(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Thnks cmy & Christina for the website.

My mum keeps telling me that white rice is no good and have to give the baby unpolished rice ... can't find that in NTUC so gonna try my luck at Yu Ren Sheng

wendyg,
Oh yeah!!! Compasspoint! Why didn't I think of that! Thnks!

Cat_tail,
You go tell my hubby that loh. Really disappointed with him

SeaBreeze ...

Hahaha ... how did you guess what's why I did? I kept asking him to join me for supper so he is also putting on weight but he said he can grow fat but I can't leh. And now I am breastfeeding so I don't wanna take slimming pills ... My boss every day sees me tells me I am never gonna lose the weight if I dun do something abt it now. *sigh*

skippy10,

Actually it's not just the hip but I realise my hips and backside now very BIG! How come it doesn't contract after delivery? I dun want to have da pi gu...

mummies going for e 25/1 gathering, do u happen to have avent 125ml n 260ml bottles, used ones fine too, to sell at low price? i'm looking at 1 each.

re: avent milk bags
mummies using tis to store, other than using clips, wat other ways u've tried n its also good,need some advise here. TIA

cookies,
I have been using rubber bands to secure the avent bags. Tie it several times, no leakage. I normally fill up till 180-200ml per bag.

tingting
why dun u give us your hb's email address? we will help u enlighten him to your BD wishes.
He sure happy cos cake much cheaper than flowers, ha ha ha. Talking abt cake, my hb bought me 2 slices of my fav Secret Recipe cheesecakes for BD. Yum yum! but super fattening....

cookies,
My hubby always crack some dirty jokes, really buay pai sek! U wan him to crack some to u too? Keke...

Wah Say Seabreeze,
U got super memory! Din expect u still can remember...heehee..

skippy,
If I am u, will ask him to save the flowers money & give me ang bao. *I really money-minded.

Anissa,
I think yor hub dun really mean tat. I am sure he appreciate your effort in giving him such a beautiful son.
Alternatively, if u still really buay song, can take your revenge by making him fat! Feed him as much as possible.
Btw, wat is unpolished rice ah? Izzit brown rice?

hey mummies..

see u all tomorrow.. better turn up ah.. if not the drinks in my fridge is enough to last me a month!....keke..

anissa,
alamak.. i am same boat as u! I also used to be 46kg... now am 55kg. Also thot bf will lose weight but seems like not true leh..... and quite a no. of pple told me that if i dun start losing weight now, if after 6 mths, very difficult to lose weight liao... i dunno how true but i am definitely going to start exercising this yr!! I already plan to take part in JP morgan run in April and Std Chartered 10KM run in Dec......

cat tail:
i am an accountant...... so super busy lor.. by e way, edna is not alone... elizabeth also dun like to be on her tummy.. and she is almost 5 mths old and still cannot flip.... i tried flipping on the bed to show her but she not interested leh. :p

musicgal:
u are with PWC????? So was I..... last time lah.

tingting:
i have loads of Avent size 1 teats too...... wanna sell but no one wanna buy leh..

ero, long time nvr c ur postings liao!! how hv u been?? tks 4 d update on confusedgal. so happi 4 her!!

chris, hahaha... shows tt u dun pay bills. envious!!

seabreeze, nvm d cab fare lah. tink of d fact tt we can finally c yicheng okie. hehehe... ya, actually when i smacked my boy, my heart pained. bt he made me so angry tt i cldn't take it. notti mummy!! d best thing is, he noes tt he's being smacked & scolded 4 his naughtiness. he actually pouted. dun noe whether i shld laugh or cry!! hiaz...

skippy, gd idea. bt u need 2 teach me how 2 use it.
me veri envious now!! tink d last time hb bought flowers 4 me was @ our rom!! argh...

anissa, it's a gd excuse 2 buy new clothes!! hahaha...

cookies, dun worry, u gt me 4 company. if i m their current weight now, tink i'll b veri happi liao!! d romper looks nice leh. if u dun mind, can get 1 4 me?? tks.

emmie, u r not alone. hb oni bought flowers 4 me on 2 occasions during d 7 yrs tt we've been together. d 1st time was during our 2nd valentine, 2nd was @ our rom. dun tink he's romantic 2 buy me flowers during valentine's day okie. it jus happened tt he visited his client who runs a flower shop, so 2 'entertain' his client, he bought 1 bonquet 4 me. sigh...

anissa, is ur baby the one w G6PD like mine? cos if so, they can't take the brown rice fr Yu Yan Seng cos they contain some chinese herbs.

cookies, i'm using avent milk bags. u asking abt alternative to the clips? i use clothes pegs.. keke.. i use them for everything, fr clothes to milk bags, to unfinished potato chips, to even my dog food bag.. :p but of course either colour code or wash after use..

