(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

SSL: i think have...they have a few "flavours" - Vitamin C for revitaling, Milk for whitening & moisturing, for acne and oily skin too...the brand is called BEBE. as for cream for the nipples, you can start using the medela PureLan 100 cream that soothes sensitive or dry nipples, dry baby skin and dry skin. you can use this now or during breastfeeding. the good thing about this cream is that it's 100% organic and you need not wash it away even before you breastfeed. cool huh? my SIL recommended this to me when we shopped at kiddy palace on monday...

mrstan: no need to be envious lah...we're only halfway through...who knows what will become of us later...i kinda like to eat nowadays...appetite increasing liao...

Hi Sneaky

Thanks alot for your recommendation

Will buy and try it. hope to ease the itch.

SSL: Ya, PureLan is very good. And in fact we should all start to use it by the 7th or 8th month of pregnancy to soften the skin around the nipple to lessen the chances of sore nipples when bfing. But be warned that PureLan is very sticky and will not dissolve into the skin like most moisturisers. It will also stain your clothings yellow. The only way around it is to put disposable breastpads in your bra cup. I think Guardian Pharmacy has it. Watson's doesn't carry it and I've yet to see it at Kiddy Palace leh.. Which hospital do you go to ah? You can get it from your gynae or the pharmacies at hospitals. Alternatively I can get for you lah then I pass to you loh since we live so close by. I'm going to TMC for my detailed scan later at 2pm.

Sneaky,
ya i guess so lor...eh eppetite increase is gd, finally u can start to enjoy food liao hor? hee hee.

Kris,
wah today is detailed scan day for u ah? so exciting! eh must update us on how it goes ok?

SSL:
me also using Lancome products

kris:
do remember to update us.. i have to wait for another 4 more weeks for my detail scans.. now everyone guessing about the baby gender..

Gd morning gals!

Aiyo..me the worst here ..put on total 4.2kg liaoz
...plus appetite is ever increasing!! Haw haw haw! Really look like a 'bao' now
*sniff sniff* Really envy those of you who never really put on weight other than tummy...

Just wanna check, all of you are having detailed scan at 5th month? My gynae told me that its not entirely necessary so I'm thinking not to go for it coz gotto pay extra mah.. Gynae told me that the detailed scan can only pick up 60% of any fetal abnormality while the normal scan can pick up 40%. Any opinions/ advice?

Kris: Confirmed y'day my bb is boy! Ur turn today to 100% confirm rite?

Jenifur: Can update bb's gender = boy for me?

Talking about itchy nipples...I almost felt like dying whenever my nipples become soooo itchy & I CANNOT scratch coz in public...urghhh..

Sometimes it can happen at the most unappropriate moment during office meetings & there was once my colleague noticed me crossing & uncrossing my arms and he gave me a funny look...haiyo, so embarassing!!
Next time I shall just excuse myself to go to the loo & scratch instead of trying to cross my arms or try some funny methods to ease the itch...kekeke..

For me, I do find that applying body lotion on the nipple area helps relieve the itch somewhat..

kris : me going to TMC for detail scan at 2pm also leh!!!
so we can get to meet one another. heehee.... u under Eunice Chua too right? why they put both of us at 2pm leh???

Did u get the PureLan cream from Eunice before?? scarly she gave me a different one how?? if i remember, i will ask my gynae later.

Kuririn : like lancome products cos not so expensive compared to other cosmestic brands. did u know that there's a salon using lancome products for facial at UOL bldg? me go there sometimes
$50 only.

Breakbeats : same here. sometimes happen when outside (and cant find toilet) and cant scratch so very cham.....

Breakbeats : its really up to u whether u wish to go for the 5th month scan. To me, it gives us a better idea of BB's progress.

For TMC, cost is abour $90+. So you may wish to check with your hosp how much it costs.

Its more like an "an xin" scan for us. And of course, sometimes to confirm gender. But for your case, its already confirmed
congrats...

Long time never pop in and there r so much to catch up.
Anyone experiencing very bad leg cramp?
I am having leg cramp almost one every two days and is relatively long and painful....

Anyone know how to reduce the frequency of leg cramp.

