(2005/10) Oct 2005 MTB???

Syl:
I also worried..scared that she not drinking enuff.. and since CM's girl also like this maybe its ok bah.. plus she is gaining weight not losing so should be fine bah.. I saw my cousin's girl who is a mth older than my girl.. super chubby.. and she is drinking 120ml now..

mybabydream:
my girl used to poo everyday but since 2 weeks ago she poo on alternate days.. and when she poo its really alot.. :p

Thanks Sneaky and San. I will get my yaolan soon. It has a hynotising effect on my son. My mother used to simulate the motion with her two hands. Now as the baby becomes heavier it is impossible to do it. I even sprained my wrist doing it while he was crying.

My babydream, I think this website's carrier is pretty attractive and glam http://store.iwantmilks.com/products/ .

Syl, I had the Indonesian massage 3 weeks after delivering. My massage lady used lemon grass oil for massage and she applied a jamu on my tummy b4 wrapping me up. The jamu is oily and has particles in it, like a scrub. A bit itchy at first, but it is bearable. I had ceserean, so I only wrap for 6-7 hours. The main discomfort for me this the perspiration and tight wrap.

Good morning everyone!

It's weekend again, although the weekdays and weekends make no difference to us (ha!) but at least our hubbies are around to help.

Have a good day ahead!

Hi Fiona,

I checked with Mrs Wong (from TMC parentcraft). She advised against medicine to stop milk flow as it is too sudden and will pose problem in breasts engorgement for next pregnancy. Better to do it progressively. She recommends abt two weeks to do it. Slowly introducing bottles and reducing the number of times of pumping or latching.

I am extending the hours now. Still experiencing drips of milk and its engorged easily. Hope by Jan, my milk flow can be weaned off successfully.

Honestly, I am very sad that I need to wean off so early and not able to give the "best" to my girl for longer period. Aye. But got to work and travel on biz trips, further more, may not be able to meet her demands in the coming months...

Guess I will spend more time with her after work everyday then.

fiona: my boy also drinking 120ml every 3 hourly. also thought of increasing because he cries after i pull out the bottle leh...but after a while of patting him to burp, he stops crying...wonder if this is a sign of not enough already....

SSL, so far the digital scales that I have come across are all 1 decimal only. Don't think there will be precise ones up to 2 decimals, but if I do come across, will let u know.

Hi Sweetie,
Thanks for your advice. My sis also advise me against taking medicine. Other than the prob u mentioned above, she added dat it's more difficult for us to lactate during nx pregnancy and the breast will reduce to a size smaller than the pre-pregnancy size. Gosh.

I am slowing reducing the no. of times i latch my girl and pump. I used to pump every 5hrs, then increase to 7hrs, then to 10hrs. Yest i try to pump twice per day...hmm breast really engorged like mad...

I am also quite sad to wean off so soon.I can't stop feeling 'irresponsible' as a mother. But glad that my hubby is encouraging enuf to have reminded me dat i have done many more 'other things' to show my reposibilities as a good mother. hmmm...since FM is model after BM, I guess it's fine to let them drink FM too bah.

I think once i stop bfing i will miss the good moments when i latch my girl.

Sneaky,
How heavy is ur boy now?

Finally bought a yaolan for my boy. Gosh, it is really amazing. I have never seen him falling asleep so fast. I am going to have an easier time from today onwards. hee hee...

Hi Sneaky,
I think my girl weighs approx 6kg. I won't know her weight until 28th Sept when i bring her for her vaccination. My hb weighs himself while carrying bb Genevieve and minus off his own wt. to get Gen's wt.

me got sore nipple on my left breast. can see my nipple abit broken skin and there seems to have a small hole with little blood.*SIGH* now not latching my gal on my left breast. am applying purelan now. can i feed my gal the ebm from my left breast in this condition or do i have to throw away the ebm?

mummyjan: congrats!!! enjoy your yaolan ah...your bb shd be able to slp longer too!!!

fiona: oic...shd be DEC not SEP, my dear...mine's a guess too. wah....your girl's really heavy eh....maybe also around there...my next visit to PD is mid Jan 06. only then will i know my boy's actual weight...

adel & ling: i've just switched to Nan 1HA leh...hopefully, his pimples will clear, have better poot poot system (everyday must poot) and not throw out milk after his feed..

ya, my girl is big. Strange, both my hb and I are small size, dunno why she's so 'fat'!haha

Any mummies gng back to work soon? Who will be taking care of your bb? Can't bear to leave our bb and go to work hor?

