(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

aidanee, congrats on hving another boy.

esther, congrats on d arrival of ur boy!

hi cmy
for the pain, cabbage worked wonders for me. Only needed to use once. Maybe i didn't hv that much milk la. Anyways, try expressing or latch baby on lor. If feel lumpy, then need to massage the lumps out. My husband did that for me coz apparently i didn't use enuf strength to break the lumps.

hey... 3.93kg is huge... natural or c-section?

Esther,
Congrats! You have given birth to a baby sumo ah! Hope you and your dd are doing very doing. Take care.

I am looking for a confinement lady for my sister who is due in sept. All my frens' recommendations are booked during the period and she is now quite kian cheong. Kindly pm me the contact if its not convenient to post here. Thanks alot!!

Hi wendyg,

Thanks for your method. I tried to pump every 3-4hrs. At least not that bad. Will ask my husband do massage for me too coz can feel there's lump there.

Me schedule c-section as my first born was c-section too.

hi cmy,
Congrats to your new born

I had engorgement too last week and even dev slight fever, body aching like flu... i use hot towel and massage whenever i can. At night also get my hubby to massage for me cos by then both hands aching already... Even thot of giving up BF at that time! Reduce yr liquid intake may help too, cos I think i had engorgement because I suddenly increase my liquid intake the day before. (This my own theory lar...)

I've decided to just latch on at night and pump out during the day and sup with FM. Cos bb can't sleep well always wake up and root for nipple! Dunno is he hungary or wanna suck for comfort. Usually suckle for a while then will sleep. Don't want him to have habit of taking me as pacifier.

wendyg,
Thanks for the feedback on huggies pull-up. Won't be trying that. dd just use normal diaper. Will sell away the L size pack that I have since it might be too small.

aidanee- congrats on having another boy, just like me...

esther- congrats to you, u must be delighted on the arrival of your son.. njoy the time wif him..

got a question.. my boy buttocks got alot of rash.. doc prescribe cream for him to use bt tink coz of the diaper, the rash is still there.. any1 got any idea wat to do??

Hi cakey
Usually at night, the bb is more incline to sleep than drink so latching will result in 'demand feeding' often. If u feed the ebm in the night, the bb is more likely to last longer in the night. Though its easier to latch in the night, but the vicious cycle will begin as u feed the bb more often by latching. Hope this info helps...

So is ur newborn sleeping in the playpen...?

Is any mummies out there alrady let their kid sleep in their own big bed? will they wake up in the middle of the night to look for u?

Vone/tingting,
my hubby thinks it is easier to plan activities for the boys next time.....just that they will prob be bored going shopping with me. hahahah...

Names
I think i will stay away from Tom, Dick n Harry...hahaha...My gf named her 2 boys, Rain and River..... MAybe mine will be Seabreeze! hahaha...

Aylo212
i apply desitin and wash his backside after every poo. Airing helps too.....try other brands of diaper....

aidanee
the rash is near the waist area, i apply betnovate on it.. but he keep scratching.. den it gets worst... i wash his bum everytime i change his diapers... den i oso apply desitin.. tink coz of his eczema oso..

hi triniti,
Feeding ebm needs some time to warm up and my boy can't wait cos will scream until soundless. So I usually latch on or get CL to feed FM.
Ya he's sleeping in the playpen (at raised level) with a new mattress. But recently he couldn't sleep well there and keep making noise. In the end CL brought him to sleep at her side and he immediate settled down! It's the same if sleeping at my bed when latching on. i guess will give up the playpen and let him co-sleep with me when CL left.
In the mean while maybe source for a suitable single bed??? Not sure yet leh...

Cakey,
.... i am not sure what's the best way, just do what you think helps. Previously i gave ebm in the night. It's tiring cos i would have to wake up to pump while my hubby would take the ebm from fridge to warm up. This lasted for 3 months till Cayden was abt 5 months plus. It;s sooo tiring for my hubby who needed to get up to work at 7am. When he was outstationed during that period, i would get up to warm the milk, settled the bb, then pump out. This process took about 45 to an hour. And before i knew it, it's daybreak liao. Therefore, i am really not sure if i want to go thru the same thing again. Those few months were the greatest nightmare for my hubby. But then again, i am not keen on the idea of demand feeding.....If i get a maid by then, then prob she can do the feeding.

