(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

I'm thinking of buying those baby carrier (like carrying haversack infront).

Any brand to recommend? How old only can i carry BB this way??

SSL: Between 0-4 months, bb needs very few pieces of clothings as he's not mobile enough yet and so wouldn't dirty himself. He wouldn't be sweaty either. Once bb hits 4 months and starts on semi-solids you'll need a lot of bibs and hankies cos there'll be lots of mess during meal times. Before the age of 4 months the hankies are extremely useful using botttle-feeding times. Dun bother with the bib before this age. A 0-4 month old bb probably needs up at at most 3 clothes changes in 24 hours. And they grow very quickly so dun bother abt buying nice expensive clothings.
And you're right to say that Kiddy Palace has a wide range of bb things. I think that's the place to go too as well.
Dun have every piece of clothing to be for 6 months and above, it will definitely be too big for the 1st-2nd month.

As for the bb carrier, you'll have to get one with a flap on the top where bb's head will be so that it can serve as a support for a 5 month old's head. You wun be needing it so soon though. Bb has to be able to raise his head well for you to use it without causing injuries to bb's head and delicate neck. A bb sarong sling is probably more useful for bb's from birth up to 10 kg. I used it to carry my girl till she was abt 7 months old. You can get both at the Causeway Pt Kiddy Palace. I can't really tell you which brand is good tho I have both the carriers, but I do know that the best way to know is to open up the package and feel the material and the overall support it can give bb. Beware of the bb carrier as well as sling though, if bb is too heavy it can cut at bb's thighs.
K, am going out now! See ya around the forum 2moro!

hello ladies,

been a while since i was at this thread. some update : just had my detailed scan on friday...everything is fine. thank God. Now then feel more relieved lor cos i'm oledi 33 plus suffered a previous mc...so when the triple blood test result came out as low risk and baby developed well, so happy!

Baby is now 355g and confirmed a girl so now JIT for GSS! Only thing is that doc was unhappy that i put on too much weight; so far 5kg at 21 weeks...think must be careful for the coming months lor.

Jenifur,
pls update : it's a girl and I'll be delivering at MAH. Thanks!

Kris: Thanks alot for your tips

Hubby wanted a sarong but he is unsure if it gives good support for BB's back. For me, abit hesitant maybe cos duno how to use :p

Viola: Congrats
Am sure its a great relief for u. So most of the weight gain went to you?? My boy is 395g at 20wks5days and so far, i only gained 2+kg. Think most of it goes to my boy

hi all, i am in my 18 weeks liao and has gain a total of close to 6kg...i think i worse leh....cham...dunno if can slim down after pregnancy

by the way, i am expecting a girl and will be delivering at TMC

Hi girls..
just got back from a short shopping trip at orchard.. went metro and takashimaya to shop for baby stuffs.. both metro n takashimaya having 20% discount on avent and pigeon items..

I bought a avent newborn starter set.. this set consist of 2 x 125ml feeding bottles with newborn teats, 2 x 260ml feeding bottles with newborn teats, latex newborn soother, 2 x newborn teats and a bottle brush.. this set cost $42.70 before 20% discount..

i also bought the following items:
- 1 set of newborn clothings (pigeon)
- 1 set of booties n mittems (pigeon)
- 1 air filled rubber sheet (pigeon)
- 1 avent insulated bottle carrier
- 1 set of 3-6mths clothings

wow so happy to hear that most of u know the gender of your baby.. i still duno yet.. sigh.. duno wat color of clothings to buy.. so mostly bought white colors.. I'm starting to buy bit by bit until i know the gender then i go buy more.. hehe..

Has anyone bought baby cot already? Many of these cots can convert to toddler beds.. but I'm not keen on those. Prefer a normal cot cos I think it can last till 3 years onwards.

gooda morning ladies.. sorry was busy at work for the past few weeks so had not much of a chance to come in to chat with u ladies..

glad to hear everyone is fine..

poshbb and celine.. dun worry.. im oso on the same boat as u both.. hee hee..

so far gynae managed to confirm 80% only.. den last sat wanted to confirm for me the gender den.. the dear bb again sleeping in such a position tat we cant see.. so sad.... tot i could grab some stuff during GSS oso but den cant...

