(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

hi girls,
heard that this thurs/fri also got robinsons sale for card members leh...wah recently got so many places sale, can buy till u drop man. and next wk's the Expo sale some more..

sorry, digress topic a bit..want to ask if anyone knows where to buy those cute car headrest cushions and accessories such as mashimaro, The Dog, etc?
there is a shop at cineleisure orch but not much variety there.

Hi Mrs Tan,

Hae u tried Minitoons?? They got branches at causeway point, tampines mall.

Any idea if the expo sale will feature more on BB's daily items or those bigger items like stroller, car seat,etc?

SSL: From the last 2 Motherhood Expo sale that I went to, they carry mostly bb's daily items like clothes, bottles, toys, formula etc. Last year's sale was a bit disappointing as there were very few items but LOTS of slimming centres there! Be warned! They do A LOT of hard-sell! I personally find those slimming centres very irritating.
kao_angry.gif

As for bigger items, I only saw a few cots. No prams though. Medela (breast pumps) usually has good discounts there though.

Hi ladies, how's everybody??

I just came back from biz trip abit tiring so glad to be back in singapore again but abit sian to go work. :p

hi celine,
welcome back.
today's weather also dam sian..so rainy and cooling, best to just snuggle under blanket at home.

Hi kris

thanks for the tips. Dont worry i'm very good at fending them off like flies.

At least i know what to expect from there and not buy too many things first.

Any idea if sterilisers will be on sale there too? looking into Pigeon one and saw kiddy palace selling at $80 (before their 20% sale starts).

Me now deciding which breast pump to get. Most likely Medela mini but got couple of friends used before say not very good. Mini one costs about $178 issit?

Hi Celine,

Welcome back
kao_welcome.gif

Btw, I've been feeling alot of movements at lower tummy, esp at night. Last night was more frequent. The feeling is like short intervals of thumping that i felt. at times, the thumping is faster. Is it BB's movement?

This morning, one side of my tummy like stretch until very tight for a while (can feel the area very hard) and then the feeling disappears.

yah boy how I wish I can stay home to rot today with such a cool weather.

congrats mayday and niuniu get to know the gender of baby can start shopping now!

seems like we have more princes than princess huh.

talking about sterlizers and bottles...should we buy Avent (correct spelling?) or pigeon?? how come Avent is more expensive??

anybody know where prams having sale?? so expensive saw most of them $300~600!

SSL: The Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser is definitely a good buy! I have one at home! From what I saw last 2 years Pigeon wasn't there. Kiddy Palace is good enough I feel. I also have the Medela dual-pump. Not effective for me at all. In the end I bought another pump from Ameda. That one worked wonders!

And yes! Those are bb's movements!!! Congrats!!!

Celine: My pram costs only abt $120. You must have been looking at high-end brands or those that take bb from infancy to toddlerhood. Try going to heartland shopping centres for prams. Kiddy Palace also has some decent ones.

yesterday me and my hubby went to watch Star Wars during the show I feel my lower left tummy has this fluttering or sorta of nerve twitching like sometimes our eyelids twitch...is this baby movements too?? I told my hubby after the show he said bb like to watch Star Wars too...

kris, I am looking at those flexi wheels and reversed ones so bb can faced us if we want. Anybody can recommend some brands? I saw this brand Graco I think not bad.

Hi Celine

My friend is telling me Avent is good but then u got to buy their entire range, eg. bottles cos Avent steriliser only can put avent bottles.

Hubby and myself also looking at the sort of reversed (baby facing us) stroller. But we may buy it later cos most likely we will be carrying BB when young.

Moreover, my friend passing me her stroller so incase we really need can use hers first. :p But if we can find good buy, will buy and put aside first la.

But will definitely be buying infant car seat. But my friend also passing me hers. If not suitable, will buy one.

I was surfing the Kids Mall website and saw this brand call Lucky Baby. they have two reversible designs, price range $200+. Maybe u can check it out?? Kids Mall have branches at IMM and Suntec.

I actually got my price estimates and what to buy (brands) from kids mall. at least got a rough gauge of the brands available and pricing.

Hi kris

Really
I've been wondering when will i be able to feel BB's movement. Always trying to match the fluttering as described by other gals. But dont seemed to have that sorts.

Ah..... the pigeon one u mentioned is for 2 bottles only issit? me thinking of buying that (which is cheaper) or the one that can hold 9 bottles.