cookies, i can sell u 1 125ml.. that time kiasu so bought a bit too many. What's ur "low price"?
i bought 2 used ones fr temple previously at $5 each.

ixwong, told him straight in the face before, but like never register leh... haiz... he's not stingy abt giving presents one, but i'm the practical one who prefers that he helps out more with the baby n housework than a fancy dinner... :p

today v happy that weight gone down a bit, then helped myself to a yummy lunch at Jack's Place.. come home weigh myself back to original, plus a bit more! haha..

btw, i find that my milk supply dipped a fair bit when i cut back on my water consumption.. past few days didn't drink much and somemore drank coke n stuff, so poor baby got to drink fr both sides instead of 1, and i couldn't express much too... now it's slightly better... scary man..

cat tail, u hv cheeky hubby huh
can save e dirty jokes to yourself lah.. i too shy liao

vone, wat size u wan huh? me will be going to buy either monday or wednesday. will be my last 2 days at work liao.

tingting, how u use cloth peg to tighten e bags? after that put in freezer to freeze?? me very stingy lah, looking at $1-$2 for 125ml n $2-$3 for 260ml, dun mind used ones, cos using for pump session. btw, i'll get e cds from u on 25/1. will pay u then.

smallbell, i do use rubber bands at times too, but dun like e rubber smell leh.

the thread is really going fast today.. faintzz..

oh ya, tingting, reg. milk ss, mine also went down e last week cos of e junk food, soft drinks over e festive wkends. then i diligently pump in between for a few days, now its better liao. u gonna do that to maintain ss leh. but pump until my hand aches.

cookies, do u still let ur kid latch on? if i pump out in between sessions, then not enough for him to feed on at the next session?

i sort of gather n fold the top of the milk bag into half and hold together with the peg. Then i place the bag into a plastic cup n place the whole thing into the freezer. when the milk is frozen then take the milk bag out of the cup, cos after it's frozen the milk bag can stand on its own liao. impt thing is to prevent milk fr spilling out. when defrosting similarly place it in a cup to hold it.

hmm, a bit difficult to sell the bottle at $1-2 leh.. cos me thinking of upgrading to 260ml bottles also.. :p y not get the glass bottles? think it's only about $1 with lids.. saw it selling at Yahoo Auctions recently.

so disappointed.. just tried pumping but could only get 60ml.. think the milk is there but could not get letdown leh... demoralised...

morning ladies ...

wow didnt expect the forum to be so active in the middle of the night ...

vone ...

yap will be coming for the gathering ... my hubby still say that i k k tell him tat no car dun go when in my heart + face show that i die die will go hahahaha .... told him last night to go and buy the durian puff for the gathering liao heehee ...

nicky's mum ...

my AIG insurance never top up to include the part of 'loss of use of car' ... anyway we didnt notice that portion so cant claim anything lor ... sian ...

cookies ...

me use rubber band oso ler ... me leave some gap between the milk and the space that i tie the rubber band then fold it down again to tie ...

ting ting & cookies ...

same same ... me like some 'thirsty' ghost when i am in the office ... keep forcing myself to drink water ... whenever i am too busy to do so ... my milk supply drop oso ... think i drink abt 2 liter everydat in the office ...

ting ting ...

keep trying with the pump ... me started off with terrible soar nippl oso ...

oops temple.. hehe.. paiseh..

passing guest, in case u're thinking of changing e brand of dog food for ur dog, want me to pass u some of what my dog is eating first? at least u know whether she likes the taste or not..

cat_tail,

Yeah, I was referring to brown rice. My mum keeps telling me that white rice is too good. Too sweet etc. etc.. I wonder how true it is.

i need milk,

Don't ask me to run. I can't run. My legs will give way. When I was in sch, I wouldn't even complete the 2.4km run. I wonder if there is some easy ways to loose weight...

Vone,

Buy new clothes also need to have $$$ lah. Today I woke up and there was $500 on my bedside. Hahaha ... my stingy hubby finally knows how to 'zhi dong'. Btw, yesterday night my boss just announced that this year bonus is from 1 mth to 1.7 mth. Those getting a pay increment or promotion will receive a letter on Mon. He wants to move me out of Suntec ... to be stationed @Bugis instead cos our hot air balloon is flying and he wants me to oversee that. *sigh* No more lunch kaki liao ...

Speaking of lunch kaki, anymore mummies here working at Suntec? Perhaps we can meet up one day to have lunch together?!

tingting,
Pardon me but what is G6PD? I have never heard of it before.

ting ting,
i latch my boy as usual,then pump n hour after that. or i tandam pump, feed 1 side n pump 1 side. actually i find that even rite after pump, i latch him on,there's still milk leh. btw, those few days, my pump session is like 30-60ml. but now its back to my usual avg of 120ml. my left breast is very slack, always cannot produce much, so depends on e right.

