(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

i dun intend to work till the last min...my edd is 28th oct...and usually for 1st time mothers, will deliver early so i forsee i will deliver around 21st oct that week...so may start to take maternity leave from the 21st oct that week....

SSL: Ya, the cotton ones are blue at the underside. I dunno reall know what you mean by when bb's poo becomes less liquid... cos their poo will very nua4 for at least a good 6 months if they are on bf. My girl's poo only became like adult's after she turned 1 and started eating more solid food leh... 10 nappies ah?? er.. a bb will pee abt 8 or 10 times or even more a day... I know disposables need to change abt 6 times +/- a day... i dunno how well nappies can last leh.. anyone knows???

Just buy noram Pigeon ones loh, cos after bb poo we will usually wash with water.

kris: i intend to use diapers at the initial stage. so the nappy at a later part or if my confinement lady prefers to use nappy

Maybe i go buy another pkt, pigeon brand one. heehee. and probably another box of nappy liner. Friend passed me 1 box of Tollyjoy one (100pcs).

I have no choice.. contract ends at the end of Sep.. So will not be working in Oct.. My EDD is 22nd Oct.. But for 1st time nothers, most babies come about 2 weeks earlier..

I bought 2 packets of 12 nappies each.. figured that newborns pee/poo about 6-8 times a day.. and if you do laundry once a day.. will need at least twice the amount I think.. Anyhow, nappies can be used for a lot of other purposes too.. To wrap baby, as a thin blanket...
I saw the nappy fasteners but it looks flimsy.. Will use safety pins I think..

Does anyone have problems with undies? I bought new bras 2 sizes and 1 cup up about a month ago and I can't wear them anymore, even with bra extensions!!.. Sigh.. at this rate will I need to buy bras every month or so? Any suggestions? If I keep expanding at this rate, I'm gonna be spending so much just on bras..

fushiastar: why not u try to buy maternity bra? cos they are more suited for pregnant ladies. and u can wear extensions with them as well.

The max size for normal bra would be 85A or B and maybe not as stretchable lor.

For undies, i can still survive with EL. but still wearing those old L ones cos they are looser after so many wears

I bought one maternity undie from triumph and find it very comfortable though i think is free size. so maybe u can check it out.

i also got some to try from Triumph normal range, EL size and they are quite comfortable as well. (for now) Think is stretchy range... u can check with the salesgirl cos i ask them which type more stretchable.

fushiastar: buy maternity bras and undies from 9mois! Or Mothercare. The materials for maternity under garments are much stretchable and can take you thru many more months!

kris, are 9mois maternity undies expensive?? btw where are they located har? heard of this name so many times.

SSL and Kris,

My bras are maternity ones, from Triumph.. I'm wearing XL Hush puppies undies now.. still can fit.. I'm normally a 70A for bras and small for panties and now I can't fit into my maternity bra 80B with bra extensions.. At the end of the day, I get these red marks under the bust and it feels tight the whole day..

Are the 9mois or mothercare bras more stretchable than the triumph maternity ones?

The problem I have is not the cup size but the chest circunference.. Sigh..

tok abt undies.. i bought a pack (2 pieces) from pigeon brand.. veri big de.. covering the belly all the way up.. $25 a pack.. my hubby keeps laughing at me after i wear it :p quite comfy lor

SSL and fushiastar: I dunno abt the undies but I bought the bra at abt $40 or so. Reasonable lah. It is really super stretchable but the problem is that it's not padded... I've never tried the Triumph range of maternity undergarments so dunno how strechable it is. Mothercare undies are very good though, but not very lasting. Marks and Spencers has much better quality maternity undies and they really last FOREVER. Imagine I'm wearing those from my last pregnancy!

