(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

windi ...

me more pissed and angry than sad ... cos its not the first time liao ... already clashed with her a few times over BF-ing and even my hubby quarrelled with her abt this ... so she knows that i am super petty when it comes to comments on my BM .... so i already made it known to my hubby and her (indirectly) tat any comments made to me BF-ing will def result in a cat fight one ...

cakey ...

aiya damn sickening hor ... cant they go and read up more before talking to us ....

rec YC photo ... yap he will look at the camera ... if he is in a good mood will smile somemore ... took a few of his smiling photo that day ... wan go and make passport for him heehee

gd morning gers,

heh, agree with cakey that our parent tend to leave in the olden theory BM is not enough for baby their grandchiildren which my parent had the same problem when JT BF zx and when zx is with them, they feed him with EBM they comment why so watery and afraid he can't grow... but once they saw ZX grow and hw he communicate/inteact with them they start to change the idea abt BM, cos zx show them hw happy he was from BM and very active toward them after that.

if you ger have the opportunity, try to put your kid with your parent and in-law overnight and see what happen...at the same time have some personal intimate time just you and hubby.

older people are like that... sometimes it's just habitual for them to ask whether u have enough BM, even though a chubby baby is presented to them. my hb's grandmother does that all the time. something like them asking "jiak ba buay" when they meet people.

my mil knows the benefit of BF, so i'm ok on that, but always nervous BF zephan when she's around, cos he sometimes fusses n cries during feeds, n my mil sort of thinks that i dunno how to handle the baby n asks me all sorts of qns.

she reads up a lot, so always asking me to stimulate the baby intellectually so that can develop both left n right brain, etc. These are good theories, but it's stressful for me to do activities with zephan with the intention to "develop" his intellect. It's much easier when i do things just for "fun". Like she thinks learning piano is to develop both sides of the brain, but to me, it's for him to enjoy music.

now she wants me to start him on home-made brown rice cereal.

guess i shouldn't complain so much bcos these are relatively minor issues, but i feel like i'm reporting to a boss who's judging my work performance.

tingting,
around $700 per month.

wendyg,
2 look alike monks, so cute.

Seabreeze,
Bring your MIL to our gathering in future, let her witness that YC is same as the rest and all healthy bb (whether BM or FM).

But my grandma supports BF as she belongs to the older and poorer generation. When she sees me feeding wz bottle, she suspect that I am feeding FM, then I have to explain that modern equipment allow us to pump out the milk and feed wz bottle.

seabreeze: calm down!.. keke.. let her say what she wants! not happy? bite u! lol.. so long u know ur darling is getting fat from ur BM..(not meant it in a bad way) who cares? right? mm.. mil/dil issues will never end..

luckily.. mil is pro bf'g its jus me who can't produce enough milk! haha.. if not.. i think we'll start a war.. i dunno.. somehow or rather.. i feel tt.. mil can never be as close as our own mums to us.. anyway.. not forgetting to mention my mil ain't really tt good to me to begin with. i tried to.. improve our relationship.. so did my pils..but ... jus can;t leh.. whenever mil gives bad remarks.. i will jus snap! i mean not at her.. i will jus keep quiet.. but boiling inside! sometimes.. she makes me feel tt by not replying her back means tt am scared of her. christ.. i jus dun want to make things worse! and then she will continue with her sacarstic comments.. mm..

oops.. think its me who ended up complaining..
seabreeze: bottomline is.. dun care about her lah! jus be who u are! hmmp!

wendyg,
ya lor. it was challenging for the hairdresser too. luckily he did a good job & Keyon's was cooperative to let him cut, though always turning his head to see wat this uncle is doin.. hee hee..

tingting,
u very good liao, still buy from popular, i just use the sample Glen Domann cards that i found from the one of the goody bag (forgot fr hospital / motherhood exhibition liao!.. hee hee..

seabreeze,
hug hug, aiya.. our mother's generation not pro-BF.. so they dun really appreciate how important it is.

Seabreeze,
Cool down. The older generations are like that one. Is YC her first grandchild. Maybe she heart pain lah. My boy 4mth liao also dunno how to flip. So dun be so upset on her comments. Be happy ok...

Hi, can i check what are the flash cards you all talking about. Can share with me. Where to get?

