(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

do you find that your bb looks very different lying down and sitting up? the cheeks like kenna 'pulled' by gravity like that haha..share with you two pics of my gal..she looks very different lying down and sitting up...lying down she looks like a boi boi..sitting up she looks like a pixie hee hee

lying down

343401.jpg

Sitting up
343402.jpg

cat_tail and seabreeze
So did your baby wake up for more feeds during the night?Cos my baby used to able to sleep thru... I bought him a pigeon teether so he won't have to suck his fist...he is sucking both at the same time now!!

Today My mum and MIL brought my boy for 4th mth jab too. My boy doesn't grow "long".. same as 3 mth old..67cm. But he put on weight now 8.35kg. Gain about 1kg. Recently, he doesn't drink much milk. Think gona start solid food to him soon liao.

eileenp ...

think ur boy is okie lar ... yicheng is not that big either i think ... grandmother, mothers and MIL always v scared that we dun feed their grand-child enough ... esp when we BF ... but somehow they forgot that we are the mother ... pls lor how can we bear to let our bb starve right ... oso we keep the milk for what??

yap once they are abt 2mths they prefer to sit up .. think looking at the ceiling is too boring for them now ...

i'm a mummy ...

yes yes ... they look diff lying down and sitting up ... yicheng look like an old man when he is sitting up heehee ... cos all his flesh is like hanging down and the eyes like not opened like that ... isit cos their facial muscle not that strong yet??

sorry my message should be addressed to lib and cat_tail
So did your baby wake up for more feeds during the night?Cos my baby used to able to sleep thru... I bought him a pigeon teether so he won't have to suck his fist...he is sucking both at the same time now!!

today 1st day back to work, n only work 1/2 day, my heart pain liao. cos Ern Ray refuse to take bottle. poor hb tried for almost n hr n he only feed on 80ml. i wonder wat could be e problem, sometimes he drink n sometimes he dont.. quite worrying cos still hv to work a few more days e next 2 weeks.

wendyg, skippy, seabreeze, thanks for e info. i've bought a box of e tablets, so will use it 1st. anyway, i'm not going to work for too long.

i'm a mummy,i've actually bought a babysafe latex pillow, e 1 with e hole for my boy. try on him jus now.. so funny, he dun seem to like it, cos saw him slowly moving himself away from it.

eileenp,
yr boy looks quite big leh, not like wat u describe lah. my Ern Ray also small build, only head big..heee...

eileenp,
Wat's yor baby's wt & ht? I check my booklet & let u know.

triniti,
Guess wat! I saw a tooth sprouting out from her lower gum today! Really din expect she grows so fast!
My gal is still sleeping thru out the night maybe she's on FM. The only different is her appetite increases & wants her feed earlier in the daytime! I think I am going to increase to 150ml tomorrow. Same as you, I bot the Pigeon chick teether but she prefers her fingers! So in the end, I give her pacifier... Did yor boy use his fingers to dig his gum?

hello, my bb is 3 n half month already.
tot of shaving his hair. isit any hair salon can do the job. still can preserve his hair and do mao bi??
Now he loves to put his hand into his mouth and suck, den suck till he vomit some milk, saliva...
when will teething start??

hi agnes, y dun u go directly to the shop that does mao bi for shaving as well? i think they can do it foc. teething may start around 3 months, but 1st tooth usually does not appear till 5-6 months.

re : growth chart

here's a site you can check which percentile your baby is at... just key in birthdate, ht and wt.

agnesyeo ...

here is the website for the shop ... you can check it out ... think the shaving is FOC

http://www.taimaobi.com/

cat tail ...

wow edna so fast ar ... got teeth coming out ... my fren's bb gal teeth came out only when she was abt 1yr old ....

triniti ...

u still selling u ameda pump ... my fren may be keen ... if you still selling then i will check with her ...

ting2
re: sleep training
i thought by 6 months it'll be quite tough to "train" babies liao.. so any sleep training better be done now?
sigh your babe only wakes once a night.. mine still holds the record - at least 3 times a night, & by 5.30am he's ready to play. sigh...

cat_tail
I did not notice if he puts his fingers inside his gum...now he is putting his stroller toys into his mouth!!He does not like his teether as well cos he kept dropping it
...still dunno if it is teething or growth spurts...

Seabreeze
I just smsed u..

triniti, gd 4 u tt u r keeping ur PIS.
hehe... my boy is like anton, aso suck both his thumbs at d same time.

seabreeze, wat a concidence, me aso taking childcare leave on 29 & 30 dec. my boy is hving his 4th mth vaccination. gosh, i m sorry 2 hear abt ur grandma!! u take care k.

cookies, my boy is sleeping on a bb pillow since he's a nb. btw, y u say tt u r not wking 4 long?? u made ur decision liao??

eileen, i took d 5 in 1. costs me $291 + 5% GST. ur boy looks veri cute. so u bathe him on d kitchen table is it??

cat_tail, edna is growing so fast!!

re:sleep training
Baby sleep training methods
Overview: Three sleep training methods to try including the 'crying down' method, the 'core night' method and the 'controlled crying' method.

