(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

prissy,

believe wendy's son received a lot of parental/grandparental stimulation since young. i suppose a lot of talking/singing to them helps. but kids do catch up on their own usually. mine started talking pretty late, but picked up quite fast. though now i have to contend with constant "dowans" and "nos" in almost every conversation with him! :p

happy birthday to the kiddos!

Hi Prissy,
u r not alone... my boy oso still talking baby language.
Haiz, turning 2 soon & still can't express himself

Cakey,
So far, mei mei is behaving well.. eat sleep eat sleep.
My BM supply has not met her demand, so usu latch & give FM.
Keyon appears to attract attention by cryin if he can't get
something/or if we sounded harsh. Hmm... think some signs of jealousy.
BUt overall, he's quite ok. Everyday, when he come's back fr his CC,
he'll climb his sister cot & greet/sayang her. :p
We even let him try feed 'mei mei' water. He loves it!!

Boys & Gals,
Auntie applejuz wanna wish u all Happy 2nd Birthday!!

thanks tingting & applejuz! think i will go for the cheaper option of scotch tape
my cc only allow 2 days sit-in & only for like 1 to 2 hours then she say the teachers will chase u out liao...

applejuz u juz give birth right? congrats!! envy u leh 1 boy 1 gal. i also had no2 in jun but also boy lah. 2 boys!! so had to send the elder one to cc b4 my maternity leave is up. my parents cannot cope with 2... haiz i worried my son will not eat enough cos he's a fussy eater. at home when he fuss, we r here to make sure he finish he's porridge & milk, in cc i dun think got tat kind of attention. hopefully peer pressure will help

prissy, my boy was taken care by my parents & they talk alot to him & my mum sing alot of songs to him since young. (singing was to make him sleep). also my dad bought alot of singalong vcds to go with he's porridge (not a very healthy habit but no choice cos very difficult to make him eat) so my boy pick up he's language & sentences on the way lor

also he attends weekly kindermusik lessons. not sure if tat helps but we let him attend cos he was a super shy boy. now he's slightly batter liao & we stop the lessons liao cos he's going to cc

ojx,
u can always try no.3 for gal..:p
me too leh, my mum cannot cope wif 2, so had to send ds to cc.
I also worried he dun eat enough, tat's y send him half day 1st.
At least lunch not full, we can still give him milk in the afternoon. :p
But then gotta extend to full day once i go back to work.

tingting, applejuz
yes yes, the 'dowans', 'iwan' and 'nos'...the rest (sigh) - trying hard to catch what's he's trying to say.

ojx - thanks for the info. Btw, how about letting your tot take Appleton with Lysine - Lysine improves appetite. To me, talking to babies can be challenging, I mean no response from them, so I don't know how to continue, what else to say! My little one also needs to watch vcds inorder to eat properly. Now I try using magazines with babies pics to catch his attention and feed him, so cut one session of tv-watching. Doesn't work everytime though. Ya, maybe got to attend some class since I am not consistent in teaching him. Paisay, mummy lazy lah.

applejuz,,, hm... no3?? i actually ask my gynae can guarantee gal or not leh :p but apparently no such thing one... no 100% one...

prissy did u try Appleton & did it really improve appetite? i saw the advert but was skeptical....

i also got nothing much to talk to bbs one. now the older one can respond to me i know how to talk to him. my 2mth bb i also dunno how to talk
but will bring him to my parents & they will do the talking
amazing at wat they can talk to him manz!!!

ojx
the only guaranteed way to get a girl for #3 is to adopt.. dat's what my sis intends to do if she wants a #3..

re: 2YO talking..
this is what i did that may hv contributed..
- daily dose of DHA capsule during pregnancy
- classical music during pregnancy (dunno extent of this effect)
- TBF 5.5m - no water, no barley, no juice etc
- tried to persist with BF for as long as i could, only lasted 10.5m - couldn't tahan the pumping anymore..
- flashcards since 2m until 1YO.
- no/ minimum TV as much as we can help it, but sometimes my dad sabotages coz he's too tired la.
- regular time and place for naps and bedtime

Anyways he was pretty late in walking - abt 15m. So the idea is that those late in walking will talk earlier, and vice versa. It's just a matter of which skills develop first - language or motor.