So just relax and do whatever you can....u can always start training him later....but what you need is to have as much rest as possible before the CL goes so that your milk can be established.

hi aidanee,
I suppose latch-on will be a short term solutio cos likely to let him overnight at MIL place and only bring back on weekend when i started work. Somemore my boss is requesting me go back after 2mth

The Gina Ford method is to wake the baby up to eat, not wait until baby is crying for milk, then start to warm up the EBM..
so instead of being awakened by baby's cries, mummy would need to set alarm clock to go off at 2am to prepare the milk. Hey aidanee, u forgot liao ah.. better do the wall-chart soon! kekeke

triniti
my boy has been sleeping in his room on his single bed since maybe 8 months old? can't remember. Coz his cot v small and he flips round & round when he's asleep, or to get to sleep. I can hear him when he calls out for us at night (he still does!!!! which makes me all the more eager to do GF on #2) coz our doors are open. The bed is against the walls and we use 2 bedrails. So far he doesn't try any acrobatics. If we sleep with aircon on, he'll be in our bedroom. His mattress is on our floor sandwiched betwn the wall and our bed.

i used the Aidanee method, that is, not to wake bb up in the mid of night if he does not wake up. There were times when he slept through to 5am. hehehe

hey i also not wake bb up in the mid night if he doesnt wake up. So 1 wk before I return to work, Ethan can sleep thru out the night and he was only 7 wks old. (last feed around 11pm and wake up only at 5-6am) Hopefully, this time round also can like that.

detour abit. is it necessary to get a hood for your kitchen? The in thing is the chimney ones, but does it really work?

aidanee
the chimney ones have better suction, so it's good if u're doing heavy duty cooking. My kitchen has vitrually zero pan-frying/ deep frying activity, so my flat hood also not used. Sometimes i dun even remember it's there =)

wendy,
thanks....i told my hubby i just need a microwave oven and a slow cooker. hahaha...n maybe a cook pot for maggie mee.

aidanee hehe.. i actually also just found out bout it like 2 weeks ago..

Supermom? Haha.. i've got 2 superman.. of which, superman #2 had to have 5 stitches after trying to knock an FM tin with his forehead wanted to know which is tougher.. haha

went to PD today, my big boy rash on the buttocks had an infection causing him to have a high fever... doc say his eczema quite bad... now on medication... but he picky, he knows i put the medication in his milk, oni drink 60ml... he is a picky boy when cum to food.. have to go PD again on wed for review...

Cakey
Hehe, Wendy is right. You got to feed the bb even before the bb cries. Because once he cries, that means it will take a longer time to settle him back to sleep. Hee but thats the GF way of doing it cos she runs a 3-4hrly schedule. Anton will sleep thru the night after the last feed at 11pm-12am. That happens when he was less than 2 mths old. My Cl for the first mth has done a good job of feeding the bb every 3 hrly even during the night time so anton got into the routine pretty fast. I never remember having to wake up to feed him in the middle of the night. GF's theory is once your baby is well-fed during the day, he is not as hungry at night and thur able to sleep thru the night.
Oh, if thats the case, I think I will also get a adult size single bed for him cos its quite silly to have 2 cot beds at home...esp I only wanna have 2 kids

Wendyg
So Issac has never got out of bed in the middle of the night to look for u?
I was thinking of just getting the bed and surround it with my 8 panels of haenim playard so he can never climb out or get out of bed...hehe
It acts as a 'bedrail' and prevent him from getting out of the play yard just in case...hee

triniti
no he has not learnt how to climb over the bed rails (yet). hahaha. Initially when we first let him sleep on his own, we quite kancheong and would jump into his room at the first whimper. Scared that he would get desparate and try to be acrobat in the dark. So my aim is for #2 to be able to sleep thru the night even before he/she learns how to flip, so no worries abt midnight acrobats.

ayl0212
i put my boy's medicine into his milk too. i gotto make less milk than normal so that he takes the full dosage.

aidanee
this one i win liao... my instant noodles come in disposable bowl/cup... kekekeke
hey what happened to your OVEN. We supposed to hv baking party when u move in hor. Make your kitchen a mess then Cayden can help u clean up. haha.

triniti/Wendy
i just transited HW to a single bed cos his cot is too small liao. Wah lau, nightmare start man.. cos he realised he is now free to come out of the room. Last time, he can sleep thru the night, but for the past 2 weeks since the move to single bed, he will wake up twice at night and walk out of his room to look for me. I'm not sure if it bcos he has developed a fear for darkness as he will insist I stay in the room to keep him company until he fell asleep during bedtime. Any tips from GF for this problem? Must I get a playard and trap him in?