Cookies,
Finally, you are a SAHM already. How old is ur baby now. How I wish i can be like u.

re: flash cards
i am the worst of all of u mummies.. i didn't even buy any flashcards! Actually when i read that almost all of u r training yr bbs intellectually, i feel a bit stressed....

seabreeze:
*sigh* can understand how u feel cos i also very sensitive to comments from MIL abt my BM (actually i am sensitive to ALL her comments). Nowdays i let her feed a bit of FM on top my EBM to my bb so they get the comfort that bb is taking some 'solid' milk altho we all know that BM is much better than FM... the other day my hb showed my MIL my fridge, showed her my EBM stock (all 8 litres!) and she was shocked. Think she always think my BM very little. Hrmph, I hope she's convinced now that i can still bf Elizabeth...

Seabreeze,
Edna is on FM oso cannot flip, so wat's her logic about? Talking abt MIL, is really like endless nightmare. Mine still keep calling my gal as "chow ren", damn sianz... I really wish tat my MIL can disappear from my sight. Haha...

ladies ...

thanks for listening ... to be honest my MIL is not really that bad lar just that she seem to have this thing against my BM and me BF-ing lor ... she ever said before like mummy who BF their bb ... the bb will stick to the mummy alot ... not good ... pls lar i WANT and LOVE that my bb stick to me lor ... then wat she wants my bb to stick to her mer?? i then dun wan ar ...

small bell ...

DUN WAN!!! Me wan to enjoy myself at such gatherings one ... then she will sure shoot her mouth off and comment abt all the babies and before i know it ... she prob have stepped on a few toes without realising lor ...

when we go out she will see other bb and make some not so nice comments ... she speak so loud and she still think the other person cant hear her like that ... sometimes when we bring her out ... me feel abit pai seh oso ....

cat tail, adel, ting ting

true lar never ending stories for MIL and DIL ... mum is still the best heehee ....think we can share our horror stories at the 25th Jan gathering ... gossip abt MIL hahahaha ... hubby not around then can ...

cat tail ...

i know what you mean ... they always like to say the opp and not good things abt the bb ...

JT ...

how do guys feel abt this issue bet MIL and DIL?? Dun you all have any issues with your MIL too?? I know my hubby cant stand my mum on certain things too lar ....

ineedmilk ...

can change your nick to: lotsamilk liao heehee ... think cat tail MIL meant to say: smelly person

seabreeze, ger's mil and dil is hubby's parent. let me try to be more diplomatic.... believe all parent is the same especially if your child is their first grandchild which they tend to be over reacting and concerned interm of their food intake and also their health. which this is a good sign that your child is their precious and bother to make comment.

agree under normal circumstance normally the mummies will be neglect by their in law after the arrival of the new born guess this apply to all which a normal human tend to show more concerned on new thing than the old one. hehe

as mention in my earlier comment let the in law partipate in the joy of this new being try to let them take care of the baby over nite and take very opportunity to enjoy the time with your hubby without baby and you will see the difference.

it is always good that babies is being showered with constant love from mummies/daddies/parent and in law.....it is free and baby know it.

hope this assist....pls dun kick me out of this thread....;p

Just had lunch with Vone @MacDonald. The beef fan-tastic is YUCKY! Still wanna puke when I think of it ...

My baby is 4.5 mths now. Still can't flip
I heard some babies learn how to crawl even though they don't flip so nothing to worry abt.

Today got a letter frm office. They increase my pay by $100 and pay me 1.25 bonus! Yipee!!! Kinda unexpected

JT ...

hmmm get what you mean ... guess we ladies still trust our own mum more compared to MIL (although the hubby will prob feel otherwise) ... and its easier to tell our own mum to do things certain way compared to MIL ...

but me still not comfy to leave my bb with my MIL alone ... scare she do some funny things like feed him with water or whatever behind my back ...

anissa ...

thats nice ...

yes....agree it is always not easy to ask someone mum to do think as compare to ones...that is why the hubby is there to help. in fact initially i also dun feel comfortable even to let my own parent take care of zx over nite cos they are in the old genaration method and they have lost touch when since they take care of a baby.....but when i realise that i was raised by them i think they had done a good job...but dun worry...although they are experience they will still need to consult us for advise cos now the baby development is too fast which simply astonish them and i beleive they are more worried to take care of our child as they need to answer to ask if anything happen...

so pls try to let go....if possible, and without them you will not be with your hubby now.

