(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

morraine:
$1.8k think is about market rate bah.. i also duno.. cos highly recommended by hubby's cousins so book her lor.. how much was yours?

<font face="Calisto mt"> Ling,

Noted &amp; updated. Bet u mus b ver happy now
.</font>

jenifur: keke as long as got bb already very happy... boy or girl to us is ok.. as long as healthy... but apparently... not only healthy but oso super noti. whahaha.. my hubby felt the Kick this morning. whahaha

<font face="Calisto mt"> MTB,

Izzit true tt we cannot attend ppl's wedding &amp; cannot even give red packet? Heard it's not gd for e BB huh?

My fren getting married in 2 wks time leh, cannot give red packet then wat shld I give as wedding gift?</font>

Hi ruff,

Any booth on baby cots or playpen? Me thinking of going there after work. If really nothing much then better drop the idea as Expo is too far for me also.

btw, me need to start buying maternity wear liao. Where do you gals bought yr maternity wear from? any gd recommendation?

poshbb:
saw on another thread tat u go Perfect Mum to buy ur maternity clothings.. what's the price range like??

Hi gals!

I took 1/2 day to go Expo yesterday, its a complete waste of my time...I've only bought Nepia diapers and 1 Nuk Bottle &amp; teats. Haiyo, waste my leave leh... Mostly sell financial plans, beauty/slimming treatments, and milk powder..maternity clothes not nice and not much selection also.. Go only if you wanna but sarong slings for carrying bb..

Mayday: Only saw 1 or 2 cots...there's no playpens nor strollers..

Did any of you get any goody bag from your Gynae? Its from MeadJohnson (Enfa mama). The sales rep told me that they do give it to gynaes to give out. Heard that its quite a good goody bag. But she was not sure when the gynae usually give out the bag to the mummies.

jenifur: where u heard all these from? whahaha.. nonsense lah.. u an go wedding.. but cant be sisters only. u can give angbao too.. lol just minus eating sharkfin at the Banquet. lol

kurrin: cheapest abt 19 for a top... ex wil be like 50-80.. but got disc if u buy above certain amt. i bought 8 tops, 3 pants abt 400+. pants very ex.. abt 70-90

poshbb:
thanks for the info.. i'm looking for dresses.. i got a pants from spring cost abt $70 and a pair of those elastic band draw string pants from pepper plus cost ard $30.. i had already bought 3 tops... plus some maternity dresses passed down from my cousin n my hubby cousin.. thinking buying another 1 or 2 dresses lor..

SSL: mine also about the same lah...but i think the line will get darker, right?

inc: oh, really...thanks for the tip...i'll avoid bathing in too hot water then.

kurrin: dresses?? try great world.. the shop on 1st level near Chomel.. keke i bought a sweet dress there.. white dress with pink ribbon and its HALTER!!! nice only 89.

Hi all Mums to be...
Long time no see
Need your advice on something leh... Can anyone tell me how does it feel like to feel your bb movement? cos starting 2 or 3 days ago, i start to feel 'something' in my womb... at first i tot its wind but after asking around my office, my colleague to me its actually bb movement! I am now sooo confused... is it wind or baby??
Hehe...
288703.gif

manuka: i felt movements.. n some sounds too..keke. my hubby was like.. har?! he felt the BONG sound on my tummy when the noti bb just kickz

Had detailed scan today. Didn't take that long. Doc was very serious, took so many pictures. Pictures look very abstract to me.

Celine: i was also thinking of buying the steriliser at Robinson cos of the rebate for member :p

kuririn: u can also try Perfect Mum for dresses cos if they got sale, can be quite cheap. I bought 2 last time during their 30% sale, think only cost $20-30+

Went expo fair just now. like what ruff and breakbeats say, nothing good lor....

But i did bought a changing mat from Pureen at $5.20 cos it looks very cute

Good morning..

Mrs Tan:
Motherhood 2005
Public - Free Admission
Hall 5A
01-Jun-05 to 05-Jun-05
Start Time: 12:00; End Time : 22:00

SSL:
Thanks for the info.. do u know if they are having sales now?? what is the address and opening hours of Perfect Mum? maybe I can go this weekend.. Hubby was asking what we wan to do tomorrow.. maybe get him to drive me there.. hehe

i was at the fair last nite... disappointing.. but manage to get cloth diapers at 15+ and the washing powder

morning ladies, its friday again so happy!

wanted to buy stuffs during our GSS but dunno what to buy except the sterilizer...

any recommendation on what to buy during this GSS for us MTB??

