(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

whenever i told my hubby the baby moved he will put his hand on that portion of my tummy.. then he can't feel anything.. he will say u sure its the baby moving a not.. is it too early to experience it.. sigh...

went to see my gynae as she squeeze me in this afternoon abt 3.30pm. the bb sleeping during the day n SUPER Active at nite... she says growing well. might be the pull from the baby on the side

posh,
phew..thank God. Good good, so its only the ligament pulls. must be ur baby growing fast lah.. hehe. Anyway, at least double check with gynae u feel more at ease also.

Mrstan & MC: tks tks tks for the concern..

tks Kurrin for ur concern too...

i guess all of us afraid something goes wrong during the pregnancy.. at times we are panaroid, but better to be safe than sorry.

Those who have gone for F.A. Scan @ hospital. GOt thing to see or not (like regular check up)? Not sure if I want my spouse to go with me... later nothing to see... waste time.

Ruff,

what's FA scan? i only know Detailed Scan at week 20 plus.
I'm going for it and since there is interpretation by my gynae and a followup visit to read the scan report, she advised tat my HB go along too. I dont think it'll be waste of time. I arranged to be 1st patient to scan so hope it cuts down time. Here's something that may interest u.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/557390

Hi poshbb,

I had very sharp pain in my lower abs too last week! I was getting out of the car, and then it was so pain I couldn't walk. It lasted a couple of mins only though. I tried to walk a little, but bent over. Got home and quickly checked my book and discovered it was normal. phew. now ok already, but occasionally pain lor.

Here's what I found on the website:
Round ligament pain is generally a brief, sharp, stabbing pain or a longer-lasting, dull ache that you may feel on one or both sides of your lower abdomen or deep in your groin, usually starting in your second trimester. It happens when the ligaments that support your uterus in your pelvis stretch and thicken to accommodate and support its growing size. You may feel a short jabbing sensation if you suddenly change position, such as when you're getting up from a bed or chair or when you cough, roll over in bed, or get out of the bathtub. Or you may feel a dull ache after a particularly active day, if you've been walking a lot or doing some other physical activity. Call your caregiver if this discomfort continues even after you've rested.

Have ur hubby tried listening to yr tummy? My husband tried the 1st time yesterday,he love it, he said he can hear alot of water movement sound...i tink it bcos it's waterbag inside...

Oh ya, Perfect mom's maternity clothes are realli nice and comfortable...btw they also got one outlet at Heartland Mall(Kovan). Wonder how many maternity tops we need to prepare? So Xpensive!No choice if we are the ai-mei type ba...i guess:p

Hi Nutsnuts

There is one confinement lady. I heard she good in cooking. she is from medan. she do quite many times confinement in Penang. so if you can't find one and don't mind trying out this one, I can give you her contact.

fushiastar, wah - u've spent so much on pregnancy stuffs, me not yet woh .. just started to buy maternity wear, and it's only 3 pieces .. & using stretchmark cream .. really don't know where to start.

Mrs Tan:

PoshBB: That's good to hear..

SusanY:
Yeah, I spent $345 in total so far.. $120 on 7 outfits for this time where I'm too large to fit into my old clothes but too small to wear my maternity clothes, $123 on 7 larger bras and so far $102 on 4 maternity going out dresses and 2 maternity stay at home dresses.. I think I need at least 7 outfits of each kind in total cos we do laundry once in 3-5 days, If not, not enough clothes to wear.. Actually if you break it down, it's not that much per piece.. But it all adds up to so much.. Still need to buy another 3 going out maternity drersses, Plus still have to buy larger panties, whch I still haven't gotten yet and a good pair of shoes from hush puppes or scholl or clarks that will cost between $50-100.. My own price estimate is about $500 on just my own clothes and shoes.. I'm also using stretch mark cream- the Palmers cocoa butter one and Johnson's baby milk lotion..

triangle_right.gif
My cost estimate for having a baby is $8.5k..

Hospitalisation and delivary charges: $5k, Antenatel class:$140, Baby needs (including breast pump, pram, car seat, cot, clothes, bottles, sterilizer, nappies/diapers, milk powder): $1k, Confinement lady:$1800, My clothes and shoes: $500. Total=$8340..