Can ask u a stupid question? apart from sterilising bottles, can also sterilise teats hor?? :p so the bigger the comparment, can sterilise more stuff?

My friend recommends me about her Ameda breast pump - $280 for dual pump. But i hope to find cheaper ones cos I am not working now so have to really find something good and not expensive.

How leh??

Celine: I think Graco is a good brand too. But known to be expensive.
Maybe you wanna think if it's really worth it. Cos bb wun be an infant for very long. After the 1st few months bb wun wanna look at you when seated in the pram loh. Bb'll wanna look at the world!

And yes. I'm sure that was bb's movements. Bb must have heard the loud noises and reacted. With my first pregancy I couldn't go to the movies in my 3rd trimester cos bb would move too much, too rigorously and cause me lots of discomforts!

SSL: My Pigeon rapid steriliser can hold 9 bottles I think. It has another upper tier that holds the bottle caps, teats, pacifier etc. So yes, teats also can, in fact MUST sterilise!
But dun get rubber teats cos they are lousy when it comes to sterilising. They tend to spoil after 1 or 2 sterilising.

Will you be working after bb is out? If not then to really cut cost you can try getting those single battery-operated pumps. Can be Avent or Pigeon. Otherwise get a manual pump. I'll be getting a manual pump this time round cos the last time I used my Ameda so much that the engine broke on me and I had to resort to hand-expressing during office hours! Damn tiring man!

Celine: Ya ya! Lucky Baby is quite good too!

Hi Kris

So do u think those reversible strollers are good?? that means, when BB young, face us. when BB gets bigger, face the world

I wanted to go for this chinese musical in sept but by that time, think my tummy would be too big.

Hello mommies - those considering getting sterilisers like me.. I was asking around then a fren told me - not to get those sterilisers which are custom made for a particular type of bottle. She said she bot the Avent one which contains 6 Avent bottles but her son did not like the Avent bottles/teats so in the end she had to change to Nuk bottles and then can't use the steriliser anymore. So in case u are considering, just thought this is useful information.. So I ask her what she use to sterilise, she said just one big pot! just put all the bottles inside with boiling hot water.. I think that's what they do in the past..

I am not sure wat to buy also cos' how would i know if bb like nuk or pigeon or avent or what... aiyo Stress!

Hi Kris

I'm looking at this one. issit the same as the one u mentioned?

287022.jpg

Yap, will be getting those silicone ones. Any difference except for the colour?? Are there diff types of silicone teats?? so if me getting pigeon bottles, can only buy pigeon teats issit? sorry to ask so much.

I think i will only look for perm job after 2nd or 3rd months (depending on finances) after BB is born. So manual or battery operated would be a better choice for me then?

Avent is manual and Pigeon is battery operated right? Friend told me she used Avent until her hands are tired.

Does it mean that if we are breastfeeding at home, there is no need to use the pumps?? I thought there will be too much and u need to express out??

Hi MC,

Me getting steriliser so that MIL wont be busy sterilising the bottles. hahaha

Think Pigeon steriliser can fit NUK bottles too. but better reconfirm. But i find pigeon stuff cute so would most likely be buying most of the stuff from pigeon

wah...a lot to learn about steriliser, strollers, etc huh??? btw, i've already gotten the pigeon sterilizer and manual breast pump. i find the pigeon sterilizer good cos we can use it with other bottles; unlike the Avent ones...i've tested it as well and i think it shd work well (cos a lot of steam one leh).

btw, have you all thought about bathtubs? i wonder which type i shd get. i saw at kiddy palace one with a moulded (built-in) stopper for baby to rely on without slipping. is this type good or shd i just buy a conventional one?

MC: I'm not a Pigeon salesgirl lah, but I think the Pigeon steriliser is very versatile in this respect. The upper tier is adjustable which means it can take short bottles like the Avent ones. It can also take tall and slim bottles of any other brand. The traditional pot method is reallt wasteful as the bottles have to be completely submerged in water. And you can't just sterilise once a day.

SSL: It's not that I think the reversible strollers are not good lah. Of cos they are good in the sense that we can see bb. But the problem is bb dowan to look at us after a while leh! Hahaha... then the money gone to waste. Having a bb is an expensive affair leh!

Hi Sneaky

Did u pay about $53+ for the pigeon breast pump? Issit battery operated cos i saw one at kids mall site which is battery operated? If got no battery, can use manual to pump??

