(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

SSL: High chair can wait till bb is at least 7-8 months then buy. Cos must wait till bb can sit well on his own without support.

Can you believe someone thought I only put on weight just now (despite my wearing maternity dress) and thumped me really really hard on my shoulders until I felt giddy just now???? Lucky I was sitting down!

I'm having very bad acne outbreaks.. do u girls know if there's anything that i can get to apply on the acnes.. now my face esp the area below my checks & neck area is very red..

Thanks Kris

Aiyor, u should tell that person that u are pregnant and make him/her guilty for beating u so hard. quickly sayang BB......

Kuririn,

Maybe u can see if fancl has any range that be used for your acne? since their products are generally quite safe. Think its hormonal changes la.

kuririn,
ya fancl's good. can try that. mild and got range for acne prone skin.btw dont go and touch or squeeze them, just leave them alone.

Kris,
wah lau...if its me, i sure hamtam that bugger one. so rough!

SSL:
Actually i dun have good skin for a start.. have been plague with acne problem since teenager.. then last yr went to see a skin doc n got it under control and can even put makeup..
then after i discover i pregnant, found that the acne problem got worse again and my hubby wants me to stop using the products cos scared it will affect the baby.. sigh.. really demoralising me..

mrstan: wah...gynae so hiong one ah???

kuririn: i'm also having bad acne outbreaks too..mainly over my forehead...i look damned dirty with blackheads all over my face till i must squeeze them out...my ex-boss told me not to do anything about it cos it will recover right after birth...whatever done now will not help...he spoke from experience cos his wife just gave birth not too long ago....he said his wife had white, black, whatever heads all over her face, and pimples as well all over her body too...this is because she's pregnant with a BOY!!! my gosh!

Hi Yvonne

ya very happy to finally be able to feel BB's movement. So how are u & BB doing?

Kuririn,

Some products for acne control contains ingredients that are not suitable for pregnant woman. Thats y your hubby dont allow u to use them now. try cleansing more often. it may help.

For me, face gets very oily easily. did mask at T zone also the same. and i super lazy so only wash once when i bath. hahaha

If u want can go for facial but cant do extractions lor.

Sneaky:
my outbreak is concentrated on the lower half of my face.. esp the neck area near to the face.. sigh.. so red.. see liao i very sian leh.. i'm trying my bes to to pick on them with my hands liao.. guess i have to do more routine deep cleansing mask session liao..

Is it true that pregnant with boy the mummy will look ugly?? i also heard of another saying that if pregnant with girl mummy will look ugly cos the baby girl will takes up all the mummy's beauty..

anyway i still duno my baby's gender yet.. going to wait for another 4 more wks for my detail scan..

SSL, now gotta monitor my diet lor... ;o( hubby band me eating chipz, desert, sweet stuff & my fav durian! ;o(

bb is good (i guess so) besides the naughty mummy alwaz disturb him at nite b4 slp! haha.... just like to see him kicking my tummy! ;p

u gog for ur detail scan tiz wk right?

SSL:
I tot of going back to my skin doc to change the medication one.. but hubby object.. say let it heal by himself.. but its making me more demoralised leh.. why can't do extractions?? guess i will have to do deep cleansing mask more often liao..

Kuririn: i also heard of two diff versions of guessing the gender by looking at mummy's outlook. heehee....

my friend always say, big nose means boy!!

Yvonne: oh poor girl. must be bery hard for u to stop. so those mint sweets u bought kenna "ciong gong" (confiscated??)

So now u can see BB's little hands and feet appearing on your tummy skin when he kick u?

Yap, me going for my scan this fri. hope everything is fine

kuririn,

think let them heal by themself cos its caused by hormones. unless u check with your gynae what kind of medication u can take then at least your hubby will allow u to take since gynae give the ok sign?

I duno leh. heard some say cant extract, some say ok. i more bantang, so say cant lor

SSL:
ya i guess i will let them heal by itself.. now everyone is asking about my baby gender.. sigh..

