Seabreeze - drinks
Applejuz
Tingting (2A 1C) - kueh lapis or cake
Cakey (will try to make it)
ixwong - fishball
aidanee

i use the taping method too.

Hitting:
Does any of your tod beat/hit younger kid? Is it a phase we have to go through? I am hoping to reason it out, but have to do it repeatedly (which i have done so....i dont believe in spanking, will remove him from the scene). Then again, the ever so sweet younger cousin sis always kena from him. I dont think my bro in law likes the idea of using his daughter as the "training tool". How ah? He only beats this cousin of his. But i reckon if i do not control his behaviours, he might attack his bb bro next time.

Ting2, i use safety gates for all the doors.. Nick can open the doors since a couple of months back so we bought the gates. It didn't stop him from opening and closing the doors but at least it stopped him from entering the rooms when we are not inside especially the master bedroom where there is a toilet and he likes to walk in to wash his hands. i'm so afraid he will slip and fall in the toilet one of these days.

aidanee ...

YC use to do that but his was with a good intention hahahahaha cos he wan to sayang but cant control his strength

So now before he touch another kid ... i will tell him to be gentle first so that he will be more mindful of his strenght

That day my cousin's bb gal cry ... yc so funny he quickly rock the rocker and when the bb doesnt stop he faster pat pat the chest and bb still cry he go back to rock again ... v funny cos his face was v serious and panic hahahahaha

nicky's mom, wow, so u have many safety gates at home? i think i may have to get 1 or 2 soon when zephan knows how to open the doors... he can open those "c-shaped" handles for now. zephan also loves going to the toilet.... :p

aidanee, i think needs a lot of patience arh.. zephan has a fair bit of training with my dog.. hehe.. so his "pat pat" is a bit like beating, while his "sayang" will be sort of like stroking. when we have babies around, will encourage him to "sayang" and guide his hand gently.

recently, zephan has been having a bit of fun with my dog.. likes to run after her, pat her, play fetch with her... my dog looks out of the window panel pretty much, so sometimes zephan will squat down to her level beside her, seems to be wondering what she's looking at! there was also once when both of them sat side by side and watched tv together... :p

re. locking d door
hmm... seems tt i m dif. i taught my boy hw 2 open d door instead, so tt he'll nt b locked inside. nw he can close & open d door, lock & unlock it.

HI mummies,

re: Pacifiers

are any of your dd or ds still on the pacifier? My girl is still very attached to her pacifier; needs to suck on the pacifier during naps or bedtime. Without the pacifier, she will cry her head off and refuse to sleep. Any advice on how to wean bb off pacifier? I dun think i can tahan the Cry It Out/cold turkey method lei..cause we stay with In=laws, they'll nag or try to intefere if they hear my girl wailing.

hi seabreeze,
YC sounds like a passionate boy hor...

mummies...
Any weekend playgroup/gym to recommend (or which is not recommended)? Called up JG their waiting list so long... My gal recently keep wanting to go school leh... Keep saying want to look for 'lau shi' cos teacher will give coloring hehe... Seeing her so keen in learning and kinda bore at home, I want to let her try some weekend playgroup...

vone, maybe when zephan is taller will teach him to unlock.

i'm a mummy, i didn't specifically wean zephan off his pacifier, cos he doesn't cry out for them. but there were times when i didn't bring the pacifier into his room during sleeptime, and i told him i wld be going out to get it, but took a super long time. when i returned to the room, he was already asleep. after a few times, i didn't even pretend liao..

Re: Beating

Thanks for sharing your experiences. Cayden is kind and gentle towards any bbs. In fact he dotes on my brother's son..he only beats this meimei (my hubby's bro's daughter who is 17months old)...and he will admit he beats her and she cries. Since the last episode, he now dun want his shu shu and mei mei liao. I checked with my sis, she said something might have triggered his reaction towards the cousin. I think i did the wrong thing that day. Instead of pulling him away, i went to protect the cousin sis, resulting in further jealousy.

