(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

HI mummies, wanna sell this toy cos Anton has way too many toys!! I bought it about $55 dollars but selling it at 35SGD

Lamaze Softronics Sing & Spin Bugs
Ages six months and up

AWARD WINNER!
2003 - National Parenting Publications (NAPPA) Gold Award
2003 - Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, Platinum and SNAP Awards
2003 - Parents' Choice Fun Stuff Award

"Put-in, take-out" play with a "twist" Lamaze toy: Features Lamaze's signature Softronics - sounds and motion in a soft, developmental toy. This unique, bug and flower- educational toy features three little bugs that rotate and spin atop a colorful flower pad while "Ring Around the Rosie" plays. Lamaze Softronics Sing & Spin Bugs plays for 30 seconds after button depressed. Spinning bugs entice baby and encourage interaction. You can also use for this Lamaze toy the on/off switch for non-battery play.
Lamaze Softronics Sing & Spin Bugs requires AA batteries. Measures 9.25" l x 2.5" h.

418392.gif

re: Baby-Proof Stuff

bought some items to baby proof my house at seng siong just now and the are q cheap ... $2.80 only for a pack of those clear plastic stuff to cover the corner of the tables and the safety outlet plugs

think there put UP$4.80 ... now $2.80 ... they oso have other items which are similar to the Safety 1st ones

re: baby-proof stuff

my FIL bought a set of corner protectors too, but it was quite ineffective cos they only used a piece of normal double sided tape to secure the contact surface.. i gently pull n the the whole thing came off. zephan will pull at it much harder.

First day at work
. can't logon to this forum anymore until at nite...so sad

Seabreeze,
Can you email me for updates on height chart? Thanks.

Sigh...

Used the slow cooker twice only and the cover broke oleadi. Oso dunno how that happen. Dunno if i can go back and get a replacement or not leh. So wasted. Today my bb don't get to eat porridge. Sniff sniff...

What height chart is that? Can i get a copy as well?

hi eileen, try to get a spare i.e. someone who's pot is spoilt? u can try to cook the porridge in a pot at night, and put in the fridge for tomorrow's use. just remember to boil it thoroughly and add the meat/fish & green veggies only when u want to feed. i cooked the root veggies (radish, carrots), sweet corn n cabbage together with the porridge.

the height chart got to buy one leh.. hehe.. seabreeze is organising a BP on it.

tingting,

i was wondering if i can cook using the slow cooker without the cover. Because the next day, my hubby is taking care of the baby while i go to work. I don't think he wants to cook lor. Can i cook everything at night and let them warm it up the next day? Will it go bad?

height chart:
oic... hahaha... sorry...

eileen, no point using slow cooker w/out cover cos water will evaporate v quickly. i feel not v good to leave meat n fish overnight, although i know some people have done it before. for green veggies, i wont recommend cos it'll turn yellowish if left for a long time. unless u feed cabbage, carrot, radish for the time being. he's on part FM or takes cereal? that should cover his iron needs.

u can try calling the company to see if u can get a spare lid anywhere. or u may want to check out the 2nd hand shop to get a cheap set. Or why not use the lid of a pot that you have?

eileenp:
normally if hb takes care of bb, can ask him to feed cereal & jar food. Easier for them. Even then, my hb also dunno how to make cereal and i thought it's already idiot-proof!! Then u can cook porridge for Kai only when you are around.

those mummies who are working full-time:
Do u feed porridge for dinner? Just wondering how to cook porridge in such a short time when we reach home. Or do u prepare it early in the morning b4 work and leave it in slow cooker the whole day?

i need milk,
re:cruise
quite boring for adults, luckily my ILs went, so take turns taking care of Keyon so I can go pull some jackpot... heehee...
for baby, we went swimming at bb pool, go arcade, eat & sleep. :p
I was thinking of HK too.. but wait till bb older, then more appreciate their disneyland!

heehee.. ur hubby so funny, sugg sentosa, wan to save $$ huh?

re:porridge
hmm..i work full time, bb taken care by my mum, only porridge for lunch... the rest all milk..

usu i prepare only on weekends lunch. if wake up late, I'll directly cook on the stove. faster:p

re: porridge

for weekends, i cook for the entire day, both lunch n dinner. put in slow cooker since morning, after it boils, switch to auto mode. but the meats n green veggies that cook easily are added only before serving the porridge. that's what my mum does on weekdays too.

actually sentosa also not bad... Beaufort not cheap leh..hehe.. some more got spa service, can relax while hb babysits..

re: porridge

my mum takes care of YC too ...

