(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

janice: Just got it. The supplier is called Euramedic.

Hi kris

thanks alot for your useful tips again

Dont worry la. i shd be the one feeling paiseh cos i keep asking u questions. :p

will note the cotton balls thingy. the kiddy palace salesgirl suggest to me to buy those cotton wool that you can cut yourself. can save $$
Saw this brand call Anaku (i think) and think Tolly Jolly (or Joy??) also have this type.

Have u used Pigeon ones before? I actually saw Pigeon ones for baby lotion, oil and bath foam. Is there a need to buy baby lotion?? or just oil will do leh??

Yap, saw alot of Pigeon wipes, in box form and their refill. Also saw Avent ones and some comes with Aloe Vera... I think its better to use no scent or "added" stuff one issit??

Not sure if this product is available in Singapore cos didnt seem to see it. Anyone saw this before??

288916.jpg

Intend to use either this (if its available in Singapore) or the breast milk storage bag.

SSL: Hey, no prob! I also learned a lot from other experienced moms when I was pregnant with my #1.

Forgot to tell you a few things.
The bottles you've shown are available but it's better to use the storage bags for expressed breastmilk cos you could easily have up to 20 packets in your freezer. Using so many bottles is too costly and uses up too much space in the fridge. The bags also come with labels so that you can write the date the milk is expressed on and make sure you use it b4 its expiry. After you deliver bb in the hospital, go to the nursery and ask the nurses there for empty milk glass bottles. These are excellent for storage of initial breastmilk as most of us will not have so much at the start. With the bags you can only fill it up once and immediately freeze. But the bottle, even if you freeze you can still add more expressed milk in it. Just make sure the milk is expressed on the same day. The bottles will also have to be sterilised before usage.

You will also need to buy detergent meant for bb's clothings as newborns could even be sensitive to our usual detergent. One bottle of it should be more than enuf though.

Yes, you can cut cost and use cotton that you cut on your own but personally I find those are not very suitable for newborns cos they have too much cotton strands after you cut them and could be a bit irritating for bb. And bb lotion is necessary as newborn's skin could dry easily. Remember they have been 'soaked' for 40 weeks in our womb! Bb oil on the skin could be a tad too oily.

Oh, and try not to get Kodomo bb wash as I've heard many pple complain that their bbs develop a rash after using it.

As for wipes, ya, no need to get those with aloe vera etc lah. Just basic anti-bacterial wipe is good enuf.

SSL, so sorry about not replying your sms
. I guess you already got your answers to your questions, huh?

Kris is right, using disposable storage bags is more hygienic and economical in the long run. There will be a time when your freezer is bursting with EBM.

For detergent, I bought Kodomo Baby Laundry Detergent for Sarah, but still find that it makes Sarah's clothes hard. Eventually, I ended up having to use Kodomo softener at the last rinse.

Kris

Learnt new things from u again. Ah... really good point which I didnt think of. heng i didnt buy the avent bottles just now. cos i saw it at Junction 8 Seiyu and Kiddy Palace. They are selling 4 for $24 (before dist)

Hubby and I both tot bottles are better and if next time not breastfeeding, can put juice and let BB drink when older. heehee

Is it that BB has to consume the expressed milk within 24hrs of expressing? And do we put the expressed milk in freezer or chiller comparment har?? 1 box of storage bag contains 15 bags. Issit enough or I should get more??

Yap, i know I have to get BB detergent for washing BB's laundry. Think Pigeon one comes in powder form (cant really recall) And also have to get the cleansing liquid for the bottles. Will be getting Pigeon one also

I saw Sterilising tablets too. Issit necessary to have them?? whats the use??

Saw 2 brands of those "can self cut" cotton wool. But they didnt put "sterilised" so didnt buy.... I saw this brand Lucky Baby and it has white and blue cotton balls in a pack and it's sterilised. Cost $1.90 per pack at Kiddy Palace. Seiyu selling 4packs for $3.90. Pigeon ones doesnt indicate that its sterilised and its all white colour balls. Will the colour irritate BB's skin??

Sorry ah, do we use cotton pad or balls for wiping BB's bum when he poopoo?? Or we get all balls will do?