Last night i told him we would be seeing mei mei again tonight. He said," cayden love mei mei..." i was happy. After that, he added," i beat mei mei. mei mei cry" He then started hitting the pillow as if mei mei was there. That was violent man!!! Called my hubby who is overseas, i think we should let the kids cool down for a period before they meet again mannn!!!

Re: Pacifier
Y not make a cut on the pacifier and "force" her to reject the pacifier herself? Do not restrict it, offer as per normal.... or put pepper...hehe, my sis did that to all her kids. After a while, should reject it totally. But you might need an alternative like a teddy bear or what to sooth her during nap/bedtime.

Re:Weekend Playgroup
HOw about GUG? and D'story club at Pat's school house? It's $315 for a term of 10weeks. 1.5hr per week. Trial $31.50 is available. www.patschoolhouse.com. I may check out after i deliver. Or BJG? Or Tumble Tots? I understand some MMI do offer weekend enrichment too.

Re playgroup
I just dropped Haowen out of JG. He did not enjoy, so became too stressful for me and hb. Also much more ex than Pat's school house $500 for 10 weeks. I'm going for a kindermusik trial this Sat. Hopefully he likes it better cos his favourite is music/dance.

Aidanee
Pat's D'story programme is like GUG and JG?

Haowen still cling on to his pacifier too. His sleeping habits is getting from bad to worse. Not only he insists to sleep in our room nowadays, he now demanding to sleep in our bed, otherwise he will scream and sob. I really like to move him back to his own room. It's been 1 month since this behavioural change. Any advice from mummies?

a bit paiseh to say that though we had been proud of zephan's sleep training which worked well for 1 1/2 years, recently it has degenerated a bit too. he insists on sleeping on the floor, and we've taken to being in the room with him till he falls asleep. but i think we'll have to kick that habit real soon before problems set in.

hi ixwong,
Maybe you can sleep with him on the mattress in yr room first. then slowly withdraw to let him sleep on his own in the mattress?
How many lessons had HW attended already for the JG?

my gal is also on her pacifier still. I guess will only wean her off after she's more settled with the new sibling.
I stop BF for the bb for the sake of her cos she'll wail in the middle of the night when can't find me (cos I sleeping with her didi in another room). With the lack of sleep, she's cranky as well in daytime.

hi mummies ..

yc is down with croup again!! he ganna it last yr at the same time - in fact it was exactly 1 yr!

yc had super high fever which hit 40 degree yesterday and his cough sounded like seal-barking

luckily his fever is much better today a high 37 (seem low compared to yesterday lar!) and he wants to play hiak he only wanted to zzzz yest only

anyway the PD say that now is the croup season so you all take good care of your kiddo k

re: playgroup

a few of us stopped GUG recently as we have been with them for q long and our kiddos are getting bored. but my feel is that its still not too bad except that the room is kind of small.

i am waiting to see if i can get a space at kidloft otherwise he might go 'school-less' for a while hiak hiak

Re:playgroup
I reckon D'story club is similar....music/song/story telling/art&craft etc...it also teaches letterland. I have not gone for the trial. Thought it is more affordable than JG and waiting list not sooo scary. The serangoon branch prinicpal of Pat's is really nice (JG staff not helpful at all) Have slot at 9.30 and 11.15am on Sat. Kindda lazy cos of the warm weather....But Anyone keen to join me for the trial? at least got some motivation.

Ixwong, how about siempi music? siempi-music.com.sg....trial $35 for 45mins. regular class is $100 per mth. Not sure if it is the same as Kindermusik....but for sure the teachers are better than KM cos my sis in law who is a piano teacher suggested to bring Cayden there to "learn"....hahaha...for her own benefits.