Yvonne:
u poor thing.. why must control ur diet? my hubby wants me to get as fat as possible.. he thinks that i'm not gaining enough weight.. which i think so too.. i'm now 17th week and i only gained abt 2kg only.. but yesterday gynae mentioned that my weight gain was good..

wow kuririn, you gain only 2kg so far that's very good.

I think I put on nearly 3 kg liao by now... will know the exact gain next week.

kuririn

me now 20 weeks and only gained 2+kg too. so u are not alone
so dont worry. as long as BB are growing fine, u shouldnt be that worry, ok

celine, SSL:
actually not 2kg leh.. based on the weight 1 took during my first appt at 6th wk n my current weight taken yesterday, i've only gained 1.3kg.. even though i only gained so little weight but my stomach is showing very obvious liao..

ya gynae mentioned tat baby is growing well so was quite relieved..

kuririn,

did u lose weight at the first trimester? cos i did hence the overall weight gain maybe more ??

But to me, as long as BB is growing well and gynae assured that all are ok, i'm happy

very hungry now. later going to inlaw house to eat dinner at 7pm. 15 more mins to go.

zzzzzz....

kuririn, maybe you are losing your fats but baby is growing strong and healthy! wow, keep it up girl like that sure dun need to slim down that jiat lat!

SSL & kuririn, u galz really slow...only gained abt 2+kg....no wonder ur hubby wantz u to eat more! me different case....now 25wk gained 7kg... maybe is abit too fast... ;p

cant really see the baby handz n foot print on my tummy yet....anticipating! ;o)

no worry, everythin will be fine @ ur detail scan...just enjoy the 20-30 minz seein ur baby! ;o)

Yvonne

Maybe like what celine say, BB is absorbing most of what we are eating now. heehee

will keep u posted on my fri scan

havent been logging on for a while, so much catching up to do, so we are at bb stuff already? Can check out Kiddy Palace and Kids Mall, 20% storewide now. Intend to buy steriliser too.

talkng abt weight, I am in week 21 and put on 9kg
gynae ask me to watch my diet. Can't help it, I feel v hungry often. As for acne, kuririn, I have the same prob. All the while before preg I have been on dr's prescribed creams and stopped everything during preg as the ingredients may be harmful. U can try to get Skinoren Cream in an orange tube if u want to get some pregnancy safe cream coz I got it from gynae. Can be quite drying though, so decided to just leave the pimples as it is. Colleagues all guessing I'm carrying a boy coz they say I've become ugly. Turned out that it's a girl!

have also started to feel bb's movement, like a thud from inside below the belly button. Realised there's more movement at night before I sleep, perhaps that's when we lay still. Sometime it's ticklish and i burst out laughing and hubby will ask me wat happened. He can't feel the movement when I place his hand on tummy though.

Mrs Tan, i tap on tummy at times to ask bb to move and it works.

as for facials, we cant do extractions? have ben doing so far, if can't do then I better stop.

SSL:
ya i did lost abt a kg during first trimester..
1st checkup @ 6th wk was 50.8kg.
2nd checkup @ 10th wk was 49.6kg.
3rd checkup @ 13th wk was 50.5kg.
4th checkup @ 17th wk was 52.1kg.
so i din actually lose much weight lor.. but haven't really gained back my appetite.. dinner still eat very little..

whitefloral:
maybe i try ask my gynae during my next visit.. which is 4 wks from now.. so as for now i will have to bear with it lor

Hi whitefloral

so long never hear from u. wa 9kg liao ah... must be eating alot of goody siah..

Will check out Kids Mall too.

Not sure if extractions can do or not la. for me, its better to play safe

Kuririn,

as long as u eat small bits but more meals, should be fine. I normally eat my normal 3 main meals and add in morning and afternoon teabreaks. Sometimes the teabreaks only drink soya bean (which can be very filling).

