(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi cakey,

yah my rice wine is not red colour one.

erm initially i dont place his pacifier in the bed as i usually did. then i "bluffed" him to say i'm going out to get his pacifier for him but didn't return to the room until 30min later. think he fell asleep while waiting.. :p after a few days he sort of got used to sleeping without it. i started with only the afternoon nap and eventually weaned off the night sleep pacifier. but my mother sometimes still gives him the pacifier during weekdays when he fusses, cos he sleeps in a sarong there. At least i can say he's not reliant on it.

he will just point at the baby sucking, but will not demand. we dont let him use the pacifier at times other than bed time. maybe that's why he doesn't demand for it outside.

hmm, everyone's quiet after CNY celebrations?

I'm thinking of doing a small ON spree, to close by this thursday. Value will be capped at US$100 to avoid credit card checks. Pls PM me your orders if interested ok?

re: avent pump
May I check with those mummies using avent manual pump, do you sterilize the white plastic parts eg. the pump handle, stand, the covers etc? Or just those transparent parts?

those parts that won't touch the breastmilk no need to sterilise.. i think? But i just throw the pump handle in as well... so that everything is together hee hee.

my boy decided he doesn't want to drink via bottle anymore.. he rejected several milk feeds via bottle, even after i switched formula. Then i tried the straw cup, he finished it nicely. Thanks to the child-care centre that gets him to drink either from straw or cup. O'wise lazy mommy here wouldn't have insisted that he switch. hee hee. Wondering when they'll start to potty-train him. Tried 1 afternoon at home but hubby got tired of the misses. So now training pants are sitting in the drawer.. Quite ex hor, nearly $10 a pair.

cakey, i sterilise everything as well.

wendy, good for you that isaac has weaned off the bottle.. i tried to let zephan drink from the cup, but he tends to keep his mouth open even after he removes the cup from his mouth, so the contents spill out.

hehe.. tingting, yr boy so cute. drink already forget to close mouth..

Nick these days enjoys being a camel. After feeding him, he will store his food at the side of his mouth. 15mins later, he will bite it and we will all panic thinking he might have taken gor gor's toys (small parts mah) and put into his mouth.

wendy
so your boy is now in child care? thot he was already potty trained?

Me planning to start potty training soon. First to get him to have a routine.

he's at child care in the morning
pick him up after lunch to nap at home.

all along he poos in the potty
the challenge is for him to pee in the potty/toilet bowl. Maybe i shld ask the teachers when they're starting, then i can co-ordinate with them. Coz when i tried it on my own some weeks back, he quietly pee on the floor and slipped on his pee. He doesn't know how to alert me even tho i taught him the word "xiao bian"

Tingting, but hamsters eat in small mouthfuls. Nick puts everything into his mouth at 1 go. greedy greedy boy..

Wendyg, i also thought nick the word "shi shi" but after he pee on the floor already then he says "oh no.. shi shi"..

Re : Drink from cup
Nick still cannot drink from a cup without a straw.

I need 6 kind souls to help me test out a new brand of diaper pants. Will mail 2 pieces (size XL) to each participants to test and try.

But I would need require the help of the testers to fill up a simple feedback form about the performance of the diaper pants.

Only have enough samples for 6 participants. Please PM me if you are keen. Thanks.

Anissa, me fired boss 1 week before CNY.. Now am living on fresh air and sunshine.. hehe..

Welcome to the SAHM cum slave to our kids world.. hehe..

Hi tingting & Nicky's mom,

No plans to be a SAHM yet though these days Clarence keeps telling me that he wants a mei mei. Wonder where he picks that up from??

I just feel that enough is enough. I joined the co as a Sales & Marketing Executive but was given the task of handling the tour guides unit. I had to do recruitment, training, assessment, payroll, scripts writing... Not to mention Call Centre, coporate sales and 8 mths ago, my co even asked me to help out with finance work! I had to handle daily sales from Suntec, Orchard, Bugis and hotel tour desks. This includes generating reports and issuing of commissions. 3 mths ago, we opened a department doing Inbound Tour and no prize for guessing it right, I started handling ground ops and even led tours!!! Imagine I'm one person handling 3 to 4 portfolios. Even though I generate $100k sales per mth for the co, my boss refused to pay me commissions and gave me a mere $50 increment! Little wonder why I am working 7 days a week, 16 hrs a day! At the end of the day when I can't finish all the tasks, you guess what the co said? It's all abt time management. I QUIT! If they can find someone who is willing to earn peanuts and yet cover all these duties, I kudo to them!

Think I will rest a mth and start looking for jobs...

Nicky's mom, at least you can live on fresh air and sunshine. I'll have to 'eat wind'. Hahaha...

wendyg
any display of separation anxiety when you first leave him at the childcare?

congrats anissa! me just quit as well.

