(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Mrs Tan: congrats.. tomorrow going to try ask doc/nurse see if can see the gender even though still early (13th week).. since i will be doing NT scan.. ask ask see if can see a not.. hehe

<font face="Calisto mt"> Garfield,

Noted. Hv updated e EDD list.

MrsTan,

Congrats. Another prince... Hv u break e news to ur in-laws? They mus b very happy...</font>

hi girls,

thanks for ur well wishes...just hope it really is confirmed lah..but i think shld be since can see baby's scrotum.

Jenifur,
ya told in laws liao...think they dont mind boy or girl.

btw, i have been having very bad heart palpitations ever since pregnant. I used to have them before preg but it got worse and more frequent. Will be having an ECG done later after work cos today's quite serious. Heart either skips a beat or just suddenly beat fast fast then back to normal pace. its dam scary.

Mrs Tan: dun worry too much.. i guess our heart is beating harder to support another life bah.. if worry maybe get let ur gynae know see if need to refer to heart centre a not.. since u had this problem for quite sometimes liao should be ok one lor..

for my case, i have heart murmur.. had this since secondary school.. that time the school did sent me to SATA to do checkup.. after which they discharged me say nothing wrong.. then during my first appt, gynae say the murmur very loud better to do a proper checkup so refer me to heart centre.. did ECG n heart ultrasound.. lucky everything ok n heart centre discharged me.. the doc at heart centre said could be due to pregnancy thats why the murmur is louder than usual..

kuririn,

ya i just called my gynae and he suggested going to gp to do ECG. i think i shld lor, just to have a peace of mind. i am very easily nervous and kancheong so it adds to it too.

wats the diff betwn heart palpitation and heart murmur? wat do u actually feel? ya i did read that preg women have faster heartrates cos heart needs to pump harder..but then its scary leh, esp when this whole day its been skipping a beat or just suddenly beat fast fast..i get very very breathless.

Mrs Tan: i feel normal lor.. i still do sports as usual when first dignosed lor.. A heart murmur is an abnormal blowing, whooshing or rasping sound in the heartbeat. It is the result of vibrations caused by abnormal (turbulent) blood flow patterns.

i also start to feel breathless liao.. esp walking for a distance or walking up a few flights of stairs..

Hi SusanY,
If your clothings are too tight for u now, it's better to change. If not, u will feel very uncomfortable. It's better for u and ur bb if u wear something more comfy.

Hi Celine,
That's really mean of your colleagues to pass such remarks. Ignore them, lah!

BTW, thanks for the info on yoga. I'm interested but the timing is not good. I can only make it on Thursday and it's kinda of rush for me cos I finish work at 6pm. By the time I "dilly dally" here and there a bit, 6plus liao.

Mrs Tan,
Congrats on ur little prince!

I have check with my gynae and the headache that I have earlier is due to stress. So the doctor give me a week MC to ask me to stay at home and rest...so if anybody who has headache may due to stress...So dun overwork yourself....

Long time neber log in liao as busy preparing my wedding...I dun thinks I can join you all for the gathering as my AD is on 14 May..So pls forgive me. Perhap I can join you all the next gathering....

I realise that my stomache getting bigger and rounder during the night and make me look very pregancy....already so fat liao still HB complain that now I look even fatter...sob.. sob...

So far I have not bought any maternity clothings yet as find them too expensive so wearing all the big size clothings to office. My Co is not particular in dressing so I think should be okie.

So far, my colleagues are not aware that I am pregnant as one of them is TTC may give up as I am pregnant. I do not want to spoil her plan as she is already 40 this year...so will only annouce when she has success or she has go through the tests that is recommended by her doctor...

Mrs Tan,

I am also thinking of signing up for antenatal classes at Mt. A as I will be delivering there too.... Maybe we can ask Tao_baby &amp; Celine to join us...