Gd morning! Following are the details of Motherhood at Expo:

Motherhood 2005
Free Admission
Hall 5A
1 June 5 June (Wednesday Sunday)
12.00 noon 10.00 p.m.

Dear fushiastar,

I do prefer to use the CL that anybody that has used before. I dun mind to have the contact for the confinement lady so that I can KIV her first in case I really can't find. Can you e-mail me the contact at [email protected]. What will her charges be and do I have to apply work permit or something like that, can you advise me???

Poshbb,

Glad to know that you are alright....Me too feel the same, sometime over-reacted... After that incident happened to me, a little bit, a little bit, I will call my gynae up to check up. There is one time, I called up my gynae and the nurse pick-up, I told het that I want to ask the gynae something instead of going down to see him. I asked her do you find me panaroid. She told me that "it is okie. Pls do come down and see him to ensure that you are safe." This made me feel better instead of Paiseh...

Hi Fushiastar

Since I found out i was pregnant in late Jan, this is my expenses up to 21 May:

Pregnancy Kit 20
Medication 102
Gynae Consultation 200
Gynae U/S scans 150
Gynae Package 700
Folic Acid/DHA pills 126
Blood test 80
lab test 33
IV drip 150
baby books 50
maternity clothing 150
flat sandals 20
bigger bra 100
baby music 32
parenting talk 10
triangle_right.gif
Total 1923

breakdown :
Antenatal related : 1561
Baby/Mommy related : 362

My confinement lady will be $1800 also.

Nuts

I will email u a list of CL that a friend gave me.

hello all mummies ( some we met at other thread)
Just wanna ask for advise.
Can preggie eat durian? Is this some kind of forbidden fruit during preggie?

Hi Cookie,

Yes, Preggie can eat durians. Compared to bird nest, durians is actually considered a cheaper "Pu". Try to eat only after your first trimster...

poshbb : Yes mdm!

Nuttnuts : Oh dear.. my FIL just bought me a box of durian to eat... he dunno I preggie yet...

everybody's pregnancy is different and some are healthier than others but I think if you are generally healthy, and your doc does not warn you against any particular type of food, it's fine if you take pineapple or watermelon even tho' they are considered cooling as long as you dont overdo them like eat them every day or eat till your tummy cramps. I am still taking these 2 fruits and I'm fine. in fact alot of pregnant mothers have constipation because they don't take enough of fruits (so many fruits we take considered as cooling)..durian is great as long as you are not overeating it. Some people say don't take carrot or papaya because it may lead to jaundice but jaundice is not caused by "carotene" in these orange fruits. Jaundice is caused by excessive bilirubin in the blood and usually affects infants because their liver is not fully developed.

its all depends how much Old Wives' Tale each and everyone wanna follow. well, if one chooses to trun a deaf ear, i guess its normal cos minority tends to ignore. But what if those Old Wives's Tales do happen? gng to pt the fingers later? well... i think some in laws will tell u how much to take note and how much to follow. Gynae says.. everything u can eat and drink... when i ask gynae again at a later stage, the replies again differ... well... its all abt ur own belief, to follow or not. Not all fruits are cooling, take a little is ok and of cos like u say.. excessive wont be good. Watermelon is far too cooling.. so better to avoid. hmmm be safe than sorry.

good morning..

just wondering is sugar cane water consider "cooling" stuff also? can we pregnant woman take??

good morning everyone!

i started having durians only when i've reached 2nd trimester...it shd be quite nourishing for baby...

yesterday went shopping at kiddy palace and bought sterilizer, nappy guard, nappy liners, long pants, mittens and booties...they are having 20% discount storewide leh...hurry...go shop...

ya, when I was coughing some time back, i had to stay off many fruits esp watermelon cos' it made me cough alot.. but once i recovered, i find ok. If i take heaty fruits then i have to be careful they dont give me sorethroat otherwise sick again and got to take medication.. but my fave fruit so far is mango and I eat it with cooling fruits and drink lots of water..

