(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

wendy...
i dun kno leh... i tried to be the same...
eat the same birdnest, try to see beautiful things etc. Hmm... i think I did not see cute baby poster as much as i did with #1. I thought I see Keyon everyday will do mah.

Must be some genes fr daddy... hahaha.

appletreejuz ...

u know that there is this saying ... if the #1 got the 'boy' look #2 will be boy whereas if the #1 got the 'gal' look #2 will be gal - deosnt matter if #1 is boy or gal heehee

so maybe thats accurate =)

Applejuz,

The cupcakes are so nice... thinking of giving tat for Teachers' Day pressies too...

Can I ask u do u know how long we can keep the cupcakes?... Meaning is it ok if i buy today, then give out to teachers tomorrow?
How long in advance do we need to place orders? Whom did u liaise with for the order?

seabreeze,
huh..when did I become appletreejuz... hahaha
ya, i heard the saying too. so if #2 got boy look, than my #3 will be boy again!... :p

hoshi5,
i ordered from Ms Ken Loo (HP:97632118) 1 wk in advance. Gotta self collect, they dun deliver.
Personnally, the cupcakes still tastes nice the next day, cos i bot extra for home.

Btw, they oso have donuts in same packaging.
Here's the addr of the shop:
Beccarino
Blk 1, Tg Pagar Plaza, #01-56

seabreeze ah... ur theory not accurate leh. my #1 got 'gal' look cos eyes big big one. but #2 still boy.... but if #2 subscribe to ur theory i die liao cos #2 got 'boy' look!!! then i'm stuck in a family of 4 men!!!!

prissy, vone,
yup i let him have the bottle when i'm outside cos not comforatble BF in public places & so ley chey. so fast wanna wean liao ah?? he's just 2mths leh but of course me going back to work soon lah... haiz today no choice lor whole day pump out & give it to him in btl.

ojx - if you going back to work, means bb three months old, then maybe it's good time you pump and feed through bottle liau. maybe bb smart, don't want to stress you by weaning himself first. continue to bf him, good leh. My sis bf by bottle in the afternoon and breast at night for 10 months. So glad, my tot, Jed, toilet trained liau. Took one week only. I just took away his diapers and told him if he wants to wee, tell me. His bro show him what is a wee, haha! Of course he got himself wet in the beginning, then dripping around also, but later he started to realise it's a wee and inform us. I can't be bothered to toilet train them when very young. I started only when he's 22 months old. Lazy mummy here.

prissy
only a week! dat's very fortunate for u.. for months my boy has been on training pants for a few hrs a day, & we remind him all the time to tell us when he wants to pee. Even been watching clock and inviting him to toilet to pee, but he says "dowan!", then 5min later pee in his pants.

i hv a feeling it's my parents' method not effective, but they too one-track mind to figure it out. And they dowan to mess up the place with pee all over, so every 15min keep bringing him to pee. They think their method is right lor. What to do, i only get to spend weekends with him, and most times we're out. And i dowan to mess up my relatives' homes, so he wears diapers.

i think worst comes to worst, i gotto spend $ on diapers for another year.. most books say by 3YO, kids will toilet train by themselves.

applejuz
then after birth ley? Did u follow same feeding/ pumping schedule as u did with keyon? Confinement lady etc?

hey triniti
today @ orchard i saw a skinny mum with a preg tummy, wonder if it was u? 3pm, waiting to cross road from Paragon to Taka.

prissy, quite envious of your toilet training experience! until v recently, zephan could not/does not tell us when he poo pooed. now he will usually inform us, though it's after done deal. for peeing, we will usually put him on the toddler toilet seat that u can place on the toilet bowl at night before he goes to bed, and in the morning after he wakes up. think he's beginning to get the idea slowly, though he's sometimes impatient to get down quickly. planning to get the school to toilet train him soon as well.

wendyg
hehe yeah I think so...but that might also be other skinny mums with a preg tummy...I was wearing a light blue spag top with a cream coloured 1/4 pants and my hair tied up.

toilet training
I think if we want to train our tods to be toilet trained, we as parents have to be prepared too. Now anton will say pee pee and poo poo only after he has done one. He would say, " poo poo" then drag me to the toilet and says," poo poo, wash" I dun think I have the energy to train him now considering I am 33 weeks preggie...but after bb is born about 2 mths after, I will have more energy to do it. I think once they can communicate and can control their rectal muscles and bladder...then it is much easier. Apparently boys take a much longer time than girls to be fully toilet trained.

applejuz ...

hahahahaha pai seh cos my email is appletree mar so must have typed too fast liao heehee

the cupcake very pretty and quite reasonable hor the price - for that type of packaging. how long in advance must i place order? you tied the ribbon yourself?

