(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

HI wendyg,
oops, 11 days? got see pd?

Hi tingting,
maybe you can stick those anti mosquito patches around his cot? some brands are safe for babies and toddlers, can find at watsons or guardian. i prefer the patch to the mosquito net, cause mosquito net hinders my way when i want to comfort her or put the pacifier back into her mouth..This KS mummy, every night stick one patch at the head of baby's cot (but not too near her head until she keeps smelling the citronella smell lah :eek:), and put a piyo piyo mini electric anti mosquito thingy at the foot of her bed. And everywhere i carry her, i always attach the piyo piyo mosquito repellent thing to her shirt hee

cakey & everyone else re: no poo Day 11
done water, done banana, done prune juice, done PD, done medication... last resort - stick bullet in his ass. 2nd time liaozzzz

triniti
ha! Do i get a prize for identifying u.. muhahaha
u din look pregnant AT ALL!! At 8 months my face & hands were swollen (water retention). I was wondering if it was u.. coz not sure if u could jiang hua yu?? Wah so your Chinese quite fluent also hor!

lib, veri cute pic. wah, so young oledi matchmake liao. hehehe...

eileen, who in ur hsehld is so idiotic?? can dun close d freezer door 1 meh?? since nothing can b done, then u dun tink abt it anymore okie. relax or it'll affect ur ss 1. *hugz*

wendy, 11 days no poo?? u gt bring issac 2 d doc or nt??

ting, u can use j & j's insect repellant. veri effective.

thanks all for the advices... if place mosquitonet will it be v warm for him? cos he sweats v easily... in order to keep air circulating n prevent insects fr "landing" on him i keep a fan on even in this cold weather.. sometimes think he's too cold, but when he fusses in his sleep he'll sweat..

arhh, the nasty GP... am still procrastinating leh... will observe for 1 more day n see how. If still no improvement tomorrow will bring him to PD for checkup n see if can do the jab at the same time.

does Plaza Sing have a nursing room arh?

re: baby lotion
cakey, but cannot apply on eyelid right?
hmm, think will go buy some anti mozzie/insect stuff later...

wendyg
Yeah...I can speak Mandarin better than my English actually haha... always make grammatical mistakes and that is my weakness in English. For mandarin, no grammer!! As long you can say some uncommon cheng2yu3 and yan4yu3...ppl will think you are an expert in Mandarin.HahaI kept asking the videographer not to focus on my lower body just on my upper body but on tv, u tend to look 30 % bigger....so that is why I looked HORRIBLE like pancake face...plus can see all my pigmentation on my face ekkksss

chk with ya, Keyon's 5th mth jab is scheduled on 23rd(Mon), can we bring forward 2 days or delay 2 weeks?
Wanted to reschedule to a Saturday as I've been taking lots of leave this 2 mth

But then.. the subsequent Sat is CNY Eve!.. dun wan him kenna fever on CNY leh...

Applejuz
I brought anton 3 days before his 3mth jab and the PD is fine with it...I think it should not be a problem to bring it forward but different PDs have different school of thought.

wendyg
Ermm...well I dun want to look wayang when I go out though..the truth is I dun use foundation when I go out..just some loose powder cos I dun think anyone wants to look like a geisha when they go out though I know some tai tai might differ in my views haha...I mean at least when u are out normally, no one pays attention to the zits or flaws on ur face but on the camera, everything seems to be magnified!!!

hi tingting,

re: bb lotion
I apply the lotion to prevent mosq from coming near her not for the bite. So I suppose as long as her face, forehead got the bb lotion smell the mosquito won't come near lor..

hi lib,
You gave the Heinz rice cereal plain favour to Kylie? She like it? I use to give frisocrem she's ok. Then yesterday MIL try Heinz bb refused to eat that. My MIL tried herself and said it tastes quite unpleasant cos very tasteless hehe...

I survived yet another night with bb haowen. He did slightly better last night, manage to sleep till 1.30am before he cried for milk, feed him in his cot (lazy mummy :p) and he slept again until 3am. Thereafter, it's 4am and 5am but each time only whimpering for his pacifier. At least no screaming in pain like the nite b4. *whew* Really looking forward to the day when his gums no longer hurt and he can go back to his usual sleep schedule....

Seem like all our bb growing up fast huh...haowen will be 5MO come 18 Jan. Time to jab again!

Applejuz,
Realise I've the same problem with bb's 5th mth jab.. Guess i'll bring her to jab on 21 Sat 2 days before her 5mth BD...

Lib,
Kylie looks chubbier than Nathan, so cute.
Have fun feeding the rice cereal with Kylie!