Mrs Tan,

I am also thinking of signing up for antenatal classes at Mt. A as I will be delivering there too.... Maybe we can ask Tao_baby &amp; Celine to join us as thery are also delivering Mt. A

nuttnuts: days away from the wedding.. must be excited ya. kekeeke..
congrats... be careful, dun stress urself too much take things slowly.

Morning girls.

I'm also not able to join in the gathering.. so sorry.. will try to make it for the next one if there is..

poshbb: u so early..

nuttnuts: take care and congrats.. dun be too stress ok..

just an update, i went for ECG test at the gp yest and was found to be normal. Doc said it was hyperventilation and anxiety attacks. Nothing much to be done abt it, just to relax and not be too kancheong. I am so glad i am ok. Doc also said preg womens' hearts have to beat harder thats why beat so fast.

Nuttnut, Celine, Tao baby,
shall we sign up for antenatal classes together then? I might be going for hospital tour next week or so to check out the facilities. (wahh macham deciding on hotel like that, hehe)

Btw, just wanna ask if we preg women need to do regular self-check on our breasts? cos i used to check every month for lumps and wat not. but since preg, never check liao cos its overall so sore and sensitive. just concerned....

another thing, besides taking tonic 'bu' soup, wat else do u all take? for birds nest, where do we buy from ah? any chinese medicinal shop is it? we can all start taking now rite?

sorry for so many qns early in the morn... hee hee....

Mrs Tan,

We should also take the 'shi san tai bao' which is very good for the foetus esp during the 2nd trimester. Take abt 2 doses of it and it should be enough. If you are worried, check with a chinese physician to see if you can take it.

I checked out the antenatal class:

The programme consists of six sessions conducted weekly on Mondays to Fridays. Each session starts from 6.30 to 8.30 pm. It includes lectures, video shows, demonstrations and practical sessions.

Topics include nutrition, common discomforts of pregnancy, backcare and exercises during pregnancy, different stages of labour, techniques to cope with labour, relaxation and massage, role of support person, signs of labour, pain relief in labour, methods of delivery, baby nutrition, importance of breastfeeding and bonding, bathing and care of your newborn and care of mother after delivery.

A familiarization tour of the hospital is included. You can begin your first session from the 24th week of your pregnancy. Partners are strongly encouraged to attend.

For registration and more information, please call Ms. Vasantha between 8am to 4pm on Mondays to Fridays at Tel: 6347 6333.

Mrs Tan,

No prob! But be warned that it tastes really horrible!!! Yucks! Hehe.. Just pinch the nose and swallow everything...
kao_scared.gif

hi Celine,

wahh thanks for checking out the info. Sounds so informative..so many things covered. This antenatal class is for Mt. Alvernia ya? So we can choose the days to go for, is it?
I still have abt 7 weeks more before i hit 24 weeks so still long.. Btw do u know how much this cost?

My MIL told me not to take the tonic 'shi san tai bao'coz not everyone can take, some take oredi got side effects...better confirm with your gynae or a reputable chinese physician okie..

My mum recommends to take 'pao sen' and red date soup once a week instead and drink soyabean milk daily. Other than that, I believe a well-balanced diet + multivit pill is more than sufficient to ensure a healthy bb..

Btw, I confirmed with gynae birds nest is harmless but has never been medically proven to be beneficial neither...so its really up to individual lah ..

Mrs tan, I am not sure about the price but should be around $100plus but the timing is worst than the yoga class isn't it as it starts from 630pm

And i think we still have plenty of time since it starts from 24th weeks.

Celine,

oh i see..630pm ok mah...why worst?
i knock off at 530pm so just nice for me...only hope not too early for hubby.
ya lor..still got lots of time..will call to book when time draws nearer.

Nuttnuts: Rest well and dun overstress again okie? Btw, ur not alone..I also look very fat now..my hubby said my butt now is like the size of our 21'inch TV cos' my butt now totally obstructs his view of the TV when I walk past..
Hope u can join in our next gathering!

Kuririn: A pity u can't join the gathering too..next time must come hor..

