathless and somehow can't get a comfortable sleeping position. Can toss and turn in bed for 2hr before falling asleep.

Fushiastar, ur pyjamas are really a good deal. Got myself Kamry pyjamas from Robinsons during their sale and also 1 from Carrefour, cost more than $10 each. Have been wearing them already coz more comfy than my spaggeti tops and shorts that I usu wear at hm, now getting too tight.

have u guys started taking birds' nest? how often should we take?

Eagerly looking forward to D day

puea: yes, i saw the NB one yesterday at Paragon's guardian. it cost $11.60 per pack of 28pcs and Pampers NB at $15.60 per 36pcs. mamypoko still cheaper by a little. i think Paragon's guardian selling more expensive then the rest of the outlets. will check out other outlets tonight.

SSL: yah...i know how the pain can affect our walking and i can imagine myself falling due the sudden strike of pain. will be very careful from now on.

kris: wah...the flow so much one ah? then i think better to get 1 pack of maternity pads to play safe...maybe the Kotex one?

morning everyone!
wow very scary leh...u all bought so many stuffs for bb & own liao ah?

I think I better start shopping too...

garfield: good morning!!! yah...better start buying now before you get to clumpsy to shop...

talking about pyjamas, my MIL recommended me 2 pc pyjamas made of silk (shirt with buttons & pants) and i bought 3 sets during my trip to Shanghai. she said that's the best and can keep me away from "wind". she also gave me some big T's and 2 dresses with buttons from top down...i have more than enough to wear... :D

Hi all MTBs,

garfield, you better start buying now... kekeke!
Seriously, I'm getting clumpsy to move my body around now...
So lazy to walk now...

Fiona, wow, your bb so big liao... Congrats!

I will have my checkup on next Thur, really want to see how much my bb weights now...

Gals, have you all feel the bb movement getting obvious? I can feel my bb's hands or legs move from left to right & right to left again now... very amazing ley...

-Kuririn, Sneaky, SSL: I only checked out the Triumph nursing bras.. The sales person told me to go buy only a month before delivary cos she said will still expand.. The other suggestion she gave was that can buy on delivary too.. Just measure and give hubby measurement to go buy.. Must buy slightly bigger cos have to remember that we need to slot in breast/nursing pads too.. WIll take note of the Eternity $9.90 Seiyu and Ero $19.90 ones..

-Whitefloral.. Yep

-Morraine & Garfield.. I wanted to buy most of my stuff st the GSS.. cheaper mah.. So got most of the larger items in June.. now I'm getting bigger and having backaches.. Aches and pains everywhere.. So I'm giving myself til the end of July to shop.. After July, Will write a list of whatever I haven't gotten and it's hubby's job to buy by the end of Aug..Do note that there's a baby fair @ Taka in Aug, So will get the remainder of my stuff there..
Think it might be a good idea to start having a list of items? Difficult to shop as we get bigger.. But hubby can buy for us..

*About diapers.. I bought 1 packet of Petpet S and 1 packet of Pampers Baby Dry S so far..

Small- Any comment on EQ dry and Pureen? Heard Pureen is not bad too?
Petpet S cheapest.. $8.05 Kiddy palace

Newborn- Only found 3 brand that carry.. FItti, Mamy poko and Pampers..
Fitti $10 NTUC
Mamy Poko $10.40 Guardian
Pampers Cottoncare $15.40 NTUC

* Have been getting these strange episodes where stomach gets hard, then it hurts for a few minutes.. Like cramps.. Anyone gets those?