Btw, 9mois is located at Plaza Sing and Paragon. Their stuff are a bit expensive, but are nice.

fushiastar: try using 2 bra extensions!

fushiastar

i bought two pieces of maternity bra from theme maternity, at $19 each... cos they trying to sell away maternity bras.. next time will onli focus on nursing bras onli.. quite ok for me lor.. they onli left with bigger sizes.. can go take alook
at taka, got wire de..

btw try getting bras infront looser.. so tat next time can insert breast pads..

kris: i don't encourage buying mothercare panties....not stretchable one...i kinda regretted...i bought the underbelly ones and they feel insecure leh...like gonna drop in the front...i still think the bigger-sized panties either Triumph or Sorella ones are better...they are so much more stretchable...

Sneaky: Probably our bum shaped differently.
Hahaha.. cos I'm also wearing the under-belly one and I find it very comfy! Never drop before! Hee...

fushiastar: maybe u can try to see if JL has them? cos my friend passed me her new nursing bra from there and they are quite comfy. For undies, sometimes they have those cotton ones which comes in 5 per pkt.

I'm ok with Triumph maternity undies. As for bra, find it too expensive so only bought one.

For me, some undies can wear but felt tight below the belly, so dont like the feeling. like squeezing our BB.

All my bras are non wire ones cos feel better. The maternity bra and normal range bra i bought are all without padding cos i think they feel more comfortable cos our nipples now very sensitive lor.

So i buy bra pad just incase i run out of bras to wear to go out
me still wearing my own bra which are padded cos they became so soft and not hard on the nipples

kris: ah...hahahaha...got such things ah??? maybe it's still a bit too loose for me loh..i've got quite small bum before preggy...

SSL

u dare to wear tube inside dun wear bra bo?? tats wat i did.. :p very comfty...

cos rite now i still doesnt feel hot at all.. in office veri cold still.. so wear double clothing is fine with me

Sneaky: Aiya no wonder lah! Hee.. you are of the small bum breed! I am a BIG BUM-er! Hee... I'm the kind old pple see already say "Wah! This one can give birth!!!"

fun: wah u so happening ah... me paiseh one.
dare not. i wanted to buy those bra too but the salesgirl say not enough support as our breasts becomes bigger lor.

kris: u really gao xiao man! could it be due to your first pregnancy that your bum becomes bigger?

SSL: Hee.. that's really wat my mil said when she first saw me as my hb's girlfren leh!!! But yes lah, after the 1st pregnancy the bum expand even more!!!! It's like the hips became wider..

Fun: True for me lah. But not for everyone and I dun think it's very common either.
Dun worry!

I prefer the underbelly/hipster undies.. Don't like anything around my belly cos it's so so itchy... I only wear dresses now.. Simply can't take skirts or pants cos they cling to my belly..

So I should try 9mois, theme & mothercare bras; Marks and spencer, triumph & Sorella undies?

How many of each do you all get?

Kris.. I shall try 2 bra extensions with my current bras..
Thanks goodness there is GSS now...

Fun.. Where is theme maternity?

Sneaky.. the Triumph and Sorella panties you are talking about are they maternity ones? or normal large size ones?

Thanks for all your help, ladies..

kris: is there a special detergent for washing nappy? or we can use the normal washing powder to wash nappy too? and do we need to soak nappy before use?

i am reading the 3 books written by Mrs Wong which I got them when i signed up for FBI. quite informative and i realised that its not so easy taking care of BB.

really scared i cant cope with it. so many things to note and learn. hope i can learn alot from my CL during her stay with me.

Moms in minds have just came out with those tube nursing bra. It's comfortable and can go with any strapless top or spagetti top maternity clothes. As for undies, I agree with sneaky that the sorella and the triumph normal ones are stil the best. Just buy bigger sizes will do. They are comfortable.

I strongly encourage all moms to be to start reading up books on parenting now. Looking after baby, is not as easy as what it seems to be, and we defintely won't have time to read up such books once the baby is born. I strongly recommend Marriam stoppard's book, esp for first time mothers like me. It's comprehensive and full of illustrations.

SSL: I have a feeling that we can't use normal detergent for nappies if bb is a newborn. But then again the nappies are gonna be real dirty... I also dunno leh.. ask Mrs Wong during your class with her!