How about other gals leh? There are so many MTBs on Jenifur's list mah: <font color="aa00aa">Mrs Tan, Fresia, Snow, Missysunflower, Viola Tan, Niuniu, Sweetie, Kris, Winniethepooh, Fun, Manuka, Garfield, Bellybutton..etc</font>: <font color="0000ff">Would you u all like to join in the gathering on next Friday, 6th May at Suntec Marche?</font>

So far confirmed going are Morraine, Celine, Ling Ng, SusanY, Sneaky and moi...but the more people, the merrier mah! That day will be the official 'Hip Mums' club opening...kekekeke...come lah!

kao_welcome2.gif

Just wondering.. are all ante-natel classes the same?

I'm with NUH and was told that I should go for antenatel classes before I'm 5 months pregnant?.. They are charging $130 for each 2 hour session and there are about 6-7 sessions..

Mrs Tan: Ok, onz! Initially I proposed 7pm coz some may knock off late but now I think think think..should we meet 6.30pm instead if not our bb hungry leh kekeke...6.30pm ok for u all mah?

My MIL has told my hubby that she will do the confinement for me. My initial plan was to let her take over from 2nd mth onwards cos dont want to tire her out.

But she told my hubby that she will move in with us to take care of BB 24 hrs then move back home once BB 2nd mth. (since its her first grandchild)

Discussed with hubby. maybe she can continue to come once 1st mth over, during day time (since she not working) to company me and BB. and night time i take care lor.

In this case, I'm thinking of getting a maid but i am not sure if i really want to do that cos me not working so i dont wish to burden on hubby's income alone.

Any idea if there is those PT maids that comes on alternate days to help clean and wash the house and laundry?

Currently there is one that comes as and when I need her cleaning service(usually once a month) and she charge $10 per hour. (min 3 hrs)

Any recommendations?

SSL, where do you stay? north east? because I also looking for a PT maid but not fixed schedule just need her once a month to clean my window etc

SSL: ya like me.. in dilemma. but at least u have a MIL to help.. my MIL cant help n my mum is working.. MIL got to look after BIL's toddler son, and my mum cant COOK! aiyo....

Hi Nuttnuts,bu hao yi shi,as i am working shift, it will be difficult to make routine time for the antenatal classes. Ur go ahead ba...

SSL: i am currently engaging a hse cleaning co. to clean up my hse once every 2 weeks. For 5room, it charges $110 and two cleaners will come at one time. So far quite good, cleaners are reliable.

breakbeats: I'd love to go leh but I've got to stay home to keep my 'ngiam ngiam' daughter company. My hubby feels inadequate taking care of our girl alone in the evenings cos she has to be plastered to me esp at night. And bringing her out so far in the evening is out of the question cos I'm sure I'll be spending more time chasing after her than sitting down with all of you. Sigh...

Btw, do any of you gals know if it's ok to take vinegar ah?? These days I'm hooked to the Lay's salt and vinegar chips. Wah V shiok leh!!!

breakbeats: Sorry can't join in the gathering, gotta work. Maybe next time

mrstan: ECG? Are you ok now? I also experience fast heartbeat during the past weeks. But i just ignore it cos it not causing any problem for me. Just iritating to hear the heart beating faster than usual. Also, can be quite lound when i'm alone in the room...

Anyone delivering at TMC? Do they have ante-natal class there?

Fushiastar: Better check with your gynae if can continue to take the EPO.

Do any of you experience burping lotsa gastric juice now? As in the stomache keeps feeling very acidic? I keep having this thing and it's really uncomfy. How to curb this?

I have also thought of engaging a PT maid as got no time to do housework. The price they are charging me is $50 once a week for a 5rm flat....But my hb is a bit 'keow' so still considering whether to engage or not.

Hi Celine,
Thanks for your info...my friends encourge me to attend the antenatal classes as it will help you in one way or another....so most probably will attend...