I'm now 56.8kg and my original weight is 54kg.
Just make sure that you are eating the right food with the right kind of vitamins that BB needs.

kuririn: i have heard 2 versions too...anyway, these are all old wives tales...

as for face care, i've just started using powdered mask (obtainable at SASA) for acne & oily skin. my ex-colleague told me she used it continuously for 5 days and her pimple-proned skin got better just before her wedding. i'm doing it now and today's my 3rd day. the pimples seemed to have subsided. i guess it's because the mask cools down the skin and hence supresses pimple outbreak. maybe can try this method...

SSL: I've weighed myself and i'm already 51.5kg. put on 4.5kg since preggy...all weight goes to baby cos i don't look like i've put on weight...so happy!

Sneaky,

For me, apart from a growing tummy size, the rest remains the same.

Any idea if the powdered mask u mention from SASA has one for moisture/hydration?

Hi SSL,

What do you mean by feeling baby movement? I have twitching pain/ like pin poking here and there sometimes... is this baby movement or more like stomach expanding....

Friends asked me if I felt baby movement but I told them even if it is, I also dun know.

SSL, Sneaky, Kuririn,
so envious of u all....all only put on weight on the tummy..thats good. for me, my shoulders, arms, hips and face all expand liao. become baa baa like that...sigh. hope i wont gain toooo much man.

SSL& Mrs Tan: After the thumping yesterday I went home liow loh..after a while she realised I was pregnant and apologised profusely lah.. but now I really know the impact pple can cause on pregnant women.

SSL & whitefloral: I go to Leonard Drake for facials through my pregnancy (1st one also) and they still will do extraction for me. But they will shi4 ke3 er2 zhi3 and wun go too far cos they know I'm pregnant. The most important thing is that once they know I'm pregnant they will not use the electro thing to sterilise my face after extraction. Instead they will use a spray. All lymphatic facial massages will also be done very gently. So I think pregnant should still be able to do extraction lah.

Mrs Tan: Nvm abt the weight gain! Just make sure after delivery you take more soups, meats and veg and cut down on the rice. During that time should be very easy to lose weight esp if you're bfing!
So far I'm 19 weeks, put on 2 kg.. but I'm already a bit upset with the weight gain.. I think I'm mad.. cos my hubby also thinks I'm too obsessive with trying to gain as little weigth as possible. Hehe.. This time round after my delivery I'm getting an INdonesian massage lady to come! 1st time I didn't. I think this time must go all out to lose weight liow!

Mrs Tan:
maybe right now i'm not gaining alot of weight.. who knows later on maybe i will gain a lot leh.. but i'm trying not to gain too much.. but hubby wants me to gain as much as possible.. he even went to buy durian for me to eat.. sigh..

kris:
I'm also thinking of getting a malay massage lady to come massage after delivery but hubby like dun wan leh.. but dun care.. my cousin going to recommend her massage lady to me.. hehe

Kris,
thanks for ur consolation, girl. for me, I put on 3.8kg at 19wks. Now just stepped into 21wks liao. wonder how much i gained again...speaking of delivery, i am quite worried abt my body, whether i can take epi if i do opt for it. reason is becos my body is very very sensitive to medicines and drugs and i always seem to suffer from the most rare side effects. Then some more, epi not say u can do a trial to see how ur body react to it. The only time u take it is during the actual birth. I have suffered from bad rashes (from HSG scan for fallopian tubes), dark red urine (from antibiotics for vag. infection) before, and i get hives too. Thats why i scared dunno how i will react with epi. Dunno how man.

Kris, ya..we are carrying our baby inside us so we tend to be quite affected when ppl suddenly give us those surprise thumps on back. I also like that.

Mrs Tan: Maybe you can discuss with your gynae abt epi and ask what are some of the worst possible side effects? Worse comes to worst endure loh.. I also get hives very easily. V irritating hor? My hives are the kind 3 days can't go work that sort.
I remember that time I took epi and the side effects (after delivery) were that I shivered very badly. But that was all. The gas made me nauseous though so I didn't use it.