Jenifur can u please update - EDD 1 Oct, Gender : GIRL!

went for my detailed scan yesterday - it took almost an hour! and waited another 40min for report before seeing gynae. Anyway, all is well and I finally saw my bb's genitals !
Such a relief to know all is well..
I went shopping at Tom n Steph after that and found they carry quite alot of stuff! i only bot a few stuff as i'm getting hand me downs for most things - I bought a box of 36 pc Pigeon Breast Pad (disposable) for only $8.90 and some clothing and mittens for bb..

QiQi, not sure if you're still thinking of playpen/bassinet but Tom and Steph's range is v v affordable! going at S$89 and the promo for Playpen + pram = S$159. Hw, quality wise may not be that great.. see for yourself k?

Mrs Tan - yes I heard Pigeon's Rapid Steam one is the best steriliser cos' can hold up to 9 bottles and can fit different types of bottles. But i'm not getting it cos I'm going traditional - use a big pot and pour boiling water over the bottles can liao!

Ruff - did your gynae explain the report in detail to u? Mine just said - everything v normal!

Manuka - i was just telling everyone i did not experience bb movement then suddenly in past 3 - 4 days bb movement v distinct. You can't miss it! Sometimes if u put your hand over yr tummy u can even see the tummy moving..

good afternoon everyone! how are you all?

wah...now the girls are starting to show up huh??? hope to see more girls...too many boys this year liao...

talking about sterilizer, i kept looking at it (since i bought them 2 weeks ago), including the bottles, and pacifier blah blah blah...they look so nice to me...

ladies.. today my first time wear maternity dress.. and i feel so aunty.. this dress was pass down by my cousin so design a bit old.. plus also a bit big for me cos i quite small size lor..

Kuririn ... dont worry! if u feel aunty go get some trendy ones yourself.. I can no longer fit normal clothing even rubberised ones. I can only wear maternity. My waist is now a whopping 33inch! i also wore some hand me downs which were not my style but I try to match them with something more comfortable for me.

MC:
ya I'm planning to get some trendy dresses.. cos all the dresses i got all are hand downs.. but then I just need to bear with it for a few mths more only.. thats why not willing to spend alot on maternity clothings lor..
so far i spent abt $200 on a pair of pants, a pair of 3/4 jeans and 3 tops.. my normal tops are getting tighter so no choice have to start wearing maternity clothings.. sigh...

Kuririn..if u feel the dress is aunty, then wear it only when u go to nearby grocery store or kopitiam lor.. Time to get some nice maternity wear..who knows you might need to wear them again in the future..

It's also a tough choice for me whether to be a hip but broke mum or be a less-glam mum with more $ to spare for bb stuff.. So in the end I mix lor. I bought some very nice but expensive maternity tops for trips to town or for gatherings with friends. I also bought cheaper and more casual maternity tops (those stretchy T-shirt material type) for work (for me lucky coz no need to be formal) &amp; other occassions. I everyday alternate between the 5 maternity bottoms that I've bought, which are very comfy &amp; gd value for money coz can even wear after birth mah..

However, with my insistence on not wearing the conventional maternity dress, strangers end up thinking that I'm probably fat instead of pregnant coz sometimes no one offers me seat on public transport.. So now u see the huge advantage of wearing maternity dress? People can tell that u r pregnant straight away and give way to u....for seats and queues...

breakbeats:
where u get maternity wears from.. can't seems to find those casual maternity tops that u mentioned.. i can't wear too casual to work.. sigh..

Kuririn:

I bought some from Spring Maternity when they are having sale (now got 15%) and some from a maternity shop at Amara Hotel (at Tanjong Pagar)..sorry I forgot the name liao..there is only 1 maternity boutique there...the tops are also quite reasonably priced..and sometimes designs quite nice..can go have a look see..

I also bought 3 diff-colour pieces of Giordano v-neck stretchy top @ $12 each, for weekends and evening walks...can wear them for work even- if u wear a jacket...if u dun mind fitting tops can try also..they cheap &amp; comfy

Hi Fun.. Yes I noticed too! it's children's day! Easy to remember.. but I was at Apr Mom's thread n they posted their actual day vs EDD and I noticed more than 85% - 90% actually delivered earlier than EDD. see attached

mime_msexcel.gif
APR EDD
APR EDD.xls (15.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Kuririn, the shop in Amara Hotel is called Modern Maternity. It's at 2nd flr. It's on your right hand side if you taking escalator up.
I bought 3 tops from there, quite ok price, abt $30-40 each.