my slow cooker is a 1.2l one ... so i usually cook the plain porridge from 8.30am ++ for 1hr on high ... then switch to auto so that by noon its quite mashed and thick

after that i will take out the portion that i wan to feed YC ... put onto the gas stove then throw in the fish and vege + ikan bilis powder ... like this then the fish n vege are fresh =)

balance of the porridge will just keep it warm on auto in the slow cooker and repeat the same thing for dinner lor

re: height chart

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/411337.html?1147060240#POST1677492

re- brown rice

can i just check, does brown rice aid digestion? i find that my girl poo poo more recently, about 2 times a day...dunno is it because i started her on Healthy Time brown rice cereal for breakfast or her stomach not good? Last time she poo poo once a day only..she has cereal for breakfast, and porridge for lunch and dinner..any mummies experience something similar?

i'm a mummy, brown rice has got higher fibre content, so prob that's wny. If the poo poo is not watery, no need to worry. it's good that your gal takes brown rice, mine only takes the less healthy nestle version cos its sweeter.

it's raining cats n dogs at my end... really hope the rain will stop by 6pm! but it's still going strong now.. haiz...

seabreeze,

Thanks for your links. Will call Best and ask if i can get a replacement. If not, will buy 2nd hand from your link. So heartache. Used only twice.

Cause i thought it will take a while for the porridge to cook, that's why i decided to use it for lunch feed. Whereas dinner feed will be cereals. But seems like my MIL & hubby have problem getting the porridge done. While leaving there to slow cook, apparantly, the porridge spilled out from the slow cooker. Dunno how that happened as well. Maybe that's when the cover broke.

Will try to intro porridge again for the dinner instead of lunch. bb Kai has been refusing cereals. Everytime feed him the first mouthful only he will start crying. Sigh...

tingting,

bb Kai, is still fully breastfed and on cereals for dinner only. But has been taking very little of the cereals these couple of days. Hopefully he is getting enough iron.

seabreeze,

the height chart looks sooooo cute....

I need milk
Haowen now takes cereal for b/f, porridge for lunch n dinner. He would take all 3 meals at my nanny's place (dinner around 6pm) before I pick him up at 7pm. On weekends, mummy usually lazier so he only get to eat cereal for lunch and porridge for dinner. No solid b/f, rest all milk...:p

I'm a mummy
Haowen has the opposite reaction to brown rice. He will get constipated. Tink too heaty for him. So I only feed him oatmeal cereal and rice cereal. The oatmeal helps him poo...

seems like alot of u mummies don't feed dinner on weekdays hor? Hmm.. i insist on feeding dinner to my girl every day cos i want her to get used to eating solids @ home too.. Guess i have to continue to feed cereal for her dinner on weekdays. I dun really know how to cook porridge on stove. :p

applejuz:
seems like its Sentosa for me liao.. hai.. cos hb thinks cruise is a bad idea (cos he say if bb fall sick, can't just come home immediately).

eileenp:
have u tried the tastier cereals for Kai? Eg. Nestle or Gerber? If you r still using the Heinz, maybe he doesn't like it cos no taste.

ineedmilk, a close option is malaysia, though i really dunno what to do there w a baby around!

erm, can't remember why u cannot cook porridge in the slow cooker? even for weekends when we go out, that's what i do, so that the porridge is ready by the time we get home in the evening. somehow i still feel that cereals are breakfast foods, so if possible should try to feed proper meals. Previously, i brought cereal out for him when we can't make it home for dinner in time. but i'm starting to bring out his porridge in thermal flask nowadays. makes me feel less guilty about not feeding him properly just bcos i want to go shopping.. :p

eileenp,

one possible reason for spilling is that u've switched on to "high" mode for too long. after it boils, u can turn to "auto". if u're going out in a rush, can switch to "auto" right from the start. it just takes longer to cook the porridge. Also, take note that you dont put too much water such that it overflows. From my experience, it's the first reason that's more likely.

actually, u have both hb n MIL looking after bb Kai right? how come still cannot cook porridge? ur MIL can either watch over the slow cooker, or just cook over the stove mah.. i thought ur hb was alone babysitting, that's why cannot cook...

since we're on the topic of cooking...

<font color="0000ff">One night at the dinner table, the wife commented, "When we were first married, you took the small piece of steak and gave me the larger. Now you take the large one and leave me the smaller; You don't love me any more..."

"Nonsense, darling," replied the husband, "you just cook better now."</font>

Hi ineedmilk,

Sentosa is nice too...we just brought baby there and stayed 2 nites over the Easter weekend. Bb enjoyed the Underwater World quite a bit and it was nice to see him smiling away so happily. It was a pity though that the monorail has been taken away.....

Hi featherG
I get my earth best' oatmeal cereal from organic shops (brown rice paradise at tanglin mall, supernature at park house, selected neighbourhood organic shops). Costs between $5.50 - $7 a box (225g), depending on where u buy. So far supernature is cheapest but always no stock.

does ur bb know how to pick things with their thumb &amp; index finger?