Wow, most of u gain so little weight. I have been issued red card by my gynae. i have put on 10kg til 20wk. Now cutting all carbo intake, hopefully will slow down my weight gain :-(

Fushiarstar,

The last time u talked about infantcare centres.. just wondering - did u manage to book or reserve a place there for your bb??

I called up one today - the only one near my place - and they said I can only tour facilities/book a place after bb is born.
I guess the queue is long so they have to do that.

hi all....how is everyone progressing?

I am in my 18th week now...currently put on a total of 5kg liao...
So sian.. alot of pple commented that i become rounder liao....and when i see myself in the mirror..i feel so demoralised..but hor..for the sake of my bb....must ren lor...hehe

Aical: i got mild leg cramps...it happened on tues and wed night...occurred when i was sleeping..but then mine is mild so i just stretched abit to relieve the cramp. i think if urs is serious wake ur hubby up to ask him to massage for u...if not v pain wan...

Aical : maybe u can try some light massage before u go to bed. hopefully will ease the cramp.

MC: u MC at home? hope u are feeling better.

SSL: Thanks for your advice... my gynae told me bb is growing well- head/body size, heartbeat, spine, all normal..so I think maybe I can give the detailed scan a miss lor...save $

Aical: Every morning when I wake up also kena leg cramps.. dunno y and dunno how to relieve also but I heard b4 that propping your feet on pillow while sleeping will help..I haven't try yet tho... Get ur hubby to massage ur leg when it occurs okie..

SSL, no, i'm not the one on MC! haha.. altho' my username is MC.. not a good one hor? MC stands for mIx culture.

Hi Aical

I have no leg cramps but maybe excessive walking may cause it.. try to massage your leg before bed. Also a colleague and mother of 3 told me - don't take calcium or drink hi cal milk at nite before bed as they cause cramps too.

breakbeats...

I envy u!! how come doc can be so good?? all my gynae does is scan abit and then say ok i can see heartbeat bb's fine. tat's all.. I'm going for detailed scan on Thur next week..

SSL:
its me on MC at home lah.. hehe.. having bad headache so decide to see doc n stay at home rest.. think getting too heaty liao..

Aical:
me also having leg cramps occasionally.. last nite just kana but mild one like garfield lor.. stretch abit then ok liao..

Breakbeats:
I'm also going for the detail scan.. cos of the scare i got when i know that I'm pregnant.. so wana check if baby's organs are well developed lor.. dun wan the medication to have effect on the baby..

The cramp is so bad that i cant move my leg and is very stiff. My hubby have tried to massage for me but got scolded from me cos it so painful when he tried to do it.

Normally, i will just have to endure until the pain ease by itself which takes 2 to 3 mins.

Ok, i will try to massage before sleeping and whether it helps.

Hi, i remember someone went for yoga lesson? how is the class? i am interested too...

Kris,
i intend to put my girl to child chare. U have any good child care center to recommend.

Hi garfield, dun worry, I oso in 19th week now, oso put on weight 5kgs plus... now looks like a plump plump woman, but i think the weight is still acceptable lah...

I do have cramps once, very very pain, but me very lazy to wake up my husband, so i just massage abit myself then back to sleep again... :p

Hi, I'm going to have full-detailed scan next Sat in Thomson hospital. Anyone know how long is going to take for the scan?

SSL: I'm with Dr WK Tan leh! Hehe.. She gave me Purelan only after I delivered. I bought my own for my first delivery.

Aical: DO you live in Woodlands? I'm probably gonna send my gal to the Childcare Centre that's just downstairs my block next year June when she turns 2 years and 9 months. Cos my gal now still can't say things that we can understand.
It's called Cairnhill Educare Centre. I hear the children singing songs every morning!

Breakbeats, congrats! another prince on the way.

Me going for detailed scan next monday but this is already included in my gynae package.

According to my gynae the normal ultrasound scan can give us visual outlook on baby growth but the detailed scan will really check baby brain, spine, bone structure, etc more thorough.

Kris,

No, i am staying in Punggol. My girl also cant talk well. So i intend to put her to childcare when she turn 18mths. Maybe will start her with half day before switching her to full day. She is still talking in her baby language.

Actually it was a hard decision cos i am very worried that she will not be well taken care of. That's why would prefer if there r mummies who already have their child in childcare to sahre their experience.

I am actually looking for one that is more central so that i can drop her there before i go to work.