Sneaky

Pd say not necessary for bbs to poo everyday de.. just went for 3th mth jab today.. Alden is 7.5kg and 65cm..

Fiona

I just started work last monday.. ok la. not so bad lor.. my mum comes over to stay on weekedays lor.. nite time pass to her liao.. i sleep all the while till 6.30am wake up to pump. Have to prepare lots of photos with u in the office lor

fiona, your baby is big...i think fun's alden is even bigger leh...7.5kg already...how to carry ah???

as for work, i'm going back on 19th. i also can't bear to leave bb leh. so far, my longest record of leaving my bb is around 5 hrs. i already bueh tahan miss bb like mad...i think i'll think of him every hour and every minute...i'm leaving him to my maid. my MIL is home 60% of the time, so at least there's someone to "jaga" the maid.

fun: no need to poo everyday meh? hmmm...how long poo once is best ah? i'm feeding him 70% EBM & 30% FM.

For those of u returning back to work in Jan, have u already stopped latching bb? I've been mainly bottle feeding EBM. How long before going back to work should we reduce the latching and how many times per day?

Syl

I still let Alden latch on still eventho i already went back to work. I will let him if he looks cranky in betweet his feeds during evening time lor... like for comfort like that lor.. the feeling of him latching on is still so nice.. i wouldnt wana let it go completely

Sneaky,
I understand how u feel. Last week I went Taipei with my hb. I left my bb with my trusted mother. Thot i can make use of the trip to recharge my energy but on the very first nite, i started crying. I cried everyday there. I went straight to my mum's place the moment i reach singappore at midnite.

fun: oh, is that so?? i changed milk once already. his 1st FM was Enfalac A+ but he did not poo everyday. his longest was 4 days after administering Babylax. i was concerned and PD suggested for me to chg to Similac and i did.

i mixed half Similac & half Nan 1HA last night for 2 feeds. i noticed there's no bubbles while bb's drinking. the best part was he did not throw out. so my guess of him throwing out milk after almost every feed previously was bcos of the bubbles that cause bloatedness. the bad thing is....he's hungry faster. he used to wake up once a night. last night, he woke up twice 4 hourly...

fiona: i think i will cry too....
like you, i will rush home as soon as i finish my work manz...no more shopping or loitering around after work from now on..keke

sneaky: u changed to nan 1 HA.. yea.. baby gets hungrier easily.. and.. i think my Brent still cannot take NAN1.. sigh.. gotta change again.. maybe.. to s26? any one feeding this brand of FM? mm.. he has been driving everyone nuts for the past two days.. then i brought him back.. managed to pacify him by talking to him at his ear.. surprisingly he listened.. and went to sleep.. slept for 3 hours.. woke up.. drank milk and went back to sleep.. sigh..
so i thought maybe its coz my bm.. tts causing the pain.. but i gave him full FM.. he still got diarrhea leh..argrg..
somemore hb going for biz trip later...dunno how to survive till fri..

Hi Adel,

nan should be okie what....If your bb got diarrhea, doc will advise u to change to soya milk.

My bb is drinking Mamex. If u wan, u can try....Not bad which I can say..Ppl commented S26 very hot one, ur bb may get constipation easily...

Sneaky and Fiona,

I also same as u all. My mum is hospitalise and left my bb with my hb. The moment i am on the train, I started to think of my gal liao...I wonder how if I am back to work?

Sneaky, U gone back to work liao har?

Seldom login nowadays coz buz working ...
Me intending to switch Enfalac A+ to Friso but how shd I switch over? Gradually or completely?
Any advice & implication on switching FM?

Adel: S26 is too heaty. but i guess its differ from one bb to another. bb hungry tts normal, cos they are growing.. i am gng to increase to 100ml for my girl soon. and my fridge on the 1st level like gng to run out of space.

nutts: thinking of ur girl on train? got tt "tingling" feeling on breast?"

i was working last nite, after the cruise embark at the habourfront, i thought of my girl , whether my HB can handle her if she is crying while he drives. and tt sudden tingling feeling strike... she was quiet during first half of the journey and started crying with tears after past Alexandra... poor girl... i bet she was hungry n fed her... wah. never see her so hungry manz.

i went Kiddy palace in Jurong Pt just now and saw the bumbo seat on offer. 79.90 only.. grab first think later. kekeke... bb can sit after 3mths. my girl has another mth to go .. kekeke

adel: brent got diarrhea? how u know? i bet u will survive when Adrian is not ard. both pen and me ard to support u.. jia you.

