(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

puea: wah...your baby is bigger than mine leh...kekeke...i think mine is on the small side cos i can tell from the size of my tummy...well, durian made me put on 3kg in the last 1 month... :D

<font face="calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Sneaky/Puea</font>,

Ya lor, Janelle really v big hor. Told HB all his fault to force me eat durain every alt days. So I've proven tt druains really make BB GROW!!

<font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

Samuel really so active, kick until u also vibrate w him.. Janelle used to wake me up in e middle of e nite too. So nowadays I'll tell her b4 I sleep tt it's Zzzz time now so pls go to sleep. Will "wake" her up &amp; tell her she can kick all she want e moment I open my eyes. She seems to b quite co-operative so far. Try telling Samuel tt

<font color="0000ff">Ling</font>,

Take care of ur wound hor. Dun b so active mummy liao, leave all these things to YK lah.</font>

<center>
297452.jpg
</center>

jenifur: indeed i vibrate with him...wonder why he's so strong...last night he's quite co-operative...i began worrying when he did not kick me when i woke up...very Mao Dun one....

Sneaky,

Ya, ya, ya, agreed with jenifur!

Every night, I will tell my bb to sleep, no more kickings, when I'm going to sleep. He is very co-operative ones. Then next day morning, he will kick me when it's time for me to wake up to work... so even Sat or Sun he also kicks me to wake up.

Recently, I read from www.babycentre.co.uk, it's saying that at this stage of pregnancy, our babies have developed their ears well, so we can sing or talk to them now, they can hear it ones!

So every night now, I keep "talking" to my bb.

jenifur &amp; puea..
agree with both of u too.. every night i will tell bb that its bedtime.. time to stop kicking mummy and go to sleep.. seems to work.. but my idiot hubby will come and talk to the bb and wake her up.. sigh...

297486.jpg

<font face="calisto mt"> <font color="0000ff">Kuririn</font>,

My HB also like tt. So I'll spare him at least 20 mins of bonding time w his girl b4 my bedtime loh

<font color="0000ff">Sneaky</font>,

I also like tt; will scold her if she kicks too much &amp; then will b worried if she hardly moves. HB said I made BB confuse

My baby moves a lot these days too.. Can't really see my belly move.. but it feels like waves..

Hubby also puts his face near my stomach just before we sleep to "talk" to baby.., then he'll put his ear to my belly to see if he can hear anything..And he doesn't lah.. It's quite sweet seeing him do that..

hi girls,
do u all know if its ok to use whitening skincare products? Cos most of my makeup are with whitening effect &amp; I've been using all along...suddenly panic, dont know if its safe for bb. Asked my gynae, but he not sure also leh.

Morning all MTBs,

Ya, I'm also getting confused.
Fiona said we should avoid cosmetics that contain vitamin A and some acid. But why?
And I eat 2 apples and 1 slice of papaya per day ley, that contains alot of vitamin A ley...

<font face="Calisto mt"> Good Morning MTB.

<font color="0000ff">Puea</font>,

U eating 1 slice of papaya per day?? Tot it's not gd to take too much papaya, think will cause BB to "turn yellow" rite.... </font>

Puea.. High amounts of Vitamin A may cause baby birth defects.. Have a look at thins..

Some studies suggest that high doses of vitamin A may cause birth defects. A 1995 study found that women who took more than 10,000 IU (international units) of vitamin A daily (nearly four times the Institute of Medicines Recommended Dietary Allowance [RDA] of 2,565 IU for pregnant women) in the first two months of pregnancy had more than double the risk of having a baby with birth defects.6 Other studies have suggested that doses under 25,000 IU daily probably do not cause birth defects, but the lowest dose that may cause birth defects is unknown.7

The body is able to make its own vitamin A, when needed, from substances such as beta carotene, which is found in yellow and green vegetables. This raw material for the vitamin is considered completely safe and healthy during pregnancy. However, much of the vitamin A we consume is the preformed vitamin (retinol) which, in excessive amounts, may cause birth defects. Preformed vitamin A is found in many vitamin supplements and some foods, including meats, eggs, dairy products and fortified breakfast cereals.

Liver is the only food that provides very high amounts of vitamin A. The amount of vitamin A found in liver varies. According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, a 3-ounce serving of beef liver may contain 30,000 IU; chicken liver, 14,000 IU; and canned chicken pate, 724 IU.8 A pregnant woman who eats liver regularly may consume enough vitamin A to pose a risk to her baby.

Though it is not proven that eating liver causes birth defects, the safest approach is for pregnant women to minimize their consumption of liver. A pregnant woman also should be sure that her multivitamin or prenatal supplement contains no more than 5,000 IU (international units) of preformed vitamin A (some prenatal vitamins contain no preformed vitamin A, substituting beta-carotene or omitting vitamin A entirely), and she should not take any vitamin A supplements beyond that amount.9

Hi Puea/jenifur

Don't worry, papaya won't cause jaundice in baby lah!! The yellow in papaya is carotene, found in orange type of food/vege like carrots.. Jaundice is caused by liver being underdeveloped.

