(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Good morning ladies...

fushiastar & SSL:
why need to cut down on carbo intake??? then hor wat type of food is consider carbo food??

kuririn: You very early leh! Carbo includes rice, all noodles, pasta, breads, cakes, all starchy foods. Hee..

Kuririn, No lah.. there are other things you can drink... fresh fruit juice.. milk.. soya bean milk-unsweetened.. the non caffeine teas you can get by Lipton or Marks and Spencer..

Cut down on carbo coz when you take too much carbo, it gets broken down to sugars too.. Carbo are all the starchy foods eg bread, rice, beehoon, noodles, kway tiao, potato, biscuits, banana..

Not saying don't eat at all, just eat less.. and you can eat more fruits and veg so that you don't get hungry...

oh ok.. sigh.. but I get hungry very fast if I dun eat rice.. think tats explained why my weight gained is so fast.. 4.2kg in 4 weeks..

Garfield:

Baby Hyperstore:
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Industrial Park
S (417947)

Baby's Kingdom:
83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Industrial Park
S (417947)

Btw, I went there 2 weeks ago, found that Baby's Kingdom jack up prices of everything & then give so-called 'good' discounts so beware..now with Great S'pore Sale on, it's more worth it to get bb cots/ bedding sets/ stroller/ playmats at major dept stores.

Baby Hyperstore I can't really comment as there some brands they carry there which can't be found in major dept stores so I can't compare =(

kris:
ya cos this week me early shift one.. have to be in office by 8am..

garfield:
hehehe.. the weight gained think all on me instead of bb cos bb only 390gms @ 21wks..

breakbeats:
ya lor dun find that the things at baby''s kingdom cheap lor.. their bumper sets so ex.. even more expensive than aussino.. went there to buy baby's cot mattress, play pen n some cot bedsheets.. in the end the so called offer for the baby cot is not an offer at all cos kiddy palace at causeway point selling it as the same price as them..

kuririn: why dun you try eating pasta in place of rice? Pasta is a low GI food which means that it breaks down slower and keeps you full longer as well. It doesn't give you the sudden sugar-high from usual carbos like rice. Diabetics are recommended to go on a low GI diet and so it really is healthier.

Kuririn, I used to get hungry very fast in the 1st trimester too.. What I used to do and Im still doing is to divide my meals.. Eg My breakfast is usually a bowl of fruits, a glass of milk and a slice of bread with toppings.. So instead of eating all of that in the morning.. I cut my breakfast to a bowl of fruits, half a glass of milk and half a slice of bread with toppings, then I have half a bowl of cereal and half a glass of milk at mid morning.. Dont get hungry so easily when I eat small frequent meals and Im still eating the same amount.. You can try that.. I also carry around a lunch box of fruits (usually things that are easy to eat like grapes or cherries or sometimes raisins) and a waterbottle of unsweetened soya bean milk so that when I get hungry, I snack on fruits and soya bean milk. healthier and less fattening too.. J Must eat when hungry, if not may get gastric ulcer, just choose foods that have less calories lor..

good morning everyone! how's everyone today?

talking about weight gain...i've already gained 8.5kg and i'm halfway through week 26 liao. also quite a lot hor...

btw, yesterday during the antenatal class, we went through a hospital tour...wah..realised that the rooms are so much nicer than Mt E's. hubby and i were very impressed with the deluxe and vip rooms. too bad, we cannot change liao cos we've already signed up with a gynae that practices only at Mt E.

morning sneaky!!! wow u very guai wor...hehe..hubby & I played truant yesterday...we went off for dinner during the break...actually find the antenatal exercise that sister lim abit bo liao hehe....

prefer the antenatal yoga wan...

i will be delivering at TMC and will be staying at 2 bedded room....TMC rooms not bad (had done a hospital tour at TMC before) but dun need to compare to Mt E....cos TMC just renovated i think a few yrs ago so things def looked newer & better than Mt E. wat is most important is ur gynae

garfield: yah loh...was abt to ask you where you've been after the break...hahahah...you played truant..orhhhh...you noti noti...guai? i really hope to build up hubby's interest loh...and i'm sure i'll learn something from sister lim...as for the rooms, yah...they are very nicely decorated...i love it! well, i'll arrange a hospital tour with Mt E (i haven't been) during my next visit at gynae's. i only visited a number of times when SIL and ex-boss' wife gave birth...never seen the labour room...hope to be impressed this time...

lol Sneaky: kekke having second thoughts? lol... lucky i hasnt gone to any hosp tour other than RMG.. so no 2nd heeart abt it....