Hi Kris,
I also like vinegar and chilli. I think taking vinegar should be okie as it taste like 'sweet sour plum'.... I scared wait i take too much chilli my bb next time will be come 'mo bin'...:p

Anyone of u can feel yr little one's movement?
Me still waiting anxiously to feel my baby's first kick.

Sorry don think i can join in the gathering. Like Kris, i need to go back to look after my daughter.
Basically, i have no personal life after having my daughter....sign....Have not went out with any close friends since my girl was born til now...everyday just devote my time to work and family...cant imagine when my 2nd one pop out...

So for all first time mummy, do enjoy yr precious time with yr close friends and hubby now!

Hi Fresia,

Are u suffering heartburn? This is what I have find out from a website:

"Most likely. Many women experience heartburn for the first time during pregnancy and though it's common and harmless, it can be scary and painful. Heartburn (also called acid indigestion) is a burning sensation that often extends from the bottom of the breastbone to the lower throat. It's caused by both hormonal and physical changes in your body.

During pregnancy, the placenta produces the hormone progesterone, which relaxes the smooth muscles of the uterus. This hormone also relaxes the valve that separates the esophagus from the stomach, allowing gastric acids to seep back up the pipe, which causes that uncomfortable burning sensation. Progesterone also slows down the wavelike contractions of the stomach, making digestion sluggish. In later pregnancy, your growing baby crowds your abdominal cavity, slowing elimination and pushing up the stomach acids to cause heartburn.

Many women start getting heartburn and indigestion in the second half of pregnancy. Unfortunately, it usually comes and goes until your baby is born.

What can YOU do about it?
Though you may not be able to eliminate heartburn entirely, you can take some steps to minimize your discomfort:
Avoid foods and drinks that cause you gastrointestinal distress. The usual suspects are carbonated beverages, alcohol (which you should avoid anyway during pregnancy); caffeine; chocolate; high-acid foods like citrus fruits and juices, tomatoes, mustard, and vinegar; processed meats; mint products; and spicy, highly seasoned, fried, and fatty foods.

Don't eat big meals. Instead, eat several small meals throughout the day. Take your time eating, and chew thoroughly.

Avoid drinking large quantities of fluids during meals; you don't want to distend your stomach. (It's important to drink eight to 10 glasses of water daily during pregnancy, but drink it between meals.)

Eat your last meal no later than three hours before bedtime and wait at least an hour after meals before lying down

Sleep propped up with several pillows or elevate the head of your bed with a few books or a board. Gravity will help keep your stomach acids where they should be and aid your digestion.

Gain a sensible amount of weight and stay within the guidelines your healthcare provider suggests.

Wear loose, comfortable clothing; avoid any tightness around your waist and tummy.

Bend at the knees instead of at the waist.

Don't smoke (again, this is a habit you should break before getting pregnant).

An over-the-counter antacid that contains magnesium or calcium may ease discomfort, but check with your prenatal caregiver before taking one because some brands are high in sodium. You should also check in with your healthcare provider if none of these suggestions eliminates the problem. "

Below is the website that I have obtained the above information:

http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/prenatalhealth/242.html

for those interested in MAH's antenatal class, i've called them up b4 for details.

a) for us due in Oct, they recommend us to start
the classes only in July.

b) the prices are $126 or $147, depending on whether you are giving birth there. If you are, you need to arrange with your gynae so that they can charge you the lower rate.

Breakbeats,
thanks for reminding. Can't make it this time cos' my BIL having his ROM that day, going to be a big family affair!

aical: since you're not a 1st time mum, maybe i shd consult you abt baby's movement. i think i feel baby. is the feeling like some bubbling effect inside the tummy; at different areas (sometimes right, left and centre)? i have this feeling a few times throughout the day; even now as i'm typing. sometimes when i listen to music or when i talk to him, i'll feel it. when i lie down on bed and change position, i'll feel it too. is it baby's movement?

kris &amp; Aical: I can perfectly understand, I'd probably 'suffer' the same fate after my bb is born.. But I guess that's a small sacrifice every mum has to pay yah..

