(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

passing_guest, charlotte looks so sweet. annette has grown up 2 b a v pretty gal. tink she's gg 2 break a lot of hearts when she's older. :p

Cakey
Thank you so much for all the information. Wish u the perseverance and motivation to continue breastfeeding...Don't give up and jiayou!

Wendyg
Which means yours is emergency c-sect lor. Same same here, I waited for 16 hrs and cervix only 2cm dilated end up emergency c-sect. My hospital bill very exp. So this time round, me gg straight for epi c-sect liao. Dun wan to waste time, effort and money! hahaha :p

temple
even in operating theatre also can take pic... and sommore the Doc volunteered to take our first family pic for us. Labour ward we took pic & video too, but not of disgusting things like cervix check.. Camera angle cannot be at foot of the bed taking upwards... only from top of the bed take downwards.

btw, anyone has sent their ds or dd to full day child care?

Zac will be gg to full day child care come 2 Apr. I'm suppose to accompany him for 1/2 day for the 1st 3 days. Thereafter he has to be on his own. I wonder how he's gg to cope with the new environment.

Hi everyone..

Zaczac, i also want to send nick to CC.. But the nearest CC to my home, the teachers are so rough.. the other day when hb and me visited the centre, the teacher just dragged nick to sit on the chair, gave him some toys and asked him to play on his own. after talking to us for 5 mins, she told us to leave the room and see if nick will cry.. That's pretty stupid cos i mentioned to the teacher many times dring our conversation that nick is a sticky baby.. he'll cry if either one of us (hb, me or maid) walks out of the car so how can we even leave him in a "foreign" place.. then teacher gave up and chased us out of the school saying he's not ready for school yet and to return when he's 2yo.. weird!

at cayden's cc, there is a new gal who came in at 22 months. It has been 2 weeks liao, her maid is still with her throughout the half day session.

triniti,
my sis started young, and non-stop for the past 6 years....so now still looking good. She is only one yr my senior. I only started family when her last one celebrated her 1st birthday. hahahha....my mil has high hopes for me.....but since i cant beat her, yet cant join her, then rather close shop after 2!

Gina Ford- started reading up on GF after your recommendation at 5th month.....Since then, Cayden has been on 7am-9pm schedule...sleeps thru too. Cant do 7-7pm cos my pil would want to play with him. I ever tried to close the door at 7pm. They thought i was mad! .... he naps from 1pm-3.30pm now. But the first 3 months were horrible. So i think GF will come in handy in the early months for me cos by then i will be staying on my own, so less interruption.....

have you tried the "increased milk supply routine" before? is it effective as it seems to be?

Nicky's mom,
The teachers are kind of unfriendly. If I were you I wouldn't send my ds there even when he's 2 yrs old.

Aidanee,
U mean the CC allow an adult to accompany the kid for so long ah!

Child Care
I heard its common for toddlers to cry for the 1st 1-2 weeks at CC. Jus hope that my ds can do better. The jialat thing is he can't express what he wants yet. Only whine for milk and food. He can only say papa, mama, popo, gonggong, dog, car. And that's all. The worst thing is I think he only understands mandarin cos my MIL takes care of him and they communicate in chinese.

Gina Ford

I hope to train my no. 2 using her method too. Cos my no. 1 Zac is out of hand, he's still waking up at 12am for water and 4am for milk.

This time round I must achieve sleeping throughout for no. 2

Aidanee,
You brief description make me so curious about Gina Ford (I think I will go and borrow her book). Thanks!

I am thinking of sending Charis to a CC too. You know what that day when I took her for a walk to Hougang Point, we pass by the 2 CCs near our home. You know what I saw the teacher's impatient and loud behaviour (that really turns me out!). When the teacher saw me looking through the window, she just give some lame excuse! I don;t like either of the CCs here. I would try one of these days to go to Cherry (near Kovan)and take a look.

Another thing, if any of you are interested in teaching your dd/ds at home and you need some training, you might want to try attending the courses in this website:http://www.montanaplaza.com/rightbraineducation/Home/index.html
I have enrolled for one of the course starting 26/3.