Hi Puea,
I went for my detail scan last week. The scan itself was abt 25 to 30 mins. The rest is waiting for the report to be ready. It really depends on the position of yr baby, my friend's scan took abt 45 mins cos her boy was not cooperative.. Enjoy yr scan...

MC: Yah..my gynae very detailed wan..He'll tell me stuff like my placenta is in the right position (previously too low), bb is medium-sized lah and so on.. If your gynae neber tell u much then u must ask more questions during each visit..Anyway no need to worry coz u r going for the detailed scan soon..

Celine: Thank you thank you!!

breakbeats.. ya loh . maybe i see my bb on screen and i'm hapi enuf forgot to ask question. easy job for gynae right? hehe.. anyway i'm also in glen E.. have u signed up the antenatal yet? i'm signing on 2 jun aft my detailed scan.

MC: I haven't signed up for the antenatal class leh...so happy to see bb yesterday then forget also..kekeke..
but I manage to remember to book for the double-bedded ward. Are u going to let gynae recommend a paedatrician(dunno how to spell leh) or u choose urself?

just got back from my detail scan at TMC.

It was good and BB very active. keep moving after i was asked to lie on the bed. But i told BB to be kuai kuai and let doc do the measurements and BB really more settled down.

When doc tried to measure BB's head, he naughty again, move to left side, then right side... heehee but doc managed to do the necessary measurements and advised that all are ok.

Jenifur, another Boy to add to your list.

Aical: Yvonne & I were supposed to go for this Yoga class at Great World City. But cos gynae asked me to rest that day, we didnt go. :p

Kris:
oh.... are u the lady wearing black pants and white (with pink)top? I was trying to look out which one is you. heeheee (bery kapo) I wore purple top and light grey pants.

saw TMC pharmacy selling Purelan at $8. Told my gynae about my itch and she say cos its due to breast stretching. She give me another cream for itch one. Not Purelan. I asked nurse outside if doc has this she told me that one is only given for us to get ready for breastfeeding. Around 32 weeks or so.

I think the one that my gynae gave me now cant be use when i start to breastfeed. so i will use it when needed and stop whenever they prescribed me Purelan.

Puea: I just went for my scan. It took about 30mins. Was really a more detailed scan than the normal gynae scan.

Hi SSL,

ur baby so cooperative! i cant even see his movement much...when he moved his hand...think less than a second...only for a short while.. sob sob...

u can see ur bb drinkin water!! coolz!! how i wish i can see him moving! he only move when no ppl ard...except me... ;o(

ya lor, think he knows that doc finished the measurement. And doc asked daddy to come in to explain to him. And doc show us his drinking moves lor.

my boi more active at night. but today he woke up early too. probably cos like me, very excited about the scan..

yvonne, your bb not so cooperative but can confirm bb gender?? I am going detailed scan next monday very worry bb not cooperative too then cannot see bb gender I am so eager to buy things for bb already....:p

haha....they r all so adorable! cant bear it...
sometimez at nite when he kickz me, i will tell him not to kick and he really listen to me... ;o)

now i kinda worry for my next checkup for GTT...

Hi all mumies

let me comment for the cramp. i think it is more cause sleep using aircon. can try wear socks or stocking. can feel better.

Celine: if u cant stop the urge, can still buy generic colours for BB clothings, eg. yellow or green or white

Has your gynae told u about the gender? Mine told me 80% on week 17, then last visit, confirmed with me.

Yvonne: dont worry la. u got me to company. U referring to the diabetics test issit?? When are u going? me going on 25th June.

Gotta fast leh. so sianz... and can only eat around 10.30. hope i wont faint from hunger. hahaha

hi celine, i got to know my bb's gender during 14wkz...when during my detail scan, bb not cooperative coz i want to see him move his legz & hand...but he very guai...sit still n used his hand cover his face (shy...) sigh....tatz why i said he not cooperative lor... ;o)

SSL, haha....my next checkup is 1wk earlier than u....on the 18th june...yeah, the diabeticz test... i hav the same feelin when the nurse told me gotta fast from 12am till next dae. after the 3hr + process than u can eat! gosh....
hope i wont faint too... ;p

my bb so hyperactive everytime scan bb will do headstand or saumersault how to see the gender thou gynae mentioned she suspects bb is a boi coz during two scanning she saw something but buai zun mah

we were talking to bb yesterday night telling bb pls be cooperative and let us see the gender so we can buy nice and suitable stuffs for bb. Hope bb take our hint.