Hi SSL.. You're definitely not the oldest in this thread.
I turned 36 in Jan!!

Anyway, my mind is fixed on the infant carrier - baby bjorn. It's the costliest in the range - ive tried all of them ranging from $26.90 to $175 and still feel that the baby bjorn one is the sturdiest of the lot. I wanted to go on US ebay to bid but my sis in law says she'll get it for me. She used it for her son and her sister in law is currently using for her daughter and they all say it's worth the money.

I was at Kiddy Palace yest and I saw 2 mom's using non bb bjorn carriers - their hands were not free, they had to hold on to baby and the bb did not look comfy, almost falling and the strap was not study at all. I'd really rather invest in a good one and pass it down to someone next time..

So far, I've bought only mittens (1 set) for my bb. hehe..
I wanted to get the Rapid Pigeon Steriliser - retailing at $87 in KP. But i think with 20% disc maybe the price shld be better than that..

Viola,

5 kg at 21wks is not tat bad what!?! You're frightening me... My wt gain is also around 5kg and i'm just past 21wks.. oops. Next gynae appt may 'kena' scolding..

MC: S$87 for the rapid steriliser is the cheapest so far. KP's price is already discounted. no more discount for this item.

Hi Ruff

I personally do not like the slings, just because I find that I dont feel comfortable and baby's spine is constantly in a curved position. Since I felt the most comfortable with infant carrier i'm going ahead with it. If you have a bb (borrow someone's) u can put the bb in both and see which is more comfortable for parent and bb.. I think that's the best bet for u.

Thanks Sneaky.

gd morn all ladiez...

kris, just curious when is last ur last checkup...why the gynae can be so careless to tell u the gender can change at the later stage...

yvonne: my last checkup was at week 15. I dun think my gynae was careless lah.. cos all 3 pairs of eyes (hers, mine and hubby's) saw what REALLY looked like bb's 'penis'. That's why we were all adioso sure it was a boy. She scanned bb then from the top front, and during the detailed scan the radiologist scanned from bb's bottom, saw 3 lines and announced it's confirmed a girl. My hubby has accepted it completely, but I'm still coming to terms to it partly cos of the curt treatment I've been receiving from my mom since then.

good morning all ladiez,

Is that true that the gender of baby can change at the later stage??
Dun scare me, I just had my checkup on last Sat, and my gynae told me that my baby is a boy, he is very confirmed abt that. Then my husband is so overjoyed...
If next Sat my detailed scan comes out the result is a baby girl, can't imagine how my husband will react??
Sigh... and my mother-in-law too...

morraine: 3 lines on the scan showing 2 labia lips and another line in the centre.

Puea: Erm.. I also tot that once it's a boy it's more or less very confirmed it IS a boy, but if you can't see properly and doc says it could be girl then there could be 50% chance of it becoming a boy eventually. I think my case must be really rare lah.

Thanks, kris. Now i oso know what 3 lines means.
Can't wait for my detailed scan now...
Will we know the gender of the baby when doing the detailed scan?

Hi Ruff, I'm also thinking abt buying a cot, but really confused abt wat i want. Some people recommned a playpen that comes with a bassinet to save money. But the bassinet doesn't look comfortable for baby to sleep in.
Wonder if there's any mothers who are planning to buy a play pen for their babies?

Oh by the way, i'm almost 20 weeks now and expecting a little boy
Will be giving birth at KKH.

hi Qiqi

I also wanted a bassinet but as you say it doesn't seem v comfy.. and the size isnt' much smaller than cot.. hw, u can improvise, put a comfortable mattress on the bassinet for bb - maybe it'll work out.

kris, i understand how u feel...no matter wat the result, baby shld be born healthy n safe...;o)

the most important is baby health...boy or gal, they r still ur baby...think positive okae... ;o)

hi girls,

just went to the Aug thread and "kapo" this MIM voucher for the upcoming Motherhood Sale. Can just print out and use if intend to buy from there.

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/MIM-MH2005.html

So, conclusion on baby carriers is that Bjorn carrier is the best, is it? I still contemplating whether to buy MIM sarong sling or not lehh...