Recently i realise Keyon picks up bread bits from his plate &amp; put into his mouth &amp; bite. So amazing... now I'm gonna jaga he dun crawl around finding tiny items from the floor...

hi applejuz

yes, megan can do that 2 months ago... but till now she still doesn't know how to put the food into her mouth. Although she picks up toys and stuff them into her mouth.

She picks up the wang wang small round biscuit using thumb and index finger and wave it around... heheheh

It's so weird. Food she'll wave it around whereas toys she'll stuff into her mouth..

hi vone, the bottle warmer u gave me cannot accommodate the avent bottles. thanks anyway. u want it back or shall i donate to someone else? there's someone in the forum asking for donations to a family with a lot of children, and i'm arranging to give something away to them.

applejuz
I had haowen practises his 'pincer grap' sometimes using his favourite raisin bread. Initially he'll stuff his whole palm into his mouth but after some tries, he can pick up with his thumb and index finger and pop the bread into his mouth liao...

Hi aunties,

Mummy, daddy and I are back in Singapore! Here are some pics to share:

Mummy and I waiting for gong gong to come fetch us
419627.jpg

This is my 1st time on a plane!
419628.jpg

*MEAH* The air stewardess said I've to sit down for flight to take off!
419629.jpg

Me posing for the camera
419630.jpg

See the building behind me? Yeah! I'm a giant at 'Xiao Ren Guo'. Hee...

419631.jpg

419632.jpg

419633.jpg

Me posing with gong gong
419634.jpg

tingting:
i was thnking that can't cook the porridge the whole day rite? eg. if i cook @ 8am.. by the time i feed dinner, will be @8pm.. so that's like porridge cooked for 12 hrs? Usually if i put AUTO mode, the porridge becomes dried up or over-cooked by 6 hrs. by the way, which thermal flask do u use? my mom bought me the TIGER one but its huge! Wonder how am i going to lug it around if i bring porridge out man..

anissa:
wow, where did u go? Clarence looks so grown up now..

vone:
yeah man.. our babies so fast grow up..

anissa, must share ur taiwan trip with us! must get morale booster to bring zephan on the trip..hehe.. clarence v carbon copy of ur hb leh

ineedmilk
actually that's what happens, really cook over the whole day. hmm, my slow cooker doesnt dry up leh. i start at about 8am, and feed dinner at 5pm though.

i didn't use a thermos flask exactly. i put the porridge in an avent bottle (the 260ml one fits nicely), and carry it out using the bottle warmer carrier. just need to bring the spoon and can feed directly from the bottle. the spoon can scrape the bottom of the bottle easily.

hi ineedmilk,
Me too cook the porridge almost the whole day previously. But now I bought the 0.7l tiger jar so will transfer the porridge to the jar after scoping out some for bb's lunch and off the cooker. Tot this will save some elect hehe.. Will give her the porridge again at evening time if she's taking it well at lunch (she's choosy on the porrige taste). Else will just eat it up from the jar when I'm free in the late afternoon.

seabreeze,
If you only put in the meat when cooking over the stove will the porridge be sweet enuff? Tot letting the meat boiled/cooked inside for longer period will be more fragrant? (since bb not eating the meat)

angel, vone &amp; ixwong,
hey.. thanx for ya feedback.

in fact, so cute to see their little fingers pinching each other.

Anissa,
that seems great fun.. hmm I think u've slim down alot...:p
Clarence allow u to wear cap for him? so envy, Keyon always pulls it off..
The photos of him &amp; xiao ren guo are so well taken!

cakey, i let zephan eat the minced pork leh.. if cooked too long the meat will be tough. but sometimes my mum will throw in a piece of chicken breast to cook w porridge for taste. for me, i usually use veggies, e.g. carrot, cabbage, sweetcorn to add taste to the porridge, n he can eat it up too!

tingting,
I see, so it depends on whether the ingredients are for taste or for eating i guess..

So envy you all that yr ds/dd will eat your porridge.. my gal don't fancy porridge most of the time. Will eat abt 2 or 3 mouth then will keep her head low and play with her toy not opening her mouth.. sometime got to press her cheek to make her open it
Doing that a few times she'll get angry..
Maybe I'll try pasta over the weekend. Anyone know can pasta subsitute porridge if add same other ingredient?

cakey, initially zephan also dowan to take porridge, then later discovered my porridge and ingredients not fine enough. now he's eating better. he gets restless after a while too, and got to sing song n entertain him n coax him to open his mouth.

think trinit feeds anton pasta some times, but dunno if normal pasta works. i wouldnt mind trying macaroni but may be a bit messy to mash right? cant be cooking until it's pastey form?

cakey ...

same as ting ting ... b4 YC started to eat the meat ... i just throw the whole piece of meat in for the taste ... oso i throw in red dates and carrot from the start into the slow cooker ... so YC will eat the carrot but not the meat n red dates

now my mum mince the meat so i wil throw it in when i cook the porridge for YC to eat lor

when i think the porridge is getting too dry ... i will pour some water in

and he is one fussy eater too ... when the porridge is too cold or too watery he will not eat oso

anissa ...

yar clarence seem to be a big boy liao ... so nice the photos

i_need_milk,

I'm alternating Heinz Multigrain cereal and Healthy Times Brown Rice cereals mixed with vege/fruit puree.
But he crazy crazy one lah. Sometimes wanna eat, sometimes dun wanna eat. I oso dunno why.

tingting,

My slow cooker cannot adjust high or low or auto one leh. It's only switch on or off. So i think should be high lor.

