(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Jenifur..

in that case, better abstain from exerting yourself too much.. take it easy, dont do any household chores or carry heavy things..
Since no infection, that's good...

jenifur,
for now, better abstain from sex and any vigorous exercise. think just slow walking can already. must take greater care from now on.

garfield: yah...better get ourselves mentally prepared...i think i will try to go natural for a few hours until i really cannot tahan, then i'll go epi.

jenifur: hahahaha...this type of things they also can think of....wah....i told him, no matter what, i'll still grab his fingers...heeheehee...btw, you take care and don't worry unduly, k?

<font face="Calisto mt"> MC/MrsTan,

Thanks. Ya now HB forbids me to do everything, go hm, bathe liao straight lie on bed, he serves me everthing

Mrs Tan and all: ok, here's my birth story with my first girl!

My girl was supposed to be due 11 Sep 2003, but on 1 Sep morning I experienced a blob of thick yellowish, bright reddish discharge. I called the gynae and was told to go down immediately to the clinic which I did. I didn't know that was called a 'show'. I stayed at the clinic for nearly 5 hours all kinds of observation and was strapped to a machine to measure any contractions that I may have. There was no contractions and I was sent home with a 5 days MC. I did not think that I would deliver soon cos doc had always told me that bb wouldn't be early cos she hasn't even descended and engaged yet.

On 2 Sep 1+am, I woke up with a really bad backache that I've never experienced b4. I timed it and it was happening at every 10min interval, then shortened to 5 min interval. The pain wouldn't go away no matter what position I tried to take up. I supposed then that bb must be on the way lah. So at 3am, I woke my hubby up, drank chicken essence, had breakfast, made sandwiches for packing and called the hospital. We reached TMC at 4+am and by then I could hardly walk cos of the contractions.

Once I was there I was placed in the delivery ward and given the enema (I think spelled like this). My gynae came in at abt 7+am and checked me, said I wasn't dilated at all and placed something in my cervix to hurry the dilation. She warned me that there is a possibility of C-section and told me no more food and drink until after delivery. And so the long wait began. By noon 2 Sep I was put into my pte delivery suite and I breathed through all my painful contractions. I tried the gas and the injection to ease the pain but the gas made me nauseous and the injection did absolutely NOTHING. So at 4+pm, 14 hours after my first painful contraction, I asked for the epidural. My contractions were coming in almost 2min apart and each one lasted over a min... I was really exhausted by then and couldn't imagine how much longer I had to fight this. Even my hubby's comforting words became irritating and I pushed his face away, telling him to just keep quiet. I was writhing from the terrible back labour I was experiencing, every contraction was like someone trying to drill a parang into the small of my back... When the anaesthesian came I swear I saw an angel's face! The epi brought me such great relief and I could finally get some rest. So I slept for a couple of hours, woke up to watch some tv and at 11.15pm, the nurse said I was 7cm dilated. I thought I was gonna have to go thru C-section, and the epi was wearing out. I could feel the pain again! My gynae then came in and told me I was ready to push.. So tho I had the epi I was still feeling the pains and knew when to push. BUt I was still feeling extremely exhausted and after several pushes I heard my gynae ask for the 'kiwi cup' (i.e., vacuum suction), but I couldn't care anymore and within another 3 pushes, my girl FINALLY arrived at 12.10am 3 Sep 2003! Gynae showed me my screaming bb but I was too tired to move a single muscle.. and finally she asked if I would like a drink! She even offered me ice-cold water, which I was most grateful for! I drank 3 cups lying down thru a straw. Hubby wasn't with me anymore as he had gone out with our newborn to count fingers and toes.. haha.. When I was wheeled back to my ward I was given sandwiches, which I gobbled down and slept till morning.

Kris,
wah. drama drama. ur experience and pain seems to be quite long hor? haha u can still rem all the details...wah i can feel the relief also when ur girl finally arrived. eh but the nurse offer u cold water ah? can drink immed. after birth one meh?
anyway, thanks for typing up ur whole story..really give us an insight as to wat to expect when its our turn.

Mrs Tan: My gynae asked me if I wanted cold water! So I said yes! Haha.. I hope I haven't frightened anyone at all!

dear kris, indeed, your experience is really drama mama...upon reading your story, i could feel as if i'm the one going through the process. thank you...your story has indeed gotten me quite prepared for labour...