Crying down

This method can be particularly helpful when initial feeding problems have been resolved and a baby only has mild sleep association problems or has difficulty falling asleep because he is overtired or over-stimulated.The technique involves leaving your baby to cry, and although it's very difficult to listen to a young baby cry himself to sleep, it will prevent serious sleep problems in the future.

Crying down with a baby under six weeks usually lasts between five and 10 minutes, although with some babies who have become over-tired and fight sleep, it can last up to 20 minutes. If you find the crying hard to ignore try and wait for five to 10 minutes before going in to your baby.

You can then enter your baby's room and reassure him with a soothing touch or quiet voice. This should be kept to between one to two minutes before leaving him. You should then wait about 5-10 minutes before returning. Try to repeat this procedure until the baby learns to sleep by himself.

The core night

The core night method can be used for a baby over six weeks, who weighs more than 4.6kg (l0lb), has fallen into a good daytime routine and is settling well in the evening, and provided he's putting on enough weight each week. You'll know it's the right time to start thinking about this method when your baby's still waking in the night looking for a feed but not feeding well at 7am.

The core night works on the principle that once a baby sleeps for one longer spell in the night over several nights, he shouldn't be fed again during the hours slept in the course of the core night. Once you've seen that your baby can last a certain length of time without a feed, you can use this opportunity to help him to sleep longer. If he wakes during these hours, he should be left for a few minutes to settle himself back to sleep.

If he doesn't settle, try patting him, offering him a dummy or a sip of water, giving him the minimum of attention. Babies over six weeks who are putting on a good amount of weight each week but who are still waking at 3am should be offered a dummy or a bottle of cool, boiled water. If your baby still won't settle, give him the smallest feed that gets him through until 7am.

Controlled crying

If all other methods have failed, controlled crying is the most effective way to sleep-train babies over 6 months.

It is an intense technique and takes a lot of commitment and perseverance but can be very successful in getting your baby to sleep through. If your baby is still feeding in the night, however, it's a good idea to try the core night method to ensure he isn't crying from genuine hunger.

Start controlled crying in the evening on the first day. The same procedure should be carried out no matter how many times your baby or toddler wakes up in the night.

Day 1
Step 1 Decide on a regular time to start the bedtime routine and stick to it. Allow at least one hour for the bath, milk feed and settling.
Step2 Settle your child in his bed before he gets too sleepy. Kiss him goodnight and leave the room.
Step 3 Allow a minimum of five to 10 minutes of crying before returning to reassure him. Reassurance should be kept to the minimum. You can stroke him or say 'ssh-ssh' softly, but resist the urge to pick him up. Leave the room after two minutes even if he continues to cry.
Step 4 After the first half hour of crying, the times between visits should be increased by five to 10 minutes each time, to 15-20 minutes between visits.
Step 5 Continue with the checking plan every 15-20 mins until your baby or toddler falls asleep. Reassurance should still be kept to a minimum of no more than two minutes and he shouldn't be lifted out of the cot.
Step 6 If your baby wakes in the night, continue to follow the same plan for the evening, gradually increasing the time between visits, until you are going in every 15-20 minutes.
Day 2

For daytime naps, it is important you start where you left off in the night.
Step 1 Wait at least 20 minutes before checking your baby and continue to keep visits to him to a maximum of two minutes, with the minimum of reassurance.
Step 2 If your baby or toddler falls asleep closer to the time he's meant to be getting up, allow 15 minutes in the morning nap and 45 minutes at the lunchtime nap so he won't end up sleeping after 3pm in the afternoon. If your baby's very tired he may need a short nap of 15-20 minutes late afternoon, so he doesn't become over-tired.
Step 3 Follow the same settling procedure as the first night in the evening, this time waiting 20-25 minutes before returning. During visits on the second night, reassure your baby by saying "ssh-ssh", but don't stroke or touch him.
Step 4 If your baby is still crying after the first hour, the time between visits should be increased to 35-40 minutes.
Step 5 If he wakes in the night, you should wait 45 minutes before checking him, and you shouldn't speak to him or stroke him. Reduce visits to one minute.

Day 3

By the third day, the majority of babies and toddlers will be settling themselves at all sleep-times within 20 minutes and there's no need to check on them.
Step 1 If your baby backtracks at one of the steep-times and you have to go back to checking him, start off with looking in on him every 15-20 minutes and increase the interval until you are back to 4-5-50 minutes.
Step 2 Once your child has done a few days of settling within 20 minutes, you should be able to use the crying-down method for getting him off to sleep. Within a couple of weeks, the majority of babies and toddlers will be going to sleep without any fuss at all.