He's so funny, on Saturday morning he saw a guitar in our living room. He asked me "What's that". I told him it's a guitar. Then he said "Ask Papa to repair the Mari". I asked him several times "What's Mari". Then finally he went to the window, pointed to the flats opposite that displayed the National Flag.. "Mari Kita", so this is a "Guitar", so the "Mari" is missing, Papa has to repair.

*sighhhhhh*

Mari Kita.....hahaha so cute, so clever, so funny!

2YO talking - yap, took dha, tbf till 15 months, patial till 19 months, that time bb don't want anymore, in the end like i force him to the breast, joke man - others difficult to wean off, this one mother forcing to breast! flashcards, yes, but not consistent lor.

My daughter taking appeton because she's so small for her age, so one friend told me her niece took and eat until pui pui, so i trying now. have not finished one bottle yet, will feedback later here! I thot no harm trying since it's just multivit.

how to get girl - i tried this way for girl or boy, yap they turn out as i expected. no 100% but raised the chance though. my sis in law tried it, got a girl after three sons. So I'm sharing here...game enough go try but don't blame me if it turns out otherwise, ok! Know your mens period. If it is 32 days, then your ovulation will be around 16th day after your menses. If you do around this period, sure boy cos egg is already there and the boy sperm swim fast and hook on it! Must get the girl sperm (slow but live longer), so egg must not be there first. So must do about 5 days before the 16th day. I do like 6 and 3 days before 16th day. Basically, let the girl sperm stay inside before the egg comes out. If you suay, egg comes out early, then boy lor. Oh, check your discharge, very sticky and stretchy, you are ovulating, if you want boy, do it that time! Sorry huh, such long post....got to go!

re: 2YO talking
my gal also talks early and she speaks almost like an adult now! (with lots of singlish even! eg. dun wan lar.., have lar.. cannot leh... *argg...*) My relative commented she talks like an old lady....
She talks for nearly 2hours when reach home after her birthday party yesterday instead of napping hehe...
Btw. I didn't do almost all the things wendyg did leh... In fact I din do anything... But now that she enjoy talking and singing, I began to teach her songs and chinese poems which she enjoy alot

I believe it's the environment that is impt for simulating the kid to speak. Found that she learnt mostly though conversation among adults...

Actually I'm not too sure is it really necessary for kid to speak so early... cos I believe they will eventually catch up... The most impt is to enjoy themselves and be happy

yeah, abt 5YO everything will even out. So no worries lor.

Cakey
aiyo my dad teaching him how to sing old songs like Ali-shan's Gu-Niang.. and Isaac can sing along too.. *pengz*
Dunno to be shocked, horrified or amused..
And he easily repeats after what we say.. eg "Oh my goodness!" so we say bad things, he may also pickup.. so i gotto correct all my relatives language... eg "Stupid!"

wendyg ur boy so cute!!! associate kita with guitar!!!

my boy also likes to parrot watever adults say so must be careful of wat we say in front of him. but sometimes i forgot lah then he pick up "shit" & "alamak" keke....

prissy my gyane also told me this theory but not 100% lor.... me still thinking of 100% mtd cos dun wan to have too many kids
& i dun wan to be the only female in the household either

re: talking

i sort of agree with wendy's observation that kid tend to develop faster in one aspect ie motor or verbal and yc's one is motor lor he can climb almost anything *faint*

i always tell my hubby that he is likely to be a scholar at gymboree but go to GUG - fail hahahahaha

so i guess dun have to worry lar =)

hi seabreeze,
ya agree to that as well... i think my girl is the opposite... can't even throw/roll a ball properly yet... Also she's try to learn to jump but unable to ... could only bent her knee up and down while shouting 'jump jump' haha... I think her 5mth old brother is doing 'jumping' better than her...
Hmm... maybe I should bring her to gymboree instead? haha...

