(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Sharon
Maybe u are giving her too much solids? It also depends how old your baby is? I don't log in very often now, so you can pm me if you want to ask more questions

Hi coffeedrinker,

for breakfast, my girl has 200ml of FM, and about 3-4 tablespoon of cereal (before mixing with some FM or puree. after mixing is about 1 small bowl). i will give her heinz banana cereal or brown rice cereal mixed with puree for breakfast.

hi Sharon,

My girl's schedule is something like this:-

715/730am - 200ml FM + 3 tablespoon cereal (dry before mixing)
11am - 150ml FM
1230pm - 1 bowl porridge (about 6-7 tablespoon of porridge)
4pm -150ml FM
6/630pm - 1 bowl porridge (about 6-7 tablespoon of porridge)
8/815pm (before bed) - 150ml FM

dunno if i am over feeding her or not..her stomach is always so 'big' after eating hee

hi tingting,

check with you something...you mentioned 3 spoonfuls, is it before mixing (ie. dry) or after mixing with water/milk etc? i always get blur when i read forum and they mention spoonfuls..so not sure if my girl is over or under eating..

hi I'm mummy to be,
when u say porridge , do you have meat and vege in them? It is also advisable to have fruits after their meals at this age ( I am following Gina Ford feeding schedule)

I think as long the amt of food includes one meat and 2 vege and 2 fruits, I think your girl should be eating fine.
Actually you will know whether she is under or overeating just by looking at her weight, the avg weight for 8 mths is about 8-8.5kg

hi i'm a mummy,

mine is 3 spoonfuls (normal adult mealtime spoon) of cereal, before mixing. sometimes my mum will give fruit/juice after bfast as well.

zephan's schedule is somewhat the same as ur gal's, but less 1 milk feed:

6am - milk feed (latch on)
8am - cereal
11am - lunch (1 rice bowl of porridge)
2pm - milk feed (either latch/FM/EBM)
5pm - dinner (1 rice bowl of porridge)
8pm - milk feed (latch on)

re: feeding
Actually I feed Clarence anything and everything. He just shared a Chicken Nugget Meal with me over the weekend and we had steamboat yesterday. Of cos he joined in too. He has almost 10 teeth now.

re: gai gai
My bb also likes to go gai gai. Will glee in delight if we open the door. My mum calls him 'hwei ka' (in hokkien)
These days he seems to be calling 'ba ba' - not very clear. Very disappointed that he didn't call 'ma ma' first since I spend so much time with him!

Sharon,
I think that is just one of the phrases bbs go thru. Clarence always drinks very little milk when he was 6-7 mth old. Now he is back to 'normal' until

Hi triniti,

Ya my girl's porridge has meat & veg in it. Each porridge meal consists of porridge with 1 fish, 1 meat and 1 veg.

Hi anissa,
wah! your bb has 10 teeth?! my girl still bogay heh

re-glenn doman flash cards
did any of the mummies here purchase from the previous bulk purchase? the cards were self-printed from taiwan, for $128 for english and maths cards? i am looking for that thread, but it seems to have gone missing. Can anyone provide the following info? thanks!

1) number of cards
2) measurements of the cards
3) measurements of the lettering

re - solids

Have any of you mummies fed your bb egg yolk, cheese or bread yet? what kind of cheese and bread can we feed? and do you just give bb the egg yolk like that, or do you mix it with other types of food?

re: solids, i've given egg yolk (mixed into porridge) and bread (pinch off my own bfast). as for cheese, i think the best is to avoid blue cheese until they're older. normal processed cheese slices are high in sodium. think best should be cottage cheese? but i havent tried that though.

Hi I'm a Mummy,
can I check if ur gal finish all the porridge. I always have trouble feeding her. I take it as if she refuse means she full liao. I have fed baby egg yolk mixed in porridge, gardenia bread (the blue one). I also fed some kraft cheddar slices to my gal but stop cos I am not v sure if can eat cos I thot it was abit too salty?

Anissa
Wah ur boy oredi has 10 teeth? My gal only has 2 bottom now growing 2 top. Super drooly, has to keep wiping saliva. Can eat anything is good cos going out will b easier.

To all mommies,
Any baby has changed his/her sleeping habits? Mine refuses to sleep in the morn. Dunno issit bcos she wakes up at 8+ now. Worry that she dun hv enough sleep.

I'm a mummy!,
Yeah, he has 6 teeth on top and 4 teeth below. No choice. Greedy pig has to have more teeth so that he can eat more stuff. Hahaha... I'm quite scared to bf him these days. Never know when he will bite. OUCH!