Hi everyone.. Just came back fr malaysia.. A short holiday sure does a world of good.. There are so many posts to catch up on..

Someone was asking about the umbilical stump.. (Sorry, was skimming through the posts quickly, can't remember who..) When the baby is born, there is the umbilical cord that connects it to the placenta and this is cut and tied (I think). It only drops off about a week after the baby is born.. So in the mean time, the baby has an umbilical stump.. Some people use normal diapers/nappies with a binder or just cotton pads over the stump, but Mamy Poko has newborn diapers that have a u shape cut in the front that allows the umbilical stump to be uncovered...

All of you that are opting for natural are so brave... I'm hoping to Not have to go through a caesarian birth and will opt for an epidural...

Detailed scan is only at 24 weeks on 30th June so hopefully everything will be alright...

Joan, you are very very brave.. May God heal your child and grant you and your husband the love and strength in the care of your child..

Kris, number 2 after that long birth process.. Wow... I think I may just stop at one..

kris,
when i read ur story, its feel real. i can even imagine it eventhough i haven't been that experience before. thanks for sharing ur story.

jenifur,
after the details scan last sat, me and my hubby went to see my gynae. the result came out the bb ok. my gynae told me that i have a low placenta at the right side, meaning the placenta position will block the bb head to come out so can't do normal labour. have to do C-section. but she mention that this position can change anytime. cause now our uterus is growing and all the tissue is preparing for the labour time. my gynae said not to worry. she suggested me not to carry heavy things and intercourse. one of my friend suggested me not to kneel down too often to get things. hope this info usefull for you.

<font face="Calisto mt"> Kris,

U really v strong leh. If I had to go thru tt, I dun think I'll b considering No. 2 liao. Did u had any side effect from epi? </font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> Amari,

Tks 4 ur info. No wonder my gynae didn't mention anything, guess he didn't want to "scare" me since will change anytime. Will keep in mind bout not carrying heavy stuff. I tend to forget cuz tummy still not v big. Sometimes in office will still carry lots of files @ 1 time

Jenifur and all : Thanks for your compliments.
All mothers are brave lah.
I had uncontrollable shivering after the epi and nothing else. I also couldn't pee on my own for abt 2 days. Heh.. Had to rely on the catether.

Kris ~ thanks for sharing ur brave story with us

fushiastar ~ my detail scan oso same date as u leh!! ware u having urs done?

Joan ~ sad to hear abt ur prince ~ but den again ~ MIRACLES DO HAPPEN!!

u n ur bb wil b in my prayers ~ GOD BLESS

<font face="Calisto mt"> Kris,

CATETHER!!!! Hee I hate tt. I had to use it after my OP last time &amp; it caused me so much irritation. After removing e catether also cannot pee properly 4 e whole day. Did u had backache due to epi? Heard it will cause some "damage" to either e spine or back?</font>

jenifur,

so u feel more relief liau. good. it's nothing to do with the infection. just remember don't carry heavy things and intercourse. hope the position of the placenta will change.

kris: ur labour v scary leh! me have abit of phobia liao....*SHIVER*

anyway, i thinkg of stopping at 1...can't bear the thought of going through another cycle of pain..hehe.

jenifur: I think if we go for epi will have to use catether to drain the urine leh.. I did have backache lah, but I doubt it had to do with the epi cos #1, I had bad back labour, i.e., the pain during contractions were concentrated all at my back and #2, my fren who did not go for epi also had backache after her delivery.

garfield: dun scared! dun scared! It's really not that bad one! And you must remember there is afterall an end to it! And the reward is that you will be promoted to mummy status and along with your promotion will be daddy, a whole string of uncles and aunties and grandparents etc etc!! You will be THE WONDER WOMAN!!!!

Morraine &amp; Fushiastar,
thanks for the encouragement.

Celine,
Doctors detected the abnormalities during the detailed scan at around 20 weeks. We had a fetal anomaly scan done the next day by 2 doctors and we got the full details of the abnormalities. We were strongly advised to go for the amniocentesis test as they suspected the cause was either Trisomy 21 (Down's Syndrome), 18 (Edward's Syndrome) or 13 (Patua's Syndrome). My hubby and I didn't want to go for the test initially since we were keeping the baby regardless of the outcome. We felt there was no point risking a miscarriage from the test. However, doctors told us the test results would allow them and us to focus on what we can do for the baby once he was born if results show he has a chance of survival.

