(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

welcomes phoebe..

Phoebe: haha.. am also a guest here.. coz i actually belong to the oct thread.. kinda extra.. here.. :X

mummies here: am really going crazy.. my son has been fussing from 6-11pm everyday again.. dunno wads wrong.. with him.. really feel heart pain pain plus stressed out mentally.. should i bring him to a pd to check wads wrong with him?

adelyee.. do u mean he dun sleep from 6-11?? mine also something like that from abt 5pm wake up for feed then dun sleep until 8+, 9 for the nite..
she will be v cranky cos i can see that she is sleepy but dun wan to go and sleep.. by the time 8+, 9 she too tired to zz liao... stupid rite??
in the day, she can only stay awake for abt 1hr to 1&half like that before she go back to nap... so fr 5 to 9 is many hrs liao! no matter how much she yawning also refuse to go to sleep!
dun know if it's cause daddy comes back in the evening or becos she slept too much in the day already...

moulinmum,

my boy similar to your gal, daytime stay awake for only 1 hr, including feed time. recently, he will wake up fr his last nap n refuse to sleep till 9pm. also v tired but dowan to sleep. suspect could be bcos he had too much fun during daytime, cos he just started using walker. i'm trying to let him have more of his sleep quota met during daytime, so he may wake up fr his last nap at around 6pm. so even if he sleeps only at 9pm, he's not overly tired n cranky. i'll then nurse him to sleep cos he falls asleep most easily that way.

Welcome phoebe.

Seabreeze,
Wait to strike 4D & toto... haiz.. my neck is getting very long liao.

vone,
Heehe.. good tat yor hubby supports your idea! Your nagging strategy works! When I suggested to my hubby, he either act blur or say wait till his income increase, strike toto lah..chay....

Applejuz,
Your hubby must have given u tat shock & blank look rite?
Wah.. u r planning 4 babies!!

adelyee,
Any changes of his activity during the daytime like nap too little/much or play? Or is he hungry?

angel, wow... gd 2 hear tt megan had flipped.

applejuz, hehe... so fast u r tinking of no. 2, 3 & 4 liao. tt's gd!!

hi phoebe, welcome.
btw, we gt a gathering on d 7 & 25 jan. u wanna join us??

cat_tail, nvm, if u wan 2 b sahm, then nag more okie. hehehe...

angle ...

popped by your place last week but you not around ... aiyo we stay just opp each other and yet dun even bump into each other heehee

aidanee ...

think our bb is too young for that ... anyway me sometimes dun like to tok to those auntie ... cos they got some very strange and funny theory sometimes which only make us blurrrrr ... i always think that should just trust our own instinct to take care of our bb or check out with ppl of our same era heehee ...

adel ...

no lar ... u are already a regular here liao ... brought yicheng back to see dr cheng last sat ... dr cheng say that yicheng v chubby heehee ... took a photo with dr cheng oso ... wan give him next time so that he can pin on his notice board heehee ... then dr cheng put yicheng on the table and make yicheng walk ... so funny ...

but the pad smear and the check damn PAIN lor ... ouch!!!

maybe brent wants to start playing instead of zzzing now?

welcome phoebe!!

cat_tail & vone,
ha ha, that's my ideal lah. but can or not is another thing :p
cos my hb's family also 4 siblings & with their partners, it form a table of 10 (+parents). Just nice & more re nao. Hmm.. like that i must produce till i reach 35 har (since now me 29 liao) Aiyo.

long time never post.

didn't manage to let ds have his jab last sat, doc said he must be 3mths old then can jab. ds was 3 days shy of being 3mths old on last sat, so tomolo bring him again to SK polyclinic!

BTW, doc mentioned that ds has head lag and want us to help ds strengthen his neck muscles. if by 4mths, still got head lag, must bring to specialist. any good methods to train neck muscles? i am putting him on stomach and he keeps complaining but will try to lift his head.

ds feeding problem is slowing going away! he will fuss then drink, usually i have to make sure that fan is blowing at him. ds is really one hot babe! now thinking of increasing his feed back to 150ml...

re:feeding water at night
my maid is giving ds water when he wakes around 2-3am for nearly 2-3wks. there are nights that ds will sleep till 5.30am. now feeding him at 10.30pm(last feed) and 5.30am. hopefully can keep to this feeding schedule when i start work.