Haha, talking about bathtubs, when i got married, i bought those traditional plastic red colour bathtub and potty cos i wanted BB to use it.

So now just need to find those stopper where i can place it in the tub so that BB wont slip. actually not sure if the stopper is necessary cos we will be holding the BB when we bath right?

Hi Kris

U know which brand of nappy and nappy liner good??
Issit better to buy those disposable or reusable liner?

I intend to use it after BB's stool becomes more solid to prevent nappy rash...

SSL: Yes! That's the one I have at home! Very good one! Haha.. If you get the Pigeon bottles you can get any silicone teats. They are all the same. But the Tollyjoy silicone teats are longer than the Pigeon ones and so bb may gag cos the Tollyjoy teats will reach too deep into the mouth. NUK teats are a bit more tricky cos there is a right way up, and when you are very tired or when MIL or your mom tries to feed bb with the NUK teat it could be frustrating cos they can't see the right side up! I know NUK teats claim to be anti-colic, but it proved useless for me cos my girl still got colic. Infacol (an anti-wind drop to be put into milk), Ruyi oil and tummy wraps are more useful for colic.

I think maybe you get a battery-operated single pump first loh. Since you'll be home hand-expression should be more convenient.
Get your gynae to teach you how to hand-express when you go for your post-natal check.
It's actually more effective than the pumps but very tiring lah.

Sneaky: Conventional bathtubs are super cheap! (i.e., $5 or so) It's probably more worth it to get a conventional one that's not too ugly and get a really good big anti-slip mat (with suction cups at the underside) to put into the bathtub. When bb grows into a toddler you'll want him to stand and use the shower on him. Then you can place the anti-slip mat on the bathroom floor where he can stand on or even sit on.

SSL: The anti-slip mat is very important! Cannot dun have one!

I dun use cloth nappies for my girl leh.. have been using disposable diapers since her birth till now. Sorry leh... If you wanna use the clothe nappies when bb's stools become harder theh whether it's disposable diapers or cloth ones wouldn't make a difference. Cos no matter what, bb's bottom cannot be exposed to stools for anything more than maybe 10 mins or so. After that whatever nappies we use also confirm will get nappy rash one! A good barrier cream is the best prevention against nappy rash!

Whow, Kris, I really learnt alot from u today
so happy.

I saw from an overseas website, Pigeon has anti colic teats too but maybe singapore dont have?

Yap, think will buy the battery operated breast pump
thanks for helping me make up my mind on this breast pump thingy which I have been pondering for long time.

Ok, will buy the anti slip mat that u mentioned. Anywhere also can get right? no need those specially for BB one hor?

So whenever we change BB's diaper, we will have to apply the nappy rash cream to prevent the rash?? or there is another kind of cream that u are talking about that acts as a barrier cream for prevention. I noted down this desitin cream that some gals recommend.

SSL: Haha.. dun like dat say lah.. we all got something to learn from each other!
I've not seen the Pigeon anti-colic teats yet. But like I said, I dun believe in them anymore! Hahaha...

You can get the anti-slip mats from DIY stores Make sure they coem with suction cups at the bottom or it'll never stay down in the bathtub of water!

There are 2 popular nappy rash creams - Drapolene and Desitin. Drapolene is good for everyday use when bb's bottom is fine. It's also only about a third of the price of Desitin. Desitin comes in 2 types - Desitin and Desitin Creamy. Desitin Creamy is better and is what pds will give you when you bring bb to them with nappy rash. It costs about $10 a tube but is very ver effective in treating nappy rash. Usually one to two days' application will do the trick. SOmetimes just one application can already! When bb is very very young, i.e., just born to end of 1st month, you may consider alternating Desitin Creamy and Drapolene for every nappy change. After the 1st month if you can ascertain that bb's backside is not so sensitive anymore, you can use only Drapolene. But once you notice a bit of pinkish you MUST use Desitin Creamy immediately to stop the spread. Bbs will need nappy creams up to 9 months + -. After that the skin will become more accustomed to irritants and usually only poop will cause nappy rash.