Cupcake,
Actually it's not advisable to feed your bb outside food But I just don't have the heart not to give him when he screams his head off. His 1st 2 teeth came out when he was 3 mth+ and by 5mth he already knew how to drink from straw. Sometimes he even takes my coke! Hahaha...

re: sleeping habit
I think at 8 mth they no longer sleep so much...

anissa, now that clarence is taking sugary/sodium food must remember to wash off with water and to brush his teeth at night. remembered long time ago TCS actress Ivy Lee was blasted by dentists after she said in an interview that she gave her daughter all the sweets she wants cos "baby teeth will drop off anyway". If u dowan to give him the food try distracting him or carry him away.

re: sleeping
zephan sleeps just as much as before, about 12-14 hrs per day. guess he's the type who needs to sleep a lot. but then he's v active during waking hrs, always want to jump, climb, crawl, etc.. maybe that's why more easily tired. :p

Hi cupcake,
Yup my gal finishes her porridge..i will usually feed her until she burps, then i stop haha usually its about one bowl full...

Hi Anissa,
wah 5 months can use straw already? so good! how did you teach him? my girl still refuses to use the cup with soft spout. She will just chew on the spout, or wave/shake/throw the cup around...

re- sleeping
ya my girl sleeps less in the day now...nowadays, her naps are only about 45min-1hr, and she naps 3 times a day. last time her naps were about 2 hours long each time, and i could do much more while she was sleeping. Now, after i rock her to sleep, by the time i finish washing her bottles, towels, bibs etc. and i settle down and do my stuff, she wake up liao..sigh..

At night, she sleeps about the same number of hours. from around 830pm to 630/7am

Hi all mummies...

Have been following this thread on and off but didn't really post much...

I'm a Mummy,
My 8-month old boy Joshua also cannot drink from cup with soft spout yet too... play with it instead... so now still relying heavily on bottle...

Check with you mummies,
Do your babies sleep through the night already..? Mine have not since birth, now still wakes up once every night (about 1-2am) to drink milk... My friend told me to give water instead... will that help?

Any gatherings during this june? Hope to join you gals then cos that's the time I'm most free..:eek:)

Just to share with you a pix of him.. O;)

422122.jpg

hi, Triniti/Tingting/Anissa

As what triniti says is correct,I'm feed my gerger ,after take advice from triniti, i have adjusted 2 scoop of porridge for dinner( Im using steamboat scoop)my ger has drink 260ml before sleep.

I will adj my schedule to..

6/7am 180ml milk

9am breakfast- scoop rice cereal + 2 scoop oatmeal + 2 cube veg

12pm Lunch- 2 scoop of porridge (steamboat scoop)

3/3.30pm Tea- 180ml milk

6.30pm Dinner-2 scoop of porridge

8pm last feed- 180ml milk

*porridge will cook with one meat/fish,carrot/pumkin,one green veg,ikan bilis powder
hi, Triniti is it the rite one???

Hi Hosanna,
welcome. my son slept thru the night fr 10pm - 7am.
though in the middle of night does cry abit, but we jus plug in pacifier...
& he goes back to sleep.

hey, ur son is cute! does he knows how to move the car?
mine only sit but dunno how to push himself yet.

Hi mummies, thanks for sharing schedule and type of breakfast.

I uses the scoope for milk powder as a measurement for Cereal.. so 3-4 tablespoon of cereal.. maybe about 5 scoop hor?

My gal sleep about 14 hour a day.. nite to morning is 10 hour and during the day nap total 4 hour.. how to make her eat every 3 hourly..?

her schedule currently :

7.30am milk 180ml

9.30-10.45 sleep (1 hour 15 min)

11.00 lunch-porridge
12pm fruit

1.00-3.00 sleep (2 hour)

3.00 milk 180ml

5.00-5.45pm sleep (45min)

6.30pm dinner-cereal

8.30 sleep to tomorrow 7.00pm (10hour)

I want to feed her morning breakfast (cereal) but no slot leh , how? every morning,she drink milk and bath already 8.15am , then she will " send me to work" (my hubby send me to work .. office just 5 min from my home).. drop me off to office and return home but go playground/garden first till 9.15am, then return home and drink water.. sleep at 9.30am.