did anyone of you order the book "Child Of Our Time"? very interesting, i only managed to watched a bit, so now reading the book.

then polyclinic doc evil! makes me go 2 times!

i also dun see a problem, 3 days only but he keeps saying about immune system not ready...

ilmare ...

the dr at polyclinic damn KS one ... tat time my bb got jaundice ... keep telling them its due to him drinking BM ... but they keep making me bring him back to check every week ...

oso dun wan to give him his hep B jab ... cos still got jaundice .. had to go back second time then give jab oso ...

after 3 weeks ... i told that dr that i am not coming back liao cos his jaundice level was already dropping and i was going to start work soon ...

same as you ... think putting them on their tummy is the best way ... maybe you can dangle some toys in front of him to encourage him lor and make it more fun for him ...

vone - why don't u find another job first rather than quit and be a SAHM? Cos it seems like the problem lies with yr boss/job. Since the problem lies there, then change jobs! I also always want to quit and be a SAHM but sometimes when i sit down and really think hard, i was thinking that it will be nice to get dual income... think of all the nice toys/clothes to buy for our babies! Unless of cos, your hb is a 'golden tortoise' (jin gui).. heehee.

applejuz:
i also don't mind many children!! Just that i hate to go thru 10 mths of pregnancy... if only, giving birth just takes 1 mth of preg and then pop!

morning mummies, thanks for welcoming me.. hehe

vone, i dunno yet about the gathering coz it's too far for me. i'm staying at bedok res (east) and to travel all the way to west is abit 'xiong' leh...
but hor.. i wanted very much to meet up for a gathering. btw, where's the location for the one on 25th Jan?

i need milk, mine is oppposite of you leh.. dun mind getting pregnant but scared of giving birth and taking care of newborn.. hehe
the more a think about the pain, the more i dun wish for a second baby

ilmare
what's head lag? My boy coming 4 mths liao, head still wobby wobby one. Is that consider head-lag? *now worried*. When I put him on his tummy, he can raise his head but only for a while. Still cannot put mini push-ups yet.

temple

it is a tv series by BBC, shown on arts central about 2mths back.

the book is more scientific from pregnancy till birth till 5yrs old. i now at 3mths old section.

ixwong

when doc pulled his hands up, he on his back, ds not able to hold head still. something like that.

ds head also wobby, bollywood style lor.

yesterday did some push-ups, but very soon starts to complain. ds now loves HB to carry, especially when HB comes home, ds very happy. must be see me whole day very sian!

seabreeze/cat_tail: i dunno leh.. he will starts being a bit cranky in the afternoon.. then after tt.. he will.. starts to cry from 7 plus.. so confused!

applejuz, if u can, then hv more lah. i like kids, bt hb is nt willing 2 hv more coz he old liao.

ilmare, long time nvr talk 2 u liao. so how's ur maid now?? re. d bk, how did u get a copy of it?? m interested coz i always 4gt 2 watch d show.

i need milk, tt's another option which i m considering. sigh... now me gt headache. 4 me, i kinda of njoyed my pregnancy even though mine was veri eventful.

phoebe, hey, i aso stay at bedok res, d 100+ series, whr u stay?? d 7 jan gathering is at yishun. 4 d 25 jan gathering, we gt 2 choices, at marine terrace or andrew rd. venue is still nt cfmed yet, pending 4 votes.

vone,
Cannot nag liao lah. He just change my name from "Maggie to Naggie".. *pengz san

Applejuz,
I think my max target is 2..tat's it.. haha.. Why not u try 6? Can form a basketball team leh.. "jia you" wor

Hi ilmare,
Maybe carry him up more often & let him support his head? My gal never like tummy down so I hold her up right & walk around to let her enjoy sight seeing. Another way to train her neck.

Din noe they come out with the book of "Child of our Time", I only watch some of the episode & it's really interesting.
So far what have u read? Can share share?

adelyee,
Maybe u wanna tell us how's the cries like? Do u have a routine for him like drinking, sleeping & playing?

vone, mine at bedok res road, near kaki bukit (600+).. maybe i could join the gathering on 25 Jan if it's at marine terrace

ilmare,

when is it showing at art central?

trinit,

saw that you are buying the piano pooh. just curious to know how much you pay for it and how different is this from other kind of mat???