Anissa, same same lah.. fresh air and sunshine also = eat wind and grass.. lucky my block downstairs still got quite a lot of grass for me to eat, so that's the veg.. hehe.. i know what u mean bout the time management part loh.. my ex company also told me the same thing and i told her "look.. people working here are all either divorced or single at 40yo. And look at the time they go home? 4am!" So nice say we all are given laptops and can work from home.. but then, when we do that from home, we still don't spend time with our kids. whole 9mths, i have to admit they paid me well and gave me 3 increments over the 9 months period plus tonnes of bonus. But then, it's with money but no time to spend and no time for the family loh.. i worked 7 days a week and close to 18 hours a day. And know what? when they called at 3am in the morning, i asked if they know the time, guess what 1 of the gers told me? it's only 3am and u are sleeping and we are still working in office!

Emmie, welcome to the SAHM world too..

Wendyg, i tried leaving nick at the childcare centre but he cried for 2 hours after i left (he was ok when am there) so in the end, decided i cannot put him in school yet.

Welcome Emmie!

<font color="0077aa">Hi mummies,
today I brought ds to the poly clinic for her 15mth jab (now already 18mths ah!), could not do it as ds still allergy to EGG ah! The nurse say to get doctor to refer to KKH so that they can observe and then see whether can jab. In the end me and dh say forget it lah we might as well defer its not as if we go KKH can straight away jab... I heard that there is a no egg jab, anyone can advise? TOLONG, HELP, HELP! Polyclinic don't have leh.</font>

Hi Nancy,

U mean MMR? I heard of that too. Maybe u could check with ur PD regarding this matter. I am sure that there is a no egg jab. I ever heard before from my friend.

Emmie/Nicky's mom
yeah isaac took abt 1 month to adjust.. now, most days he may only whine a bit, or happily join the other kids. The timing is v impt for isaac.. he reaches abt 8.30am, where they're just serving b'fast. Even though he already had 1 slice of bread @ home, he'll be easily bought over if someone offers him food. Dat's why i decided to let him remain on half-day childcare (7am to 12noon) instd of Flexi program (9am to 12noon), coz of the food element. Kids on Flexi dun get to eat bfast @ the centre. Cost abt $100+ more, but bo pian la...
One of the first few days i brought him to the centre, the teacher grabbed him and walked away from me quickly & motioned for me not to follow.. he cried & cried (so loud!) I peeped from outside. Teacher gave him some raisins, he kept quiet... when he finished his raisins, he started bawling again.. until tchr gave him sommore.. after 45min, he was happily seated in the group enjoying the sing-along. Of course he was happiest when we went to pick him up la..
Thank God the tchrs there are caring & didn't leave him to cry on his own. He's the youngest there.

oops, forgot to "announce" that Passing Guest popped on Friday 9th March... EDD 22 Mar. So annette has a meimei liao... Charlotte.

Passing guest, congrats!!

mummies, i think nick is fat.. i was looking at the july MTB and realised most bbs are between 9 - 12kg at 18mths. Nick is 16kg.. err, should i make him go on diet?

wow.. so fast PG has popped...

these days zephan has been so clingy and cranky (over the slightest things) that I'm almost tearing my hair (and his!) out! Can't figure out what happened to him, but for sure i'm glad that i only have 1 of him to deal with!

nicky's mom... if nicky is active i think it's ok lah.. unless he's constantly on exponential growth..

ting2, tell me bout it man.. nick is also like that.. dunno y. somemore this week is school holidays and sam is home too.. the 2 are fighting over cars, etc.. and when sam slams the bedroom door, nick will go and shake the saftey gate. This morning the 2 boys started the screaming competition at 7.30am! i'm going crazy..

Congrats, Passing Guest!

Nicky's Mom,
Don't need to let him go on diet lah! Their activeness will burn away the excess in no time. Like my ds, now auto dieting only growing "longer" the weigh just remains stagnant.

i used to work at child care cente.. its veri common that the toddlers will cry initially wen just starting to go child care centre.. they take bout 1 mth to adjust..

nicky's mom
16kg?!?!?!? Isaac is only 12kg but i carry until got a bit Carpel Tunnel liaoz nowadays go out seldom use pram coz we prefer him to walk, but when he's tired he wants to be carried.
U better dun carry Nick hor.. take care of your #3. When due huh. Hope it's a Little MISS PIGGY.

wendyg, wow.. come to think about it, i quite superwoman.. haha.. i bring nick out alone almost once or twice a week + the stroller and his barang barang.. And, i'm too fat to get into the driver seat without getting knocked so i lug the boy + pram + bag into the cab / bus / train, up and down the shopping centre.. i cannot afford not to take the stroller otherwise i will have to carry him when he's tired also..

Piggy is a princess so i can declare factory close down after this liao.. Am due in June but expected to delivery likely mid may..

Nancy, but he machiam like so sumo.. he don't look fat but dunno y so heavy leh..

nicky's mom, you are really a wonderwoman! I normally only bring my boy out with his barang and no stroller... I only bring my stroller if I'm taking the LRT.

wendyg
so how much are you paying for the half-day session? the childcare is near your home? I want to look for child care centres as well when I'm ready to return to work. But not sure whether to get one near my mum's or near workplace.

alone? hahah that is IMPOSSIBLE. i'll have to push d pram w a 6 week old baby and make sure i dun lose sight of chloe at the same time.