Oh, i just bought a drying rack for bottles and teats at Kiddy Palace
cos find it useful and not messy with a rack. (kitchen bery small ah so have to be neater)

Not sure if i asked u about nappy before. Do u know what brand is good?? thinking of letting BB wear nappy once the poo poo is less liquid.

Hi cyn!

SSL: Expressed bm can be kept in the freezer for up to 2 months. Deep frozen ones can keep for 3 months. (I roughly remember it's 2 or 3 months.
) Unless you intend to let bb drink the EBM (Expressed Breastmilk) within the same day of expression, dun keep the EBM in the lower rack of the fridge. Freeze the EBM immediately after expression so that you can retain as much goodness as possible.

15 storage bags is definitely not enuf. get 2 packets for a start and then when you're abt to run out of them send hubby to get more. Remember you must have bag clips to go with the bags. The clips are reusable. To save cost you can actually get the clipc from IKEA, but I find some of the clips too big.
Oh, another good thing abt the bags is that frozen EBM melts very quickly in it and all you need to do is to put it under a running tap. Bottled frozen EBM takes FOREVER to melt!

Sterilising tablets are more useful for working moms who need to keep their bottles and expressing accessories sterile while in the office. They just put a tablet into a container of water and soak the equipment. Since you're getting a steam steriliser there's really no need for the tablets.

As for cotton balls, my girl did not have any reaction to the coloured ones.
And I haven't heard of any such cases yet. When bb poops you may find that using the wet wipes to clean his bum of poop is loads easier, then follow that with using wet cotton balls to clean the bum. I did not use any cotton pads when my girl was an infant.

Oh yes, the rack is definitely useful. I'm still using it now! And I haven't use any nappies before leh.. so can't tell you anything on that leh.. heh.. sorry!

Hi kris

The storage bags will come with those seal thingy (like zip lock bag pattern) issit sufficient? or must we still get the clips.

How do we heat up the pack? put the whole thing in warm water?? or pour out and heat it??

ok, can skip sterilising tablets and cotton pads. Will prob buy the lucky baby cotton balls first. if not enough, then get hubby to buy later. Wa then sure gotta use alot of wet wipes hor...

will find out more about nappies. dont worry

SSL: Once EBM is melted in the bags, pour it into a milk bottle and put the milk bottle in a big cup/bowl filled with hot water. Wait until the milk becomes sufficiently warm to serve to bb. Ulternatively if you have an electrical bottle warmer you can use that instead.
A tip for you: If you have frens who want to get you something for bb but dunno what to get you can tell them to help you get an Avent milk bottle electrical warmer. Heh.. It's one of those things that we wish to have but there's no real need to buy.

Janice: No prob!

hi girls,
its monday again...over this wkend, 2 ppl told me that my tummy is looking small for 5 and a hlf mths (22 wks). 1 of them even asked me whether my gynae got say anythg abt the size. Got me worried all wkend, cos i realised that tummy like dont seem to be growing very much liao. any of u girls' tummy looking small too?

Hi Mrs tan

i also always wonder if my tummy size is rite:p?
but i guess it may vary across individiual... as long as ur gynae says the bb development is fine, then i tink there is no worry.

MrsTan: dun be so worried... some dun show as much. last nite i went to a wedding dinner, my gfs were saying my tummy looks small with my dress.. dun worry.... bb still got abt 3-4 mths to grow..

Mrs Tan:
dun worry too much ok.. as long as gynae say baby's developement is good then nothing much to worry.. for my case hubby commented my tummy looked so small.. just measured my tummy this morning.. only 84cm..

Hi SSL

The disposable breast pad I got was the premium one with the sticker - 36 pcs per box.
Btw, I have a fren who just delivered a mth ago.
I asked her how long she store her EBM and she said her girl drinks every 2 hrs in the day so she has v little to express and in the end - nothing to store in freezer for nite feeds. Her CL has to use formula in the night.