Zaczac,
You must be worried about how Zac will be in CC right? I am already worried about how Charis is going to react... Good luck!

aidanee
hee by the time,anton sleeps at 7pm. I can do whatever I want...so I am very happy.

Ermm, the increased milk supply ...I forgot liao.. but my supply came in quite quickly and quite alot ( according to the CL) so I guess it works?
But seriously, if u want to bf for a longer time, latching is still the best...but tht also means demand feeding which GF dun advocate...
You know what, I think my previous prenatal massage also helped in making my supply more cos the lady massage my breasts prior to get rid of blocked ducts...and I din have any problems with blocked ducts when I was bf-ing anton...I dun even know how sore nipples feel...

zaczac,
yah...i was surprised too to see her there everytime i pick my son up. I think some CCs are flexible while others not. Good n no Good lor...the child will not be independent at cc. But good is that you only let go when the child is totally familiar with the new faces and the environment.

Cayden is pretty ready i think. He can express his basic needs in words, so it makes his life and the teacher's life much easier.

We Din have to go through the heart-pain, cant- let- go situation. Cayden only stuck to me like glue on the trial day. Thereafter, I requested for another trial the following week. I tried to leave the room when the kids were having the Kindermusik class, and then he turned to me and said, mummy bye bye.... After that, he was fine....BUT, have to say bye bye lor, otherwise, he will be looking for me. He has his security cap with him all the time. When it is wet, the teacher replaces a teddy bear which he takes it quite well too. So all is well, so far.

Foodwise, i think it's salty cos the teacher commented that Cayden loves to drink lotsa water after lunch.

I think at certain point, we just have to let go. Crying is inevitable. The teachers at cc told me that there are 3 kids who still cry when they see motherly figures visiting the centre. So i think it is quite common...

I din have a choice. My mom needs a breather badly. Her health isnt fantastic. Yet, we have to compromise on the quality of care. So 3x a week is good enough for now. Cayden is happy, my mom is more relaxed, and i have a much easier life after work cos cayden will be dead tired by 8pm plus.....no longer like before, "energiser battery"!

Most ccs have chinese speaking teachers now, so dun have to worry. Just inform the teacher if there is any special needs. Like for my case, the teacher highlighted that for 2 days, Cayden was looking for mummy (din cry though, just calling out),both times around 10.30am. So i told her that it's prob hunger cos Cayden comes to me only when he is sleepy or hungry. At 11am, you will hear him say "eat rice"...by then he will be super hungry liao!

Triniti,
i hope i can achieve that too with the 2nd one.....7pm is still abit early for me....8pm is just right. so i can catch the latest TV program. hehehee...

at which month did you start the prenatal massage? I only did once at 7th month last time. maybe i should do a few before i deliver. i think i have lotsa block ducts now! hehehe...have to peel leh, otherwise so unsightly.

I support breastfeeding. But i think latching on will work for me the first 3 months. After that i have to express plus latching on. I have a cousin whose first (at 24months) still latch on for 2 milk feeds at night. Now he is competing with his 6month old bb brother at night. My cousin is like a milk cow. It's a habit liao, and both dun take bottles. I see more sleepless nights for her......
I will try to bf as long as possible, but if i have to stop at 6mth, or 9 mth (which i did for Cayden), then be it. demand feeding is a strict no no for me after 3rd month! I want a life!

zaczac, i also find that zephan responds to mandarin instructions better. he understands both, but only seems to comply more frequently when the instruction is given in mandarin. but then, i always believe that it'll be easier for kids to pick up english than mandarin later in life, so be happy that he has a young foundation in mandarin!

GF has methods to increase bm supply and yet not resort to demand feeding. Wa i look at the figures until tao-heen... i think i need a chart pinned up on the wall for easy ref. Next time la.

re: massage
u mean pre or post natal massage?