Seabreeze,
take care of yourself too.....

aidanee ...

thanks!!

which part of serangoon isit ar? i am ok to go for a trial but 11.15am hor ... 9.30am sure late one hahahahaha

ixwong ...

its the typical one lor ... story telling, art& craft, KM etc but i find that the teacher is q good but now the slot that i am eyeing at is full and she is still considering if she can squeeze yc in for that slot. I had to keep telling her that yc is v manageable hahahahaha like sell medicine like tat

ting ting

you can check this out

http://kidshealth.org/parent/infections/bacterial_viral/croup.html

Emmie, i have no fixed dates yet. maybe 24th June if they have slot? where are you putting up? i am most likely going to the serangoon branch cos in the event i do sign up with them later, it will be more convenient.

Seabreeze,
how much do you pay at kidzloft?

aidanee ...

its $38 per session for 1.5hr ... no cheap oso ler ... abtthe same price as GUG but i like their class room ... big with alot of space

Seabreeze
The teacher at Kidzloft is good huh? I realised quality of JG programme is v dependent on teachers. Some of them quite bad.

ixwong ...

the teacher is the boss - lavina.

i find that she has more passion and she really wants to make sure that the kids are able to enjoy the class compared to just having more students all the time

thats why till now she still havent decide if yc can join that slot that i am eyeing that ... she is still thinking

anyway my impression of JG is no good ... sounded v high handed when i call them to enquire abt the weekend playgroup

was so fed up when i was told that i need to pay a registration fee of $38 to put yc on the waitlist. when i asked them - say if i put the money down and that you have such a long waitlist ... how certain that i will get a place in the class. Her reply was: You def can get a place but its a matter of time! Sianz lar ... cos the weekend playgroup arrangement is a temporary one for me ... once he start his pre-nursery its likely that i will stop all the weekend classes ... even if have would be more for stuff that he dun learn in school like dancing hiak hiak

aidanee
i'm staying at sengkang. So serangoon is ok for me though the surroundings of the branch at KK looks more interesting (from the pics lah). 24th Jun is Sun right?

ixwong,
i think forum JG has better teachers...but i seriously think the coordinator has attitude prob...cos when i was there talking to her, she was yawming away....not proactive, not helpful. Evans coordinator is much much more polite and helpful!

Aidanee
Some of forum JG teaches quite jialat. The first classes that HW attended, the indian teacher v terrible one.

Seabreeze
where u intend to send YC for pre-nursery? Starting Jan 08?

ixwong ...

I am sending yc to 'Catholic church kindergarden' that is behind kovan melody starting in Jan o8. The school fee is v cheap, like $400 + (inclusive of book fee) per term. But his programme is only for 2hr.

hi aidanee,
Din know you're gg to trial so soon leh.. i just arranged to go to the one near KK branch this coming sat at 9am. It's kind of early but 11am is not ideal as well as its dd's nap time...
I called the default no. end up it's the KK one so just go there. According to the person-in-charge there, this sat is their last lesson for this term. The next term starts end June (not sure which date). Is it the same with the serangoon one?

ladies ...

I just realised that our gathering is the eve of Father's Day ... should we plan a surprise for the Daddies?

Gathering @ 16 June (Sat) - 2pm onwards

Seabreeze - drinks
Applejuz
ixwong - fishball
aidanee

and dun let the list stop here ...

hi cakey,
actually tot of going after birth....since emmie and seabreeze dun mind to accompany this lazy preggie, then go now lor...in fact i prefer 9am class, but trial is ok lah....for me to assess the teacher and the environment. Will sleep in later and delay his nap till 1.30pm that day lor.

me still waiting for reply from the prinicipal.I think KK is the main centre. Should be better. Do update your experience, yah....!

Seabreeze,

Sorry for late reply.. was down with fever/cough/flu since last weekend. Still haven't recover yet.. grrrr...

-------------------------------------------------

Seabreeze - drinks
Applejuz - Curry puffs & snacks from Old Chang Kee.
ixwong - fishball
aidanee
-------------------------------------------------

Hi Cakey, I saw shop and save (next to khatib mrt) selling 2 packets of Pampers Active M or L size for $47++ only (actual price about $68.40, am still wonder did they offer wrongly..hee). You may want to keep stocks? The offer valid till 13 June.