Puea: Most ppl will know the bb's gender during the detailed scan, but there is a small minority of uncooperative bbs that just refuse to let you see anything.

yvonne: Ya lah. Most important is that bb must be safe and cute and healthy. I already have one very cute (in my eyes lah.. keke..) girl. One more will just be double the joy and bliss.

Thanks, kris. I will tell my baby to open the legs wide wide, so tat the doctor can see clearly.

Yes, yvonne. BB girl also good, you can doll her up like a princess... I already targetted my next bb must be a girl...

Cheers up!

288071.jpg

<font face="courier new"><font color="0000ff">as @ 30 May 05
Fun ............ 24-Sep-05 23 Wks Mt. A (Boy)
Mayday ......... 03-Oct-05 22 Wks Glen E (Boy)
BellyButton .... 05-Oct-05 21 Wks
ice ............ 05-Oct-05 21 Wks
inc ............ 05-Oct-05 21 Wks
Joan ........... 05-Oct-05 21 Wks SGH
MrsTan ......... 05-Oct-05 21 Wks Mt. A (Boy)
Aical .......... 06-Oct-05 21 Wks
Sneaky ......... 06-Oct-05 21 Wks Mt. E (Boy)
Niuniu ......... 07-Oct-05 21 Wks KKH (Girl)
Winnie ......... 07-Oct-05 21 Wks
SSL ............ 09-Oct-05 21 Wks TMC (Boy)
Joycelyn ....... 08-Oct-05 21 Wks
MC ............. 08-Oct-05 21 Wks Glen E
Pammi .......... 08-Oct-05 21 Wks
Snow ........... 08-Oct-05 21 Wks KKH
whitefloral .... 08-Oct-05 21 Wks
Viola .......... 09-Oct-05 21 Wks Mt. A (Girl)
breakbeats ..... 12-Oct-05 20 Wks Glen E (Boy)
Jenifur ........ 17-Oct-05 20 Wks
Morraine ....... 18-Oct-05 20 Wks Glen E
Chris .......... 20-Oct-05 19 Wks Mt. A
Fresia ......... 22-Oct-05 19 Wks
Fushiastar ..... 22-Oct-05 19 Wks NUH
Kris ........... 22-Oct-05 19 Wks TMC
Ling ........... 23-Oct-05 19 Wks RMG
Sweetie ........ 23-Oct-05 19 Wks
Missysunflower . 24-Oct-05 19 Wks
Nuttnuts ....... 24-Oct-05 19 Wks
Tao_baby ....... 24-Oct-05 19 Wks Mt. A
Celine ......... 25-Oct-05 19 Wks Mt. A
Janice ......... 26-Oct-05 19 Wks
Garfield ....... 28-Oct-05 18 Wks TMC (Girl)
SusanY ......... 28-Oct-05 18 Wks Eastshore
Kuririn ........ 29-Oct-05 18 Wks SGH </font></font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> If you would like to join us, or update your EDD, please PM me.</font>

<font face="Calisto mt"> Ling,

Dun worry lah as long as gynae said BB is healthy can liao. I only gained 0.3kg when I was @ wk 19 &amp; b4 tt I lost 5kg. Think it's bcuz we had MS mah so we gained weight slower than others loh</font>

MC,

gynae just scared that may develop complications if put on too much weight...anyway, i was on the plump side to begin with...so i guess no choice, must be careful lor...

Kris,

agree with you lor, gender may not be so impt nowadays...what's most impt is that baby is healthy!!!

Kuririn: Ya, i also checkout Robinson, Metro and Isetan today. All places got 20% sale on Pigeon brand.
and Robinson prices seems few cents more expensive than Metro and Isetan before the dist.

Is the air filled rubber sheet u bought a changing mat? I was at Kiddy Palace and the lady told me there is this air filled one very good. But sold out liao. She cant remember what brand though.

Did some shopping today and bought the following items from Kiddy Palace &amp; Metro &amp; Robinson

- 2 front button tops (9-12mths) (Metro) (Elle - 1pc got 20% dist, 1pc $6)
- cotton infant cap (robinson)
- Set of 2 front button white tops (3-6mths)(Robinson) $9.90 (think got dist too)

Kiddy Palace
- 3 new born tops (2 short sleeve, 1 long sleeve)
- 3 bottoms (2 short for newborn, 1 long with covered up part at feet for 0-6mths, 1 long pants for 0-6mths)
- 1 Mitton &amp; Bootie set
- 1 hooded receiving blanket
- 1 non slip mat

Saw that most of the places selling the Pigeon Sterilisers are priced at $87 (nett) and comes with free 2 bottles and 1 cleaning liquid.