By the way, gals, I thought hospital will give us patient suits to wear when we're staying in hospital? Then no need to buy PJs liao mah? Cos those suits are buttoned-in-front ones, right?

fushiastar: u are experiencing Braxton Hicks. dun worry..it is normal to experience BH during the last trimester. it is ur uterus contracting...it is getting itself prepared for the D day
as long as it doesn't occur frequently (which may be labour) it shld be fine

okie..i will start buying next week. i going to Genting this weekend so no time to buy this week

anyone heard of a nappy rash cream called something like "destiny". my friend recommended to me, she said the cream is good as it contains aloe vera instead of chemicals that are commonly found in other nappy rash cream. I can't find it. i only came across the brand called "Desitin" which does not contain aloe vera leh....

fushiastar: yah, i will also go recee the Eternity & Ero ones... i think you're experiencing Braxton Hicks...i haven't gotten it yet but i know mine hardens at certain parts of my abdomen (sometimes right and then left) because my little boy is the one who causes it (using either his hands or legs). i'm not too sure if this is considered Braxton Hicks or it's my little boy's doings..

puea: yes, baby's movement very distinctive now...quite funny when he does that...can feel him waving left to right...kekeke

sneaky: i placed both my hands on my belly and sometimes i can feel a 'kallang wave' spreading across my belly...hehe...dunno wat bb doing inside

garfield: My cousins told me to use a cream (but not really cream, something like gel) which made of aloe vera. The only place got selling is NTUC Healthcare branches. It's very good for baby rashes. It's transparent tube with a aloe vera pic on it. Sorry, can't remember the name.
But it's quite expensive, a small tube costs abt $10+.

sneaky: I think you're experiencing Braxton Hicks already. It doesn't nec. have to be pain/hardening that spreads across the entire tummy.

fuschiastar and garfield: you'll know it's the real thing when you try to change position/ slight tummy rub and no matter what you do the contractions dun ease up. Also real contractions are regular and occur like every 15 min or so and will become more and more frequent and longer in duration.

Puea:
Heh..

kris: ah??? but this happens anytime of the day and quite often one leh...there's a lump somewhere and i'll massage it so that it will go away. is this BH? this is so interesting and exciting...come to think of it, it does hurt a little (very mild) at times; as if the womb is going to tear...i just realised that whenever i try to lean backwards from my original sitting position, my abdomen feels tight and hard...maybe it's really BH...

kris

Ya, think i will get myself a pack of maternity pads. Will the hosp give during our stay there?

Sneaky

Try to hold on to the staircase railing or something when u want to go down stairs or get up from seat. Its safer that way.

Whitefloral

I've been taking birdnest on and off during 2nd trimester. but now i stopped taking. making myself "paosheng" (chinese herbs)drink now and then.

Fushiastar

I think i will buy my nursing bra either now or in aug/sept. Feel paiseh to let hubby buy for me. Normally, even when we go shopping centre, i will go to the lingerie dept myself and ask him to go shop his own and we meet later. cos i find it uncomfortable to let him wait around that area lor. And i can take my time to choose and try ma

Puea

I think TMC doesnt give patient hosp suits to wear so gotta prepare our own PJ.

Garfield

I only heard of Desitin Creamy which is only sold at hosp pharmacy (was told by a Guardian Pharmacist)

Normally when i get BH, i dont rub it to ease off. will just let it go away after a while. Is it necessary to rub it??

hello ladies.. good day to you

I also experienced different kinds of waves in the tummy. It's a funny but warm feeling

I read that it is recommended to sleep on our left side but every night when i sleep on my left, i feel very uncomfy as i will feel movement or kicks from bb. Is he feeling uncomfy bcos i'm pressing on him? If i sleep on the right side its ok.

Do anyone of you experience some dull ache in the tummy when you turn from side to side? I do leh....anything wrong?

oh forgot that i got something to share with you ladies.

Yesterday a friend told me that her cousin experience labour pain and gave birth. She is only 6 mths! But thank god the doc said both mum and bb are fine. bb needs to stay in hospital for 4 mths cos very premature.

Gals, if you working around Raffles Place, you can come to China Square Central lobby hall buy some Avent & Pigeon products.

Got a sale fair here, I saw they selling Avent's teats, wet wipes, milk bottles, ect, and Pigeon's steriliser, breast pads, wet wipes... It's 20% off for Avent products. And I know they sells Pigeon's steriliser @ $85+.
They sells baby clothes too.

morraine: The fair is in China Square Central, the block opp the Hong Lim Complex... got a fountain in front ones...