Haha..vone,
My ah lao really can drive me crazy sometimes.

temple,
I think the documentary finish liao. I seen it before also in National Geographic or Discovery Channel.

currently having problem with my gal feeding. She only drink on the average 50ml each feed.. she will be 3 mth on this sat. I make 110ml each time but she will suck constant till about 50ml, then she will kick and cry.. then we got to pacify her till she ok, then feed again.. this continue for 30min but at the end only manage to drink the most 80ml.. how ? I see others baby already drink at 125-150ml.. Can some of you davise some tactic I can do to improve this or I should take it easy (my mother in law say she don't want never mind , wait till she cry then give again)..but she only drink 50ml, I can't bear to wait till 4-5hour then feed her, afraid she starve..

coffeedrinker:
how heavy is yr bb now? my girl at 3 mths old only drank like 60ml-100ml per feed. Now she at 4 mths only drink 100-140ml. Different babies may drink diff amounts.. as long as yr bb is putting on 1kg per month or 100-200 grams per week. Usually if bbs are hungry, they will make it known very obviously (loud cries!). If yr bb is contented and happy, shld be ok lah.

phoebe, okie, noted. will update u again.

coffeedrinker, if ur gal dun fuss, then it's okie. dun worry. jus feed her whenever she's hungry.
btw, saw fr ur pic tt ur gal is still wearing her mittens??

Hi Phoebe,
You're welcome

hi rennie,
Ya want to try to hold her up after feeding.. just that she doesn't like to be carried but preffered to lay down (now is tummy down). Sometime at MIL place difficult to try this and that cos once bb start crying, grandma, aunt, daddy will come and see what happen and will try to take her and pacify her... So diff to tryout diff ways of pacifying her.
*sigh* Sometime i abit stress when she crys there, cos if it lasted a while longer and I still haven't manage to pacify her, others will come and take her away and 'hong' her. I know others meant well lar... but i just hope i'm given the chance to try out and learn to handle my own child. Now can only do so during weekend when she's back.

hi tingting,
Its also diff to change my gal's diaper. Sometime i just do it the other way if she's on tummy. I.e. adjust, cover her backside liao then hold and quickly flip her over to cover the front and fasten. How old is yr boy? He can sit unsupported in walker already? I tried last weekend and my gal is like bending forward all the time.. she seems unable to lean back leh..

hi moulinmum,
Ya agree that nowadays put at bouncer must keep a lookout. But i ususally fasten her belt.

hi ixwong,
Ya she will flip over once put her down. I guess she's enjoying her new 'point of view' hehe.. i also got to lie down if want to play/talk to her else can't have eye contacts... I heard from MIL that my hubby only knows how to flip during 4, 5mth so guess its ok if haowen not flipping yet. Although my gal can flip over, she still doesn't know how to reach out for things or bat at things unlike others.. thus diff bb diff lor..

hi ilmare,
My gal also got her jab a few days before 3rd mth at GP. She's a full term bb so I think shld be OK. Last time visited the Polyclinic the doc ask bb to go for jaundice test although PD already said just monitor will do. Maybe they follow the rules strictly.

coffeedrinker, not to worry coz my boy also like tat. at 3months, he's 6.2kg is within the normal growth chart. so long as he's not refusing totally and not gaining weight, it would be alright cos babies also have their own appetite like us adults.
i so 'kan cheong' and ask the doctor, and these are the assuarance given to me...

hi Vone,
I put on mitten sometime becos she will scratch her face (though I cut her nail, maybe not deep enough).. But no more for booties.. now she is better at controlling her finger.. so less scratches..

anyone using NUK teat (got brown colour teat & white colour teat).. now me use Avent.. wonder should I try change the teat?

coffeedrinker,
Like wat other mummies say, dun worry as long as she's growing healthy & active. My baby also fuss when she drinks sometimes. When she's moody, she drinks 60ml & when she's happy, she will drink 150ml.

vone is right, I think better dun give her mittens liao. It's time for her to explore & play her fingers.

hi coffeedrinker, maybe she needs a teat with faster flow? when i bottle feed my boy he was also drinking v little, then he either refuse or drifted to sleep. was advised by my elders to enlarge the hole to make the milk flow faster, and now he drinks quite a fair bit. re: teats, different babies prefer different types, mine is fine with avent.. in fact, he prefers wide teats.