EBM for donation:
Its kind of funny to ask, but any mummies interested in my EBM,i've e Nov lots which i need to clear to make space for the new ones. cos my fridge is very small, cant jus store n store. if u r interested, can PM me

now every1 must be getting ready to go out of e hs for the gathering..

seabreeze, cant wait to eat those durian puffs..yummy...

i need milk,

I only pump once or twice in the office these days. Poor u have to forgo lunch. Actually it's no good. If u wanna pump, the more u shld eat. Vone and I lunch too occasionally, do join us if you can

Hi skippy,

Me also have friendster account but not very good at using it..how to join your photo/discussion link?

Re - ice trays

so far i've received payment from:-
Triniti
Angel
coffeedrinker
raisintan

i think some others still pending. will keep you updated, thanks.

Hi I'm a mummy,

Think you should received money from me too rite? transfer was done on tues. do let me know if never receive ok?

cookies, tink it's okie coz i m going down 2 jurong tml as hb hv appts thr. thus i can pop by d shop 2 take a look. tks a lot 4 ur offer. gosh, so fast ur last day is here liao!! 3 cheers 2 another sahm!!

anissa, gd 4 u!! tink ur hb's ears mus b veri itchy after our lunch!! hahaha... wah, tt's veri 'generous' of ur boss hor. comes jus in time 4 cny!! har... transfer u 2 bugis... when?? mus meet u more often liao!! if nt no chance oledi. sob sob...

i need milk, poor u!! mus remember 2 eat okie.

i'm a mummy, i've transfer mine & chris $$ 2 u liao. let me noe if u didn't rec'd. tks 4 d co-ordination.

mummies who attended d gathering jus now - adel, angel, applejuz, cakey, christina, ineedmilk, ixwong, jt, seabreeze, smallbell, snoopy, temple & wendyg (did i leave any1 out??), jus wanna tell u gals tt me & my family had a lot of fun!! will try 2 post d pics soon coz d camera is wif hb who's at an appt now. cheers & c u gals at d 25 jan's gathering again!!

tingting
It's ok, we plan to buy a small pack to try first. Breeder's choice right?

Finally bought the exersaucer. $99 at OG, thanks to JT for the info. We just got it fixed up and Annette loves it! Great, no need to sleep liao lor...

really dun like night feed. My mum insisted that I need to feed my baby 4 hourly at night (i "officially " take care of my gal from 10pm-8am)

But I read books say if your baby did not wake up at night , no need to feed her..I wake my baby up for milk every 4 hour (she drink while sleeping)..
Is it ok if she drink at 10pm, then the next feed at 7am ? she drink only 4.5 ox (130ml) .. that's her.. she just a small milk drinker..

Due to her small consumption of milk, I also worried that she hungry at night.

she will wake up at night ,but when I put in her pacifier she is ok, .. therefore is it she is hungry.. want to suck suck...?

hope to stop this night feed soon...

25 Jan gathering .. Wed... no working ? or all on leave beside SAHM..
Wish to join, but scare to be alone with my baby.. afraid I can't handle her (lousy mummy)..
Since her birth.. never been alone wih her before, either my mum, or hubby, or mother-in-law with me..
My baby will look for my mum when she want to sleep.. she only want to sleep in my mum's arm..
the 8.30pm sleep she always fuss when I put her to sleep , then my mum come and "scold her" , she will keep quiet and slowly fall alseep.
Tried so many time to handle myself (ask my mum to assume she not at home), but at the end fail..

so dare not go out with her only.. must have my mum.. even my hubby also cannot handle her.

small bell, aiyo, patrick & megan r such gd frens in such a short while. so cute!!

coffeedrinker, ya u r rite. if ur gal dun wake up, then u dun hv 2 feed her. if nt, she'll nvr learn 2 sleep thru. bb r veri clever 1, if they r hungry, they'll definitely wake up & yell 4 milk. if ur gal wakes up at nite bt dun fuss, then ignore her so tt she'll now wat's day & nite. re. 25 jan's gathering, oh, i m clearing my 3th mth ML, so can meet up. dun worry abt nt being able 2 handle ur gal alone k. when i 1st went out wif my boy alone, i m aso veri scared. bt it wasn't tt dif afterall. u try okie. so tt u can build up ur confidence.

hi vone: u are welcome... jus hope tt u all wouldn't mind my place.. keke... glad tt u enjoyed urself coz i enjoyed it myself too!

anissa, if u dun know what G6PD is, then ur kid definitely doesn't have it...
it's some enzyme deficiency where they can't take certain chinese herbs, etc.

passing guest, ok. Breeders' Choice produces several brands of dog food, one of which is Active Care. Here's their website: www.breeders-choice.com You can also find this brand at Pet Lovers Centre/Corner? outlets. I often browse through www.hotdog.com.sg cos they have a lot of products. Too bad they stopped carrying Active Care already, but they have v good customer service n give u a lot of advice, so sometimes i also order stuff from them. Their products are quite premium and therefore also a bit pricey.

today's gathering looks fun! v nice pics of the babies.. i especially like the one when they're lying on their tummies n having a mini conference..

re: Avent milk bags
I fold the top a few times & use labelling sticker or masking tape to paste down (also write date on it). then i recently learnt that i can leave it lying down to freeze - doesn't leak. So when it's frozen it's nice & flat... can stack even =)
But nowadays i use VIA Cups.. easier - no danger of spillage. Furthermore my dept bar-fridge is so cramped & not cold enuf to freeze milk bag.