Re: Poo
wendyg,
Sounds very jia lat. It must be a Ouch.. when the PD insert the pill inside. Poor baby, I hope he can poo soon. Maybe u wanna hum the "mmmm...." to make him push his poo out?

tingitng,
U stay at Punggol? My frd's baby oso ganna mosquito bites badly, so she put a moquito net. Very effective & it's not hot at all.

Applejuz,
I had actually delayed Edna's injection schedule by almost 10 days cos of my last trip. GP says ok.

last night zephan slept a record of 8 hrs straight... last feed was at 12.30am, and woke up for next feed only at 8.30am. but his sleep like not v deep... kept making noises once in a while n tosses a bit.

tingting
Oops.. 8 hrs? looks like u gotta wake up to pump liao.. if not, will leak..... but its good news! cos when u switch to FM, u can sleep thru!

wendyg
11 days??! sheesh. but when u insert the tablet and he poo, his poo is not those hard pellet type right? My PD said the record is 21 days.

applejuz
i brought my girl for jab abt 2 wks late but PD never say anything.. so i suppose its ok.

i need milk, ya, was feeling v full this morning, but glad that i didn't leak.. hehe.. sleep through arh? dun dare to hope, cos he always change his routine one... :p

just now he was using the walker, and walked himself into the bathroom! got stuck n couldn't get out.. then cried for help.. :p

ineedmilk
poo was pastey... like thick milkshake.

re: late jab
my PD says late jab is ok, but she doesn't do early jab.

tingting
so funny huh. Still dowan to see the nasty doc ah

wow! todae thread very busy hur!

wendyg,
wat! 11 daes no poo u still so zai! for me i will klkp liao..... better bring ur bb to see pd!

lib,
wah! kylie so chubby!!! i wanna bao bao her! how's the rice cereal thingy? she ok with it?
my boy using the L size! he fussed when i used the y size.... greedy n lazy boy....

cat_tail,
i cut it on the 31 dec 05! :eek:) was supposed to go for treatment only but end up hair stylist wanna changed my hairstyle so end up my hair cut short!

vone,
haha....was thinkin to keep my new clothes for CNY but guess wat..... im wearin it now!!! hmm...now thinkin tom wear another set of new clothes!

tingting,
how old is ur bb? can walk already!?

Re gathering:
can someone pm me amanda's add? i may drop by if i hv time.

wendy

he seems alright leh.. will wait n see how...

re: medela pump
to me e medela dual electric pump doesn't seem to work as well as my avent manual.. even though my breast was so full in the morning i could only get 100ml.. and the breast doesn't seem to be well drained.. think the newer ones with 2 phase expression may be better...

so far i oni give her a small amount of cereal each time.. not so much as a meal.. juz for taste only.. i use bowl & spoon to feed her.. after the cereal will give her some water..

tingting,
Plaza Sing has a nursing room on the same level as Mothercare, 3rd level, i tink. Quite small thou... and there's a seperate changing station.

cakey,
For the Heinz cereal, you may want to mix if with other 'ingredients'. I mix it with apple, carrot, sweet potato, etc for my bb so it's not so bland. She likes it alot & will finish everything in the bowl.

Re: Poo
My bb also had constipation prob coz she's on 100% formula but ever since she started on cereals, it has become better. I think she's getting more fibre from the fruits & veg added into the cereals.

cakey, cat_tail, i need milk, wendyg,
Thanks for ur advice on late jabs.

re:gathering
ya... can I have amanda's addr too? or who can I contact?
Me really wan to go, but gotta accompany hb to his friend's house warming ard 4-5pm, so see whether hb wans to travel fr west(our home) --> north(yishun)--> west again(frens house)... if ok, I'll bring some goodies. :p

tingting
maybe u didn't get letdowns while using the pump, hence only 100ml? When I use the PIS, I would turn to minimum suction to trigger letdowns, then turn to higher to extract the milk.

wendyg ...

my bb poo liao ... my mum said that he poo to revenge ... poo LOTS ... amazed at myself that I get worried over things like pooing

ting ting ...

i suspect the same thing as ixwong ... maybe your breast not use to the pump too .... cos there was once when I didnt express for v long (i dun express if i dun work) ... i couldnt achieve a let down ... could only get 60ml ... after 3hr ... me went to pump again and could get the normal amt ...

re: 7 Jan gathering

think Vone has the address ...

me wan the address too ... if i can get my car back by then will pop by oso ...

skippy, hahaha... then u need 2 buy new clothes liao!!

applejuz / seabreeze & d rest of d mummies who r attending d gathering tis sat, i'll sms d add 2 u gals later in d nite okie. tks. m veri busy rushing out my billings tday.

skippy,
I think u will look very pretty with the short hair.