for the past week, my girl had been sleeping very late ard 3am.. had been keeping her awake since 3 to 4pm onwards.. but duno why she dun want to sleep even though she is very tired cos she keep yawning.. at times if she fall asleep but the moment we put her back to her cot she will wake up.. then we have to start all over again to pat her to sleep.. what can I do to adjust her.. I really duno what to do liao.. I really cannot take it liao.. broke down twice because of this..

san: dun cry...
i know we tend to worry at times too or rather too tired...
mmm.. try to let bb sleep face down n u monitor from there.. bbs tend to sleep longer n better!.. sometimes u jus got to try different methods.. instead of using pillow, use nappy to rest her head on..
hope this helps.. unless she is a screaming bb like my son.. sigh.. sigh.. sigh..

ling: i hope so lor.. m sending hb to the airport then home akone with Brent.. *sob*

adel:
I already let her sleep on her tummy liao.. and yes she sleep better on her tummy.. night time we let her sleep on her tummy.. like this morning she slept at 3am plus and only woke up at 8am for milk..
we tried to ignore her if she only make noises.. but her noises will become screaming.. there was once we let her cry until her voice "sa ya" very heartache so picked her up..

oh ya.. today took half day off from baby sitting.. ask hubby to look after baby and then me went to far east plaza do rebonding.. haha.. feel good finally can go to town.. went with my sister in law.. but worry that hubby cannot handle keep sms him.. hehe

Has anyone tried Friso? Seems like most of you are using NAN, Enfalac or Similac. I have a big tin of Friso which was given to me, but I haven't used it yet. Anyone with any feedback on how Friso is?

Are ur babies still drinking every 3 hours? Mine still is. I thought they would be drinking more and the interval between feeds would be longer, but it seems to be still the same for mine leh..

San,

Take heart, I haven't even had time to go for my haircut yet. My baby has been crying a lot as well; hopefuuly this phase will pass.

Syl: mm.. my bb was drinking friso during the first few days in the hospital coz he was on the smaller side.. so gynae ordered.. milk intake for him..
but i would say its not bad actually.. he didn't decrease much weight.. (suppose to have some reduction in weight) not bad.. can try..
but i went on to try enfalac.. similac.. and nan.. now trying s26.. if all really cannot.. then think i will go back to friso..

san: good lah.. let her sleep on her tummy.. jus watch over her..

sneaky: sigh.. i left my bb with my pils.. today.. and they bought pacifier!!!!!! i almost flipped when i saw them giving Brent pacifier at the airport.. but again.. i think this is the last resort lor.. apparently.. he likes it leh.. mm.. (mil says if next time.. teeth not nice, she sponser him to make braces) hiak hiak.. she better do!

san

can try to put bb in a dim room after feeding at 7+/8+ with the door ajar so you can hear in case bb cry. I keep the house quiet, tell bb softly it's nite time and to go to bed, play tomorrow, pat her chest, kiss her forehead and say gdnite and leave the room, like a routine. Pasted some cartoon stuff on the wall for her to see in the dim light if she's still not sleepy. Somehow it works for me after few attempts. She will stare at the pics on the wall for a while then sleep.

mummies who are pumping
have been pumping 3hrly. want to try to extend the time in between pumps from now in between and sleep thru the nite when I return to work but will affect supply? Breast won't feel like wana explode?

adel: actually hor, how you define diarrhea? my boy's poot also watery what...today best...i thought he had finished his business. took 1 wet wipes to clean his badly stained backside. the moment i finished his anus, another round came and a lot of his poot splattered on my jeans skirt (we were preparing to go out liao). made me take shower again...you can can survive without adrian one lah...you have ling & me mah...hey, i bought the pram liao...can go gai gai with it leh...when's our next outing??? very few babies will refuse the pacifier lah...sometimes, i think the traditional way of handling babies is still better (e.g. sarong & pacifier). to be frank, i will give anything to my boy if he likes it...actually i was very against pacifier and sarong...but as i've mentioned, i've broken all my rules!!! fortuntely, sam doesn't really fancy the pacifier...keke...but i must say hor, he really loves to sleep in the "sling". just now he fussed a little at my mum's place...the moment i put him inside and at the count of 10, he fell asleep!!! cannot believe, right? especially when he was playing with my mum about 3 mins ago??? last night our family went for dinner at Ngee Ann City, he impressed all of them by sleeping from home and thereafter back home in the sling!!!

nuttnuts: i'm going back to work next monday (19th)...i think i will have the pins & needles feel at my nipples if i start thinking of my bb...