Since the intent of the test was for the benefit of our little boy, we went for the test the next day. Just last week, the test result showed our little boy has full Trisomy 18, which doctors say babies with this condition don't usually survive beyond the first few days of birth. But we are still praying for him and hope that a miracle happens to our brave little boy.

joan: i feel like crying after reading your post. I can fully understand ur feelings and anxiety. I have been thru it before. I did a triple test during my 16th week and results indicated that i have high risk of triple 21 bb. I was ordered to do amniocentesis but luckily, the amniocentesis results came out negative.

the wait for the amniocentesis was the most stressful period of my life. to be honest, i am not as brave as u and ur hubby. sadly, if my amnio results come out positive, i would have aborted the bb cos i dun think i hav the courage to bring my bb up.tat is why i really salute and admired ur courage when i saw that u and ur hubby is prepared to keep ur son regardless of bb condition. I guess this is wat pple called 'unconditonal parents love'!

i will pray to Guan Yin (i am a buddhist) when i go down to Bugis one of these days.
joan, be brave and strong for your bb..cos he will def need u n ur love when he is born and i really really wish that ur bb boy will recover! *HUGZ*

Morraine,

Mine is at 1220.. I'm seeing Mary Rauff.. What about you?

Joan..

my heart goes out to you.. I think it's great that you have you husband's support in this time.. Are you a Catholic? There is much that science can do but it is God who created the world we live in and He can do much more.. I don't know what will happen to your baby boy, but I do know that God loves us so much and he hears our each every prayer.. Do pray for your little boy every day.. Will be keeping your family in daily prayer too..
Believe in Him..

Garfield,
thanks for your prayers. We were actually hoping that our boy had Down's Syndrome instead of Edward's Syndrome since Down's Syndrome would at least meant that our boy would have a chance of survival. Children with Down's Syndrome are actually really nice children... they learn alot about love from them. :)

Inc,
my hubby and I did go for blood tests at about 16th week. We were told that the test results were fine. We didn't ask if the triple test was done since we would have continued the pregnancy even if it showed risks.

Fushiastar,
my hubby and I are both catholics. It was not the feeling of obligation that made us continue the pregnancy but we did it because we love our boy and it's the only ethical decision we could make. If we aborted the child, we would suffer in guilt for the rest of our lives. How could we kill our little boy? We have to give him a chance to live as long as he can and also give God a chance to do something rite?

fushiastar ~ mine is so much later wor.. as mentioned 4.10pm lor ~ mine is another Dr.. forgot the name liaoz.. left the paper at home ~ hee hee..

ur gynae oso from glenE?

joan: you are really very brave and I really believe with your strong faith and love God will do miracles for your baby boy. Everyday from now we pray that God will heal your little boy bit by bit hence by the time he is conceive he will be strong to live.

Hi Joan

m surprised dat the triple test/blood test done at 16week did not pick up this...

do take care and really hope ur boy will be strong too.

Joan: Both your hb and you are already the greatest parents any child can have! I dun pray to any higher being but I still do hope something miraculous will happen for you.

Hi Joan
I really admire you and your hubby. U have so much strength in you. I'm sure your bb will feel your unconditional and selfless love and fight this battle with u too.

Joan, I admire your unconditional love to your bb and I hope everything turns out well for your family. Be strong...

good morning sneaky..

Girls, for those who plan to use nappy during the day, do u buy a waterproof sheet to put on the baby's cot?? How do u prevent the mattress from staining with baby's urine??

Kuririn: Whether or not you are using nappies it is a good idea to place a protective sheet on the cot before laying bb down. YOu can get those sheets that are meant for pple with incontinence. It is cottony on the top layer and has a waterproof layer at the bottom. Can get at Kiddy Palace I think. When you deliver the hospital will also probably place a sheet like that for you to sit on.

kuririn, I place the rubber sheet below the bedsheet. At least if it's wet, I only need to change the bedsheet and wipe the rubber sheet. When I change diaper, I always place a cloth nappy or towel beneath the backside to prevent "accident".

kuririn, do we need that? i plan to wear the diaper guard after the nappy and that shd solve the problem, right? cos if i put baby on top of the waterproof sheet, he may feel uncomfortable mah.