U know where is Great Eastern Centre? China Square Central is just behind it.

ssl: yah, i'll do that...better be safe than sorry...

fresia: i beg to differ...my gynae says it's prefered to lie on the left side cos it encourages better blood circulation/flow to both mother and baby. when lying on the left side, blood circulation is better even for baby, that's why baby's moving more cos he's got lotsa blood and air supply...don't worry about baby being uncomfortable...he/she's cushioned by layers of protection...

fresia, when I sleep on the left, it's v comfortable but right not so.. now when i lie on my back i'm comfortable also. but my gynae says not to lie on the back, sleep on either side she says - because if lie on back, uterus is being pushed against something - i can't recall the exact thing.. have to consult her at next visit again. What Sneaky says is true - abt the blood circulation being better when mommy lies on left so I'm also surprised to hear my gynae says ok on the right.. anyway it's uncomfy for me so I dont like lying on right.

Hi Sneaky and pammie, yeah, i know its better to lie on the left. Just that everytime the little one will keep pushing... that's why uncomfy loh.
I also find lying on the back comfy. But after like 5-10mins if i want to turn, i can feel the ache at the lower back.

fresia.. as for me as long as i feel baby pushing i feel comforted so i dont find that uncomfortable.. but when i sleep on the right side i feel like I can't really breathe.. there's some sharp pain too. can't explain.

Btw, i do get breathless alot, even when i'm not doing anything. That day I was just lying there, and felt breathless. So I took my pulse, it was 100 beats per min!

pammie, i think it's normal and will go away. I suffered from chest cramp when i was 5mth. Its sharp and crushing pain. I thot i had heartattack! haa.... but now i'm ok, breathlessness also getting better laio. So don't worry, it will go away.

SSL: TMC wun give a pack of maternity pads one, the nurse will just change the pads for you for the first few days, but you dun bring home any. Oh, I saw the small bottle of J&J top to toe wash as the TMC pharmacy yesterday! Abt $4+.

fresia and all: Try putting a very soft/flat pillow under tummy when you lie on your side. This pushes the tummy up a bit more to become 'parallel' to the bed and could help you feel more comfortable.

morning everyone!

would like to ask everyone whether u all know where to buy Neurogain (DHA pills). Find my doc selling it quite ex...

i also feel comforted when baby moves as i lie on my sides cos i know he's healthy. sometimes, i'd play with him by running my fingers at places where he kicked me and he'll respond to my teasing...so cute!

hi garfield,

Are you referring to the bottle one with a pregnant lady picture? I am getting from my gynae at $30 a bottle. Have checked with Guardian Pharmacy, they are selling at $30.90 includes GST.

How much is your gynae selling you?

Puea

I'm not sure about Mt A cos I remembered I was told to prepare for my own PJ cos they dont provide.

Garfield

I did not take a closer look at the cream (only peek from the pharmacy window). SO not sure if it contains aloe vera.

U can try KKH pharmacy cos their stuff are usually cheaper.

kris

ok thanks, maybe will checkout those neighbourhood shops see if they got small bottles or not. If not, then will go TMC to buy.

Went metro yesterday and saw that they are selling Medela Purelan 100 at $18.55 (before 20% discount). Didnt buy cos felt that its too early.

Btw, yesterday i went watson to buy a pack of Kotex Maternity Pad. Its adhesive type and its 28cm long
cost $5.90 for a pack of 10pcs.

Probably use this for the first few days after discharge and subsequently use the maxi pads for heavier flow.

garfield, about the desitin..normally the pharmany oni sell the one w/o the aloe vera..there is nother type (oso desitin) contain aloe vera but u can oni get from some GP or pediatrician. i used to use the desitin aloe vera type for my son and it is very good loh..the cream is thick so you oni have to apply a thin layer will do and a tube can oso last for a long time..to prevent nappy rash, u hve to apply before chging into a new diaper..it may take a longer time to heal when the rashes develops..

Is $26 considers cheap for the Neurogain? I go check it out at Unity later. I think my gynae sells it at abt $30++.

Ling: I will go check out the desitin from pharmacy...