(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Applejuz
Haowen is between 9.5 - 10kg. He's a little piggy.

As for shoo shoo, I have the same experience as you. It'll leave a mark on haowen's ankle, so wat I did is to stretch the rubber by turning the edge out. That helps loosen the rubber a bit, but Haowen is outgrowing his M-size (6-12MO) shoes and he only wore them twice! Tink got to sell at marketplace liao....

anissa,
how old is clarence now? wow! is really a tuff job to get bb sit still in the flight! im worrie if i brin my boy on flight, dunno wat will happen.... (scarly kenna kick out of plane! bb cry too much!):p

vone:
L size not big lah.. tingting's zephan already wearing XL!

re:passport application
yay! Just recd notification that can collect elizabeth's passport today.. guess this means they can accept my DIY photo with saliva at all!

hehe.. i measured his feet before buying shoes. that time his feet was 13.something cm, so i bought the XL, which is 15.5cm, cos figured socks will fit in nicely. zephan's a BFG (Big Foot Giant).. haha.. good thing he's a boy, else next time difficult to buy shoes... :p

i'd better apply for zephan's passport soon, else canno whisk him off for a holiday on the spur of the moment.. hehe..

anissa, thought clarence has a lot of hair right? thought the "wind" theory applies only to botaks, that's why i'm reluctant to shave zephan, although his hair also quite pathetic lah.. :p my dad trimmed his hair the other day, and he cried throughout cos he was so terrified of the noise made by the shaver.. :p

ting, i 4gt 2 tell u last nite, if it's nt 2 much trouble, can u pass d btl warmer back 2 me. m tinking of passing it 2 a fren. tks a lot.

anissa, it's okie lah. it's another motherhood experience.

i need milk, bt eliz is a gal leh, mus b petite so L is veri big. hehe... wah, her passport is approved ah, u mus keep it & show 2 her nxt time. she looks so cute in it.

tingting,

Taking off Clarence did cry a little. I think it was cos he didn't like to be buckled up. I did give him water though. After awhile he was alright already. As a matter of fact, he slept for close to 3 hrs both times

Not too sure abt the wind theory. My mum has lots of theories one lah. Sometimes also can't stand her.

Skippy,
Clarence is 8 mth coming to 9 mth (on 22nd May). Bringing him for an hearing assessment. The Polyclinic was telling me I can start giving him egg yolk to test for allergy

vone, no prob. but i got to see when it's convenient to pop by ok?

anissa, we gave zephan egg yolk for about 1 month already, on n off. dunno whether he can taste it though, cos it's all mixed into his porridge. but he doesnt like to take it plain, i.e. when we boil the entire yolk n mash it for him. maybe too dry...

i need milk,
think Eliz weight is okie for gal gal. Boi usu on higher side.

re: shoo shoo
hee.. i bought the M-sized (cos no L for tt design), but just nice oni & Keyon's feet oredi 12.5cm. :p think will outgrown very fast too.

tingting,
u oso encounter? aiyo, suppose to be good for feet devt, end up worry more for his ankles..veli tempted to take out the elastic band totally..:p

anissa,
i oso gave Keyon egg yolk on & off too..but those hard/semi boiled kind...scared of the bird flu..heehee.

hi applejuz

I think can't print in poster size unless i create it in poster size.. otherwise the resolution of the pictures will be terrible.

angel, the collage looks great! can do postcard.. maybe as an invite for her birthday party?

applejuz, if take out then will fall off easily.. guess the best way is to pull them a bit to loosen the elasticity. goes to show that what's popular need not be good... :p

Angel,Megan is so cute and pretty!

BTW all mummies, my boi got a little running nose. Think he is teething, drooling a lot. What i can apply on him to let him sleep better. He cannot sleep well coz the wet running nose is making him uncomfortable. Thanks.

re: shoo shoo

hey angel's mum actually cut the elastic band and replace it with a longer one ... tot that was q a good idea =)

and hey lets keep this list growing heehee ... i think we go for 30 sept (Sat) so tt when i call to book for YC bday i can book at the same time cos the office only open bookings 3mth in adv

u all prefer noon or evening?? noon is 11am to 3pm or 4pm onwards??

re: Children's Day Party
Date: 30 Sep / 1 Oct
Venue: Bishan Loft (tentative)

1. Tingting & Hb (ok w both dates)
2. JT and family (ok w both dates subj to timing)
3. Cakey & family (30 Sep)
4. ixwong & family (ok with both dates)
5. vone & hb (ok wif both dates)
6. smallbell & family (ok w both dates)

applejuz
Anton is 9.1 at 8 mths ( the nurse weighed him when we went for his last pneumococcal jab) so Keyon is not light at all haha

Angel
Nice photoshop!!Hehe...