Hi Kris,

Does Desitin contain medication? can I just use Drapolene for daily use and only to use Desitin Creamy once there is some pinkish on BB bottom?

yap, thats my intention too.

where did u get drapolene? can i get it at kiddy palace?

btw, are u working now? me not working this whole week. starting a new temp job next week lor.

sorry if i asked too many questions

SSL: Kiddy Palace doesn't carry Drapolene. I got mine at Watson's or NTUC Pharmacy. Or any other pharmacy.
And yep, I'm working. But today very free ah!
Hahaha...

SSL,
haha..thumping is the word to describe baby's movemt! I also felt the exact same thing u described. Thumping and then got hardening in tummy area, and then disappear. it such a weird feeling hor? hahaha....for me, its not so much fluttering..more like twitch and thumps. but the movemts are not that frequent yet..sometimes bb is very quiet.

Hi gals..

really duno start buying from what.. last weekend went to baby's hyperstore and baby's kingdom.. was disappointed lor cos expecting the shop to be very big but turn out its not that big afterall.. so in the end din manage to buy a single thing from there..

Celine:
i also went to watch star wars yesterday afternoon..

kris, the pram I saw from Graco has this detachable carrier from the pram so if want bb to face us use the carrier else remove the carrier it will be like a normal pram facing otherway.

It is 4 wheel thou but the wheel super flexi

i feel fluttering and twitch for bb movement no thumps at the moment. Infact just after lunch I feel bb moving again.

kuririn, I watched star wars yesterday afternoon too.

Hi Kris,

Thanks for letting me know where to buy Drapolene. Will note down.

Hi Mrs Tan

ya ya, i actually had that feeling before 5 months but only once or twice a day. It was only yesterday and few days ago the feeling got more intense. very funny feeling but am glad I can finally feel BB inside me.

Hi Kuririn,

My friend told me Baby's Kindgom is better interms of pricing. I may probably go there to take a look.

SSL:
I did went to Baby's Kingdom.. 1st floor is the showroom for bulkier items like cot, stroller, car seat etc.. 2nd storey more of baby accessories like toys, some clothings etc.. i'm expecting more stuffs lor.. so was kind of disappointed..

SSL: i bought the manual one...i don't think you can manually pump if battery dies...actually that's part of the reason why i got the manual pump.

as for the bathtub, i think i'll just get the plain one...shd be able to last longer, right?

hey, i felt baby when i was 16wks preggy but not very often and quite subtle. now i can feel bb almost everytime and anytime...i can also see skin around stomach area moving when he moves inside...the movements/kicks/boxes are so strong that startle me somemore...kekekeke...baby is strong and active manz...

Kuririn: maybe u will find more stuff at the expo sale?

Celine: I'm like u too. making a list of what i need to buy for BB, the brands of the items I prefer. as for clothings, will see nice and comfy ones, will buy. think must be front button ones for infant.

my friends gave me their listing of what to buy. so i just compare and see what i need and make my own list bit by bit.

Kris: issit necessary to buy high chair now or later leh?? how old can one use high chair?

Sneaky : I most likely buying the pigeon battery operated one. ya realised got manual and battery operated one.

MC, dont worry la. I also just felt it lately. maybe u can try lying down on bed and see how? i feel more movement when i lie on bed facing up.

MC: yah...like what SSL said, don't worry...if gynae says baby's alright, it's alright...try feeling baby in a quiet environment (e.g. lean on the headrest of your bed with your legs straightened and have both hands touching your tummy...i'm sure you will feel something...once you feel the 1st movement, you'll be able to identify subsequent ones...try it tonight...make sure hubby doesn't make any noise, tv turned off, etc...

MC,
dont worry..rem i couldnt feel bb's kicks before too? some ppl feel it like 16 wks and some in their 22 wks even. i have a friend who felt it in her 24 wks! as long as ur scans at gynae are all normal, its ok. ya, try lying down and be quiet for a while..sometimes u know wat i do? i actually shake shake my tummy a bit to jerk bb..hee hee...and it works sometimes!

Sneaky,
ahahahah...u know why i did that? cos during one of my scans, cos bb was in funny position, then gynae went to shake tummy dam rough..i was surprised that we can do that. so i did the same lor. hahaha.

mrs tan: violent mum. heehee

think my BB likes to watch TV. cos a couple of times i felt movement, its when i'm relaxing at the couch, gently rubbing my tummy as usual.

last night, was watching the funny chinese variety show while lying on bed. and thats when BB's movement very intense.

Either i disturb BB's sleep (cos its 1am+) or BB likes the show like me. hahaha