Re: single bed/bed rail

Will your bb stand up on the bed, ie. waist higher than the bed rail? cause my girl is growing too big for her cot, but she's practically an acrobat when she sleeps. She will rotate 360degrees in the course of the night, sometimes even twice, she will move from the top of the cot to the bottom then back up the top or vice versa, and she will flip here roll there until her arms and legs stick out of the cot. sometimes they get stuck and she will cry out in her sleep, and i have to wake up and 'untangle' her.

I'm very worried that when i move her to a single bed, the bed rail might not be high enough because she likes to stand up in her cot and jump and try to climb the rails. ie. jump and stunt on the rails like spiderman, and try to climb out. How ah, like that...

hubby was saying no choice, just let her sleep ona mattress on the floor, ie. no bed frame. but so ugly lei, like construction worker like that hehe

any advice?

isaac will stand up on his bed when his room is lighted or when we're with him, but he doesn't lean against the bed rail or attempt to straddle. But when the room is darkened, he knows it's time to sleep and has to lie down.

i'm a mummy
yes my boy rolls round and round the entire bed in the night... dat's why the cot cannot make it liao.. he kept bumping himself and cried, and his hands/feet also got stuck in the gaps.
The safest may be to let your girl sleep on a matteress on the floor. Safety more impt than appearance la... my newphews in Toronto also sleep on matteress on the floor. So does my friend's daughter. In fact, the daddy & mummy moved their queen sized matteress onto the floor to join their girl's single matteress. So funny.

ixwong
yes GF has some tips on how to shift kids from cot to bed. i forgot liao... i think it's in the Contented Toddler book.

Nick also sleeps on a single bed liao.. i've bought 4 new beds to place into the kids room. It's those we can buy at Ikea. Top ones, sam and the maid sleep. Nick's roll-out is sandwich between sam and the maid so he won't roll over and fall off the bed. It's also low enuff so that in the event nick tries to get up in the middle of the night, he can come down without much difficulty.

I'm a mummy: sam is 7yo already.. but he still rolls off his bed so i guess it's common for children to roll all round the whole night. What i did was i got bed rail to prevent him from falling off otherwise i think nick will be flatten if he rolls onto nick.. hehe.. so far, bed rails works. But then, nick also likes to climb onto the bed and shake the rails.

ixwong, i have a night light in the children's room so that it's not completely dark as my window panels are tinted and also a warm colour lamp in the hall that if sam wakes up at night, he can walk to our room toliet without turning on the lights.

i'm a mummy,
I bought Tyanne a toddler's bed from Ikea. We actually brought her along to buy the bed and she chose it herself, told her since this is her choice, she'll have to sleep on it every night. The bed ia quite low and there's actually a bed-rail on one side of the bed. So far no prob of her rolling out and down the bed.

Shouldn't have a prob with the jumping coz she wouldn't be doing that when she's sleeping lah. Teach her how to get down from the bed with the legs first and not climbing over the rails. Tyanne has been "trained" since she started crawling so now she has mastered the "skill" of climbing up chairs, sofas, beds,etc and descending safely. Ya, she's one big monkey!

We placed her bed in our room coz the layout of my house is quite weird, all the other rooms are quite a distance away from the master bedroom. She'll wake up sometimes at night and I'll just walk over to tuck her in again. At times, she get down the bed herself and climb onto our beds. Hehe....

wow... din know that sleeping arrangement could be so complicated, esp with no #2. Initially thot put the bb in playpen and leave him in his room will do liao but looks like it never gonna work this way... Maybe my MIL is right after all... everyone sleep on mattress on the floor is the easiest.
I won't mind to get 2 single beds like nicky's mom if I've enuff space.... So space is another problem...

when i was baby, i slept in sarong. Then when i was dunno how old, my grandma put me on the floor next to her. And i slept on hard floor until i was 10 yrs old. No matteress.

wendy,
this one i win you too....i slept in sarong when i was a bb too, but when i was 3 yo, 4 of us had to squeeze into 2 single mattresses with my mom n dad in a 3 room flat. at least i got mattress. hehehe...

Now we are actually discussing if our bb should be sleeping in their single bed, with cool linen etc... hubby n i are also sleeping in sealy bed instead of the good old no brand bed. see how time has changed. Our next generation is really having a good time!!!!

RE: Oven
I will get a microwave oven that can do multi-cooking.....Triniti, what's your recommendation? I need one that can allow baking, grilling and cooking of maggie mee!!!

aidanee
we're also using Sealy.. coz husband has slipped disc, so good mattress v impt. No amt of savings can give us a better rest than a good bed. So we buy good mattress & good pillows. Added to our home bill, but worth it lor. I only wake with backache if i slept in isaac's bed

ixwong
Actually GF recommended to intro the child to an adult bed at 2.5 to 3 years of age...cos she is saying that some toddlers are not ready to move out of cot bed yet...but I have no choice cos I have to let the new bb to sleep in the cot bed in Oct...so to prevent him of getting out of the bed just in case he wakes up early...I have decided to surround it with play yard until he is fully toilet trained...