yvonne: then u can tell me what happen la..... they say during the 2hr wait, can pass them our card at TLC to queue hor. and to take weight and blood pressure.

but if we eat at 10.30, can we eat sweet stuff (cos can only think of delifrance downstairs). will TLC test our urine again?? u let me know what u been thru that day ok

Celine: wah ur BB very acrobatic siah
dont worry. try talking to BB the night before and when u lie on the bed before the scan. BB will listen to u. They also excited mah, so keep moving lor.

Celine: kekeke me too next wed gngn for the detail scan & gender.. oso praying bb dun do stunts too.. haiz... keke we like sama sama fate.. kekekeke

SSL: Ya!! I was the one wearing black pants and a pink top! I tot the lady in purple and grey was you too! hahahahah!!! We are both just as kapo! You look very young leh!
Aiya, I tell you... In my last visit my gynae told us 90% boy, then during yesterday's scan become 100% girl! Hubby and I still can't believe it! It's not that we dun like girls, but we were mentally prepared for a boy leh!
My MIL was very nice abt it after we told her this is another girl. She was very comforting and kept telling me that tho she also a bit disappointed cos she was also prepared for a boy she thinks as long as healthy and as cute as our 1st girl can liow. My mom was a totally different story... her tone of voice changed immediately after hearing the news and she even hung the phone on me! She was even insisting that my hb must be very upset and refused to believe me when I said we're both fine with the gender... sigh.. such problems...

kris: dun take it to heart... well some older folks felt at least a boy will be good to carry on the family name. But girl is just as good.. esp. nowadays, girls usually more obedient than boys. pat pat.. dun be sad over ur mum's reaction.. i bet she just upset for u too.

Kris: my looks are deceptive. Think i'm one of the oldest gals here

I was there very early but waited till about 1.45 then go for the scan. heehee.. So did u get scan by the pregnant lady doc too??

Wah very big difference hor. 90% boy vs 100% girl. But i guess u and hubby wouldnt mind cos its still your own child
Am sure your little girl wont mind cos she has another playmate

Maybe your mum is worried that your inlaws will mind, though they told u they dont. Sometimes, my mum will tell me, they (inlaws) dont say out doesnt mean they are not thinking.

So she always tell me to be a good DIL.... give your mum sometime la. she will understand cos u are her own daughter leh...

I know it maybe hard for u to adjust the confirmation but come to think of it, can save alot of $$ cos can share the clothings and stuff...

poshbb & SSL: Thanks for your comforting words.
SSL you're right, I also think having a sister to play with will be better for my older girl cos I can't imagine a boy wanting to play masak masak with her. I personally prefer daughters cos I think sons will eventually become another woman's boyfriend/husband.. heh.. I'm such a xiao3 nu3 ren2..
but ya lah, still coming to terms with the drastic change of gender.

SSL: You are one of the oldest meh??? Your hb also look so boyish! Hehe... I'm already a mother of one leh! kekeke... Anyway, I think most of us abt 30+/-.. is it har girls???

kris : I'm 31 this year. think alot of gals i talk to frequently are in their 20s onli.

Both me and hubby got baby looks so can camouflage our actual age.

Btw, went to check out Kids Mall at IMM today. Find limited BB clothings. Range for Pigeon also not alot. They are having 20% sale on certain items only.

Also went to Tom & Stefanie at Tiong Bahru. They are also selling a range of BB stuff. Pigeon range more than Kids Mall one. And price comparable. Like their Pigeon Steriliser now cost $89 and comes free with 2 Pigeon bottles and 1 bottle of cleaning liquid. Think that time i saw at Kiddy Palace (before sale) at $87 or $89 (cant remember got FOC stuff or not.

So most likely i will buy most of BB clothings from Kiddy Palace cos been to Causeway Point & Century Square branches and they really have a wider range there. Any place that I should be looking for BB stuff??

One question to ask. How many sets of clothings should we get for BB to wear at the initial stage? say 0 - 6 months?? I know BB outgrown very fast so not sure how many sets enough. Or should I be buying those clothings that are for 6 months and above?? scare too big for the newly born.