cakey ...

think boy and gal oso different lar

sometimes i am really amazed with yc's motor skill too ... he can run, jump, kick ball with both legs, and now he is learning how to bounce the ball hahahaha

but when it comes to verbal ... got to force the word from his mouth but his 'n' and 'l' is really terrible ... he refuse to stick his tounge so when he says 'n' - its the same sound as 'm'and his 'light' is 'white' *faint*

re: talking and motor development
I really think the late talkers ( ie like my son who only to start really talking and saying things I understand only after 21 mths) already understood what we are saying, just that production of the language is much later. Now(coming to 2) Anton can talk in even short sentences. Like Anton is a good boy and call daddy, bicuit please, barney please etc. Now he is good at labelling like when he sees an animal, he will imitate the sound and say the name of the animal. He is also showing good social skills like saying, please to what he wants and thank you when he gets what he gets without me cueing like Thank you auntie/uncle ( yeah even to the waiters and waitresses).His physical development is now on par with his language development ie he can kick and throw/overhead throwthe ball but dun really jump on the spot but he can jump on a trampoline holding the handle. He can even turn on the tv, and then the DVD player, press the 'open/close' to the DVD slot to put in the disc, close the disc and press 'play' when he sees the menu on the DVD player just by remembering what I did before. Even household cleaning stuff, he also know which one to take to clean the toilets before the maid can put it in the basket ( they are like 4-5 different kinds of cleaning stuff and he chose the correct ones in the cabinet). Children really have an amazing memory.

So its really weird how the children develop and eventually they will really catch up and totally amaze you

cakey
isaac can't jump yet.. i think he's scared of falling coz both feet gotto lift off the ground.. we ask him to jump fr 1 hula hoop to another, he will bounce vigorously then step over. hahaha.

seabreeze
i read somewhere that at this age, it's ok if they mispronounce words & we dun need to correct their pronounciation. Isaac's pronounciation is less than perfect, but when i repeat after him, i say it correctly & hope after repetition he will pickup. Eg when he prays, he's supposed end with "In Jesus' name", but he says "In Nee Name". I think his "light" is "right"...

Wendyg - I really laugh till pengz imaging a little tot singing Ali-shan's Gu-Niang, your little Issac very amusing. Ya hor, we can sing any song to the kids, why limit to kids nursery rhyme only, which I got to learn and memorise...sigh...like that no joy. Thanks, everyone for sharing....Glad to be on this thread....I'm going to sing ah mei's song and stand up for singapore to him liau.

prissy
try songs with lots of repetition, eg Isaac is better at "We Are Singapore" coz its chorus contains lots of repetition

triniti
yeah i think kids like to fiddle with technology.. but we dun let isaac touch the buttons! Coz he has a habit of turning the computer off by pressing the "On/Off" button on the CPU, rather than doing a proper shut down. And i just discovered he sent an MMS to an acquaintance when i was clearing my msgs this morning...

haha.. so nice to hear abt the devts of the kiddos! zephan didn't really speak till about 1/2 yr ago, but now he can say short sentences liao. read that if their pronounciation is off, dun make them correct it, but say the word to them in the correct tone so that they can learn. but zephan's getting lazy with words too.. he used to end prayers with "amen", but now, just "men".. haiz.. he's also beginning to recognise routes to places we usually go, e.g. grandparents' place, school, home.

re: gal/boy
used to be selective in gender in trying for #2. but after having no news for a while, decided that any gender is better than no kid! :p

wendyg
sigh, so now I dun let him come near to the comp. I know put it in my room. So he wun get to do that anymore. Alot of my letters in my keyboard has been taken out by him...but luckily managed to put it back.
The cellphone as usual, he will press anything and somehow he will call someone ( not in my list) or send some unknown message to someone in random. So the only thing that he can do it right is the DVD player and the TV. He will say "off" and will turn off the TV once he finished watching unless something distracted him and he will totally forgot about turning the TV off. I realised he is quite anal, he will tell u to close the door, turn off the lights and do things in order.But one sweet thing he will never fail to say when he goes for his naps and sleeping time is..night night mummy heeee