Re Vit A - i have read what Fushiastar wrote too and was so afraid to eat Liver mee sua - one of my favourites but during the nutrition class last week the lady said - unless u eat liver every day, else no cause for concern!! so we have to know exactly how much IU of Vit A is contained in whatever we consume.

I have also been drinking coffee every morning but realise that the limit is 300mg per day and one cup of brewed cofeee has barely 50mg of caffeine in it..

As my gynae says - EVERYTHING in MODERATION!

Mrs Tan - sorry i dont use whitening products but I dont recall reading they were bad for pregnant mothers.. can check out websites or not? if i come across I let u know ok?

Jenifur,

Ya, I eat 1 slice papaya per day, until my mum told me tat not to eat too much cos it may cause the baby to turn "yellow" when baby is borned.

But my gynae said it's ok ones, just 1 slice only.

However, I know another myth is true.
Just share with other MTBs here.
Don't let your newborn BB to wear yellow clothes when discharged from hospital. The baby will turn "yellow" when he/she is back home... Any other colored clothes can, but not yellow.

fushiastar,

Thanks for the info.
So I guess 2 apples per day still not over that amount yet, right? ;)
Luckily, I don't eat livers, be it pig liver or cow liver... :p Cos I don't eat internal organs of pig or any other animals... very disgusting...

pammie,

Thanks for your info.

Think you shld try to reduce the coffee consumption. Cos it may cause your baby's skin looks dark and dull.
My counsin's wife just gave birth 5 mths ago, she drank 2-3 cups of coffee per day, ends up my niece's skin is darker than her sis when she is borned. Till now her skin is still quite dark, and is not that good complexion too.

I don't drink coffee too, and I also try to avoid any tea, especially green tea, heard that green tea is not good for preggies.

Puea.. well, now i am learning to consume milk - i've not drank milk for 1st n 2nd trimesters - so on alt days i have coffee n milk...

hw, I do not believe coffee causes baby's skin to look dark and dull!! IN fact a colleague of mine saw me drinking coffee that day and she told me - when her mother had her, she drank only WHITE MILK - dare not touch coffee for 9 whole months, but my colleague has dark complexion. So her mom was v disappointed. For her 2nd baby (my colleague's sister) the mom heck care and drank coffee, tea you name it. Guess what? My colleague's sister turned out to be fair and plump!!

Tea has lagi less caffeine than coffee.. one cup of instant tea only 30mg!! if only i knew.. sigh.

Puea..
I guess the take home message is that high levels of Vitamiin A especially in 1st trimester can cause birth defects.. Liver is known to have high amounts of Vitamin A.. So a little bit (less than 3 ounces) once in a long while is ok after 1st trimester .. Must remember that the other foods we eat may also contain Vitamin A.. So it all adds up, If can avoid liver.. avoiding is best.. I don't know how much Vit A there is in apples leh.. I take half an apple almost everyday too..

The other thing about liver.. actually not just liver, but meats in general is that it Must be well cooked.. If not it may contain Salmonella or other bacteria that may lead to infections that can cause birth defects too.. I love liver.. used to eat quite a bit of it, but once I knew I was pregnant, I've completely avoided it.. I find that the liver that you find outside tends to be not very well cooked.. So do remember to tell the store auntie if you are eating to cook it longer..

Pammie.. eh depends on what kind of tea, the normal tea actually contains about 7 times more caffeine than coffee.. unless you are talking about the non caffeine teas like the "flower teas" ed jasmine, rose etc.. Studies show that if you take more than 300g of caffeine daily, chances of miscarriage is increased.. How about trying decaff coffee?

fushiastar,

Oh, ok, I will take note that.

Thanks very much.

Ya, my colleagues asked me to avoid teas too.
Anyway, I rarely drink tea too. Now can only drink Milo or Holicks as I will diarrhoea once drink milk or eat any dairy products, even soyabean milk.

all MTBs,

By the way, do you know where to buy the Avent Storage Bottle for breastmilks?
I intend to buy bottles instead of storage bags.

Hi Puea

U can try Metro to see if they are still having 20% off for their BB products

If not, kiddy palace should have. seen it there before.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Oops, I've been drinking Tea every morning, always tot tt tea has lower caffine than coffee. Think better switch to Milo from tmr onwards.</font>

<center>
297892.jpg
</center>

Fushiastar.. eh i think u mean 300mg of caffeine, not 300g.. cos' 300g i think i peng san liao.. :p anyway, point taken, i know i steep the tea bag (lipton tea) for less than 10sec. Also it doesn't cause my heart to beat faster n all that, the caffeine can't be so much.. i dont make instant coffee, i used those brewed ones, or sometimes buy from coffeeshop so those shld be higher than instant coffee.. anyway, now that i'm entering 3rd tri, i will drink more milk

ya, u're right abt the salmonella bacteria - cos' i already had that in my stomach before preg.. that's y always so prone to stomach bugs, diarrhoea. It's usually in uncooked meats n half cooked eggs and yet my mom can tell me that during her pregnancy, she took a raw egg everyday n told me to do the same!

hi celine, jenifur, morraine,
i accidentally deleted the emails that we had so lost all ur email addresses. Anyway, are we still confirm meeting tmr for dinner?

btw all other girls, if the gathering is still on tmr, it will be at Wheelock Place Nooch at 6.30pm. Pls do join us if u are free.