Sneaky - how long is the kiddypalace discount on for? i was there a few weeks back but didn't buy anything cos' not sure wat to get..

Nuttnuts,
I accidentally deleted her contact away from my mobile... I go ask my friend for it again..

MC,
Think we are all spending quite a bit.. I just got a car seat and stroller too..

About food.. I kinda agree with PoshBB.. Different people believe in different things.. My gynae advises me not to take uncooked meats, liver and caffeine; other then that, my diet is suppose to be as per normal.. My MIL who is very traditionally chinese, has a whole bunch of can and cannot.. cannot take cold things, certain fruits.. I follow what my gynae says, cos there is a scientific reason to why she says it.. As for the rest, I just eat anyway.. Thankfully, my husband agrees with me.. I try to eat a variety of foods, everything in moderation.. I eat all fruits too, including pineapple, durian, carrot, watermelon (not much of this cos i've never liked watermelon) and papaya.. I love fruits..

286818.jpg

<font face="Courier New"> <font color="aa00aa">as @ 24 May 05
Fun ............ 24-Sep-05 22 Wks Mt. A (Boy)
Mayday ......... 03-Oct-05 21 Wks
BellyButton .... 05-Oct-05 20 Wks
ice ............ 05-Oct-05 20 Wks
inc ............ 05-Oct-05 20 Wks
Joan ........... 05-Oct-05 20 Wks SGH
MrsTan ......... 05-Oct-05 20 Wks Mt. A (Boy)
Aical .......... 06-Oct-05 20 Wks
Sneaky ......... 06-Oct-05 20 Wks Mt. E (Boy)
Niuniu ......... 07-Oct-05 20 Wks KKH
Winnie ......... 07-Oct-05 20 Wks
SSL ............ 09-Oct-05 20 Wks TMC
Joycelyn ....... 08-Oct-05 20 Wks
MC ............. 08-Oct-05 20 Wks Glen E
Pammi .......... 08-Oct-05 20 Wks
Snow ........... 08-Oct-05 20 Wks KKH
whitefloral .... 08-Oct-05 20 Wks
Viola .......... 09-Oct-05 20 Wks
breakbeats ..... 12-Oct-05 19 Wks Glen E
Jenifur ........ 17-Oct-05 19 Wks
Morraine ....... 18-Oct-05 19 Wks Glen E
Chris .......... 20-Oct-05 18 Wks Mt. A
Fresia ......... 22-Oct-05 18 Wks
Fushiastar ..... 22-Oct-05 18 Wks NUH
Kris ........... 22-Oct-05 18 Wks TMC
Ling ........... 23-Oct-05 18 Wks RMG
Sweetie ........ 23-Oct-05 18 Wks
Missysunflower . 24-Oct-05 18 Wks
Nuttnuts ....... 24-Oct-05 18 Wks
Tao_baby ....... 24-Oct-05 18 Wks Mt. A
Celine ......... 25-Oct-05 18 Wks Mt. A
Janice ......... 26-Oct-05 18 Wks
Garfield ....... 28-Oct-05 17 Wks TMC
SusanY ......... 28-Oct-05 17 Wks Eastshore
Kuririn ........ 29-Oct-05 17 Wks SGH </font></font>

MC: i'm not sure how long it will last...but hurry loh...i spent around S$220...kekekeke...still need to get anti-suffocating mattress, a bathtub, baby towels, etc...the list goes on and on...neverending..

fushiastar.. i didn't buy alot cos' to begin with my house is so small, so i'm v cautious in stocking up.. also ppl telling me all sorts of things like their bb dont like to sit in pram sleep in cots things like tat so what if I buythen bb dont like...? so now i'm only looking at things for 1 - 3mths, after that, I wll look into car seats, strollers etc.. one step at a time..

MC,
I heard about that too.. I have friends who bought so many things..cot, playpen, swing, rocker, walker, pram, babysling, babysarong.. And at the end of it all, only used a few.. But my child is going to go into infantcare at 2-3 months.. So I have to get a carseat and stroller, it not, cannot transport the child..

kurrin: sugar cane is not a cooling stuff... but at times sugar cane will let u kena this TOXOMOPLAXIS... not sure abt the spelling... is something to do with cats, which lead to miscarriage.