Gathering was mighty fun.. so many babies! What abt nxt time on Public Holiday so that my hubby can come too.. coz he works on weekends.

adelyee
tks for letting us use your home.. my hubby would be floored just by your home design.. esp the PLASMAAAA.

wendyg
hv u check out e marketplace. got e flash cards for sale again, quick go grab it.
avent milk bag, yr way of sealing not bad leh,maybe i'll try it out.

vone ...

thanks for organising the gathering ... v FUN!!

adel ...

thanks for letting us use your house and oso the discount on the levi's set heehee ... imagine go your house can still shop hahahaha

btw Brent is really v cute & good-looking ler ... love his smile ... maybe can chop first ... see whether next time will give birth to daughter anot hahahaha

so many mummies yest ... only managed to speak to a few ... maybe next time will 'target' those that I have never spoke to before hahahaha

cookies ...

yar lor v cute to see some many babies ... when vone, small bell & I left (3 bbs) ... the aunty in the lift kept saying ... aiyo so cute so many babies ... didnt tell her that they are like 6 more bb there hahahaha

hey gals.. no worries about tt.. coz i thought since vone has organised the gathering.. n it would be sorta spoil mood if cancelled so last min.. jus hope tt u gals didn't mind my small place.. if u gals like it.. can always come again..

seabreeze: thanks for the compliments..but dunno why.. i still dun really find him good looking.. probably jus cute now.. keke.. as for the levi's set.. i also wanna sell it away before cny.. so u've actually helped! haha.. clear stock!
and oh yea.. i have got great neighbours at our block.. when we first moved in.. everyone is so friendly.. (can even be bothered to say hi n make small talk) haha..i love the east.. really.

hey skippy,

i'm still at silly tuas. very very sian of the job liao! been working late everyday + weekends! argh! but i sure contact you when i'm back in civilisation!

hey i need milk,

yup, i'm at pwc... maybe we were colleagues, just never realised! when did u quit??

I am new in this thread. I have a few questions for you, mummies.

How do I know that my son is getting enough BM when he latch on?

How much BM is your baby drinking when he is 16 weeks old?

How to increase BM? I am getting quite depressed as my BM is getting lesser after returning to work. I have difficulty in expressing out my BM.

Hi Shanz
As long as he is gaining weight appropriately, he is eating enough. At 4 months, Annette was taking 6oz EBM from the bottle. It could last her 4 hours.

I have problems with supply after going back to work too. Try taking Fenugreek, drink more fluids and pump in tandem when you are latching direct. Also, I yield more after switching from electric to hand pump. Using Kaneson pump now. Cheap ($32), convenient, handy and best of all, it works for me.

Do pop by this thread more frequently. I made several friends and learnt a lot from the other mommies.

Hi Passing Guest
I intend to buy Kaneson pump but it's out of stock at BMSG. Where did you get yours? My baby can't stand Medela Mini's noise and I can't do tandem pumping.
BTW, was told that Kaneson need 2 hands to operate, how do tandem pump?

tingting,

What you said makes sense. If I have never heard of the term then chances is my baby doesn't have that
Btw, how did you find out your baby has G6PD??

moonbell
I also asked the same question re tandem pumping using Kaneson pump, haha. You know, once you start using it, you will get the hang and be able to pump in tandem. Basically, baby's shoulders will be resting on one elbow and your both hands can be free. Wala!

I bought mine from BMSG. Have you contacted them by phone? You can put your name on WL and the items usually arrive very fast. In fact it is cheap enough for you to purchase 2. I use one for home and one for office.

musicgal:
i quit in dec 1999. Quite long ago so not sure if u were there then. :p Only stayed there for 1.5 years. actually how do u pump when u r at yr client's place?? And u work so late (i would think its work till 12am cos i used to work > 16 hours every day when i was in pwc!), how u can tahan cos yr boy will be waiting for u right?

anissa, was told abt the G6PD by the PD assigned to my boy while in hospital. The news came to me as a shock though. The condition is not serious, but they had wanted to let him remain in hospital for a few more days for the photolight treatment. And i knew abt it only on the day of discharge.. as a 1st time mother, every small thing is magnified..