Sneaky: the rubber sheet could be a bit stiff and hot lah, but the cotton waterproof sheet is soft. As newborns can be very tiny and skinny, any guard/ diapers/ nappies could be still too loose to hold all the urine in. This is when leakages may happen. Better to be safe than sorry lah.

SSL: long time no hear from you.. you ok?

sneaky:
is the diaper guard something tat u wear over the nappy?? wouldn't it be more warm for the baby?? I'm still debating which one to use lor.. cos tomorrow planning to get the cot mattress n some baby accessories.. so thought of asking u gals what you all plan to do lor..

Joan.. Absolutely!...

Morraine: My gynae is from NUH..

Kuririn.. I have a nappy changing mat and diaper guards (worn over the nappy) too.. Agree with Kris cos the diaper guards look big..

kris: thanks for explaining. shall see how when the time comes. anyway, i have both diaper guards and changing mat. maybe i shd get another one...i got the annaku one...thin and light and sweet looking...the pigeon one is super heavy and thick leh...

kris &amp; fushiastar: i bought a couple of very small sized diaper guards from kiddy palace. they are in plain white...these are the only ones suitable for newborns...my SIL recommended one...in fact, she gave me 3 old pcs from her son and i bought 2 more...

hi kris

i'm fine.. still reading the post everyday... i think kuririn brought up a good point that i didnt note. Will go buy the protective sheet. Do they call it a cot protective sheet? not disposable type one hor?

I went to buy Drapolene yesterday. Guardian selling at $3.50. Can only see Desitin Oitment so asked the Pharmacist if they carry Desitin Creamy. Was told that it will only be sold at hospital pharmacy or places where there is pediatrician. so probably go check out TMC's pharmacy.

Mornign gals,

The diaper guards comes in different sizes, so get the smallest one for newborn, think 3 will do. It will be abit pricey if you get from Shopping centres and baby shops. I bot mine from neighbourhood shops, cost half as much as those in shopping centres.

Do u gals intend to work till your EDD? I intend to do that but many of my colleagues warned me that towards the mth of the EDD, our belly will be so huge that we will be lethargic and tired all the time, definitely have no mood and energy to work. so wat say you?

SSL:
I dun think they call it a cot protective sheet. If you go to Kiddy Palace at Causeway Pt you'll see the the rubber sheets at the bottom of the shelf near where they place the bottles. I think you should be able to find the cotton ones (which are disposable) at the same place. If you do get the cotton ones you can cut each piece into 4 smaller pieces cos bb doesn't need such huge pieces. I use the rubber mat for bb after her bath. I lay the rubber mat, then a towel over then put bb on it. I do this cos I put bb on my bed after bath to dry and powder so the rubber mat prevents my bed from becoming wet.

Fiona: I do intend to work till the very last minute. I did that for my first girl too. I took things very slowly, and gave myself more time to do everything as well. I reckoned that I'd be bored to death staying at home in the final month doing nothing. And right now if I do stay at home during my last month I'll be even more tired cos I've an energetic toddler at home!

kris: are they blue in colour? cos remember seeing something like that? folded in squares like diapers? will check that out when i go KP causeway point

i was at KP century square yest. wanted to buy pigeon washing powder but couldnt find so didnt buy anything. saw it at Isetan so bought it there.

i bought changing mat (not air filled or rubber ones) for laying my BB on after bath to change. intend to buy him on bed to change but depends on confinement lady's preference. (if she prefers to put on table :p)

Btw, i bought 1 pkt of nappy (10pcs) but not sure if its sufficient. cos intend to use only when BB poo become less liquid. contemplating if i shd go buy another pkt of different brand one. did u use nappy clip or u use those safety nappy pin? i saw those nappy clip (like a y shaped thingy). but not sure secured or not. heehee

I saw that only Pigeon brand wet wipes comes with a box thing that u can replace with refill. Brands like Avent and Pureen only has a little cover ontop. Are those as secure as the Pigeon ones? meaning can they keep wet?? Or also saw Pigeon got Antibacterial ones too. more expensive so not sure if i should buy when wiping BB bum after poopoo