sneaky: ooo..i realise tt by going onto nan.. the stools will be a bit watery.. if there's no side effects.. think should be ok..
mine's like.. all watery.. got a shock whenever i clean his poo.. sometimes.. its semi.. lo.. and he poos like.. erm.. 3-4 times a day stil leh.. well.. i stopped giving him bm for the time being.. so pumped and give to the dogs to drink.. no choice.. i was already achieving.. like 400ml a day le leh.. now got to stop and keep it monitored lor before my bm supply goes down again.. sigh..

we can start going out lo.. with ur new pram? haha.. i will be very free from tommorrow onwards till thur.. spend some time with me!!*hint hint to ling as well*

am gonna miss u.. and samuel.. when u go back to work.. *sob*

orchard over the weekend.. is bad!!!!! over packed!

sneaky: indeed i broke the rules of sarong n pacifer.. guess what. both i tried... nothing works for my little noti bb. almost flipped! i put her sarong she refused to sleep, give her pacifer, she just spit it out.. aiyo.. dunno wats wrong with her. wah. so fast wanna go out liaoz? kekkee.. me will be busy from thursday onwards.
working manz.. hai

today my hubby gng on leave... kekeke. he is doing his stuff during the day.. after 4pm i might be in shenton way for meeting.
we can meet at 5pm? kekek dinner? anyone? kekeke...

Adel,

Is it becuz of diahrroea that you are not giving BM to Brent? You can pump and store in the freezer. A pity to give to the dogs instead of to bb isn't it?

Whitefloral,

I usually pump 3 or 4 hourly in the day, but will not pump in the middle of the nite, too tiring. Last pump will be before I go to bed (say 10/11pm) and next pump will be around 6/7am. Of course breasts will be very full, but once you pump out all the milk the next morning, they become soft again. So far, it works for me, no engorgement yet.

adel: wah...400ml a day wor...keep it up...i wish i can be like you SAHM...i can at least maintain or increase my supply....haiz...gotta go back to work...am gonna miss my total freedom, shopping, high tea, chat chat, etc...as for orchard, i might go today to get some clothes, else i'll hv no time liao...hope it's not so crowded so that i can finish fast and spend more time with samuel...

ling: my boy sometimes also don't seem interested in pacifier. i ngeh ngeh hold it there and he will suck in no time...try it...

care to organise anthr gathering this week? i miss e 1st 1 as ther's a change in time, missed e 2nd 1 as i was in taipei. really want to mit up n share tips n support each othr.

Wah so many posts! How's everyone?

San: Bbs (and toddlers) are not like us adults who will sleep better if we're really tired out. Instead if we dun let them sleep when they want to and keep them awake thinking they'll sleep better and even thru the nite, we'll just end up having to cope with a fussy bb later on with v disturbed sleep. You see, when bbs are too tired/wired up they actually end up having trouble falling asleep and staying asleep. What you may want to try instead is to wake her up earlier in the morning and let all her naps start earlier. It'll take some days and even weeks or a couple of months to slowly alter a late sleeper's habit. But it WILL happen.

RE: MEDELA PUMP MEMBRANE

For those using the medela pump, may i know how often should i change the membrane?

adel,
wa, ur ss so good... envy u man..

brennan tends to wake up at night, feed for 5mins n goes back to sleep. always can only feed on one breast
is it normal har?

are your babies still regurgitating milk (be it fm or bm) mine will regurgitate bm sometimes after i try to switch from 1 breast to another. n i cant get any burp from him too in the wee hours feeding at times. hope he is not allergic to my milk.

ssl: wats the point? am giving to the dogs now..

maybe will start monitoring my diet.. and eat certain food.. then start giving bm again lor..

sleeping: yes.. i totally agree.. if bb is exhausted.. they will have problems in sleeping..when u really want them to..

outing: when do u all want it? ling! organizer!

SSL,

My baby also feeds for about 5 or 10 mins in the middle of the night and falls asleep. Most of the time, I only manage to feed on one breast. Maybe they don't need to drink very much in the night. If they're hungry, they'll definitely cry for milk. Mine regurgitates as well but it's usually when I bottle feed. It's very difficult to burp in the night when they're very sleepy, so I usually just put her back to sleep after 5-10 mins of trying to burp.

sneaky: orchard? Paragon?? kekkee.. after 5pm? cos i got meeting at Std Chart at 4pm. Adel called me.. asking me how.. waiting for ur reply, wan dinner?