So I dont know if it's advisable to buy so much storage for EBM as wouldn't you want to give your bb fresh BM rather than frozen one? If you are not working for 3 mnths (maternity) then I think u have time to think of storage later when u return to work.

poshbb, inc, kuririn,
thanks for ur reassurance. ya i thot so too....maybe its cos i am short and small sized so tummy not that huge. speaking of measurement, does ur gynae measure ur tummy size everytime? cos mine doesnt. my next appt is this Sat...finally man.

Kuririn,

Your tummy is bigger than mine!! haha.. My waistline is only 33inc or 82.5cm only and i'm due 4 weeks before you (EDD 1 Oct). As long as gynae says you are ok, let's not worry..

Mrs Tan - take it easy ok?! All will be well with your prince one, think positive..

Mrs Tan

No, my gynae does not measure my tummy size, i measure myself! hahah... but i think it's still alot of fats.. During the detailed scan however, they did give me report on baby wt etc.. i dont know how they know!!

MC,

thanks girl. ok..that means we same same lor, gynae never measure for us. mine didnt give bb weight though. nev mind, i shall clarify my queries with my gynae this sat.

MC:
really ah.. i measured the biggest section leh so not really the waist area.. hmm.. my last checkup gynae no say baby how big.. just say baby growing well very active etc.. will be doing my detail scan next appt.. hopefully baby will let us see its gender.. most of my colleagues say if by now gynae still no mentioned abt the baby's sex then most probably its a girl..

kuririn

Yes, i also measured the biggest part of tummy which as u say is not always the waistline. But when I look at myself, it looks v big leh.. dunno y ppl say so small !

I did my detailed scan last thur - I prayed v hard for bb to co-ordinate and to spread out legs so doc can see girl or boi! haha.. in the end, she was v active also! because when the doc scan, the scan press against her sac so squeezy for her - sure move around alot. But doc still can see clearly my princess' 3 lines

289091.gif

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ 06 Jun 05
Fun ............ 01-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">23 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
MC ............. 01-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">23 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
QiQi ........... 01-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">23 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Mayday ......... 03-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">23 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
BellyButton .... 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
ice ............ 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
inc ............ 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
Joan ........... 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> SGH <font color="ffffff">...</font>
MrsTan ......... 05-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Aical .......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
Sneaky ......... 06-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> Mt.E <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Niuniu ......... 07-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Winnie ......... 07-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
SSL ............ 09-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Joycelyn ....... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
Pammi .......... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
Snow ........... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> KKH <font color="ffffff">...</font>
whitefloral .... 08-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font>
Viola .......... 09-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">22 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
breakbeats ..... 12-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">21 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Jenifur ........ 17-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">21 Wks</font> <font color="ffffff">.......</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Morraine ....... 18-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">21 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font>
Puea ........... 18-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">21 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font>
Chris .......... 20-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font>
Fresia ......... 22-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font>
Fushiastar ..... 22-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> NUH <font color="ffffff">...</font>
Kris ........... 22-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font>
Ling ........... 23-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> RMG <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
Sweetie ........ 23-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font>
Missysunflower . 24-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font>
Nuttnuts ....... 24-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font>
Tao_baby ....... 24-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font>
Celine ......... 25-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> Mt.A <font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Janice ......... 26-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">20 Wks</font> GlenE <font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="0000ff">Boy</font>
Garfield ....... 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">19 Wks</font> TMC <font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ff0000">Girl</font>
SusanY ......... 28-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">19 Wks</font> E.S. <font color="ffffff">..</font>
Kuririn ........ 29-Oct-05 <font color="aa00aa">19 Wks</font> SGH <font color="ffffff">...</font> </font></font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> If you would like to join us, or update your EDD, please PM me! </font>

289089.gif

MC:
i also feel that its big when i looked at myself in the mirror.. duno why hubby say small.. i keep telling my hubby i looked very fat :p

I can't fit into most of my normal tops except those knit wear ones.. so have to start wearing maternity tops liao...

hi everyone...good morning!

kris, thanks for all the tips. they are really informative and i really appreciate it.

mrstan, mine also quite small leh...but don't worry, if doc says baby's okay, he's okay...

<font face="Calisto mt"> Good Morning, MTB.

To think my HB always complain my tummy small but now I realised tt mine is even bigger than MC even though my EDD is later. I jus measured it's 85cm.