Aidanee
Last time I started with 5 mth onwards but this time, I wanna pamper myself and start from 3rd mth onwards hee...
Peel? What do u have to peel?? hehe

When I had anton, I totally followed GF schedule which means latch and pump but I stop latching anton when he is 6 mths cos he get distracted easily. So I think thats why I can only perserve till 9 mths. Hopefully this time, this bb is more cooperative and not look around while feeding...I dun want another spraying incident!!

2 milk feeds at night?? haha..no way for me!! I think Anton stopped his feeds at 12am when he is like 2-3 mths?

Which GF book got the GF schedule? She got so many titles...
I demand feed until I very tire now... maybe cos my supply is low and bb sleepy. Not sure is it too late to try since i'm already halfway into my confinement? Where to get the book huh?

Btw. how you ladies know where are the playgrp, cc available? Walk around the neighbourhood?

cakey
i cant remember the actual title. There is one for weaning....there is one for contented little baby....there is one for toddler....there is one for just sleeping....i got the first 3 titles. I think the schedule can be found in 2nd bk.

triniti,
now got alot of dead skin or dried milk on the nipples. wow, big time blockage inside and outside mannnn!!!

wanna check. if bb is full after 3/4 of one breast. do you pump out the bal 1/4 and the other breast? or u just latch him on the other breast the next feed? In this case, wont the 2nd breast feels overly engorged after 3 hrs without pumping/feeding?

wendy,
i told my hubby i need to enlarge the schedule and use it as wall paper in the MBR. hahaha....

just thinking...the CL will prob think i am mad too! hahaha...

aidanee
U alrady have blocked ducts now?? haha I think I only have blocked duct at the end of my 2nd trimester.
If your bb is full after one boob, just pump whatever you can. However, according to GF, one boob is usually not enough for the bb, and very likely will want to drink again within 2 -2.5 hrs. Ideally is to feed every 3-4 hrs.
Hopefully, our next bb will be a greedy eater and not sleep while drinking, or else very hard to do the GF routine.

aidanee
I'm assuming you are referring to pre-natal massage. I started that since I was about 4 months preggie, up till my 8th month. But for pre-natal, they don't usually massage boobs. Apparently, it might induce labour. House of traditional javanese massage has a very good package deal. I ended up paying only $37.50 per hour. PM me if you need more info.

cakey
Where do you live? The lady doing my postnatal passage is quite good, I feel. Her massages are very relaxing and best of all, she does the boobies and I find that I have slightly more supply than first pregnancy.

temple
I delivered at Mt A. Can take photo but no videos allowed.

Applejuz
I wore the same dress into delivery suite for Annette's time too! This mommy to cheap to buy new maternity clothes lah.

i see all the schedules in The New Contented Little Baby Book. Dunno how come there's new and old book? Cakey, according to the book, it's not too late to start even tho your baby may be 1 month liao.. just need to modify the schedules. Why now borrow from library first, see if u find it useful.. if u make up your mind to stick to the routine, then sink your $$ in a copy.
The book i have from the library is very well used.. some pages already falling out. I think the mommies who borrowed the book must hv been trying to memorise it... or maybe they just pay the overdue fine and refer to it all day long.

Wendyg,
When are you returning? Let me know leh maybe meet you there and I borrow if not don't know when then can get leh. Can?

Aidanee,
Thanks for sharing your CC experience.

Nancy,
good luck to you too...hope Charis can get use to CC life.

Vone,
Don't think I'm gonna try natural cos my cervix only dilated 2cm after 2 induction and 16hrs end up emergency c-sect. To save cost and time and to avoid the painful process, I have decided to go for epi c-sect for no. 2.

Wendyg,
So the schedule is inside The New Contented Little Baby Book. Looks like I have to go to Woodlands Library to try get a copy to read up b4 I deliver. Hopefully they are not all loaned out.

Tingting,
I heard it's quite easy for kids to pick up english that's why I didn't start on english at home. Hopefully when he goes to CC, he'll pick up the language fast and learn to communicate with the teachers n other toddlers.