Aidanee
hee I think its still better to have a seperate oven and mwave oven, because knowing you , I think u will use the mwave function more often and its quite inexpensive buying mwave now...Those with oven and mwave in one are not as efficient. I always feel that separate mwave and oven works best. But thats my take lah hehe...

re:sarong
Hee actually I also slept i sarong then mattress but I have very bad sleeping habits since young...We are those kind who will sleep in front of the TV and my dad will carry me back to the room and sleep...hee no routine whatsoever

I have a few questions... wondering if you have any ideas?

Hives
my 18 months old has developed hives recently. Like lond red rashes on his body, aggravated by scratching. Anyone know how to cure it? The pharmacist gave calamine lotion, which is useless, and he will always scratch and suck his thumb, so I don't dare to apply calamine.

Toilet Train
Any of you have good toilet train tips?

thanks..

hi amanda
my experience in the toilet training for my boy (20m). Still in the process, some days he stays dry, most days there are misses... i borrowed the book "Diaper Free Baby" from library & here's what i remember...
- keep the whole exercise happy and stress-free.
- let the child go bottomless or wear training pants
- observe the child for any signs of wanting to go, eg facial expressions, touching genitals, crossing legs etc
- consistent sound when expelling... we use "psssssssssss"
- standby lots of rags (& flooring disinfectants?) to mop up the misses

First few times i forgot to observe him for an extended period (eg i was in the kitchen cooking his food and he was playing in the living room). So had a few misses.
Now i play it safe by bringing him to the loo every 30-45min, depending on whether he's had anything to eat/drink - observation is that kids tend to pee abt 5-10min after they've eaten/drank/woke. I will ask him "Do u want to xiao bian, where to xiao bian, let's go" and he will lead me to the toilet (graduate to toilet seat liao). He can hold his pee until i remove the training pants for him (trying to get him to remove on his own) & seat him on the toilet. When he's peeing, we'll make the "psssss" sound. When he's done he'll clap & i'll say Good Job!
Sometimes he'll say "da" and beat on the toilet door. Here's the tricky bit: the "da" can mean poo or pee. But whatever it is he'll do his business on the toilet. Dunno why he can't say "xiao bian". Maybe too urgent he forgets his words. haha.

Thanks, mummies for the various advice.

I have moved haowen back into his cot for the time being, even though it's a bit tight for him. He did not protest at being put in the cot, but still insisted in being accompanied to sleep. He cried for 30 mins even though I go in to comfort/tuck him in again periodically. Finally slept liao.

Hopefully he will get back to his routine pretty soon but at least now, I dun have to worry abt him walking out of his room. ....

FYI, after i went to PD in the afternoon yesterday cos my 18mth old boy got high fever due to rashes on bum got infected. After giving him medicine for the 2nd time in the evening, he develop allergy to drugs, withs red flushes on his body, and it is itchy coz he scratch till got a lot of marks on his arms, legs. So poor thing, bum, body itch still got fever.. xin tong... lucky we went to the hospital and the GP prescribe other medicine for him. Went back to his GP at the hospital today for PD to check him.. lucky ok.. bt the rash on his bum is a issue, cos if dun wear diaper, he keep scratching, bt if wear diaper, too hot, the rash will recover veri slowly.

amanda (amandakoo)
my 18mth boy got eczema and PD prescribe betnovate RD (0.025%) to him. It reduces the itch and helps in his rash.. not sure if it works on hives.

Aidanee
Beta to get a seperate oven n microwave. Get a oven specially for baking. With the heat traveling all round the oven cos last time i bot my oven that can bake and cook food, it canot bake properly. My cake end up burnt on top.

hi ay,
Have you try diaper such as bumwear? It seems quite comfortable but not sure will it be too warm or not.

re: haircut
Where to go to for haircut for 1mth old bb? my boy hair is getting long a bit messy liao... but cutting boy's hair is diffcult to diy. Want to trim back his current hairstyle (naturally layered one quite cute hee...) dun want to cut botak.

i also wanted to get an oven for baking cake......but not enough space in the kitchen. n wiht No2 arriving, I reckon the frequency of baking cake is like once many many months ...so i think i will get a steam microwave lah...thanks all of you for your recommendation.