MrsTan,

Dun worry as long as BB is ok. If u r still concern bout BB then consider drinking milk. 2 wks ago Gynae was still telling me tt my BB is abit small size. So I started drinking milk twice a day &amp; during my detailed scan last wed, gynae said BB had grow alot.
289101.gif

Gd morning ladies!

Just wanna let u gals know that there is a 20% discount at Dorothy Perkins, only at Marina Square branch, if you use UOB credit card. Dorothy Perkins has a section selling nice maternity wear, especially for bigger-sized people like me (I'm a UK size 12). But I think majority of u gals from this thread are petite size...so dunno whether got your size or not..

Kris,

Wa, really learnt a lot from u...I think many of us should buy you drink one of these days to thank u leh..
kiss.gif

How gals, are u all still keen for gathering? Aiyo, if we dun meet soon, I think more difficult in following months when our tum tum grows bigger..mine oredi beri big now... =P

Sneaky &amp; Breakbeats: Like I told SSL, I've also learnt a lot from experienced moms in this forum years ago lah. So I can understand that new moms really need and want as much info as they can get.

SSL: MC has a point too, however, for me, What I did was that in between feeds I still pumped to stimulate more milk production, my girl was an hourly feeder in her first 3 weeks, then she became a 2-hourly feeder till she was 4 months. I had to start storing EBM from as early as 1.5 months prior to returning to work to ensure that I can have enuf for my girl. I had to make sure there was at least 4 packets of 6oz EBM per working day and that was really tough for me cos it seems that my girl doesn't drink that much in one feed when she's latched on directly. But when she's on the bottle, she's a milk guzzler! So that meant I had to pump 1.5 times to get one full feed. Also, having some store of EBM in the feezer early means you can go out (after the confinement) WITHOUT bb for a breather! It was a necessity for me then cos I was going mad being cooped up in the house all day with an infant and no other adults!

Kris: Thanks
can Avent bottle warmer be used to warm Pigeon bottles? cos avent bottles are fatter so the warmer maybe slightly big for other brands of bottle. I think there are also other brands of bottle warmer too. cant remember what brand though.

Btw, any recommendation for BB formula??

MC: thks for the tips

Mrs Tan: dont worry about size. think mine looks much bigger than before but when i went for my antenatal class last sat, i saw some girls alot smaller than mine. (we need to be at least 20weeks before we can attend the antenatal class at TMC)

Din buy alot of stuffs during the weekend only managed to buy the Avent Newborn starter kit for milkbottles and a set of newborn clothes for my baby.

But very happy with the purchase of the starter kit as I saw it was selling at $42plus at Isetan and Taka but managed to buy at $32

I happen to come across that the Aug-Sept thread MTBs are organising a potluck style tea-party on 2 July noon at one of the MTB's house in Seng Kang. Sounds interesting leh...so far they have 11 MTBs confirmed.

Gals, do u think we should join them or have our own gathering? If wanna join them, then I thick-skin a bit and ask them whether we can particpate or not...haw haw haw? Or better to have our own? Any bright ideas?

Following is the invitation from Aug-Sept MTB party host, reenie:

Here's the invitation to Tea Party!

Location: Blk 268B Compassvale Link #10-25 S(542268). Right infront of Ranggung LRT Station, a stop from Sengkang MRT.
When: Saturday, 02 July 2005
Time: 2.30pm till anytime!

Just come and have fun! Purpose is to chit-chat and get to know each other!

SSL: i think Philips also have food/bottle warmers. can check it out...

i am also interested in BB formula...wonder what i shd give bb...my friend said ONLY BOYS cannot take too heaty milk like Similac &amp; S26. they will have constipation after taking high iron content milk. therefore, she recommended me the cheapest brand - Nan to avoid causing constipation to bb. how ah??? i'm very vexed about this too...

i have already signed up for the TMC antenatal class commencing this Sunday 5-7pm...wonder what I shd wear when i attend the class...

celine: you're taking weekday class huh? i find it quite rushing for me cos i knock off at 6pm and by the time i meet my hubby at home, it'll be too late for dinner liao. that's why we've decided to sign up for weekend class loh...

hi, i am attending the antenatal class this sun too!!!hehee...me intend to wear loose t-shirts &amp; pants..will look like an ah soh liao..hehe

the weekday class suits us better as its from 7pm to 9pm we can go directly from work place.

