(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi cmy,
your boy looks very strong and like a toddler already
My bb girl does that too and I'm abit concern cos she's after all a gal but her behaviour rough like a boy!

hi cmy, my son also monkey style.. if his hands touch the window grilles he would never let go until u pry them away! A bit like magnet attracted to iron... :p

sharon, no prob.. will have another chance.

ting, i make sure tt he's in deep sleep b4 i cut his nails. if he moves, then i'll stop 4 a while b4 continuing.

cmy, gosh, ur son is so cute.

sharon,
haha..he is 10 mth old today.

cakey,
Think because he is boy. That's why looks more like toddler..

tingting,
yeah. Think boy tend to be more naughty...Sometimes buay tahan I just put him inside the playpen with lot of toys. But hor he also wants to climb. My MIL even commented how come this boy naughty than his father..

Vone,
ya...he is a cute "monkey" hehe..

to keep isaac still, we will recite the Lord's Prayer, or tell him a story. We already memorised abt 5 of his favourite books & we will launch into prayer/ story when he's twisting during diaper change or nail-cutting.
He'll stay still until we finish the prayer/ story. If we're not done by then, we just continue with reciting the same thing.

wendy, good method! it used to work for zephan when we used songs, but now... haiz.. he just wants to grab and crawl away! maybe u can demo tomorrow for zephan to see.. haha..

re: zzzz thr the night

YC doesnt zz thr the night too ... so i am practically late for work everyday *faint* ... my boss even caught me dozing off once duing meeting hahahaha but she was q nice abt it lar ... heng man

CMY ...

hey ur boy reminds me of my boy hahahaha think he will be like this in 1mth time heehee

YC is still coughing away now .. hope that he recovers real soon

cmy
your ds so funny! Cannot walk yet can climb. We must meet up soon leh....

Seabreeze
hope YC recovers soon...*Hugs*

seabreeze,

Then Ethan and YC can become brothers hor....

ixwong,
when you want to meet up? This sat can't as got appoitment with friend liao...

I happen to chance upon this website where they actually pay you for reading emails (or rather advertisements). Previously I have a friend who tried and he told me he really received $$$. Kinda interesting. Wonder if any SAHM would like to give it a try. No harm since they are not charging any $$$. Give me your email address if you are interested and I will forward you the link.

cmy,
That's soooooooooooooooooooooo cute! I d/l the pic and intend to show it to my mum tonight. Hahaha...

lib,
I've mailed out the vouchers yesterday but cos I'm not sure of your name I wrote 'Kylie's mum' on the envelope

anissa
saw something similar in Marketplace.. wonder if it's the same. $0.01 per email, must reach at least $11 before they'll let u encash. Means at least 1,100 emails. if just sit whole day click click, wonder how many emails can i clear per day? May need to spend more $$ getting new specs... haha. And would still need to run after baby. Unless put him on a leash =)))

wendyg,
If you think of it that way it's true but it generates very fast cos you just need to forward to 20 pple and the 20 will each forward to another 20 so it keeps multiplying. My friend actually got $1k to $2k every mth but then it will eventually 'die off' when you run out of pple to forward to cos the I believe you get lesser than $0.01 when it is referred by your referral (if u know what I mean)

I am giving it a try while 'eating snake' in the office. Hahaha... No harm pls it's GSS. Wanna see what gd bargain I can get! Hahaha...

hi anissa,
wonder if duplicate emails counted or not? If so we can gather 20 emails and keep forwarding to one another hehe...

Hi cakey,
Doubt so lah cos they have our url address mah. Think they so stupid meh. But this kinda thing you probably can only earn a few times only. After that will slowly die off one.

hi anissa,
just saw yr mail and the website say will forfeit all earning for cheating member hehe.. Their reward scheme sounds abit like MIM :p

Really? Which page? I must have missed it. Hahaha...

Basically it's a form of advertising lah. Advertiser pays only if pple read their advertisement. Imagine how much pple pay for advertisements! This is probably peanuts to them.

hiya, no takers for gathering tomorrow? anywayz, can just PM me for address if u wanna come last min, or sms me if u have my number.

Date: Tomorrow!
Time: 2pm onwards till about 5pm
Venue: Punggol

Who'll be there:
1. Wendy & Isaac

tingting:
would love to come today but elizabeth has flu.. running nose so think better not come.. dun wanna spread to zeph and isaac.