Chloe is still a baby, rather, a big baby so it kinda tough. Jus imagine going down the escalator w her n d pram! it'll be much easier if she is 7 like sam! :p

dressaholic, going out with sam very tiring.. he's forever asking questions and it's non-stop.. Y not u go buy the string that u can "tie" chloe and push titi in the pram, this way chloe also won't get lost. I "tied" sam before but my parents were so against it cos they felt i was treating sam like a dog.. but i guess if i develop flower legs later and not want to leave nick at home, i will go and buy the strip to "tie" nick and then go out loh..

hi all.. just share my exp wif u gals.. my hubby, my 2 sister, another fren n 1 brought my son (18mths) and 6 weeks out on sat. We were totally shack out on the way home.. FYI- i oni wen to the nursury to bf and swensons.. during the 4hr at the shopping mall... anyway on the way home in the MRT, i saw a malay mother alone with her 3 daughters... i was telling my sis, we have 5 adults vs 2 babies, and the malay mother was supermom i guess...

dressaholic
just moved back to sgp. so sad to leave shanghai. how's coping with the newborn and chloe? Sometimes the thought of handling 2 at one shot makes me shudder at the idea of having a second one. Of course cannot tell my hubby this cos he will be superhappy not to hv another one...haha...

btw, can share your confinement lady's contact? My sil is looking for one and she's not keen to use back the previous.

emmie

isaac goes to neighbourhood childcare few blocks away from my home
http://www.geniuskoolhse.com/
coz i'm not the one dropping him off/ picking him up. Either my husband or my dad will do it. So no point making him take the company transport with me to my workplace.. altho the rates of childcare ctr near my offc are lower.
There are a few 'branded' childcare in Punggol, but not as near my home as this one.. we're going for the convenience lor.. o'wise my dad may have to take bus to pick him up blah blah. dowan la.
The ratio of the playgroup now is 2 tchrs to 6 kids.. tchrs are attentive. When isaac cries (eg separation anxiety), they dun just leave him alone.. they will carry him & bribe him with food until he calms down, which is fairly quickly now, if he ever cries at all. He was there since 1 Feb (18m old). $420 for half-day.. govt subsidise $75, so $345. Then had to fork out initial registration fee.. uniforms etc.

U considering full-day childcare for your boy?
isaac is now on half-day morning coz we felt that full day may be a bit too long for him, coz the centre doesn't give them dinner, and if he were to wait for me to get home from work & prepare dinner, it would be 7pm+ liaoz.. normally he gets dinner latest 5.30pm, coz he hits the sack by 8pm, sometimes earlier.

dressaholic
hey, consider a twin stroller? U take pram pls use elevator la...

hey, does anyone use scare tactics to get your child to comply? My husband does and it works fairly well, altho i'd rather not start when isaac's at such an impressionable age, but i find myself doing it more often ley... my dad does that too... he'll say "cockroach! scared"
i dowan him to develop a fear of things...

wendyg, i do.. when nick goes into the kitchen, we will tell him cockroach / lizard and he will run out of the kitchen. But then again, we quite bad.. cos whenever there is a dead cockroach, we will carry him into the kitchen and make sure he sees it there!

For same when he was at this age, he only scared of the POLICEMAN!

Sometimes bo pian.. i rather they be fearful of some things than not at all..

ayl0212,

i seldom bring both my boys out together alone.. they can hardly stay still. I cannot tahan children running around in the train but to make my 2 boys sit still is almost impossible unless maybe i glue them to the chair!

Actually, am quite surprise that even sam and nick (6years apart) can play and fight together. i thought the age gap so far liao, should be fine. Guess am in for more fighting when meimei is out! Think she will be very boyish too bah..

for now, if i tell isaac there's a cockroach/lizard in the kitchen, all the more he wants to come in to take a look. hahaha.
But if there's a vacuum cleaner nearby, he'll try to avoid the area. We were recently @ Jurong Point and there was an array of vacuum cleaners for sale at the main lobby, he insisted on me carrying him.

wendyg,

ben makes it a point not to scare zephan of things like cockroach, policeman, etc. Anyway, it'll be in my interest that he's not scared of insects so next time he can help me get rid of them! haha... i think they'll develop fear of certain things on their own, e.g. zephan is apprehensive when he walks over a drain that's covered by metal strips (guess bcos it doesn't look as solid as normal ground).

our neighbourhood got branded childcare meh? how come i dunno?

wendyg

2 teachers to 6 kids... that's quite an ok ratio. that's the prob...if I look at childcare near my future workplace, it will have to be full-day. But if near my mum's it will be half-day so that my parents can spend some time with him. but not sure what choices there are around my mum's place which does not require too much travelling.

issac sleeps so early? the only time ryan will sleep that early is if he skips his 2 naps...

re: fear
Anton has no fear whatsoever!He is not afraid of barking big dogs like boxers or German Shepards; in fact he finds it amusing. He even wanted to pull their tail or tongue. He is not afraid of insects or any form of animals like lizards or frogs; he wanna chase them. And for some unknown reason, he loves timber strips and drain covers cos he know is he steps on them, it would make noise.