JT ...

its diff lar ... in fact you are v diff oso hahahaha cos if i ask my hubby to help me monitor this forum ... he will prob tell me that i am crazy but u are nice enough to do so for your wife ... so YOUR parents has done a good job heehee ...

hi vone
think the pram cld be small for ur boy leh. cayden has grown but he is still on the petite size....
can try on mine on 25 jan.

hi seabreeze
yah..been busy....feel abit paiseh that i am always MIA!

cayden got bitten by something n now there is a red patch as big as 10cents on the right cheek. not handsome liao.

ineedmilk
re:flashcards
me never bought any either! but i have those from the goodies bag from hospital... i only flashed in the first month... now too lazy to flash them. my son more interested in licking them than looking. :p

re : MILs
i too have lots to say about my MIL... always complain to my hubby... sometimes he also sian of me complaining.

agree under normal circumstance normally the mummies will be neglect by their in law after the arrival of the new born guess this apply to all which a normal human tend to show more concerned on new thing than the old one. hehe ___!!!!!!!!! tts is so not true!!! they hated me before n after i married my hb!!!!! only wants to compromise after they've seen their grandchild! only coz they want bb to be with them often! my in laws are diff ok!

like wat my hb says: his mum will always feel tt no one is ever good enough for her son!. she probably thinks tt am snatching her son away from her. crazy.. then raise up a kid and expects them not to get married ah? lolz.. this really teaches me not to be a mean mil! and of course i have heard a lot of wonderful things mils do for their dils! jus tt i happened to be the unlucky one.

adel, sorry to hear that....but at least you have your hubby to shower you with love.

mummies, hope i did not offend any one of you as i'm try to speak generally which may differ from individual.

i guess hubby is like a meat between 2 slice of bread which he is trying best to give you the best in some way.

re: MIL
seabreeze, dun bother with her lah. think old pp are like that, jus like 2 comment tis comment that, nvr take pp's feelings into consideration.
hee.. agree we must gossip gossip abit on 25/1 when behind our hb, that's wat i always do. bad girl leh.
anyway, i'm e bad DIL, i already told my hb upfront that i do not like my ILs, so dun blame me if i tell them off when i see them treating my boy in a way i dun like. very bad rite?? but i'm force to lor, cos they also dun really like me.

ineedmilk, dun feel stress. look at me, bought e flash cards, but jus let it sit comfortably at home.

Shanz..Ern Ray is 4mths old now

adel
it's good and impt that your hubby stands by you despite your inlaws. so when your hubby is away, do u visit your inlaws with your baby?

i need milk, dun worry abt the flash cards.. i bought them cos ran out of ideas on how to occupy my kid.. not so much to teach him anything.. my father said i'm overly ks, even though i only bought some music cds n the stacks of cards.. keke... all to help relieve his boredom...

applejuz, i also have the same stack of sample flash cards.. the ones with football, etc right?

emmie: do u think i will visit my in laws if hb is away? hiak hiak.. fat chance... i will probably disappear with bb if i have to!..

cookie/other mummies: have u all actually argued with in laws before? i bet not right? coz i think if i really flare and starts throwing my temper.. i think tts the end le! keke..

i can't gossip! coz hb wants to tag along! haha

RE:sleeping pattern
my boy tends to get sleepy by 7.30pm. and when he is sleepy, we have to rush to wipe him, feed him or he will turn the whole house down. then at 11pm i will give him another round of feed even though he is sound asleep....but he wakes up at 4am!!! How can i try to delay his bedtime? he only sleeps abt 3-4hrs in the day and i have tried to make him nap at around 5pm so that he could "last" longer...but he refuses to nap.

now my inlaws are complaining that they hv not seen the grandson for a week.(they reach home at 7.15pm, and by then he is already in his sleepy cranky mood...need to be brought into the room)

Cayden took his jab...at 4mth 2week, he weighs 7.8kg. ok or not ? he still looks very small for a 4month old bb compared to some of the bbs here. Still cant flip....kena pressure from MIL liao.....started to compare with other cousin's bbs.

Have started with cereal this morning. He loves it!

Re: MILs
ineedmilk,
Pardon my mandarin, the "Chow4 Ren2" means "stinko fellow". Haiz... not very nice to listen rite..

Seabreeze,
Is your boy is the 1st grandchild? Edna is my in-laws 1st grandchild so she always gets all the attention. But hor at times, I just wants them to leave me & my baby alone.
I think I am getting more & more naggy when the topic is on in-laws. So many things to COMPLAIN!!

Anyway, thank god, I am not staying with in-laws!