ladies... time is like passing very fast... kekek.. hope u all have already started preparing ur emotions for the BIG DAY!.. lol.. sounds like all gng to get wedding ones all over.. lol

sneaky: yesterday theory lecture not bad though...quite informative....but hor i cried abit when i watched the tape on the delivery....

honestly, i find it abit disgusting!! and i tell u ah..the more i know abt delivery and stuff..the more i got phobia....

was telling my hubby yesterday, i might want to consider c-section......

so scary!!!!!!!but hor, i think hubby must really be present during the normal delivery ....think his presence is very important to the wife hor....

luckily my hubby will accompany me during my delivery (if i can deliver normally) even after watching the tape....

ling: you very bad one....tease me ah...indeed, time has passed so quickly...we have only around 3 mths plus to go...in fact, i have only 14 weeks to go...as for preparation, i also dunno what else to do...in fact, i'm quite afraid of missing out things and that i can't provide the best for my baby...

jenifur: where are you??? i'm beginning to be emotional too...how how how??? have not been in the best of moods cos i'm worrying about almost everything...i cry easily now...

293718.jpg

garfield: yah...informative...i also wept when i saw the tape...it was so touching...in fact, both hubby and i felt our confidence level in going through natural birth had risen cos it didn't really seem that bad...i really wanna experience natural birth and if possible, without epidural...i am not afraid cos i know my beloved hubby will be with me...

posh: where got so fast?! We due in oct....still got abt 3.5months to go lah....dun scare me leh....hehe...
i have been pushing away my tots on delivery....hehe...
haben bought anything for bb or own yet cos abt 99% of bb stuff that i needed can be obtained from passed-me-down. so far, i only need to buy milk bottles & a set of new clothes for 1 month celebration for bb.

as for moi...i haben buy pajamas with buttons in front, breast pad, breast pump, maternity pads etc....been quite lazy ..hehe

sneaky: u v brave wor.....
me also think of having natural birth & w/o epidural but really scared of the pain! imagine in the past there is no anaesthetic and the doc did the epi during the contraction (pain) and my mum dun even feel the cut cos the contraction pain is much much much painful than the epi!! haha.....the more i think abt it the more phobia i have....

but i will try to go for natural & w/o epidural too....

Jenifur,
just let u know Jamci has posted her birth story on the Apr/May/June thread. go have a look..the way she describe like macham so easy like that.. kao.

fushiastar:
wow.. u really have a healthy diet.. usually morning b4 I left house for work I will drink a cup of Anmum choc milk n also take my multi-vit pill.. then reach office if I got prepare bread (with ham n cheese or just with jam) I will eat at about 9am.. if no prepare breakfast I will either buy fried bee hoon or kuay tiao or Mac's $2 breakfast.. usually this will last me till lunch..

lunch time I will either eat rice or noodle lor.. then go fruit stall buy honeydew n guava eat.. but usually by 4 plus 5pm I will be hungry liao.. then I will snack on biscuits or get colleague to buy snacks like curry puff for me..

guess I will have to learn from u.. bring my own lunch box of fruits.. hehe.. ok tonite get hubby to go buy fruits for me.. must really watch my diet liao..
kao_smile2.gif

kuririn, drink more plain water good for your skin too. Dun worry I am sure your next urine test will improve.

garfield, I also find TMC antenatal talk abit bo liao last friday. But watched the tape on delivery really very disgusting! *sigh* I really dunno how am I going to delivery my precious baby out. God, please give me courage and strength! :p

garfield and celine: dun worry lah! Watching a delivery and being the one delivering is very different. It's not as scary or disgusting at the other end where you can't see anything!

Kuririn, yeah.. have to.. as it is, i'm putting on so much weight and I don't really exercise, constantly tired.. just want to sleep, don't talk about exercise..

Suddenly realised that delivary is not too far away too!... My husband just told me that I must make sure that everything is ready and be prepared for delivary a month before and that's mid Sep!! That means I have to buy everything, wash and start to set up by beginning Sep, which is only 2 months away.. Very very scary..

He was telling me about delivary last night and just running through with me what to do if water bag bursts or I feel contractions or if there is "show".. He almost freaked me out.. I was like eh.. isn't it kinda early to be preparing for that? and he was telling me the more prepared I am the better, so that I won't panic.. sigh.. even programmed the speed dial function on my mobile for his and my parents' numbers and cab numbers..