My MIL will be at home until 10am. After which, my hubby will be alone with bb Kai until i come home. So, i ask my MIL to put all the ingredients into the slow cooker and leave it there. Then my hubby will take care of it until noon which is feeding time.
But when i came home, realised the cover broke and the porridge overflow. I oso dunno how come like that lor. Don't wanna ask them also lah. Cause they doing me a favour.
Anyway, i've decided to feed kai porridge during dinner. So i can cook it myself.

Besides carrots, what kind of vege can i include in the porridge? I don't have a grinder. So preferbly something that doesn't need to grind, like the carrots. Cause have been adding carrots for the past few times. Think shouldn't feed too much carrots.

i need milk,
Hubby and I took Clarence to Taipei. He obviously had a great time as he enjoyed going out but we are all tired out after the trip

tingting,
I think it's a good experience even though I know Clarence probably won't remember a thing when he grows up.

It's a real challenge when the plane took off. Clarence was crying so loudly cos we forgot it was feeding time! Learnt my lesson. Next time will know what to do

Applejuz,
Thanks for the compliment but I think it was just your eyes playing trick on you. *LOL* Actually I didn't slim down at all. On the contrary, I put on more weight! That's why I didn't dare to show a full body pic. Now you know, eh? Shhhhh...

My mum likes to put on a cap for Clarence cos she is always afraid that his head will 'catch wind' *puzzled* But Clarence is cooperative and he allows us to put on cap for him. I bought him some very nice caps on this trip. There are so many nice and cheap clothings for bb near where we stayed!

Seabreeze,
Yeah, babies grow fast. Clarence is such a big boy now. His laughters never fail to melt my heart. Really enjoy looking at bb pics posted by all the mummies here.

seabreeze...
aiyo.. my boi &amp; urs the opposite leh... mine too hot dun wan to eat. haha.
i gotta scoop the surface &amp; blow blow.... :p

eileenp,
my slow cooker oso the smallest kind, so no knob to adjust.
ya, better dun take carrots everyday, my mum say bb will turn 'yellow'..
i'll alternate with spinach, brocolli.. after steam, use knife to mince &amp; spoon to press.

Anissa,
ooh... now i c. :p but at least ur face looks slim &amp; pretty to me..

glad that u enjoyed ur trip &amp; some good deals in bb clothes huh..

btw, anybody bought shoo shoo shoes? I bought a pair at mums &amp; babes at
Plaza Sing last weekend at 30% disc! but found the rubber quite tight &amp;
leaves a mark at Keyon's ankle after few hrs

Hope the Bobux which I ordered fr BP would be better...:>

Oh btw mummies,
how heavy is your babies now?
Haven't been to PD since 6mth...so kinda lost track... recently weigh my 8mth Keyon &amp; only 9.3kg.

applejuz:
9.3kg is good what.... Elizabeth is almost 9 mths old and she's 8.5kg.

i bought shoo shoo but too big for my girl so haven't wear yet. She has small feet! Only 9cm, think that's S size still but i bought L size.

anissa, looks like u guys had a lot of fun. no regrets gg rite?

cakey, is it coz ur gal dun like d texture of d porridge?

applejuz, tink my boy is around tt weight aso. i aso kinda of lost track.

i need milk, wah L size, tt's veri big.

Hi Vone,

Just saw your msg. I left the hp at home. Thnks! Actually can't say regret lah but it was really very tiring. Clarence had a good time though. He slept so well every night and even refused to wake up in the morning!

anissa, good that clarence is so adaptable to new environment. maybe i shouldn't worry too much and just go. u have any problems w the ear pressure during take off n landing? heard one good way is to either give them bottle of milk/water cos suckling breaks the ear pressure.

applejuz, i have the same problem with shoo shoos also, and zephan takes XL! i think it's an issue with the rubber instead of size though. try to wear socks, it will help a bit, but there's still faint marks. i'll remove the shoes after say 2-3 hrs of wear, cos i really scared that blood supply will be cut off from his feet and cause problems. not to scare you or anything, but got to look out for it. think both our boys got fat ankles..
dunno if regular stretching will help loosen the elastic band?