Wendyg i find your posting very amusing leh...sometimes i cant help but laughing as i read. You must be a humourous person
Wonder did i miss u the last time at seabreeze's hse. Love to meet u

Tingting, i pm u already. But today thot of going robinson to check out their britax carseat, afraid too rush. See whether i can make it or not ok?

mummies ...

justcame back from the PD ... he said that YC is clear now heehee just that it will take a while for the cough to go away ...

anyway we just book a BKK trip in end July ... yeah!! first time that YC taking a flight and its the first hol since i was preg

looking foward to it man!!

kathy
i'm just corny coz i love corn. Chey, if u had come today, u could've brought me some..
i din go to the pool party the other time.

I've a question. What can we do to help our babies when they are coughing? bb Kai is coughing quite badly. Brought him to the doc and he is reluctant to give him a cough mixture saying that he is too young, might not be good. Therefore, it seems that there nothing i can do to relieve his coughing. Pains my heart to see him coughing like that.

Is there anything that i can do to soothe his throat?

TIA for the advise.

hi Eileen,
have u tried baby tui na? it helped my son who had recurrent bronchiolitis recover when nothing else works. i have posted the details somewhere before but i don't know how to retrieve it. still a bit suaku at this forum... i will try to cut and paste the message here. hope your bb Kai gets well soon.

seabreeze:
yay! good to hear YC is well.. guess yr power BM helped him recover fast!

eileenp:
my PD gave my girl medication for cough.. some transparent clear cough mixture. I'm not sure why yr doc said can't give cough mixture cos too young? Did you see a PD or GP?

Baby Q,
Thanks alot.

i_need_milk,
I went to a polyclinic GP. I went twice and different docs gave the same advice. Saying he too young for cough mixture. Maybe i should go to a PD hor. Ok. Will see how his cough goes tomorrow then decide.

eileen, govt docs tend to be more KS. meanwhile, can try to give him some food that's good for cough? i think stewed pear is one. of course, more water always helps.

zephan's got his first fever today. not sure how he caught it though. quite worrying, cos it hovers around 38.5 deg at home, n when measured at clinic, it's 39.4 deg. doc said it's most prob a viral fever, the one so many kiddos are getting these days, and at the end of it (abt 5 days later), will break out in rashes and that's the end of the episode. think i wont be sleeping much the next few days.

tingting,

i think so too. Well, i will try giving him more water. Cause dunno how to stew pear. hahaha... Lazy mummy here.

Another thing,
can we just pop a frozen piece of fish into boiling water to cook their porridge? Cause i always gotta wait quite a while for it to defroze. will it cause any problem, if they don't eat the fish?

eileenp
It is best to thaw the meat in the chiller before taking it to cook or it might cause inbreedin of bacteria. It does not cause any problems not eating fish but oily fish like cof and salmon is very high in Omega 3 fatty acids which is good for the heart and I think you might have known by now that eating lotsa fish can increase your baby's intellegence. I feed anton at least 4-5 times of salmon a week ( for both lunch and dinner) mix with either chicken or lamb. If you feed them a variety of food at a young age, they will not be fussy eaters when they grow up.

tingting ...

yar i think its the viral fever ... its q bad cos my PD said that alot of bb got it recently ... take care

eileenp ...

think its better to bring kai to see the PD ... to be honest i dun really trust the GP or polyclinic dr when it comes to baby ... my PD gave him cough mixture as well

i usually bring the meat and fish down from the freezer to the lower compartment the night before ... so that by the next day ... the fish and meat is nicely thawed =)

triniti,

What i meant was, can i cook the frozen fish straight from the freezer to the boiling water instead of thawing it first? If this is done, will there be any problem?

Wow, Anton is so fortunate. Has such a variety of food every meal. Normally, i just gave Kai a meat/fish and a vege combi. Didn't know that i can mix fish with meat. Will try the next time. Thanks for the info.

tingting:
yeah, when bb fall sick, parents dun get enough sleep! Eliz is down with flu n she wakes up 2-5 times for the past 2 nights! Has blocked nose, phlegm so was pretty unhappy tossing abt in her cot n then crying.. usually I let her cry but since she's sick, we ended up carrying her to sleep.. hopefully this doesn't cultivate bad habits.

eileenp ...

hmmm dunno ler but i think its better to thaw everything so that when u cook its more even right? cos u might end up having some part not so cooked ... dun be lazy lar hahahaha

i need milk ...