DUn worry abt not being able to take care of bb. It'll come naturally once bb is here. Motherhood is a learning journey in itself and you'll definitely be rewarded when you see your little one grinning at you like a silly cat.
The most challenging part of parenthood I feel is balancing good couple-time. You will have to come up with an agreement with hb on how often you will go out alone, who will do the nite feeds when CL is gone, are you still gonna cook often, how often to clean the hse etc etc. Being parents can sometimes upset some couples, even tho they thought they were ready for parenthood.
I have some frens who seemed ready for it but once bb is born they realise the physical and mental strain and contraints and start to leave bb overnite (for like the entire week, not even visiting their bb often) with mils... They even tell me proudly now that they are just part-time parents but full time watever-vocation... It really upsets me even tho those bbs are not mine.

Oh, and the 'What to Expect' series of books is really good too. I survived on that from pregnancy till now with my toddler! Just read up each month as bb grows and there will be hardly any surprises from bb.

Thyme Maternity is at Level 3 of Taka near the children's section and another one at Suntec. They are having some sales now.

thanks kris

its definitely not an easy task to look after BB. and life after BB's born will change. we will only know how to handle different situations when the time comes.

Sneaky..
That's what I'm doing for my undies..
in XL

SSL, I don't know about detergent, but I bought a box of Pureen washing powder for babies to use.. Keep thinking that newborns are very sensitive to everything, so initially at least, getting all the baby soap, shampoo, bottle detergent and washing powder..
Did you manage to find Desitin Creamy? I have easy access to buying it.. If you really can't find, I can buy for you first.. Oh, my husband actually recommanded another brand of nappy cream to me, the one that KKH uses, can't remember the name, but I have it at home.. Will post next week..

Thanks, Ruff..
I'll be going to Suntec tomorrow..

Fushiastar,
I'm currently wearing Triumph sloggi tanga cotton panties. Find them very comfortable and stretchable. U may want to give them a try.
The salesgirl introduced the maternity panties to me, also underbelly (think it is a mini), not too bad. But I find the seams slightly thicker so not as comfy.

U gals are pretty fast in getting ready for the arrival of the bb. I haven't even bought anything for the bb yet. Haven't even got to check out the various stuff. Guess I must start getting some major items first before the GSS ends.

can try the nursing bras from Perfect Mum too, comfortable but only bought 1 coz found it rather ex. For panty I am also wearing triumph's EL, v comfy, low waist but duno can last thru pregnancy or not. Can try Bonds too. They have size 12 and 14, very comfortable. do u girls find that there's more discharge nowadays? I have been changing my undies more often. And my bellybutton 'at the gate' already, coming out anytime.

TMC Pharmacy sells Desitin Creamy. Tried getting at Guardian and was told only hospitals/ clinics carry it.

if u guys are taking Neurogain Plus Fish Oil, can get at watsons at $29.

bb was having hic ups during the scan today, so cute
can see her moving up and down with each hic. Dr ask me to eat less durian coz bb bit big. 20cm at 780g 24 weks+. How big r ur little ones now?

i m having rather bad varicose veins, the calves ache too.

do u girls feel pain at ur pelvic area? today i have this pain at my pelvic area... dunno why... quite painful and trying to bear.

Hi Poshbb,
I am starting to feel pain at my pelvic area recently, especially at nite when tossing abt in bed and getting down from bed, though I didn't do much walking nowadays. I know that feelings, very unbearable. Is it because that area is expanding to prepare for birth?

Hi Whitefloral,
my last check up, at week 20th, my bb weighs 395g, gynae said it's at an acceptable weight range. However, my colleagues who are delivering around the same day as me, mostly have a bigger babies than me. Next Tues, I am gng for check up again, will update u abt my baby's weight again.by then I will be 25weeks + 2 days.