No slot for her to eat cereal!
any ways to change?

coffeedrinker,

wow!! your gal can sleep longer hour in the afternoon nap. mine one only half and hour to one hour only. and she's still can sleep so early @ nite.

hi coffeedrinker, think u'll have to combine the morning feed with cereal? or feed cereal at 8-8.30am. for mornings, i feed zephan cereal at 8am (milk feed at 6am), followed by bath at 8.30am and nap at 9am. so long as u have space between cereal, bath n nap so that she's not to full to bathe and sleep.

sharon/triniti,

is it necessary to add veg to bfast? cos we adults also never take them in the morning. for porridge, i usually give 1 meat (fish/pork), 1 root (carrot, pumpkin, radish) and 1-2 veg (leafy, broccoli, cabbage). I usually give pork for lunch and fish for dinner cos fish more easily digestible. Following the mantra: have a good breakfast, full lunch, and light dinner.. hehe...

morning mummies...
wa, sharon, u still online at 4.35AM.

my boy oso short sleeper. 0.5 - 1hr nap oni. hmm...think as long as they r not fussy & wakes up happy, shld be ok ba

oso trying to train him to sleep early.. but always fail. 10pm is his earliest! Argh...

Hi Applejuz,
Nope, that photo is 'pose and snap'... cannot sit steadily on the car yet..:eek:)

Coffeedrinker,
What i did for bf is that I will prepare his cereal with ebm and he will eat the cereal followed by the remaining ebm (about 100ml)... all these after his bath at 7.30am...

Tingting,
I added fruits like peach to my cereal for his bf but not vegetables... that's for lunch....

Mine can usuallly nap for 1-1.5 hour... That Sat, when i slinged him while shopping, he slept for 2.5 hours...ouch...my back and shoulders... I even ate my dinner while slinging him...

oh boy... it's only Tuesday... :eek:(

Sharon
I have emailed you

Anton don't like the spout either, instead he loves to drink from the cup itself ( like us adults) though he he has minor spills from the side but he can drink alot from the cup...so I was thinking once he can drink without spilling , I will also let him drink his milk from the cup
which means no more sterilising of bottles and washing so many parts hehehehe

hello mummies
can I apply for a passport for my baby online.
Does it need to be a joint application where baby's details are stuck in mummy's passport.Thanks

Tingting.
This is up to individual want to add fruits/veg into cereal for breakfast : )

Applejuz,
Because mine ger wake up @0400am for milk liao.

Triniti,
reply you already!!

Hi triniti,
Does anton hold the cup on his own? my girl can drink from the cup, but only if i hold the cup for her. If let her hold on her own, the water will fly everywhere as she will swing/fling the cup around...how did you teach anton to hold the cup properly?

I'm a mummy,
Actually we didn't train him to drink frm straws. He likes to follow us and drink frm mineral bottles instead of his own milk bottle so my mum gave him a straw and to our surprise, he sucks frm it. At first I didn't believe when my mum told me so I put the clear straw in a coke can and gave it to Clarence. To my surprise, he drank frm the straw. I guess when it comes to food, he will try ways and means to get it into his mouth. Hahaha...

tingting,
Thnks for the advice. Will start doing so tonight! Btw, his latest fav is strawberry!

hi anissa, remember to check for allergic reaction to strawberry hor... cos berries are a rather high risk allergy grp of foods..
nice that clarence eats so many types of food.. now zephan also knows to say "mum mum" when he wants a bit of what we're eating.

I tried the magmag cup but my gal also can't really drink well from it. I realise that the spout is not at the edge so got to tilt the cup quite high. Whearas the tollyjoy one, the spout is at the edge she can drink much better. Just too bad the tollyjoy one doesn't have any cover so not too good for bringing out.
Once we're at a restaurant and the waitress gave her a cartoon cup with straw.. she took the draw and bite instead of sucking from it hehe.. Maybe we shld have demo to her at that time...

tingting,
Oh, really?? I didn't know that. I gave his last weekend and he seemed to like it so my mum bought a box and gave him 3 yesterday. No sign of any allergy.

Clarence only knows how to say 'ba ba'

hey anissa, how many months is clarence. yes, I have read from the net, try to give strawberries at a later stage. My boy is 7.5 months. bo gei.. but drooling a lot!!

cakey, zephan also doesnt like to drink from the mag mag spout, just likes to chew it. but he likes his nuby spout cup, and can drink a lot from it, though he'll chew it after a while too! mag mag is not drip-proof right? think the hole is too big and water will drip out when tilted.