JT,
Just curious, does your wife nags at u too abt yor parents?

adelyee, nvr argue b4. i always choose to give cold shoulder. my way of showing displease so far.

aidanee, wow.. 7.8kg. Ern Ray is only 6.8kg at 4mths, also a small built bb. tell yr MIL about it, n shut her off. wat's impt or babies r healthy.

adel
you are lucky then... if i don't bring bb to see them even though i rather not, WW3 will start!

re: sleeping pattern
aidanee, my boy has the exact same schedule! by 7.30pm, if he's not holding his pillow and sucking his pacifier on bed, he will start to fuss real bad! haven't managed to delay his bedtime. if he wakes up at 4am, i will give him his pacifier... if he's still wide awake, i will give him milk...then put him back on his bed after the feed. i will then tell him firmly that mummy wants to sleep and will play with him later... after a while he will self-soothe and go back to sleep. but i noticed that over time, he wakes up later... but still not as late as i like.

re : solids
i tried feeding my son with rice cereal. He seems eager to eat cos he will lean forward with his mouth open and would actually 'bite' the spoon... but always pushes the cereal out. does that mean he likes to eat but just don't like the taste?

adel ...

me have not but have shown face before ... over my BM AGAIN ... that happened during my confinement and my hubby had a quarrel with my MIL and she actually said that i was petty and cant she even ask whether i got enough BM for the bb anot (but me damn angry that time cos my bb was send to hosp for the jaundice thingy so v sad liao + keep asking abt the milk thingy fr Day 1 since i gave birth) .... so after that i always remind my hubby tat i am v petty so dun step on my toes ...

serious ... ur hubby wan come along?? aiya then we cant gossip liao hahahaha ...

aidanee ...

hmmm think 7pm to 8pm is the 'normal' sleeping time for bb ler ... mine is a super later sleeper lor ... if you dun coax him to zzz he can stay up to 12am with us one ... no good no good ... kanna 'scolded' by lots of frens ... but no choice ler ... if he zzz at 8pm then i can only spend 1/2hr with him everyday ler ...

7.8kg ... should be okie lar ... if PD never say anything ....

mine oso cant flip ... sigh ... seem like now thats the most 'in' topic on alot of our PIL mind now ...

adelyee,
U bet! I am sure there are many mummies jumping up & down like me! The only thing I am glad is I din stay with my MIL or else I sure "GILA" one.

Haha JT,
All women are like tat one lah. Though we know tat in-laws are meant to be good, but sometimes we just cannot stand it lor. But so far I din quarrel with her, just show black face, snatch my baby & walk away. I think she should get the hint.

Emmie,
Izzit his tongue keeps pushing out the food? I think he still learning how to swallow. No worry, just gives him time to practise.

cat tail ..

YC is the 1st grandchild for both side ... BOY somemore (u know lar the older ppl got this thing abt BOY although their mouth will say either one oso can ... bullsh*t)... so all v sayang him lor ...

but like you ... on weekends when i visit my MIL ... i actually look forward to feeding time so that i can close the door and spend sometime with YC on my own ... and do things the way i like without someone giving stupid comments heehee ...

aiyo really hope my hubby dun spot check me here ... or he will be 'pissed' with me heehee

cattail
at least you can show black face... if i ever do that, WW3 will really erupt. my MIL can be super-overly sensitive...

not quite sure if it's his tongue cos sometimes it comes out from the side of his mouth...

Guess i'm considered very lucky liao. I've a nice MIL.
She'll help me bring out the laundry if i leave it in the washing machine for too long. She'll help me keep the laundry if i leave it outside for too long. All without complaining. She also didn't say anything negative about BF. Just told me to feed bb more often as they tend to get hungry easily if on BM. If you guess it, yes, i'm staying with my ILs. But happy about it. Hee...

Seabreeze,
If she give us comments then we bombard her with reasoning, then she will understand. But this might make her very furious.

JT,
I agree wz seabreeze, you are such a thoughtful hubby to be reading this forum. My hubby said we ladies are so talkative, can write so much here.

Emmie,
Beginning of feeding cereal is like that, bb will push out. But got to be persistent and keep on trying everyday.

eileenp,
you are really lucky to have a nice MIL. I am not sure if I should be considered lucky, becos I have no IL (both pass away already).

Anyone here uses messenger chat? pls add me. Thanks MSN: [email protected] and Yahoo: [email protected]

seabreeze,

last time when cayden slept at 10pm (cos MIL wanted to play with him), i complained that i have not seen bbs sleeping after 8pm!!!! now, i found YOURS!!! hahaha....

i thought if i could stretch him to sleep at 9pm, then at least MIL can play with him alittle mah....but everytime they come home at 7plus, he shows the fussy face and when carried by eager inlaws, he wails damn loud!!!!!! then i have to bring him into the room, with light dimmed, prepare the water for wipe, and feed....aiyo....how to bring him out for dinner with friends har?

cookies,
i stop feeding him milk at 4am last 2 days....i also gave pacifier. hahah....he will go back to sleep, but will wake up at 6.30am lor. I still get up to pump at 4am though.....