Kris,
i just went on net to research on epidural side effects. wah lau...read already also scared man. one of them is maternal death leh. death! dont want to read liao...
shivering and migraine are most common side effects of epi. many of my friends who gave birth all kena that, so not that bad lor.

Hi Sweetie

I used to have this sensation of numbness and twitching but that was due to uterus expanding.

This time, what i felt was thumping, like someone gently hitting u from inside your tummy. just like heart beat but heavier and its down at the lower tummy area (where BB is)

Mrs Tan : I originally baa baa one so probably now, i share my baa baa with BB.

I also suffered from hives. last time when young, it was worst. I will have "sausage" lips that i cant go work. And i think things started to get better when i started to drink fruit juice every lunch time.

I also went for the HSG, duno why the procedure was very painful for me
but i am lucky not to have any infection after that.

Dont think so much abit epi la cos u wont remember or worried about the side effects once contractions take place
am i right to say that, kris??

I also got my epi fear cos i got lower back pain and epi is injected near that place too. So I think i wont go for epi unless doc ask me to. My friend also dont want to have epi but at a certain stage, her gynae advised her to take so she took it lor.

BB will protect mummy
dont worry ok.

Kris : ah, Leonard Drake, they using Dermalogica products hor. good? i tried some of the products from that brand before. so which branch u go to?

Kuririn : talking about massage lady. not sure if i can endure the massage cos i scared of ticklish. I can only take back massage.

SSL:
hehe.. if wan to slim down then no choice have to "ren" the ticklish lor.. now my first priority is to make my acne keep under control.. face really raging red man..

wah.. now everyone talking abt wt gain.. I was reading another site - one mother gained 16kg but bb only weighed 2.6kg and another mother gained 7kg and baby weigh almost 4kg.. how I wish I belong to the latter category.. Also see most of my colleagues slim back after 2 - 3 kids makes me v v envious!

Btw, this morning, i think i felt bb!! Not sure yet..

Hi MC

Dont worry about weight gain la.

Whats that feeling u sensed? I also wasnt sure if its BB's movement initially when I felt it cos it's only 1 or 2 thumps.

Its only lately that the thumping got frequent that I got the confirmation from the gals here that its BB movement

Try to take note of that same feeling u had this morning to see if it gets more frequent and intense.

SSL: Ya lor.. during labour dun care liow.. for me it wasn't a case of it being too painful but that I was too exhausted to fight the pain. My labour was 22 hours and I asked for epi only at the 16th hour or so. I was just too tired and the contractions were coming in so near each other. After the epi I was so glad cos I could even sleep and regain some energy to push bb out.

Yep, Leonard Drake uses Dermalogica products. I also use Dermalogica at home. It's really good lah, but a bit ex. I go to the one at Causeway Point. Have you ever been to Leonard Drake for facials?

causeway point bery close to my house neh

last time i bought from this lady who does massage for me at far east plaza. she gives me discount for dermalogica products occassionally

i use lancome products now.

SSL

It's not exactly a thumping feeling more like an air bubble feeling.. v v slight, maybe my own imagination...

yes nipple area sometimes v itchy n dry.. but i just scratch for a while n it's ok.. didn't occur to me to apply any cream..

MC

some gals experience bubble feeling but i didnt. Mine was thumping.

Har, u scratch ok liao ah. i scratch the surrounding breast area (not nipple area) also cure abit only.

SSL: Try to get nipple creams from Pharmacy or breast massage creams meant for pregnant ladies from Mothercare or pharmacies. Since Causeway Pt is close to your house you can go to the Pharmacy there. It has a good section on Baby and Mother care products. Btw, I also stay in Woodlands leh!!!
Here very sian one, no Infant Care facilities...

Hi kris

u referring to guardian issit? does NTUC unity or Watson carry nipple cream?? any brand to recommend?

my house walking distance (10-15mins) from causeway point. Just had lunch there

Or u can find infant care facilities near your workplace? an ex-colleague put her BB at their infant care facility just opposite her office, also very convenient.