I am thinking of investing in a breast pump during this GSS. Ameda is highly recommended in moms in mind website, but it seems that most shopping centres do not carry this brand. Anyone knows which store here sells this brand?

Kuririn: Perfect Mum outlets and operating hours

International Plaza #02-81 Tel: 6226 2030
Blk 1 Tanjong Pagar Plaza #02-17 Tel: 6224 1370
Arcade #03-16 Tel: 6220 4678 (Close at 4pm on sat)

Operating Hrs for above branches:
Mon-Fri 11am - 7.30pm; Sat 11 - 6pm; close on sun

Blk 205, Hougang St21, Heartland Mall #02-32 (above Kovan MRT) Tel: 6282 8678

Operating Hours: 11 - 9.30pm daily

Think they having sale now. i got their 20% discount card but think if i let friend use, they only give 10 or 15% dist.

Fun: i didnt go la. quite a while liao. Now, just concentrating on buying BB stuff. No more maternity stuff for me. May checkout Spring's 15% sale for nursing wear. Went OG today and saw one not bad but cant remember how much..... its tee material top which i like

Went Bugis Seiyu and OG Albert Park this afternoon to check out BB stuff.
Bought some BB clothings from OG.

I find that most of the BB clothings that dept stores carry are same design....

MC, I realised that Pigeon disposable breast pad has two types, one is premium one(36pcs) and the other one i think is only 24pcs. Think i will go for the premium one cos my skin very sensitive so better use better ones :p

Now, wondering if we just buy any brand of cotton balls &amp; baby wipes &amp; shampoo, lotion, baby bath or there are recommendations??

One question. is it better to use disposable storage bag for breast milk or bottles leh? Saw Avent's bottles one but not sure if its disposable or can recycle one..... 5 -6 o a box..

actually Spring Maternity at Suntec has a small exhibit outside the shop selling some really affordable casual wear and working shirts ard the price of $20.

Hi MC, oh thks so much for the info , i shld really check out Tom and Stefanie then . I'm slmost like u, still trying to squeeze into my normal clothes. my friends tot i'm vain, but i refuse to look bulky. and ya, no one on the bus thinks i'm pregnant. BTW, congrats on ur girl!! i see such sweet dresses everywhere!!

SSL:
thanks alot..

have to check if hubby wana drive me there later a not.. he bringing his car go servicing..

SSL: Sorry didn't reply to your queries cos I've been really busy at work.
The tongs that come with the steriliser is a small fully plastic one and can hold a normal sized bottle. For wide neck bottles the tongs still can be used. You just hold the bottle from the top instead of from the neck.

I think the premium breastpads just come with stickers at the back and are shaped in such a way that it kinda fits into the bra better.
As for cotton balls etc. Try to get those which say they are sterile-packed. At least get one pack cos newborns are super sensitive and the cotton balls have to be used to clean the eyes as well. Dun need to get shampoo. Instead get Johnson &amp; johnson's Top to Toe Baby Wash. It's good enuf for the entire body. Moreover, bbs are generally very clean as they dun run around. Actually my almost 2 yr old still uses the Top to Toe wash (same price as other normal J&amp;J washes) but I use J&amp;J No-tears Shampoo on her now as well. I also used J&amp;J baby lotion on her when she was younger (now no need liow), get a small or medium bottle one can already, otherwise a lot of wastage. You might also wanna get J&amp;J baby oil in case bb gets cradle cap (which is a film of dry skin on either the head or eyebrows). Using a bb shampoo on a very young infant can cause cradle cap if the shampoo is not rinsed off properly. When/if bb gets cradle cap, just apply the oil on the affected area, leave it overnight/ several hours, then use a fine tooth comb to comb thru the hair (if on the head) and the skin will come off easily without hurting bb. If on the brows, apply, leave a few hours, then use cotton swipe/ hanky to remove.

Pigeon Baby Wipes are by far the best I feel. Get one with the plastic container first (it's almost like a tissue box) so that you can keep future packets in the box. It keeps the wipes moist. Otherwise even with the resealable packing it does dry up in time.

Janice: Ameda pumps are available only through MIM or BMSG. There is only one supplier in S'pore. I can't recall the company name, but they have no retail shop and they are located at a very ulu place in an ulu factory. (I've been there to service my Ameda pump. Sorry, really can't recall the name and place) But I do agree that Ameda is excellent!