fresia &amp; viola: Okie, noted..see u gals next time then...
talker.gif

Me do not experience any more heartburn or the sour acidic liquid so long as i dun take heavy meals or oily food.. but realised nowadays got a lot of gas in stomach...I sometimes pity my hubby coz he gotto endure my 'orchestra' every night...kekeke...

kao_yawn.gif
Me going to gaoz gaoz soon...good night gals!
kao_sleep.gif

Just to let u know that we can go for antenatal class as early as the beginning of second trimester. My friend who gave birth last year said she went during her early part of second trimester. Well, if your hospital does advise u when to go, I guess it's better to stick to that schedule (just in case we forget abt the content??)

Hi breakbeats,
Would love to join all of u in the first gathering but I need to check my calender again.

Aical: I was like you when my girl was much younger but I've learned that I MUST make time for myself occasionally. I still do go out with my frens but that's like maybe once in 3 to 4 months. Otherwise I try to invite my frens or my hubby's cousins and their children (same age as my girl) to come over. It keeps me sane and happy. I can sense your frustrations and fatigue.
Why dun you try to just meet up once with your close fren(s)?

And I think I can feel my bb's movements already. Not very often but it feels like a very distinct light jab sometimes.

Sneaky: Yes liow loh! You are feeling your bb's movements! Congratulations!

Fresia: I've been having heratburn from day 1 of pregnancy.
V cham... until now I think I still feel full from last night's dinner... I drink peppermint tea (only peppermint, without any black tea leaves in them) and it helps me with the gas. My gynae gave me the go ahead with it. maybe you wanna try? I drink the Crabtree &amp; Evelyn one cos I think they're the only one with pure peppermint tea. The Lipton one seems a bit strange vos it turns a very dark colour after just a while of steeping.

Everyone: It's V V V V super HOT right???

Fresia,

TMC has a very good antenatel class package.. you can go online to have a look at it, or if you leave your email address, I can email you the package.. Briefly: $140-180 for 6 sessions 2 hours each..

Have finally clarified the NUH package.. It's after 20weeks pregnant, $130 for 8 sessions 2 hr each..

Can't decide on the NUH or TMC antenatel package.. Have heard that TMC offers one of the better antenatel packages around but my gynae is with NUH..

Have also checked about EPO, safety during pregnancy is unknown..so I'm not going to take it..

Morning ladies.

Yesterday went for NT scan.. everything is normal.. but the wait at the hospital is horrible.. was so drained out when i reached home.. my gynae advise eating ginger stuff eg ginger tea etc may help in the puking.. i have yet to try out..

Nuttnutts: Thanks. Its really helpful of you to post the info here
Like that means alot of food cannot eat. Practially everything leh,unless home cook food. But how to have home cook food when we are all working

Kris: It's very uncomfortable indeed. Can't eat much. Actually 1 whole day i only had 3 meals. Usually after taking lunch, i will be so full and dinner will have no appetite liao. Can have other flavour? Peppermint not nice leh...i tried the lipton's once and it taste horrible. I can't imagine this heartburn thingy will last till we give birth. boo.. hooo....

fushiastar: yes, pls email me [email protected]. Thanks.

Sneaky: It's so wonderful... can feel the movement liao

Kuririn: Glad that all's ok for the scan
But don't take too much ginger.. will cause jaundice.

I noticed my stomach much smaller today leh...dunno issit bb become smaller? haw haw haw..? Me very worried
... ? Anyone of u experienced this?

morning ladies!

im bac in action!

was on leave on fri den MC on mon n tues.. hee hee..

Celine ~ u looking for me arh.. hee hee.. abt my check up isit? bb so notti lar.. bouncing non stop.. legs open so big den dun wanna let us see.. gynae tried to view from the backside den bb turn the other way.. tian arh..

Mrs Tan ~ Gong Xi Gong Xi!!

breakbeats ~ yeah.. sometimes i oso feel tat certain days... stomach become so much smaller den i even told hb abt it.. haha..