MC:
always tot i'm one of the oldest. I heard MIM slings are quite popular but like u, i have my reservations too.

Mrs Tan &amp; Kuririn, thanks for the discount coupons

QiQi,
I don't like those play pen cots cos it may not last as the baby grows. I mean, I want to seperate the sleep and play area. The basinette part, I find it a bit low. I prefer a proper cot where the top position is pretty high so I don't have to bend down so much.
I saw this cot by KidsParadise @ Robinsons. They have quite a few models. I like the one with 5 positions (height) but cannot be converted to toddler bed. I find it weird that when we convert the cot to toddler bed, the headboard is so high. And no guarantee that the kid will sleep in that bed.

Hi Ruff
I also saw a cot today at Robinsons and Kiddypalace. It can be converted to a toddler bed too and cost $219. wonder if it's a good deal. But i dislike the woody colour.
Well, let's keep in touch abt the cot!

it's really fun shopping for baby stuffs actually!

Hi kris

Any recommendation of breast pad? Disposable better or washable ones leh?? and how many should I buy? Was thinking of Pigeon

Btw, is it necessary to buy nursing wear (those that has a flap infront that can be flipped open when breastfeeding.

Good morning ladies,

I went for my detailed scan yesterday...baby was performing stunts again but the radiologist still managed to capture all the necessary scan within 30mins so not as bad as what we expected.

The radiologist that scan for us confirmed our baby 90% boy and later my gynae saw the film plus with her past scanning with our bb she said its 99% boy....so can I take it that my baby is a boy because after I read about what happened in Kris's situation I am quite worry as my hubby also very happy and announced to most of our closed ones already. *sigh*

My hubby said he and the radiologist saw baby "penis and scrotum" but I can't really see clearly then as I was lying flat down.

SSL, I heard from some friends, no need the pads.. cos no leakage. I think if need just buy 1 box. Many bought but found that there was no need for it.

Celine,
congrats on ur baby boy! I also same as u...past scanning said 80% boy, then the last scan i had, doc said 99% boy so confirm boy liao lah! I have already started buying bb stuff and all blue colour one some more!

ask you all a question hor...have your belly buttons popped out yet? mine's getting very shallow liao...anytime can pop out...

thanks Mrs Tan. Actually I also can't wait to buy blue stuffs like clothes, bed linen, hankies etc

sneaky, my belly button also getting shallow too will pop out one meh?? so scary!!

today feel my stomach very tight and abit of poking pain is this ok??

celine: yah...it will pop out one...every preggy will have a popped out bellybutton nearing the 3rd trimester loh...i think the poking pain is quite normal. i feel that quite often whenever stomach is bloated or stretchy...

my stomach really feel aching today coz tummy very stretch tight. sit up straight not comfy slotch also not comfy *sigh*

me only near 5th month belly button already going to show....

Celine, Sneaky,
ya me too...i have occasional pain at tummy area..tight and stretched feeling. sometimes its at the belly button area too, esp after a heavy meal. so uncomfortable.

SSL: For me I needed a lot of breastpads as I was leaking like a faucet! Everytime I thought of bb I would leak. So I suppose not everyone experiences the same thing.
I used up a few boxes of the Pigeon breastpads. Other brands were not good as they tended to disintegrate really fast. Why dun you just get one small box first and see if you need more after delivery? I was still wearing the breastpads up to 4 months post-delivery.

As for nursing wear, unless you intend to go out a lot, you really dun need so many pieces. At home a t-shirt is most convenient as you just lift and feed whenever bb starts to whimper. OUtside you'll have to be more discreet and use nursing wear and maybe even a sarong sling for modesty.

yvonne: ya lor.. 2 kids.. keke.. that's why at first I tot a boy would be great.

Celine: Dun worry so much lah. I think yours is a confirmed case already.
LIke I said earlier, mine is a very rare case.