You Should Avoid Cleaning Cat Litter Boxes. You Should Avoid Uncooked Meat.
Both cat litter and undercooked meat present the risk of <font color="ff0000">toxoplasmosis</font>, which causes birth defects.

if this TOXOPLASMOSIS is found in sugar cane, u will have bad tummy ache n then leads to misaccarriage too..

i have a gf dun believe... i told her dun take during preggie.. she went ahead, after tt a bad tummy ache... from then on she see sugarcane.. she siam.

like usual, up to one to choose to believe. dun believe then try lor.

Just to add about toxoplasmosis, it's caused by the toxoplasmosis parasite.. I'm not sure about sugarcane , but it is mostly found in cat faeces, possibly in meat that's not completely cooked and unpasteurized milk. It can cause misacrriages, early delivary, still births and birth defects..

I just found out there is this forum as refer below coming Sat.. seems like quite a good one for us mum to be to learn more abt our pregnancy &amp; baby care..

PREGNANCY &amp; BABY CARE

Date : 28 May 2005 (Saturday)
Time : 1.00pm - 4.25pm
Venue : Hotel Mercure Roxy (map)
Seminar Room, Level 4
Address: 50 East Coast Road, Roxy Square
Opposite Parkway Parade Shopping Centre
Bus services: 15, 31, 36, 76, 135, 196, 197, 966
Fee : $5 per person / $8 per couple
(includes free goodie bag worth more than $20)

Programme
1.00pm Registration
1.15pm - 2.00pm Common Problems in Newborns - What to Expect &amp; What to Do
Dr Lilian Lim, Paediatrician &amp; Neonatologist, The Kid's Clinic
2.00pm - 2.20pm Tea / Coffee Break
2.20pm - 3.05pm Managing Your Risk During Pregnancy
Dr Denas Chandra, Obstetrician &amp; Gynaecologist, The Women's Specialist
3.05pm - 3.25pm Tea / Coffee Break
3.25pm - 3.40pm Baby Bath Demonstration
3.40pm - 3.55pm Baby Massage Demonstration
3.55pm - 4.25pm Pre-Natal Pilayoga Demonstration

To register, send your particulars and contact number with an enclosed cheque made payable to "New Zealand Milk (S) Pte Ltd" (please write your name(s) and contact number behind the cheque). Mail it to 1 Pickering Street, #06-01, Great Eastern Centre, Singapore 048659. Closing date for registration: 20 May 2005.

Enquiries hotline 1800 777 3005 (Weekdays 8.30am - 5.30pm)
or email [email protected]

fushiastar

i'm also considering infantcare - have you gone to tour the facilities of the one u have chosen?!! I am thinking of doing it sometime this or next week just look see.. :D

Fushiastar/MC - wah seh, you all very detailed leh .. really put all these expenses down.

Having a child is really not cheap hoh ..

MC,
Yup, we actually shortlisted 4 places within 15 minutes drive of our home and went to see all 4.. It came down to 2 places, both were not ideal, but 1 is highly recommanded by my husband's cousin who sent both her children there and also has good reviews in another thread.. We decided on that one.. It's quite important to go and tour the facilities.. Then you get a feel of the caregivers, the babies, the program that they have.. The decision on which infant care was made quite easily after we had a look ..

SusanY
I'm trying to financial plan.. So keeping track.. Yep, it isn't cheap to have a baby..

MC, there was one infantcare we went to that gave babies less than 1 year old,that are starting to eat solids, glass shot glasses to dring water from at each meal... ?!? Can't say I'm comfortable with that..

fushiastar

can u PM me with the name of the highly reccommended one? i dont think i have so many infantcare centres around my place but would not mind traveling abit further for a better one.

fuschiastar: Mind telling me where you stay? Cos I'm also considering Infant Care... But my bb wun go till about 5 months old lah.. I'm gonna take no-pay leave till he's abt 5 months.