I rather spend my weekends shopping for baby stuffs now heehee...

Celine, garfield, Sneaky,

eh u girls start antenatal class so fast one ah? how many sessions do u have? i was thinking of starting from July on, cos mine only got 6 sessions so if go too early, by the time reach EDD, will forget all that i have learnt liao.

SSL and Sneaky: Avent warmers, cos of their bogget width, aare generally better cos you can put any sized bottles in them!

As for bb formula, I personally think different bb will react differently. My good fren's bb boy takes to Similac Excellence very well, and another fren's bb boy also takes Similac Advance well. My girl started with Enfalac (only as nite feeds) but she herself rejected that at 2 months of age. Since then she has loved the Similac range of milk and she now takes the follow-on which is GainIQ. My experience is that many of the older generation are very quick to put the blame for almost anything on the brand of infant formula. I actually tasted both Enfalac and Similac when my girl was making the change and I found Similac much much tastier than Enfalac. Hee.. I will actually taste all the food/milk (including breastmilk!) that my girl takes!

Hi Mrs Tan - it's ok! Cos' i'm 23weeks now and the hospital says Jul is the best time to start on the antenatal classes (lectures only) and the real breathing exercises will be held in Aug only!

Hi Kris

SSL asked a question I always wanted to know but I guess now from your answer that with Formula, it's really a trial and error thing? I guess the hospital will give us a small tin of FM when we discharge so we shld not have to worry abt getting it at this stage right?

garfield: same timing (5.30 - 7.30pm)? if so, i'll be seeing you liao...yah...wear t-shirt and pants...ugly leh...

mrstan: TMC asked me not to delay cos if bb is bigger, it's more stressful for the mother. this is the best time...yah...mine also 6 lessons

kris: wah...you actually tasted the breastmilk ah?? after reading and understanding that it all depends on baby, i really don't know which one i shd start him with...haiz....

Sneaky: ya, thats the one i saw
My antenatal class is on sat at 430 - 630. Normally just wear comfortable bottoms for exercise (cos u need to lie down for certain exercise) so i wore those tee material crop bottom. As for top, I wore normal maternity tee. anything comfortable will do

kris: so the bottle warmer doesnt need to have an exact fit inorder to warm the bottle la. ok, will keep a lookout. I saw at bugis parco if u have parco card, think an exchange for bottle warmer but no brand one. but many points la.

My friend actually told me to decide on the formula incase hosp ask after we deliver bb. unless we want bb to be on totally breastfeeding.

She mentioned S26 and also Similac... I didnt tot of it at all.. so now got another thing to decide. But its not easy lor, cos like what MC says, it depends on each indiv BB.

I guess we have to start with smaller tin and see how BB reacts with the FM.

MC, sneaky and SSL: Yup, formula is tikum tikum one. Why dun you start off with Similac Excellence first (cos that's the most popular I milk so far I think). Not all hospitals will give you a small tin of powder. TMC for instance, gives only pre-prepared milk in sealed glass bottles. If bb is on abt 95% breastmilk from the start, the brand of formula shouldn't make too much of a difference.
What I do know abt the milk powders is that Friso seems very sweet, S26 is known to cause constipation, Similac EXcellence is tastiest but has one of the highest iron content. (yup, I actually stood in the supermarket and compared the contents list of all the brands I could find.) Where taste is concerned, I collected feedback from various frens.

hi girls,
for those who chose TMC as their hospital, do u have the contact details for hospital tour and antenatal class schedule? I am now deciding between TMC and Mt. A.
I went to Mt. A on sat for the tour and found the hosppital facilities and rooms to be a bit old so am still looking around.

Mrs Tan, me also deciding btw TMC and Mt. A coz when I went Mt. A for detailed scan dun really like the look of it abit old like what you mentioned.

TMC and Mt. A cost should be same right??