triniti
wow pluck buttons off your keyboard?! Dun let him teach isaac hor.. isaac will pluck out the keys then it'll disappear in his toy box... but not b4 tasting it first! *pengz*

talk abt fiddling with phones etc. Recently discovered some weird photos in my handphone with hands/legs, some dark/blurry images and with blur shots of my bedroom... Got a shock initially, later realise when my girl shouts 'pai zhao, pai zhao' while holding my hp she really meant it!
Luckily no one sees the photos on my hp else might thot I'm keeping some 'R' rated photos (blurry hands, legs) haha...

tingting,
you TTC? jia you
According to my hubby eatting meat will increase the change of boy while veg will increase the change of having girl... No guarantee but anyway that's what he did when TTC the 2nd one lar hehe..

cakey
haha dat's FUNNY. But at least taking photos with your hp is FOC.. my boy send MMS ley, $0.30 charge... argh.
who eat meat will affect gender - the daddy or mummy? My husband is 100% meat eater...

cakey, so i must get my hb to eat more veg? uphill task.. hehe... well, we're trying but not easy leh.. a bit envious of those who had "accidents".. :p

cakey,
my boy aso does tt. wat he does is tt he wld take my hp, take d photos & giggled 2 himself. when i hear tt, i noe tt he's taking photos liao.

ting,
dun b 2 stressed k. jus relax & njoy d process.

one day zephan took a pic of his foot with my hp.. looked quite well taken so i kept it! funnily, he was the one who showed me the short cut to camera mode! :p but nowadays i lock the keypads cos he used to send empty smses to my frens (or worse, dial 999!). but i kept him amused with the wallpaper. sometimes will take pics of his fav animals/cartoon characters i see around me.

vone, haha.. no lah no stress.. :p

my son also like to play with my hp. he used to call the first person on my phonebook so i had to create false no with false names like 'aaaa'

i wanna check another thing too. r ur kids toilet trained? or u let cc teachers train? my boy still not train & he will not say too

whichever....talk early, jump early, dun we wish they are a 4-5month old bbs who just sit in the rocker chair n smile at you! I am going crazy with the non-stop talking and whining and the climbing and the "monkeying"!

I try to stay positive....hope it does not get worse when bb arrives..........

Ting,
yeah, i rec a call from zephan before! well done!

And u know what, when it really happens, it does not really matter if it is a gal or boy cos they are god's gifts.....

these days seems harder to get gal leh...cos if one has to do before ovulation, then isnt it more difficult to strike cos the weaker sperm may not even survive to meet ovulation date???

aidanee ...

i think every stage is a different challenge lar for me anything is better compared to when he was in my tummy hahahahaha

vone & angel

guess what ... yc's fever disappeared suddenly after the outbreak of the rashes and the funny thing is ... the rash disappear completely by the end of the day.

oh just in case the rest are abit blur ... yc had fever which spike at the evening to as high as 39.2 for the last 1 week and a v bad cough. exactly 1 week later, rashes broke out and fever disappeared and now left with cough

my mum kept saying that its dengue though my PD just say that irs viral fever - then again dengue is a form of viral fever too.

seabreeze, believe for viral fever, rashes appear after fever subsides, but for dengue, both symptoms occur at the same time.

aidanee, haha, cos ur name starts with an "a" mah! like ojx i also created empty entries in the contacts list.

read reviews on the so-called methods of getting boy/gal but conclusion seems to be that no method has conclusive evidence on gender selection. :p

Yap, I feel getting girl more difficult. It's usually during ovulation when I (or we?) more interested to do 'it'. Yes, agreed, girl or boy - they are all God's wonderful creation and precious gift. He has a purpose for each of them/us. Sometimes, I'm just so glad I'm alive and enjoying his whole Creation - this beautiful world.