Anyone can advise whether cereal is a cuase of constipation? I read it in one of the websites provided in this thread...? I have been giving him Heinz multigrain cereal for his breakfast everyday... He tried to do his business just now and was wailing away because it was hard and wouldn't come out... have been giving him veg, fruits and barley water everyday, and changed FM from Nan to Similac but doesn't seem to improve... any advice on this? Really heart pain to see him cry like this

hi tingting,
My magmag doesn't drip but my gal kept getting choke drinking from it leh.. abt 80% of the time she'll end up coughing (like choking) when drink from it.. Thinking of getting another cup but quite 'heart pain' to buy another one after spending so much on the magmag..
Maybe I try let her drink direct from the cup or train her to use straw hehe...

hi cakey, tingting, featherg
my magmag cup drips, so i bought a magic cup from avent but that one the spout in the middle and design a bit odd, seems hard for her to drink from and one from munchkin,the munchkin one i find is better, but still also dun like..all she dun like or refuse to drink from..haiz, waste my money

i find the nuby one quite good..
but might as well train them on cup at this point rather than spending $$ on more cups.

Hosanna, grains contain fibre, so u need water combined w fibre to move bowels effectively. try to give him more plain water? and feed a single grain that's more refined, e.g. rice, wheat cereal. Coarse grains like oats can be withheld for the time being until the problem is solved. If he doesn't poo for more than 3 days, got to see GP to clear it first.

I'm a mummy
Hehe anton cannot hold by himself without spilling, I think right now they cannot coordinate their muscules well yet so still need us to hold it for them but in the least they are progressing from bottles which is a very good sign

I've been feeding bb Kai porridge for dinner. But this lazy mummy didn't puree the broccoli leh. I just boil it with the porridge, then i just mashed the broccoli together with the porridge. I took out the stem and chopped the 'flowers' finely. Is this ok?

featherG,
Clarence is turning 9 mth next week. Just told my mum today not to give Clarence anymore strawberries till he is older but she doesn't believe me
Said give so many times also no prob. She just bought him another box. *hiaz*

anissa, if both you n ur hb's families have no history of allergies then should be quite safe..

eileen, eh, not possible to puree broccoli right? cos it's quite dry, unlike leafy vegs.i also just chopped the flower part n cook together w porridge. in fact, i've never pureed anything for zephan before.

eileenp, tingting,
for my broccolli, i usu steam separately till soft first, chop the 'flower' part till fine, then throw them into the porridge when its almost cooked & mashed a bit w spoon. din directly throw into slow cooker, cos may not be soft enough.

for veg such as broccoli or leafy ones can we pre-cook/steam then freeze them huh? else cook abit each time is very time-consuming and also alot of leftover uncook ones..

It's really not easy being mummy leh.. to think that we don't usually cook (and don't really know how to cook hehe..) and just eat out every weekend.. Then now got to start cooking and not only that, must make sure the stuff we cook is appertizing to our bb..
Dare not complain to my mum can only complain here... everytime I complain she'll nag that "now-then-know-hor" hehe..

cakey, i dun steam & freeze veggies coz i feel tt d nutrients will b lost. i oni do tt 4 veggies such as pumpkin, sweetcorn, etc. even then, i oni keep them 4 a max of 3 days. hehe... i can understd hw u feel. nvm, we r here 2 share our woes k.

hi vone,
Thanks for sharing
I also heard that even for adult it's no good to eat leftover veg dish.
Now I try to cook more and eat the bb porridge as well to minimize wastage hehe...

Hi ladies, long long time nvr log in has been very busy since i started work lately.. trying to juggle between work & family..

For veggies, usually kylie will eat wat we eat for the meal. Juz take out some and cook for her.. anyway she isn't a porridge person.. she prefers taking cereal.. usually porridge she only have like half a bowl. I dun agree to cook in few portions and store it in freezer, as wat Vone says nutrients level will not be tat high..

hi Lib, really havent heard from you for a long time! how's work? so ur mum's looking after kylie? remember to post some pics here when u have the time!

hi ladies ...

been a super busy week ... my grandma just passed away peacefully last thurs ... so we all spend mother's day together doing the final ritual ... brought YC for the wake as well n he was q co-operative there

ok gotta run liao ... YC just woke up ... got to feed him lunch!!

some of u r training bb to drink fr cups.

so wen giving them to drink, do we let bb sit straight wif head slightly tilted, like how adults drink? do u sterlise the straw?

hi tingting, yes thou busy still have sometime to upload her pix.. yes my mum is taking care of her while i'm @ work. kinda tired loh, not use to working 9-5 very tedious initially cos body still struggling.. now ok liao.. feel free to view www.babykylie.fotopic.net