Can i ask those mummies went through c section, is it painful n how long is the procedure? i may have to go for c section liao cos gynae say my bb very big n i got GD

Seabreeze,
Maybe she's the "zhao shu" type..keke.. or probably I eat too much junk food when I am preggy. :p

triniti,
Can't be help, my gal also likes to put anything into her mouth. I pull away her fingers, she fuss at me. :z So I make sure these things are clean & wipe her mouth/fingers as often as I can. Does Anton drools a lot? If yes, it could be teething symptoms too. Can use your finger to feel the lower gum. Should feel something hard hard.

adel, u changed ur nick ah?? u can apply j & j's bb oil on his scalp b4 his sleep, then wash it off d nxt day when he's hving his bath.

confused, oh dear... do take care k. i underwent emergency c-section. actually it's veri fast 1, dun worry. but remember 2 use a binder so tt ur wound will not b so painful. do call me if u gt other queries.

vone - okie, thanks. but how fast ah? 1-2 hrs? Actually i'm very frighten now and alot of things havent prepare. btw, the binder do i have to get it in advance or i can get it from the hospital?

confused
the actual time i was in the operating theatre was only 30min i think..
Binder u can get on your own. My fren lent me, so i didn't hv to buy from hosp/ gynae.
as to whether it's painful - during the op i didn't feel pain lor.. after op took painkillers. But when painkiller wore off, it hurt like mad lor.. hard to get on/off bed to go toilet. Aiyo, the short walk to the loo took me 5min, with husband supporting while i shuffled. Remember to use both hands to support wound when u're coughing/ laughing/ sneezing. Walk as upright as u can - will speed up the healing.

ayl
for cradle cap, i massaged some baby oil on the scalp for 5min, then used towel soaked with baby bath & massaged another 5min. My baby loved the massage ley. In a few days the cradle cap went off. Keep scalp dry & free of sweat if u can help it - ie keep baby cool so that he won't sweat.

triniti
sigh.. hard to put into action ley. V heart pain when bb cries & can't pick him up. Your baby waking in the night meh?

vone, no, he's always using e nappy cloth as 'pillow'. only start him yesterday on e donut pillow, but he jus move himself out of it. so he's back to e nappy cloth again. will try out again. oh yes, i've decided to quit my job n be a SAHM for a year. will tender in jan.

confused.. like vone, i went to e- csection too. e procedure very fast, think within 10mins, u can c bb. my pain came in after e epidural effect is gone, but can start walking a day later. think it depends on individual, my pain completely gone by 2 or 3 wk after birth.

wendyg n cookies - thanks for the info
Yo! 10-30mins is very fast leh. Do i have to wait till my water burst then admit to hospital or i can choose a date for delivery. Gynae told me due to my GD, i may have to go for early delivery (ard week 38)

Oso will i be awake during the operation or i'll be put to sleep.

vone, wendgy n cookies - Sorry for asking so many question.

confused
regarding delivery date, better u ask your gynae.
For me, I had the C-section coz i didn't dilate for 10hours in the labour ward. And since i was already on epidural, i was awake during the operation - hubby was with me in the OT too.

hi confused,
ya, my case same as wendyg, i only dilate 4cm n it stay that way for almost 10hrs. was on epidural so continue with that at e ops.

if yr csection is pre-schedule, u can discuss with yr gynae e options of epidural or GA (put to sleep). me not sure about GA, but epidural hb can go in n bb will be bring to u after being 'washed'. oh ya, i think also depends where u deliver, heard KKH cannot. i delivered in TMC.

cat_tail
Yeah he is always playing with his saliva and drooling...but have not checked his gums yet.

wendyg
yeah after his third month jab he woke up 2 times one at 12 am and another time 3 am for his 2 extra feeds..usually he can sleep thru from 730pm to 6am

wow...seems like some babies here are teething! thats fast! my girl always likes to put her hand into mouth and suck, and chew on her on arms! she will lift her hand up, and chew the side of the arm...so funnie! She been drooling alot lately too, but no sign of teething yet i suppose.

Its a crazy week for me, so i dun get to post much here. Today, i had so much fun! Into baking mood and baked some choc chips cookies for my colleagues....i ate some already
My kitchen now is full of cookies smell..