Anyone of you thinking of signing up for the cord blood banking? If you are a MOE staff, you are entitled to some discounts if you sign up with stemcord. However, the promotions end on 30th June.

fushiastar: nah, like whitefloral, i was told that i can only get Desitin Creamy at hosp pharmacy. Will probably get it next week when I'm down at TMC for my antenatal class and gynae visit.

whitefloral & poshbb : sometimes i do feel discomfort and slight twitch at the lower centre part of my tummy. cos sometimes BB kicking and seem to kick there

And whole stomach can get abit hard at one time and relax after a while. so scary...

For me, back aching if i too tired and forgot to turn to sleep on my sides. turning to sleep on sides have become slower and not very comfortable also sometimes.

whitefloral : my boy weighs 395g when i went for my detail scan around 20+ week. will go for my next gynae checkup next Sat and will be my 25weeks.

i think alot of mummies eating durian got big BBs. i only ate 2pcs since the start of my pregnancy so i guess not much impact on my BB size :p

Fiona & SSL: i dunno how to describe the apin.. but surely not bb kicking.. its like a pushing down feeling n pain.

i started eating durians... little bit not alot, well abt 3 pieces each time.

i also get pelvic pain more now, when getting in and out of bed, turning in the middle of the nite in my sleep, sometimes when i turn, the pain wakes me up. Have to get out of bed slower, also more difficult to find a comfy sleeping position. When I walk around, even not long dist, at times feel the pain too. And on and off I do get that very heavy dull pain, like tummy pulled down to the ground and tummy becomes v har for a while.

at 20th week, bb was 330g. now close to 800g at 24th week. Usu when I eat durians i take 5-6 seeds. Yesteray saw durians, so tempted to buy but hubby stopped me.

poshbb: maybe u can check with your gynae if its ok. think probably due to the BB's growth.

whitefloral: ya, u better curb ur durian crave. dont eat so much... heehee

There's been a lot of movement lately. Pelvic pain also , esp when i stand up after sitting.

Counting down the days of my freedom...

SSL: the checkup will nbe in july. i will wait. its ok..

whitefloral: why dun let u eat? its good to have some of the durian..

morning everyone! i just ate 3 pcs of durians last weekend!! hehe..hopefully the nutrients went to my bb instead of me!

now in my 21 weeks & 3 days...currently gain a total of 8kjg..*SHUDDERS* cannot imagine how much weight i will gain at the end of my pregnancy!

i suffering from Monday blues wor.....can't get enough of sleep now....

hi girls,

yest i went to Baby Kingdom at Kaki Bukit with hubby. Finally bought bb's stroller, Combi brand $168 with 5% disc. Thought it was quite a gd deal...but only thing is the basket is quite small. But its the ultra light weight one, 4.2kg.
Also bought Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser for $87 but guess wat, it came with Free 2 milk bottles and 1 cleansing detergent. Not bad rite? the ones selling at Robinsons/ JL is $87 i think but dont have the free stuff.
So for those interested, can go have a look lor.

Glad i bought these stuff finally then no need to think abt it anymore.

good morning everyone!

garfield: you didn't sleep well ah??? in fact, i wasn't paying much attention to the antenatal class yesterday cos i was sleepy...until Sister Lim talk about pushing baby in and out and the French loaf head...hahahaha...it was really funny huh???

mrstan: i also went shopping yesterday...bought 1 bathtub, anti-slip bath mat for the bathtub, 1 pillow, 2 bolsters...so happy! a lot more to go leh...

i went 3 plcs yesterday... i think my hubby must be wondering how crazy i am..

JL: pacifer & milk powder storage container
Robinson: Pram, Baby MOnitor, Baby Spoon & containers
Kidding Palace: Plastic changing sheet, bedding set, small pillow and safety pins.

Kaoz.. robinson alot of ppl.. esp the baby dept.. scary.. so many preggie woman..

Missysunflower.. That's what I was wearing before I got pregnant too..

Whitefloral: Yep.. more discharge for sure.. I have to change my pantyliner at least once a day... Varicose veins? Oh no.. Have you tried the stockings they have for that? My mom had that too and that's what she did.. Worked for her..