i can understand man ... i was actually carrying YC to zzz on those nights when his croup was getting worse ... cant zzzz at all .. but they really do feel better and comforted when we are close to them when they are sick ... so dun worry too much abt the bad habits thingy ... u can start to train her again when she is well

sharon ...

snow fish = cod fish right?

re- CIO

How do you let your baby CIO? if you leave him or her in the cot to CIO, won't your baby climb and play and crawl around the cot, and not lie down and sleep? my girl has always been able to sleep through the night, and by herself since she was 2months old. However, recently very hard to get her to sleep...dunno if she's teething or what..she's so sleepy, eyes half closed, still keep flipping over and crawling, standing up in her cot and playing/shouting. we have to pay attention to her, ie look at her or she will cry. yesterday night we let her CIO..she went on and on and on and on for half an hour, until her bedsheet also wet with her tears. everytime we look at her, she will wail even louder... but hor, at the end of it, we still have to put her down into her sleeping/lying position, then she fell asleep within seconds. if not, she can continue standing in her cot and the railing..she did so for 20 mins yesterday, all the while screaming/crying on top of her voice. Hubby and i had to wear our wireless headsets and watch tv, turn on max volume to drown out her cries, if not, very tempted to go and pick her up cause heartache.

will your babies just lie down and sleep by themself after they're tired of screaming/crying? what's the maximum time limit we can let her CIO?

of course, needless to say, got a lot of protest from my MIL

Hello Ting/Ix/Vone and mummies!

Vone, will let you know if we have a gathering with the East Coast mummies. Hopefully, we could meet up this month at Parkway parade. Are you a SAHM?

seabreeze,

Hehehe, yah lor. One very lazy mummy here. Will try Triniti's suggestion. Put it in the chiller in the morning and when i need it for dinner, it should be thawed already. Hee...

I'm a Mummy,
Yup. Kai also tosses around, crawl around, climb here and there and try to stand before he sleeps. So poor mummy has to be there until he's tired and fall asleep.

Hi I'm a Mummy,

CIO really works. BB Sarah is known to everyone incl. infant care teachers to be very loud a bb. In the past, when she stood in her cot crying for a long time, I would go to the room and put her in the sleeping position. But, this would only give her false hope that I was going to rescue her from the cot. She would then cry even louder when I left the room. From then on, I decided to just let her cry to sleep. The crying time would reduce by each day. It took me around 1 week to achieve this. Must be persistent and consistent. But of course, we need to differentiate if bb is crying to you, or that they are geniunely uncomfortable. If it is the latter, I dun think we should let them cry for too long. Also, bb's room has to be well ventilated.

These days, when it comes to bedtime, I will just put her in the cot, kiss her good nite, turn on classical music (soft volume), close door. At times, she would just knock out, other times, she would stand in the cot (in the dark room), waiting for us to come back, give up eventually, and knock out. Worse scenario is that she could cry for 2-5 mins before knocking out.

Hmmm...I realised it's getting tougher to get our babies to sleep now that they are growing up. My ds used to willingly go to bed but nowadays also put up a struggle even though can see from his eyes that he's really sleepy. He's teething (yet again! can't see the 9th one but I know it's coming) so that's not helping...woke up 3 times last night. *mummy tired today*

Wendgy, aya miss you again last sat. Next tm will give you a corn treat!
tingting, so sorry din make it to yr hse. Orchard super crowded on sat, by the tm we got into a cab, it was almost 5pm and both mummy and bb tired liao. Will try to make it for yr next playgrp session.

Hi ic_69, I bot the tiger thermal flask to keep the porridge. Its very gd, by evening the porridge is still warm and moist. The usual price is abt $89 (according to the salesperson) but I paid $39 as it was on offer at carrefour abt 2-3 mths ago. Usually my maid will trf the porridge straightaway into the thermo flask once its cooked and we just carry it with us when we go out. Convenient.

hi ixwong,
I tried letting bb slept over instead of sending her back to MIL on sunday night.. Ended I got to wake up 10 times or more last night to pat her back to sleep.. the last time at 5.40 even got to transfer her to sarong before she's willing to lie down
Tried giving her milk but only willing to take 30ml... really dunno what she wants...
Maybe she's teething also and the weather is hot...
The only thing better than u is that her cot is beside my bed...