Mrs Tan: How could you delete all our emails? *hmph*
Email u all our contacts again...check your email okie.. Me still on for the gathering..as always!

Good morning gals!

Just went for my 2nd hospital lecture yesterday on labour &amp; childbirth &amp; admission at GEH.

Tot of sharing the handout on above subject for those of you whom have not attended any antenatal classes as general reference.
Refer attached if interested

mime_msword.gif

Labour &amp; Childbirth - 2nd lecture.doc (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Mrs Tan ~ Orh Orh.... den now my turn to confess.. this morning's email attaching the contact list one hor.. i deleted off oso leh.. den forgot to save the contact list.. hee hee.. can someone resend to me pls....

morning everyone! been v bz these few days so no time to log in to chat.

How is everyone? I getting more &amp; more tired these days. Realised my fingers and feet now swollen due to water retention. Gynae said it is normal but my MIL &amp; mummy said it is not normal unless i am about to deliver liao...*SIGH* dunno
wat to do....

298081.jpg

garfield,
dont worry...i dont look too good also, when i look at the reflection evrywh i go, i see a cabbage. I look bloated up, dunno why. Try elevating ur feet when sitting down or lying down in bed.

hi all....i also don't look quite nice nowadays...think i'm looking uglier liao....face a bit swollen and for sure the nose lah!

hi girls,

Just wondering if its normal to have "suan suan" feeling at the lower sides of your tummy? What about if its slight pain at the lower side of the tummy?

Not sure if its cos i sleep on my sides and sort of pressed that area for too long?

SSL - what is suan suan? i did feel some pricking twitching pains at the right side yesterday.. but i think it's because i'm not feeling v well.. started to vomit again.. so sian.. wonder is it normal for m. sickness to return after 2nd tri over?? i've heard of cases where they m/ sick from 1st tri all the way 9 mths but never heard of cases where 1st tri morning sick and 2nd tri ok and then 3rd tri sick again..
any advise for me?? i feel so sick throwing up.. weight didn't gain for 2 over weeks...

Breakbeats.. what was your husband's response aft learning abt the labour n delvy procedure yest? where were u sitting? I was sitting with HB in 1st row.. hehe..
v nice of u to type out whole thing...

Hi Pammie!

Oh no...u poor thing...I also neber come across your situation.. better avoid all oily &amp; spicy food then..eating biscuits / soupy stuff might help..drinking peppermint tea also helps..

U know what...? Yesterday, my hubby fell asleep for the 1st 10 mins!
Wah piang! Me so embarassed! We are the ones who came late (not the fierce-looking one..keke) and sat 2nd row on the left.. Anyway my hubby &amp; myself are quite prepared for labour process/ methods since we have been briefed recently by a friend whose wife just gave birth. But still good to know the admission procedures from the lecture, especially the preregistration &amp; what documents to bring etc..

I remember u ...the lovey dovey couple sitting rite in 1st row rite!

No lah..neber type out the handout..just scan to Words doc..

Hi Jenifur/sneaky/ling/mrstan and many more.....

how u MTB getting on? getting more execited ??? EDD getting nearer.
at this stage swell a bit is common not to worry, but by week 38 swelling is 1 of teh indiction of labour so take note okie

in the meantime take care..

hi wendypooh,
nice of u to drop by!

ya..getting excited cos entering our final trimester liao. Pregnancy starting to be more difficult cos of heavy tummy and increasing weight gain. But happy that only 3 mths left.

hiyee...all..

am switching in between oct-nov thread... jus checked that my edd is on the 4h of nov.. but think and think.. maybe.. will come out earlier? hope u all wun mind.

need to check hor.. we carry baby for nine/ten months ah? am a bit confused.

Adel: Just think 40 weeks instead of in terms of months.

All: Ya, I've also been super tired...and tho till now only put on very little weight, many pple say I look very big woh.. sigh..

hey Breakbeats!! ya, that's us.. hehe.. my hb also fell asleep! at the end of the whole session, the lady asked ' any questions ' my hb wanted to put up his hands n say "may I be excused (from the whole labour / delivery thing).. i think he will faint in the labour ward!!

PS - now u know who i am, next week come up to me ok? i still dunno who came late..
cos' i think quite alot came late..