The irony of this all is that I'm not even wearing my maternity clothes yet!!.. Still in interim clothes and I haven't even finished shopping for things.. maybe that's why he's telling me all this, so that I'll hurry and finish buying everything..

Celine: actually i find the antenatal talk q ok...at least for the last 2 weeks, it was q informative. wat i find most bo liao is their antenatal exercise!!!! haha

Celine, my belly is Showing and it's heavy.. But I bought interim clothes in L size and I can still fit into them.. I measured.. My belly is 34 inches now.. it used to be only 25 inches.. sigh.. My maternity clothes are still quite big for me.. I tried wearing them but just too large still..

I also plan to go natural and will try to ren until cannot then ask for epidural.. but my hubby was pouring cold water on me say I so scared of pain.. n now here pain there pain sure cannot tahan.. sure very fast ask for epidural one.. so angry..
kao_angry.gif
not encouraging one..

celine:
is it.. ok will drink lots of plain water.. cos I'm still having acne outbreak.. but few days ago I start to apply hazeline snow on those raging acne.. seems like got calm down a bit liao lor..

hi kuririn
maybe u can sub ur rice to beehoon cos it work for me last year.

all mtb
best to shop in 2nd tri or when reach 3rd tri very heavy and tired to shop alry

fushiastar
last year hubby oso plan all route to KKH and store all numebr but in teh end all never used heee..... cos had a show at parent place & set off from there.

sorry to alway interupt this thread, cos i miss my pregancy day & my buddy here

kuririn, drinking plain water really helps as I was having acne outbreak during early 2nd trimester somemore got constipation so I force myself to drink lots of lots of water (always go toilet :p) and now my skin really improve alot leh and can daily do big biz liao. haha...

replaced flavored drinks with plain water ok

i also have pimples outbreak....somemore this pimples v serious wor...got pus wan and if i dun poke and squeezed the pus out, the pus bag will get very swollen and yellow ....so the pimples tend to stand out on my face..been forcing myself to drink at least 1.5L of water each day..hehe

garfield, think my speaker keep talking and talking moreover the topics same as previous lession so I find abit bo liao. Then was doing some stupid exercises which I mumbled to my hubby "so stupid doing this" the MTB beside me also starts giggling :p

celine: haha...i understand wat u mean especially for the antenatal exercise part....find it silly doing the exercise too....

gals, wanna ask u all..do u all intend to bf ur bb? if yes, can enlighten me?
1. do intend to be on total bf?
2. if on total bf, then during confinement how huh? i mean, there is no problem at all during day feeds but wat abt night feeds? was thinkg it wld be q tiring to keep waking up at night to feed the bb during the confinement period as the confinement period is the time where u need a lot of rest.
3. heard that pumping out the milk during the 1st month not good as it will not be able to stiumlate milk production as well as latching the bb...

i q confused and dun really wat direction to use..

one of my colleague recommend me to go for partial...so tat during the hospital stay & confinement will get enough rest...and it will not be as stressful as compared to total bf

by the way, celine, ur antenatal class is at TMC huh? who is your speaker? my speaker is Sister Lim...a plump lady with specs and her voice q loud & high

celine:
my bowel system ok one leh.. every morning sure go one.. duno why still got outbreak.. maybe cos my skin is not good like in the first place..

garfield:
my acne also like yours those very red and painful then will turn into pus one.. but after I apply hazeline snow.. its not so painful anymore and not so swollen.. hubby also commented that.. best is to put it in fridge when apply to face its so cooling..

I hope to total bf for at least 6 months.. Heard that direct feeding the baby does stimulate more milk than pumping..

I intend to direct feed in the day as well as pump. Confinement lady or hubby can then feed the baby at night from breast milk that I expressed in the day from a bottle.. That's what I plan anyhow.. Hopefully will work.. Heard about nipple confusion too.. that if feed a baby both from the breast directly and from the bottle, that the baby may be confused and cos milk flow from the bottle is faster than from the breast, the baby may not want to feed from the breast.. But that's a risk I'll have to take.. Think will really have to play by ear and see how baby responds.. For me, I intend to go back to work after a month anyway so my baby will have to be bottle fed after awhile..

garfield: Do bf! It is the best you can provide for bb!
For my firstborn I tried to do total bf but as she was an hourly feeder I was forced to put her on formula at nite. On top of direct latching, pumping was very important to me during the 1st month as that actually helped me increase me supply. My girl was basically on abt 95% bf and took abt 2 formula feeds each 24 hours.