Seabreeze,
Tat seems to be the Roseola virus or some call it 'fake measles'
My gal also kenna it before. High fever hovering between 38 degrees to close to 40 degrees for abt 5 days, then small red rashes start appearing at the chin, back. Once the rashes start coming out, the fever will subside.
There's basically nothing we can do except give them more water to drink to 'flush' out the virus from their body.

Seabreeze,
Glad that Yc has recover.

re:phones
Haiz... talk abt phones...
result of letting our toddler play wif our HP = HP now under repair.
Think Keyon pressed too much until my HP 'blank screen'.. grrrr..

Gals, share w u Keyon's Birthday Celebration ytd.

Glad everything went on smoothly.

Cake at Childcare Ctr:
932401.jpg

Cupcakes distributed to his classmates:
932402.jpg

Home Party!! Keyon tryin hard to blow the candles:
932407.jpg

wow, the happiest are the kids la.

i just remembered... isaac once dunked my hp into a cup of water coz both items were placed on my bedside table. Maybe he wanted to see my hp swim... Thankfully could still save it after some emergency rescue effort. Now the cup of water is placed on a high shelf to ensure no more swimming incidents..

Hi wishes,
Thanx

Home party cake was ordered from Pine garden,
I emailed them for cake pix & flavor. ([email protected])
I choose Lychee Martini Flavor, sponge v delicious & soft ... but cream alot.

For CC, his teacher suggested 1.5kg. I got a 2kg one from Four Leaves.
So all the kids & teacher can eat.

Wendy,
hee.. ur HP waterproof huh.. :p

seabreeze,
Glad to hear that YC has recovered... so he's in time for his BigDay (BD)

appplejuz,
wow peifu you... in confinement yet can do celebration for keyon. He looks like a big kor kor now... Where do you get the crown? So cute!
I got the 4leaves cake last yr and PG cake this yr.. I think the 4leaves one taste better... maybe PG is good for their special flavour cake.

tingting,
Abt TTC for girl, not sure is it that both must take more vege leh... cos one of my vegetarian guy friend got a boy (his wife is non-vegetarian). But somehow most of the time it's quite accurate based on my survey so far haha...

cakey,
haha, maybe 2nd round confinement i more bo chap.
guess wat, i even went to Jurong Point to buy present & IMM to order the four leaves cake..hee hee...
The crown was from a shop in concourse. But its re-used fr last yr..:p
Ya, i also find the PG cake not as fantastic. Maybe my expectation was high after reading the good comments. But i agree the flavors are unique.

happy birthday to keyon!!!

applejuz where did u get the cupcakes? looks very nice as gifts but can the kids manage it? i mean the cc teacher will keep for them till their parents come & fetch them is it? the PG sesame street cake look very sweet.... but got alcohol? keyon cannot eat hor?

my 2mth boy started to refuse my breast since yesterday.... when i force into he's mouth he cried so hard like i'm forcing poison into him like tat. i dun understand manz... i mean he has been latching for so many weeks then suddenly dun wan liao... luckily he took the bottle with EBM.... anyone had similar experience? how to reintro the breast?

i nvr breasfeed my elder one so no experience lor

Applejuz - Happy Birthday to Keyon! Handsome hor, such big eyes.

ojx - did you feed bb with bf and bottle at the same time? If so, it could be he prefers bottle cos milk flow out with little effort. Babies are smart. My first one was like that, I stopped the bottle, then went on full bf. It was a struggle but later ok liau.

ojx,
cupcakes got from a shop in Tg Pagar Plaza called Beccarino.
I got the normal vanilla assorted design at $1.20 each.
I just printed the "Thank You" Msg & stapler on it.
(customised or flavored more exp. think $1.90)

Yes, the teachers keep first, then distribute to the kids/parents
when they r going home. They luv it!

The PG cake's alcohol very light, I can't even taste the alcohol.
Keyon still eat a whole piece. :p

prissy,
Thanks! Big eyes like me! Yeah Yeah... :p
Too bad mei mei dun hv these assets... my mum say, gor gor look like gal
& mei mei look like boy. *faintz*