re: toilet training

yc will tell us tt he want to poo poo when he feels like it ... bring us to the toilet and point to his toilet seat but sometimes kanna con cos he just wan to sit there and play with the toilet roll *faint*

thanks all for the toilet training tips. think will try prissy's mtd when i have the time.... cos really must clean up after him one right? i dun think i will have the energy with 2 kids....

seabreeze
when isaac wants to play with toilet roll, he will say "Mama go away", coz normally i will sit outside toilet and talk to him while he poos.
Sometimes after lights out at night, he will say "da bian" and insist on going toilet, but so many times it's coz he wants to delay bedtime.

triniti
it's u la, u were resting your butt on the stone block by the roadside looking very hot & bothered.

zephan can now "feel" pee coming out. he refers to it as "wet wet", though the expression refers to a heavy diaper as well. so must follow up with question whether he wants to pee pee. i'm already v happy that he can succeed in peeing in the toilet bowl once in a while.. haha.. and he's thrilled to be able to flush the toilet bowl n wash his hands after that!

ojx,
if u give him d btl oledi, then i tink he might b used 2 it liao. tt's y he dun wan ur breast. coz sucking fr d btl is much easier. nvm, dun b 2 upset k. tink of d good pts. since u r gg back 2 wk, it might b a good idea 2 wean him off oledi.

ting,
my boy aso refers 2 pee as wet wet. wat a concidence. hehe...

anissa still in 1st trimester la..

nxt up are aidanee & triniti..
sistas, this time we take turns 1 by 1 ok?
last time all cheong give birth together. hahaha

vone thanks for the encouragement. i manage to latch him once in the middle of the nite when he's goggy & sleepy

went to pd yesterday & she say maybe cos he got stuffy nose caught from elder bro so maybe more difficult to suck for him. somemore he did not poo for 8 days so had to put the medicine in he's butt. doc say could be my diet not enough fruits & vege...

reason why i wanna latch cos it's much easier cos i can lie down & rest & dun have to wash btls & stuff. guess i will just pump when i have the energy & time & gradually stop lor

hm... do i sound like a lazy mummy here
only have time then pump & toilet train.... keke... i alot of things also short-cut one

skippy,
kyrell is so cute... share ur birth story leh...

ojx,
ic. if tt's d case, then u prob hv 2 cure his stuffy nose 1st.

wa skippy, u good ley! 1st time with ernest u also chose to stay in the suite? What is it called anyway.

your #2 is also gonna be a lady killer.. look at him! Got boy's look ley

wah skippy, u r v cool for someone who just gave birth! i didn't even felt like taking pics when i gave birth to zephan..

vone, is it? such a coincidence! i'm just happy that he can understand me in his own way

btw, anyone's kiddo wears training pants in childcare centre? planning for zephan to wear that but dunno if it'll be too troublesome for the teachers.

also, now i have to provide a plastic bag to contain zephan's dirty clothes everyday. am thinking of getting a cheap washable bag instead so that we dun need to use so many plastic bags.. be environmentally friendly mah.. any suggestions?

wendy,
after birth, not as persistent to BFg this time...
But still will try as much as possible, if not enough, then use FM while i pump to stimulate.
Maybe more experience & not too stressed, tis time, I got more BM...:p

My mum doing confinement for me... but 1st wk of my confinement,
my gandpa passaway, so i'm on my own... luckily hubby on leave.

triniti,
err... after baby born, energy will be lesser leh...
Now, i'm still finding my energy to start training Keyon.

Seabreeze,
Ya.. we DIY the card & the ribbons.. then stapler on it..

we cheapo.. dun wan spend too much.. hee hee...

Skippy,
so fast.. u delivered! COngrats!!
Wow.. Baby Kyrell is Big at 3.5kg! So fair & Chubby

wendy...
haha...think my memory getting worse...esplly after 2nd pregnancy.. 1st time suite was free 1 nite given by TMC...now tis time round gotta pay..haha...actually we want deluxe single...but all full house ..so no choice lor...anw...dun care lah, since i decided to close shop after 2nd..myself stay in a better suite...haha..

aidanee...
wru? gave birth already?

vone,
hhaha..my labor very fast...only 2-3hours...then popped!

tingting,
my hub wanna take...not me...i look so terrible..who want to take picz during tis time...

triniti,
sorry...last nite got things to do...i meet up wit u other day...or when u free? u let me know we arrange again...

skippy
i still remember my pix the day after i popped.. my nose still so HUGE, ugly like dunno what. I told husband to take pix of baby, dun take meeee
aidanee c-sect 6 sept.

eh, how u get free 1 night in TMC suite? U complain big time issit? Or u know some big shot? kekeke

applejuz,
same as u!!! i dun feel like BF too...3rd dae came back hosp, i got bad engorgement,till my nipples bleeds!!!! now much better...but i dun need to pump..not much BM ler...not like 1st time..."free flow"

didnt expect Kyrell to be 3.5kg too. he was born at 37weeks + same as ernest.. during my last check up at 36wks, Kyrell only 2.9kg...

after discharged from hosp, he lost weight at 3.3kg...but now 3.6kg... haha..dunno why..

wendy,
haha..my edd is 6 sept too..but Kyrell chose to come out early...

haha...no lah, we did some modellin for their annual reports and magazine.."mama baobei" , so is like a complimentary for us lor...