Erm, basically, ever since my girl was born I've been tired.
I'm not being negative or scaring you, but the reality is that you will probably never get enough sleep after bb is born!
But you'll cope. Really.

garfield: i wanna feel like a woman...all talks..dunno whether i can tahan or not...we are so pampered to have a choice to give birth almost painlessly...therefore, indirectly, our threshold for pain is much reduced...agree bo? btw, i think and i know my hubby will love me more if i go through natural birth process cos i could feel that he's very touched while watching birth of a baby that doesn't even belong to him...he commented that it must be a very painful process and i told him, yes it is, but it's worth it for the sake of baby...

as for acne breakout...my face is now better but i do have red pokerdots on the my shoulder area...so ugly till i cannot wear spaghetti strapped clothes...so sickening...

sneaky: agree with wat u said...my mum also told me to let hubby accompany me during my delivery so tat hubby will know the pain & suffering a wife goes thru just to have his child...hehe...tat is wat i intend to do too...let huuby into the delivery ward...hehe

i think i most probably go on total bf and follow wat fushiastar & kris advice...pump out to let hubby or my mil feed during night during my confinement period...hehe....

if successfully total bf..can save abit of money on formula too...hehe

wendypooh:
will take ur advise.. just now lunch ate "mian xian".. hopefully won't get hungry too fast..

All:
I also planning for total bf.. my hubby commented ur breasts still so small u sure got enuff for our baby a not.. so angry with him..

garfield: give me ^five! i think our hubbies will treasure us more....so, think of all the good things you're going to go through and not be afraid, k? i intend to go total breastfeed, if possible. but my advice is...please buy 1 small can of formula milk even though you want to do that...cos baby may not have enough of colostrum (correct spelling?) during the first few days...my SIL had this experience of asking her hubby to buy formula milk at 3am cos her little girl kept crying...he went to most petrol kiosks but couldn't find and ended up buying it at Mustaffa Centre...

Kuririn, eh.. not sure if size of breast has anything to do with amount of milk.. But anyhow, garfield's right.. our breasts are not at maximum size yet.. Will still grow one.. One of my friends had huge breasts (D cup) but not much milk, then the other had average size breasts and lotsa milk..

garfield & fushiastar:
hehee I know.. just some stupid comments that my hubby gave lah.. cannot tahan him.. keep pouring cold water (direct translate from chinese) on me.. argh...

kuririn: maybe ur hubby is just teasing u....*PATPAT*
dun take it to heart & get angry cos not good for u and bb wor...so now everything must think of bb k?

hehe...i always suan my hubby that now that i am pregnant, i dun need him liao...keke...but he knows i am joking lah...

garfield:
ya I know..

but just want him to be more encouraging mah.. rather than keep pouring cold water on me.. hehee..

garfield, so envy you... at least ur hubby willing to accompany you during delivery.

My hubby said he doesn't want cos he scared of seeing blood... then i always tease him, "Ya, you better don't go in, if you fainted, the gynae doesn't know who to save first ley...". Hahaha!

Last Friday went down to consult my gynae since I was having diarrhoea for 1 week liao... then my gynae asked me to stop taking the Anmum milkpowder. He said I may allergy to that though I'm taking it for so long.
Then heard from my colleague who is pregnant too, her gynae had "warned" her not to take the Anmum milkpowder because it's too fattening!
So scary ley! I already drank 2 tins liao...

No wonder i put on weight so much, 9kgs ley in 23wks...

Sneaky,
Mt. E delivery room is not that bad lah...but of cos we can't compare to TMC's. We get what we paid what..haha.

I've also put on 8kg in 26 weeks...though I eat very little (I am a health freak) and I swim regularly. Ironically, my baby's not weighing alot, only abt 600g at week 25. Seems like all the weight gain goes to me.

I also have my reservations about total bf-ing during confinement. I have been hearing alot of cold remarks that it's very difficult to even bf during confinement esp when the wound is still recovering...and the milk will leak when u bath, when u sleep, etc...but I think I will try total bf and see how it goes first..if I really cannot cope then maybe I will consider formula milk then.

Are you gals suffering from insomnia lately? I have been suffering from sleepless nites since 2 weeks ago. I canot only get to bed at 5.30a.m even when i turn in at 11+, feeling tired. I am teaching in the morning session, and if this were to go on, I wonder how it will affect my work and health. Last nite I didn't get to sleep at all, this morning, first day of school, I vomitted in school...probably due to the lack of sleep. I read that ususally preggies will suffer from insomnia from 3rd trimester onwards, but i am only into my 26th weeks...Can someone pls advice how to curb my insomnia?