25Jan
think we have alot of stories abt inlaws to share on that day.....TRINITI, you got dart board anot? can vent anger!!! hahaha...

The mosquito/insect bite in super big and red.....anything to apply????

Ya lor Seabreeze,
He sure gets a lot of attention. I am sure yor MIL same as mine, luv to show bb off to all her frds & relatives. Actually I have a fear tat Edna will be over pampered, do you?

Wah Emmie,
Your MIL so fierce one ah?
For feeding, maybe u wait longer until he finish swallows his food. Then those comes out of his mouth, u use the spoon, scraps off & put into his mouth again. Then wait until he totally swallow & then spoon feed him another time.

eileenp,
U r one of the 1% lucky DIL! Haha.. hope I am not exaggerating. Your MIL never interfere the way u raise yor baby?

small bell ...

no use one ... she dun trust anyone and she will just say that we 'ang-mo pie' ... i ever explain to her that BF no need to give water ... explain until my throat dry liao then my SIL who read an article that said tat BF really NO NEED to give water then she shut up ... so only my SIL info accurate ... the rest of the ppl (even her son cos she feels that i have brain washed him) no use one ...

aidanee ...

yar lor ... guess the only good part is that i can still bring YC out for shopping and gathering with frens lor ...

apply your BM on it ... maybe will help ...

cat tail ...

ya lar ... she super happy if we go shopping and let her carry lor ... when i carry the bb she will keep saying ... put him down in the pram ... dun spoil him etc but when she carry him .. she will just walk and walk and walk ... double standard!!

if he v cranky and only i can pacify him to zzz ... she will say ... 'told u all liao ... BF bb only wan the mummy one ... v troublesome & sticky' ... bet she is JEALOUS!!!

for CNY ... finally i agreed to bring YC to JB for visiting ... so she super happy lor ... can finally show off him to the relatives ... hmmm me got to plot how to stick him to me and not let them pass him around liao ... hiak hiak

me dunno abt that yet ... but guess we have to be firm and draw the line sometimes ...

eileenp ...

u are very lucky ... me now just glad that am not staying with my MIL ... actually think that if my MIL and me dun go crazy facing each other ... my hubby will hahahaha

cat_tail,
Emm... Should not say interfere lor. Like for example, she wanna do something her way, then i say not recommended, then she will not do it lor.

SeaBreeze, yr MIL make stupid remarks.. Mine, tearing my family apart liao.. B4 i when to HK already quarrel with my husband.. until now, still haven't kiss and make-up yet!! and worse, because of her, i don't even feel like going home.. Sob sob.. Haven't seen and carry my boy boy for days!! sigh.. B4 MIL came to stay with us hor, never had so much fights and quarrels one leh.. Just after she came, hubby seems to stop giving in to me and stick to mummy. That's also y i prefer to stay in office to clear work than go home and see what they are doing!

Poor thing, nicky's mom. It's terrible not to see the baby for days. I know I sure can't take it one. My mum is super protective over my baby and somehow she always feels that I am not feeding the baby enough. Last week she was so mad with me, she actually refused to let me bring my baby home for 2 days and when I went to visit my boy, she locked me outside the house and refused to let me go in. I really blew up!

She won't listen to me even when I weigh the baby infont of her to show her that he is gaining weight. She guage by holding him in her arms. *sianz*

anissa, how can ur mother do that? i would think that's a very unreasonable thing to do. i hope u can restore the relationship soon...

nicky's mom, feel sad for u too.. mils can be such trouble to marriages... is there no way that she moves out?

To Nicky's mom and all other suffering mommies,

I really sympathise with all of you. I wish my MIL is more like my mom. I have already gone back to work for almost 2 months but guess what... my MIL does not know. Kept her in the dark... MUAHAHAHAHA... If she knows I have started work, she would camp in my home everyday and make herself the lady boss.

Anissa
Your own mom locked you out from baby? Geez, that sounds more like something that a MIL will do. Poor gal.

nicky mum ...

aiyo poor thing ... maybe should hint to ur hubby tt life was much better without ur MIL around ... yar any chance that she will move out since she wasnt staying with u in the first place? u in sg or hk now?

anissa ...

another poor thing ... i will be super sad if my mum does that to me ... guess gotta prove to her even harder than you are doing a good job in taking care of your boy ...

*HUGS* to the both of you ...