Wa your lobang v good hor.... got any to recommend anot??
i thot it was ixwong's husband who's v good at these kind of magazine covers etc.. everytime feature haowen on the cover...

no lah...it was mrs wong from TMC who approached us...maybe she see my hubby not bad looking ..(haha.thick skin) ..so she asked us to be their models...

wah u good la!!!! got softcopy? Upload for us to beo ley
i'm also great fan of Mrs Wong, but she din ask me ley. Maybe coz she see my nose so huge and ugly, scared liao. haahahahahaha

wendyg
oh hehe yeah then its me ... hehe was shopping in tangs and then to taka fair after being shot aeroplane by Skippy hee.

applejuz
So I said I am going to wait for 2 mths after the bb is born. My maid will help me in this hee Now he poos in the toilet bowl most of the time. I am not going to be too hard on myself on this so when he is ready, he will 'self-train' hehe

Skippy
Its ok..I am also going to be quite busy for the next few weeks cos we are in the process of buying a house but not confirmed yet...soo..also dunno when can visit u

triniti
i got a knack of spotting u huh.. on TV, in Orchard etc.. u watch your back ok. never know when i'm watching u. hiak hiak.
how much weight did u say u gained? your tummy looks a good weight, but the rest of u still skinny like b4...

wendyg
yeah man..u so scary...are u sure u are not stalking me???? hehe
My pre-preg weight was 49.5. Last weight at 31 weeks plus was 54.2kg...and my bb was 1.9kg
so I gained in total close to 5kg. So from now about 7 weeks before EDD but doc said might come out a week earlier...hopefully not too big since I am planning to go without epi this time

i stalk u for what, no one paying me.. unless your husband wanna pay me then i consider la. kekekek
u disgusting la, all the weight went to baby "A" and placenta & amnio fluid... nothing left for u!!!

wendyg
So thats why just now I ate like 9 seeds of mao shan wang, hoping to gain more weight myself. Cos the other time, after giving birth to Anton, I lost 5 kg...didn't know that the placenta, amniotic fluid weighs so much and Anton was 3.28 so the 'stuff' weighs 1.82kg

triniti
envy! i love slightly bitter durian, but only eat once a year. becomes a real treat

does anyone's kid scream/ cry in the middle of the night, in his sleep? Isaac does that almost every night, sometimes 2-3 times a night. I dun think he wakes up, coz if he's awake he'll talk, eg "mama help".
Very tempting to just leave him to settle back to sleep, but husband will rush in immed when there's a sound, coz he says if isaac cries too long he'll wake up & in the end more difficult to get him back to sleep.
Could there be nightmares every night? The only TV he watches are some educational toddler progs, commercials & boring news where he looks out for cars, aeroplanes etc. He doesn't hv any scary storybooks with big bad wolves or scarey pics. Heck, i dun even teach him Rock A Bye Baby nor Humpty Dumpty coz they fall & break & can't be repaired.
My parents are the main caregivers, they spoil him too much, so i dun think he's getting bad dreams of them beating him or what. And they're too old & move too slowly - playtime is very toned down. He goes downstairs playground once or twice a day and walks a lot. My dad keeps him close so that he doesn't get bullied by the bigger kids or frightened by barking dogs or charging bicycles.

the only person i can think of that he may b afraid of is my husband, coz husband has no patience with naughty boys. He says he hears my parents using him to get isaac to comply eg "see, papa is coming, quickly finish your food".
If Isaac does get beaten, we will explain to him why it happened, & he will acknowledge that it's bcoz he was a naughty boy & promise to be a good boy. And there'll be hugs & kisses. So far no cane in the house, we only use our hands & slap once on his fat thighs everytime he's naughty.

any ideas....? 2+ yrs liao, we seldom get a peaceful night's sleep.

How to know if it's a nightmare
Unless your toddler can tell you in words something that suggests she had a nightmare, it's hard to know just what caused her nighttime distress.