Oh ya, CNY coming hor, should get some new clothings for myself.

would like to join you mummies for the gatherings. as for 25 jan, would like to confirm again when the date nears nearer...

latest update:

7 jan (sat) @ 2pm - amanda's plc (yishun, near orchid country club)
1. vone & hb - cheesecake
2. ixwong & hb - tibits
3. amanda - drinks
4. anissa
5. cakey & hb - ice cream
6. smallbell - chocolates
7. temple - Mcdonald's nuggets

25 jan (wed) @ 2pm - triniti's plc (near medicorp)
1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest
10.smallbell - chocolates
11.eileenp
12.nicky's mom
13.temple (to be confirmed)

oh u mean there are 2 gatherings??
i thought it was either 1 or the other..
so the siao on ones can go for both lah?
heh heh

Hey all mummies coming on the 25th...

hehe at this stage I will just skip lunch and eat whatever the mummies bring. Some suggestions on what to bring: sandwiches, pastries or even durians ( I am joking about durians hehe)...

HI seabreeze
hehe yes actually but durian puffs not as bad as durains hehe so I think it is ok...worse come to worse ...will open all the windows to air the living room when all of you leave haha...

My hubby said next week there is a public holiday...which day is it? 25th is not a public holiday right?

gathering's updates:

7 jan (sat) @ 2pm - amanda's plc (yishun, near orchid country club)
1. vone & hb - cheesecake
2. ixwong & hb - tibits
3. amanda - drinks
4. anissa
5. cakey & hb - ice cream
6. smallbell - chocolates
7. temple - Mcdonald's nuggets

amanda had pm me her add last wk liao. bt as d pm function was down, thus i didn't rec'd it. will sms u gals d add later in d nite. wait 4 my sms.

25 jan (wed) @ 2pm - triniti's plc (near medicorp)
1. skippy
2. triniti - drinks
3. tingting - cookies
4. seabreeze - durian puffs
5. adel
6. cookies - titbits
7. vone & hb - cheesecake
8. aidanee
9. passing_guest
10.smallbell - chocolates
11.eileenp
12.nicky's mom
13.temple (to be confirmed)

mmm... seems like no1 is bringing along their hbs hor. then i shall asked mine 2 stay at hm!! hahaha...

anymore mummies interested 2 come along??

For those who have started feeding semi solids, once baby is able to take 90ml water + 3scoops cereal, does that mean we can skip that meal of milk or should reduce the portion. Currently each feed of milk is 170ml.

just fed my son with rice cereal for the very first time and he likes it!!! and finish the whole cereal.... (just about one teaspoon of cereal only lah)... wow... so happy....

although his first time eating it with spoon, he could eat the rice cereal using spoon pretty well... just that he was a bit slow and a little bit impatient and i was getting impatient too...

think can at least feed him once a day now...

adelyee & triniti: next tuesday which is 10th, is a public holiday - Hari Raya Haji

vone ...

if me go this sat will bring my hubby ... 25 Jan will be alone cos he is working ...

temple ...

me usually look thr the category and sort by price (cheapo mar!!) ... did manage to get some good stuff there ... even got my maternity wear there too ... $10 for very good cond Max Cool dress and blouse

Hi Passing Guest,
I think if you are just starting to feed solids, it's recommended that you feed milk first followed by cereal. The semi-solids should only be their first taste as a filler, not a main meal.

This is what Gina Ford says in her "The contented little baby book of weaning":
- For the first 6 mths, milk is still the most impt part of your bb's diet and he'll need a minimum of 600ml a day. During 1st mth of weaning if you always offer the milk first, then the solids, you can be sure he'll take exactly the amt of solids he needs. This will prevent him from replacing his milk too quickly with solids.

- From 5 mths more milk will be used to mix his baby rice, cereal and solids, so although the actual amount he drinks reduces slightly, his daily intake should remain the same.

What I do for my baby is that I use part of her milk feed in her cereal. E.g. she usually drinks 180ml so now I let her drink 120ml and use 60ml to mix with 2 scoops of cereal. Will also feed cereal after milk . Sometimes I'll add 1 cube of fruit or veg puree.

hi to all aug mummies,

din know that there is such gathering for aug mummies which my son was also deliver in aug 2005. so just wondering if you mum are okie for me to join in too....hope can learn something from you all

rgds
JT

Has any of you put your bbs in a walker? Do they like it?
My auntie who's taking care of my bb tried putting her in a walker but she doesn't like it. Will fuss & cry when they put her in. The funny thing is we have a exersaucer at home & when we put her in it, she's ok. So weird, I thought both should "feel" the same...