cakey, my boy is 4.5 mths. he doesn't lean back as well, but leans forward. but he doesn't slump over the front, i.e. back is straight thou leaning forward. he doesn't seem uncomfortable in the walker, and enjoys it in fact. if his spine is not ready he won't feel comfortable n will protest.

coffeedrinker, oic. i used 2 use d NUK teat, d brown color 1. my boy dun like it. so i switched back 2 pigeon. y?? u planning 2 switch??

coffeedrinker ...

think your gal is okie lar ... yicheng is oso 6.25kg at 3mth ... 50 percentile ... okie mar ... average bb ...

was wondering whether isit cos your gal inside got gas thats why she stopped drinking ... got to burp her ... my bb oso like that ....

me using NUK teat ... so far so good ...

hi vone

maid is fine, she is quite good with ds and ds takes to her quite well...

re:"Child Of Our Time" book
someone posted a thread on the web to order the book and i got it from "wonderbox.com.sg" for less than $40(include delivery). think some mums managed to recorded the whole series and will cut into DVD for sharing, and mediacorp is considering to re-run the series.

there are tips in the book on how to make bb suckle/drink milk but must start training when bb in womb. basically, MTB must recite a nursery story etc over and over during the last trimester and when bb born recite when bb suckle, stop when bb stops. it is shown that bb will suckle harder just to hear story.
and also a study on 30 thousand bbs on weight gain, a weight gain over 800gms/mth is likely to lead to obesity later in life. 30 thousand bbs were born with normal weight.

re: strengthen neck muscles
put ds on his tummy today and he managed to hold his head quite well and long. plus i put toys infront of him to encourage him... so happy for him.

think ds is trying to flip, always arching his back when lying on his back and kicking. how do you show your bb how to flip? turn bb over?

coffeedrinker,
ds was like that about 2wks back and drove me nuts when feeding. another mum(staying at my block) mentioned that her son also went thru it, and this feeding thingy will resolves when bb about 4mths old. now ds will fuss but will drink, just have to be patient lor.

from the book, studies shown that bb boys tends to have problem feeding compared to bb girls. as bb girls will swallow aminotic fluid more times and early than bb boys, hence girls will feed better.

anyway, dun worry too much, as long as dd is putting on weight and active. try putting ru yi oil to help expel wind out, i did that for ds and feel that it seems to help.

Re - nail polish/manicure

is it safe to wear nail polish on our hands? i haven't been wearing nail polish on my hands since giving birth, cause scared baby bite or suck on my fingers, or when i am preparing her feed, scared contaminate her bottle. Does anyone know if its ok to wear nail polish? me have been going for manicure, but always tell them not to paint the nails..like waste money leh haha

Welcome Theresa!

I'm a Mummy,
I only painted my toe nails. Also scared the chemicals will harm baby if i do it on my fingers. :p Or is there any baby-friendly nail polish? hee hee...

welcome, theresa and phoebe!

Coffeedrinker,
I'm using NUK for my boy. Used to be latex one but later on change to silicone cos more lasting. My boy also at one time drink v slowly and fuss all the time. In the end, we poke another hole to increase the flow rate. He's now drinking abt 180-200ml, 5 feeds a day. Sometime each feed still take a while cos he will kpo, look here and there once he satisfies his initial hunger.

Cakey
Went to the Philips staff sale just now. Bought a mini blender at only $27.90. So cheap! Intend to use it when introducing solids to haowen.

I have asked my bbsitter to put haowen more his tummy to train his neck muscles....hopefully he won't be wobby for too long. Think at this rate, he won't till for sometimes yet. Too bui, I think...hee hee.

hi theresa ..welcome

ixwong, is haowen's head big?? jus told by my colleague that her fren's son's head only steady at 5mths cos head big. my Ern Ray's head also big, so i guess will take a while. his also very unsteady lor, so now i put him on tummy as much as possible.

coffeedrinker, u wan to try nuk teat? i've 1 Nuk latex vented teat size 1, given by TMC. hv no use for it. if u wan i can mail to u, jus need to pay me e postage.

re: bottles cleaning
do u mummies clean with e bb cleaning detegent? i used to diligently washed with e detergent till my fren n colleague told me that they don't, only washed with tap water. was quite shock thou. any1 also like them??

re: bottles cleaning
I also diligently washed with the pigeon detergent.. but my colleague told me they only wash with hot water during the day and then at the end of the day wash with the detergent once. The pigeon detergent very expensive! But i still wash with it every time... i kiasu.