There are many possible reasons a toddler might awake at night and be upset. Some may wake and crave comforting because they've never learned to soothe themselves back to sleep on their own. Some children awake because they're ill or uncomfortable. But if your usual "good sleeper" suddenly wakes up crying, seems scared, and is clingy and has trouble getting back to sleep, she may in fact have had a nightmare. Usually it happens during the second half of the night, when dreaming is most likely to occur.

Nightmares shouldn't be confused with night terrors, a less common sleep disturbance that normally strikes during the first third of the night. Children having a night-terror episode remain fast asleep throughout, in a deep, nondreaming state, yet they're extremely agitated and hard to console. Afterward, they go back to snoozing soundly and don't remember the incident in the morning.

Why nightmares happen
Your toddler's nightmares are most likely linked to something that happened just before bed, like listening to a story that scared her or watching an upsetting show on TV.

Stress can also lead to nightmares. Bedtime itself can be a cause of stress, especially for a toddler who has separation anxiety. Being sick or being separated from a parent for a stretch of time can also be stressful for toddlers. How to help your toddler after a nightmare
Go to your toddler when she cries out. Physical reassurance is important, so hold her or rub her back until she calms down. You may also want to make sure her favorite stuffed animal or toy is tucked in with her and double-check that the night-light is on. If you bring your toddler into your bed to comfort her, be aware you could be creating a habit that's hard to reverse.

Talk to her about the nightmare if she's old enough to understand what you're saying. But keep in mind that "it's only a dream" won't be much consolation, since at this age she doesn't grasp the difference between reality and dreams.

Preventing nightmares
It's certainly not foolproof, but a peaceful bedtime routine a warm bath, an upbeat story, a song, and a night-light can help ward off nightmares. Try reading bedtime books that link sleep with cozy, happy situations, such as Margaret Wise Brown's classic Goodnight Moon.

If the nightmares persist and your child is extremely afraid of going to bed, bring up the subject with her doctor the bad dreams might signal there's something going on in her waking life that needs addressing.

Hi wendyg, hope the above helps...so does he wake up when ur hubby goes in...? Cos there are a couple of times anton does that but when I went in, he was ok and wants to go out to the kitchen to have yogurt!!Thank God that was a long time ago. I think u can try to ignore him and see what happens. Sometimes, kids do that to get the attention from the adults and in fact, they are not traumatised from anything. But it sounds like your case is slightly different from mine..cos for my case, once I go in, he will wake up and not crying.

zephan also has these loud crying bouts since he was abt 20m old. i think he had nightmares cos he doesn't behave like the night terror situations. he is also awake when i went in. but he settles back quickly to sleep usually after a hug and assuring pats.

for zephan, he sounds different when he simply wants attention or when he doesnt feel good. for the latter, the cries are sharp n sudden.

wendyg, my son does tat too usually around 4 or 5+am.... we will give him milk then he will settle back quietly. but all the while he's asleep one. eyes nvr open one. could he be hungry & wants milk?

before he turned 2YO, i successfully managed to break his habit of drinking milk in the middle of the night. but his night screaming has been all along. If he DOES get hungry & want milk, he will ask me to make milk. If i give him milk without him asking for it, he wouldn't want to drink and will continue to scream.

tingting
sometimes his cries are sharp & sudden, sometimes just continuous low moaning. But all times, his eyes remain closed, even when we enter the room.

Skippy,
congrats!!!!!! your boy is sooooo adorable....He is huge!

Saw my gynae yesterday. I lost 1.2kg, so total wt gain now at 36 weeks is 10kg. Bb is only 2.6kg (put on 400g since the last checkup 2 weeks ago.) I dun think bb can hit 3kg this time at this rate he is growing. I cant rest enough cos Cayden has been waiting up in the night, either crying for me, or talking in his sleep. Last night i put him to bed next to me. At 4am, he woke up,, sat next to me, and pulled my hand. "go own room" I could not really catch him. Then i asked him," you want to sleep in your own room?" he replied," yes, cayden room." So i brought him back to his room and slept there with him. He tossed and turned but only slept at 6am! At 8am, i dragged him out of the bed for school. He was so grouchy. So was i!

Triniti,
I take mao shan wang every 2 weeks. I dun eat other type of durians cos since they are fattening, if want to eat, must eat the best. Not cheap. Every damage is about $40 for 2 durians.

Pottytrainig
we tried for 2 days. My mom n maid gave up cos when he said cayden wee wee, he wee in 3 secs.no time to react. but he poo in potty lah. anyway, i will re start only after giving birth. No energy liao....want to "enjoy" my last leg of pregnancy.

aidanee
re: reaction time
we tell isaac to "STOP!" then rush him to the loo. Sometimes he will say "da bian" during mealtimes, i'll tell him to WAIT until after he finishes his makan then we'll da bian in the toilet. Most times ok for the poo.