Zac is gg to Learning Vision at my workplace. I jus have to go up 3 storey to see him so not that bad can still pop by to visit him as n when I'm free.

zaczac
the first time u gave birth at how many wks? Why need to induce? Mine was at 37.5wk, gynae was afraid cervix wouldn't open (coz not time yet) & in the end hv to C-sec. Which was exactly what happened. Induced due to reduced baby movement

nancy
the book due 11 Apr, but i may return earlier. Can just pass on the book to u meh? I always return at Book Drop, dun know how else to 'pass on'. I do know of a service that u can "Reserve" the book when it bcomes available.. it's chargeable tho.

I only found 2 of the 'The New Contented Little BB Book' in NLB catelog leh... Chances of borrowing it seems slim...
Any condition/criteria needed to follow it? My bb is a sleepy bb when nursing wonder will it works...

passing_guest,
I stay at yishun. How much yr massage and how long each session?

cakey
no i dun think there's any criteria.. the routine ensures baby feeds when HUNGRY, not SLEEPY. If baby falling asleep, she suggests feed 1 breast first, change nappy then offer 2nd breast. Change nappy time baby sure wake up.

i also heard before.. if baby is sleepy, she only wants to sleep, so will eat little. Then u'll end up carrying her to sleep, which is what GF discourages. Try feeding your girl when she wakes up, keep her awake & play abt 1hr, then nap time.

BTw anyone using huggies pull-up pant? Is the cutting big or small? Received a pack of L size (for till 13kg) but wonder to open it cos suspecting it to be small for my gal at near 12kg.

re: huggies pull ups
i tried before on isaac.. L size just nice (maybe a bit small) for 12kg, but poor absorbency. if u want XL to try, i've got loose pieces. PM me your addy and how many u want.

Hi Wendyg,
How about I meet you when you return hah?

I saw there's one on toilet training but its not available yet.

re: GF books
apparently there was a revised edition, so got new and old versions. I have 2 GF books, but can't remember the titles.. haha.. besides GF, there's also another sleepguide that's popular called "Healthy sleeping habits, happy child" or something like that. it's a rather technical book, but some of the advices quite sound. GF also referred to this book at certain points. The author believes that even at toddler stage, healthy sleep habits can be cultivated. Still think whatever we read, got to customise it to our situations.

sleepguide that tingting refers to is by arthur named Weissbluth. Can't forget his name.

nancy
then how, i just pass the book to u? Don't u hv to loan it under your name?

wendyg
I gave birth at 38 weeks as I didn't put on weight since 36 weeks so he was concerned that baby might not be growing well, better to let him come out earlier so induce lor! end up c-sect!

hi guys,
looks like i will be having a boy again. My hubby is the happinest man now cos his wish came true. Errr...no lah, think i wont want a 3rd one unless I have the time and energy to plan and strategise to make sure it's a gal. hehehe... Nothing is guaranteed.

PG,
I have tried their service at House of Javanese massage before, during the couplehood days....very gd.

wow, u very good....i dun know yet. aidan / cayden all so common now. Maybe should use back the good old robert or peter or thomas...dun see many of the new generation using. hahahah....

good ole John, Johnson, Christopher, William, Harry, Charles, Anthony, Benjamin, Malcolm, Jason, Keith, Joseph, Darren, Jeffrey, Kelvin, Kevin, Henry, Tom, Jerry etc etc

i thinking of all my relatives' names... haha.

aidanee, congrats on making ur hb happy! haha.. i also would be less hesitant to try for #2 if can guarantee a gal. :p

wendyg, see a few "famous" links in ur list:

william, harry, charles = brit royal
charles, keith = local shoe empire
tom, jerry = cartoon!

Hi Wendyg,
We will meet at the library, you return the book and I borrow lah!

Names-everyone is trying to be unique but in the end it ended up all so common as everyone stop using the common names!!! So ironic!!!

just to share: happened to pass by Times bookshop at Funan Centre, and they have a daily lunch hr special. bet 12-2pm mon-fri, all books (regular-priced) are at 20% disc.

I "popped" already. Bb is doing well. He is 3.93kg at birth. Bigger than koko a lots.

Now strugle with BF. Have very bad engorgement. Very very pain. Feel like want to give up. Any solution for reduce the pain beside the hot towel and cabbage?