Pincer grip
Anton likes to use his index and thumb to turn my buttons on my shorts ( the buttons are about the size of raisins) when he is about 7 mths so I think they can do the pincer grip at a pretty young age

hi seabreeze, was about to dig up that list n revive it..
i'm flexible w the time, since it's such a fun event will def try to accommodate it

featherG,
hmm...last time when my boi got running nose, we took him to the GP & get some medicine or nose drop. din go PD cos GP can claim from company..:p

Seabreeze..
put me in! :D

7. applejuz & family (ok w both dates & time) .. but if 1 oct(sun), noon better.:p

triniti,
thanks for the reassurance on bb weight...

its a long weekend again....enjoy!!!

wah..the children's day party is a great idea..will try my best to attend.....

Hey Seabreeze,
Will vote for 30 Sep Sat noon!!!!!! We can then cook a big pot of porridge to serve all the bbs but milk BYO lah!!!! we can have catered food, maybe like $8 range......we can get those confirmed coming to pay upfront first....

So you are the chairperson for this event????? Think you are the best choice!

ixwong, your porridge must be super tasty...HW is almost 10kg?!!!!!!!!! Cayden is 9.2kg at 8.1 mos. I went to see dr cos of flu.....and asked the nurse to weigh him cos it has been so long since we last weighed him.......hehehee...

Re:mashing
when you guys scrap fruits or mash veg, what is the final texture like? it is like "pureey"? find it hard to scrap apple cos still abit hard..

7. applejuz & family (ok w both dates & time) .. but if 1 oct(sun), noon better.:p
8. aidanee & family (30 Sep noon)

By the way, how do u gals cook ikan bilis powder for baby's porridge? I read somewhere that supposed to soak in water and then throw away the water (to remove the salt) and then stir-fry and then pound it into powder? Is that correct?

vone:
yeah, she got small feet like her mummy! My feet only size 3! :p Anyway, i just placed an order for M size shoes from Bobux....sigh, dunno y babies' shoes so expensive... same price as a normal Charles & Keith shoes! $26. Some more used less material..

i need milk,
for ikan bilis powder, yes, u got to soak the fish in water (10-15 mins), drain, stir-fry or oven bake the fish until dry and slightly cripsy. Then grind/pound into powder. If u dun want to use ikan bilis, can oso use the dried silver fish.

re: ikan bilis powder

Oops.. Must like that one ah? i just wash the ikan bilis and threw it in to cook with the porridge together leh. Aiyoyo... my poor bb has a lazy mummy. Hahaha...

wow,been some time since i post here.. yeh our babies are growing. and ern ray is getting so naughty by the day.. sweat..

anissa, clarence look so giant in the picture, very cute leh. you only go taipei?

re: feeding
any of you put the 'si sen powder' into the porridge to feed baby? how do u do it? need some advise here.

8. aidanee & family (30 Sep noon)
9. cookies & family (ok with both dates)

re: highchair
Any one of u have problems getting baby to sit on high chair to eat her meals? My girl major problematic. I sit her on her booster seat on the floor and she will sit for like 5 mins n then screams big time to get off the chair. I try to distract her with some toys but only helps for 1 min. Plus, she's v messy eater.. the porridge or cereal will be all over her face, bib, arms, hands, table and on the floor! I'm kind of at my wits end and wondering how do u gals train yr babies to sit down properly and eat?? Every meal time is so messy. I end up having to wipe clean the floor, table, her and change clothes everytime. V tiring.

Cookies,
Thanks for the compliment. Clarence is indeed very big. He eats a lot. My hubby always comment that Clarence spends more than him on food every day
We only got to visit Taipei this time round. Planning for my next trip to either Japan or HK next year.

i need milk,
I feed Clarence on high chair and he is ok with it. Will stay in the seat until he finishes his meal. I think it comes with discipline. My mum is very lenient with Clarence and when she feeds him, he is all over the place. Just be patient and insist that your bb stays in the seat during meal time.

I read from some other threads that Heinz uses genetically modified organism and the 4-6 mth cereals is now banned. Can someone pls verify that as I feed Clarence Heinz Cereal. Thnks.

eileenp
If u only use the ikan bilis for flavouring the porridge, it's ok to cook direct. The powder form is consumed tog with the porridge so bb get the high calcium from the fish bones...

eileenp:
but it will be salty lor since u cook direct. Its recommended that we soak first and then throw the water away before putting in the porridge cos the ikan bilis is dried with salt.

anissa:
if i just force her to sit in e chair, she w scream non stop.. wouldn't it be traumatising for them?

i need milk,

I guess you just have to do it repeatedly till she gets the msg that she has to sit in e chair for her meals. Initially Clarence also makes noise when I put him in but after the awhile he accepts it. Now I will put him in the high chair when I feed him.

My uncle did the same for his son. In fact he is even stricter than me. Meal time means at the dining table and tv has to off. His son (abt 2 yr old now) has to finish his meal b4 he is allowed to leave the table.

anissa:
sigh, i guess i have to tolerate more screamings and spitting out of food at me. Initially she also made noise and then later, seemed to accept it but recently, she seem to hate it again.. she's becoming more difficult, starts screaming, rocking the chair, tries to climb out of it, spits out food at me when i feed her.. I wonder if we can start disciplining them at this young age.. ie. "since she dun wanna eat on the chair, then she can go hungry" concept.

i need milk,
I won't have the heart to do that. *LOL* But Clarence is becoming a handful too. He knows when I am unhappy with him or if I scold him. Sometimes when hubby and I quarrel he will just keep quiet. However, when my parents are around, no matter how hard I try to discipline him, he is just not 'afraid'.