Hi Emmie/Seabreeze,
ok, 23 June 11.30am. C you guys....if cant make it last minute, pls contact the centre directly okie!!! Dun play me out lah.

hi esther,
Thanks for the lobang
In fact not only SNS, I saw Khatib NTUC also selling the pampers at the same price!

Seabreeze,
How's YC? Hope he has recovered.

aidanee,
Brought dd to the pat's schoolhouse last Sat for trial. I guess it's OK if you've the time/energy to bring cayen there. I find that it's too far and quite tiring for both the parents and kids as we got to wake up very early (my trial at 9am). I think overall its just similar to my church's sunday school for kids hehe...

The outdoor play toys are interesting though.
Their toys, kids furnitures/facilities like toilet etc. are well-furnished and clean.
However they don't do any temp check or any other kind of health check leh...
There's only the one teacher around the big area (don't see anyone else) hence felt abit 'empty' abt the place.

The long awaited gathering is just round the corner ... so can any more ppl make it??

1) Seabreeze - drinks
2) Applejuz - Curry puffs & snacks from Old Chang Kee.
3) Tingting (2A 1C) - kueh lapis or cake
4) Cakey (will try to make it)
5) ixwong - fishball
6) aidanee

cakey

yap he is much better otherwise I wun dare to have you all come over this sat

Cakey,

Ya, NTUC oso got offer.

Mummies who will joined the gathering.
I just realised the timing is 2pm. Your DD and DS not sleeping around that timing? I would like to join ur but Ethan sleeping timing frm 1-3pm/2-5pm. Btw, is ur hubby also joining?

Hi cakey,
i understand what you meant. You must be worn out after the session!!!!

But what about the programme? Was it interesting? What did they do during the lesson? Was the teacher good and able to capture your dd's attention? Is it worth the visit (n the $$$$)?

It's a sat, so i guess there isnt much activity around in the school.

We are trying out the 11.15am session. Hopefully it's not as rush for us since it's a sat morning....usaully sleep in abit later.

Seabreeze,
I may not be able to join you cos i am shifting on 15th. call you later....

1) Seabreeze - drinks
2) Applejuz - Curry puffs & snacks from Old Chang Kee.
3) Tingting (2A 1C) - kueh lapis or cake
4) Cakey (will try to make it)
5) ixwong - fishball

So how? U all still wan to meet or change date?

Esther, haowen's morning nap is usually from 10-12pm, so 2pm function is no problem. He's most active during that time

Seabreeze,
I'm ok to go with general consensus. just let me know your decision....

seabreeze, me same as ixwong, fine either way.

esther, zephan's nap is usually bet 12-2pm, though more often waking up at 1.40pm, so no prob for him too.

Gathering at 16th Jun:
Seabreeze, the gathering is at yr house not the function room right?
Applejuz, how are you and keyon? can you make it since not feeling well?
I still not sure whether to go since hubby can't make it on that day.
Esther,
Frankly speaking we'll likely to be late reaching abt 3pm+ if joining the gathering hehe... cos she likely to sleep from 12 to 2pm, follow by her lunch. If both our hubby not joining maybe we can share cab if we both going?

Pat Schoolhouse:
The teacher is quite ok (although not fantistic). Cos the parents will help the kids to focus back when they wonder off mah... I myself likes the art & craft part where they do poster-color on paper tie (father's day gift
and outdoor play stuff is interesting. For the rest, cos dd is tire so difficult to tell whether she's interested or not... She enjoyed the art & craft best...dipping all her 5 fingers in the poster color and stirring the creamy stuff haha....
Basically they have, free play, story, art/craft, snack, outdoor play, music & movement.
I think its worth the visit for dd considering this is the first school lesson for her. Would want her to have good impression (interesting toys/playhouse, cute and clean kids furniture, amenities like small sink). But i guess once will do.
One thing I notice is that she's abit uneasy as she don't understand English well enough. Hence will try to improve her English in the meantime while looking out for other suitable playgroup.