Hmmm...Denise still waking up for a feed at nite, or rather morning? sometimes 3am, or 4am...but yesterday record, she wakes up at 6am!! she sleeps from 8pm! i wish she is like this "regularly"

We didn't give her any training before, but i try not to let her nap anything after 6pm, unless super tired. IT helps to also create the ambience for sleeping, i normally close my bedroom door, switch on the aircon, on the dim light, switch on the mobile, she will get the hint
Pretty different from daytime napping, not so cosy and dark.
She usually take her last feeding around 7pm or so, will change into her sleepwear too.

ayl0212,
if its cradle cap, you can try rubbing some baby oil, like those "cold pressed" type, used for baby massage onto your baby head. Then wait for 30mins or so, wipe it off using a terry cloth. Wash it with shampoo meant for cradle cap might help too. I got the brand "Mustela" newborn shampoo that helps to clear the flakes awway. My girl has bad bad cradle cap, looks super not nice now...i tried both method, but i find her own method of "scratching" of head helps the most! hahaahaha...but she always injured her own scalp this way as she doesn't have much hair. I think her cradle cap quite "stubborn", not easy to come off at all...leaving brown patches everywhere.

my boy wakes up once in the middle of the night for feed, but he'll always be ready for activity ard 5.30-6am, which is too early. So was advised by PD to feed him later, ard 10-11pm so that his longest stretch of sleep (6-7 hrs) will end later, and he'll wake up later after that feed. but quite difficult to implement, cos i feed him on demand... but now he seems to have pushed his clock later on his own. i now give his last feed ard 8pm, while last time used to be 6.30 - 7pm.

wendyg n cookie - oic. ok thanks. I'll check with my gynae
at least now i know a little info abt c section n got to be mentally prepared.

Btw, do both of u feel the pain during the operation (since u are awake)?

yes wendyg, i still pump 1x at nite but pump longer.. usually ard 4-6hrs apart.. no choice leh.. super tired.. yes she is still on tbm.. hehe.. hope i can give as long as i can

ixwong, bobian leh.. breast will feel full after tt, if dun pump out i can't get back to sleep oso..

last nite, kylie got a fever after the jab.. all our hearts sank when we saw her red face, like feel so uncomfortable.. though nurse ask me to check her temp every 2hrly.. i checked on her every 1/2hrly.. till at nite we gve her panadol.. this mrning her fever subsided, but she is very cranky & clingy to me..

hi ayl0212, oops... pasieh.

confused, i was out in abt 1 hr. u hv 2 get d binder in advance so tt u can use when u r in hospital. as 4 d binder, mine was given 2 me by my gynae. if urs didn't provide, then u can buy fr guardian. if urs is elective c-section, then u can choose ur date. if wait til water bag burst, then it's emergency c-section liao. if u choose epi, then u'll b awake during d op & ur hb can b in d OP. if GA, then u'll not b awake & hb can't b inside.

cookies, mayb ur boy is not used 2 it. try again. wow... gd 4 u!! glad 2 noe tt u hv made up ur mind liao.

lib, poor kylie. can understd. mine was like kylie after his jab.

Huh triniti,
Anton plays with his saliva?? So cute one..heehee..

Re: sleep training
I tried giving Edna cold turkey for 5 nites & in the end I give up! She can cry until can vomit out the milk like a merlion!! Really tat scary... After tat, I can't take it anymore, so give her gentle approach. So far the result is quite satisfactory. She normally sleeps ard 9pm & wake up for feed around 5-6am. Then dozes off for another 1-2hrs.

re: sleep training ...

hmmm like very cruel ler ... think i will just let him settle down on his own lar and get into his own routine ... yicheng will usually have his last feed at abt 11pm then zzzz until 5am for a feed then 7am ++ for another feed ... but the good thing abt him is that he will go straight back to zzz once he is full which takes abt 5-10mins only ... so i am still alright with him waking up ... anyway can help drain my breast ...

in fact think yicheng sleeps v late for a bb .. he will settle down for the long sleep at abt 11pm only ... earliest was 10.30pm ... he was like that since NB ... but i didnt bother to get him to sleep earlier cos figured out that once i start working ... if he sleep at 7pm or 8pm then i wont get to spend time with him lor ... so now his sleeping hr is somewhat like mine heehee

cookies ...

my bb is using his towel as his pillow ... at night i will put a bean sprout pillow there and the towel over it for him to zzz ...

envy you ... can be a SAHM ... me cant ler ... need to work ... sianzzzz

confused, no pain during ops, but b prepared that u'll hear e process lor. but no worries cos yr hb can stay by yr side if u in private hos.

vone, yap, will hv to try again, if not he's go hungry when i'm not around. well, feel good that i've finally make a decision.

seabreeze, dun need envy, i've to give up alot too. but for my boy, its all worth it. now, jus need 2 rework my expenses n gonna spend less fr now onwards.

re: sleep
my boy still cannot fall into a routine in tis, he still wakes up in e middle of e nite, about 3-4am n wans to play n can stay up till 7am n sleep thru 12pm or later. so its really tough. i'm at a lost on putting him into a routine cos once he sleeps, even when e sky falls, he'll still continue.