The only time Clarence spits out his food is when I cook porridge for him. Can tell he really dislikes my cooking. Tried to give him beef congee today he refused to eat. Hubby is always teasing me abt my cooking now

Thanks for the advises abt my gal 'dislike porridge most of the time'... I tried different texture, flavour etc. and conclusion from yesterday's meal is she dislike to eat porridge cold. Gave her porridge cooked with dried scallop and the first few scope she ate happily then gradually more and more diff to get her to open her mouth.. So I tried to scope some new one from the pot and she began eating again! Wah like that quite troublesome to scope here and there cos she's usually eating with the fan on and the porridge gets cold much faster then she can consume...

ineedmilk,
I can understand your situation my gal don't like to sit in highchair much also. Esp when I'm with her alone... she's so scare that i'd run off and left her.. The moment i turn my back (eg. to scope more food, take handy etc) she'll start to cry
These few days i put her near the fridge and let her play with the magnet. But got to keep taking the magnet off her mouth.. Avg she can only tahan to sit 15min. But i need at least a total of 25min to prepare and feed her leh.. So now still trying means and ways to handle this..

cakey:
yeah, same experience, when i turn my back to scoop more porridge etc, she immediately screams. Now what i do is to scoop a big bowl of porridge (then dun need to refill) and then feed her fast fast.. cos she can only last like 5-10mins on the chair. I also just realise yesterday that my girl prefers cooled down porridge to warm porridge.. So I just scoop and then put under the fan for a couple of minutes b4 i feed her. Opposite of yr girl... no wonder they say all babies are different.

anissa:
yup, elizabeth seems to know when i and hb quarrel. she will become dead quiet. As for being a handful, i wonder if its a phase they go thru? Just seems to want attention all the time these days...

i need milk,
Hahaha... I know what you mean. Hubby always call Clarence kola bear cos he likes to cringe onto me and refuses to let go!

Cakey,
My gal wants warm proodge too. I used a warmer bowl which will keep the prrodige till she finish.
She loves her high chair as she know is eating time..
She love to eat.. when we had our meal.. we have to eat it "secretly " without her seeing.

Anissa,
wow seems like your boi enjoy the trip leh.

Breakfast:
Any mummies here can share what/how to give breakfast ? My gal now drink milk when she wake up.. and 4 hor later lunch.. I see some book say breakfast like cereal.. when to give.. still need to drink milk right?

anissa:
that's so sweet.. guess its a nice feeling to know that our babies cling on to us like a koala bear!

coffeedrinker:
din know that there is such a thing as a warmer bowl? like a thermos flask?

re: breakfast
i don't feed her breakfast cos like yr girl, elizabeth drinks approx 160ml milk when she wakes up at 7-8am and then next meal is lunch time.

re: breakfast

zephan takes about 3 spoonfuls of cereal about 2 hrs (8am) after he latches on in the morning at 6am. then his lunch is 3 hrs after his cereal, ie at 11am.

re: cooling/warming porridge
can try with different types of containers. i think glass retains heat better, and normal porcelain is not as good.

hi cofferdrinker,
haha.. eat breakfast secretly.. My gal too want to eat our food. We bought some 'bao' or white bread to feed her while we eat. Your suggestion abt the warmer bowl is good. How come I never tot of it hee... thanks!

I bought it in Kiddy Palace.. lot of brand for warmer bowl ..like:Gerber , camera , tollyjoy

This warmer bowl has a lower compartment that we pour in hot water..(style like double boil bird nest)..

coffeedrinker, i feed nestle brown rice cereal, or wheat n honey. am thinking of museli.

was just reading a fren's blog. her gal's porridge has got 11 types of grains! wow.. and got to pound (yes, not grind w blender cos she apparently spolit one while trying to grind) to powder first. and the porridge stock includes dried scallops, red dates, gingko nuts, and wolfberries! i'm really amazed that she takes so much effort to cook!

Anissa,
My gal too is clingy and will cry if I passby her without stopby to play or pick her up.. Hubby said I've "over-bond" her hehe..

Btw. any of your bb always want to go 'gai-gai'? My gal like to go out and will cry for it leh.. She enjoyed looking at the window also.. Envy those with full length window (don't have to carry bb to watch..)

hi, all mummies

Any BB refuse to drink milk, after they have started to take solid food ? because my ger refuse to drink milk nowaday , only drink 60ml/90ml ea. i very worry about it..

How many mummies has start to give breakfast,lunch and dinner 3 meal already ?
and can share the schedules with me ??

anybody has give tomato and egg to bb already

thank you