(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

seabreeze
I do...i latch anton most of the time and only feed him ebm as the last feed but in order to keep my SS higher than what he usually drinks I gotta have a stronger pump.
maybe u should not buy the valves first, my gf is selling 2 for 14 SGD and they are brand new

ineedmilk
yeah one of my funnels is broken but they are only available in US since they are the bigger ones and they dun have it in Singapore, therefore I was thinking of getting a more powerful pump

ladies ...

just to share .... saw toy r us selling this at $29.90 (UP:$61.90)

339621.jpg

think its q a good deal and suitable for our bb heehee ... anyway the outlet at united sq no more stocks ...

Hi ladies, has been quite busy recently so less time to log on.. seem like i hve missed out alot of topics.. hehe.. trying very hard to read all..

cat_tail: i find by talking & explaining to kylie really helps loh.. usually will tell her if she misbehave then will hve no more "gai-gai"

re: putting bb to sleep when drowsy..
haiz think this is quite difficult for me.. like temple's case.. the moment i put down kylie she will wake up again.. so usually i oni put her down when she is 90% asleep..

wendyg;
kylie nwadays oni wake up 1x in the middle of nite, usually she will still be on bed, i juz put the teat into her mouth.. she drinks till sleep & i feed till sleep.. hehe.. i dun burp her oso..

seabreezE:
it is still neccessary to burp the bb after feeding as they r still young.. btw u wan to buy the valve? i hve 1 brand new wana to sell at S$15 (UPS$20)

i need milk ...

i checked ler ... no cracks but got scratches

triniti ..

moms in mind got sell the spare part ler ... you mean what they are selling is diff from what we have?

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html

can check with your fren on the valves? i am int ...

re: let down for ameda pump

i find that i can achieve 2 round of let down using the ameda and can get abt 100ml to 110ml per breast ... this is too little hur? or can the pump achieve even more rounds of let down than this?

lib ...

for the valve its 1 pair right? me dun mind getting from you oso ... since i should be replacing it every month ...

wendyg ...

hmmm me pump once in the morning while latching my bb on ... usually can get 100ml to 120ml cos its 1 whole night ...

twice in the office ... but its after like 4hr to 5hr ler ... if i can only get 1 round of let down ... can only express 70ml to 80ml ...

alot ar? me dunno ler cos i try to express enough so that my bb can drink for tom ... so far its JIT production ... but if he drinks like triniti's bb ... me sure cant make it liao ...

lib ...

ok me get from you ... anyway when i bought the set .. they gave me 1 extra oso ... how to collect from you? you going to visit us at the massage class?

hi seabreeze
I am also getting a minimium of 110 ml per breasts but my son drinks 200-240ml now so there won't be extras at all so I was hoping the new pump will help me to increase what I usually have.

adelyee
I have decided to get the PIS advanced since it has been proven to acheive more letdowns. I was thnking of the avent IQ initially...but there has not been enough reviews for me to buy one...unless u have good reviews from ppl around u?

seabreeze
what I am saying is, my gf is selling the valves for 14sgd for 2. but if u want I can ask her to give u a better price.The ones sold in states and in Singapore are the same just that valves in Singapore are expensive. Actually all the spare parts for ameda are expensive that is why I was thinking of changing it to medela

seabreeze: most likely i may drop by during the class.. wat is yr time slot /if not i can ask my sil to pass to u

re: bumbo seat
btw i saw kiddy palace seeling the seat @ S$79.90 leh.. i tink some mommies r selling @ S$60 for 2nd hand.. abit bo-hua to get 2nd hand
loh..

lib ...

mine is the later slot 4pm to 6pm ... i can collect from your SIL and pass you the $$$ ...

which kiddy palace selling the bumbo seat? is the price already on sale or? yar i think not worth to get 2nd hand oso ...

triniti ...

yar ... my son is now taking 125ml ... thats why so far can JIT ... but if he drinks like your son ... i def cant keep up with him ... but how much milk can our breast store? 150ml max?? cant be 200ml right?

yeah ... can check with ur gf oso ... me dun mind getting more of the valves cos when i wash just now ... like q dirty inside ler ...

seabreeze
re:bumbo
http://kidzloft.com/shopping/shop.php?cat=76

u can get it from kidzloft too..if u spend 100SGDD above, u can get it delivered

Haha, you will be surprised how much milk one breast can store!There is once I can pump 180ml on just one breast!!I gathered I can pump more than that if I have a powerful pump which allow me to have more letdowns

ok will see her next week and ask her about it
How many do u want?

windi
as long ur baby can hold his head well, he is ready to sit the bumbo

triniti ...

oh ... cos i have the kiddy palace card ... if they selling at $79.90 (normal price) then i can get additional 10% off mar ...

really ar 180ml ... so envy ... me squeeze until dry the max is 120ml ... hmm your son has done a very good job to build up your supply ...

how many valves can your fren get? can she get the funnel as well? me think maybe just 2 more pair will do lar ...

seabreeze
oh okay, get it from kiddyplace then
Ur child will look very cute in it!!

I only reached 180ml couple of times haha....

re:Valves and funnel
ok will check out for u
I have also new valves and the funnels but I wanted to include them in my package when I sell my ameda pump in the market exchange so it is more attractive. I am also throwing in the flexishield aerola stimulator haha..

oh.. triniti/seabreeze: both of u are using ameda ah.. mm.. triniti: ameda nt good enough?
am using the ameda one as well.. wonder if the pis is really better..

adelyee
It really depends on the individual.My ds is drinking alot so I will need a very powerful pump to pump more. If your child drinks as per normal, I would say the ameda pump will be more than enough

seabreeze
it is not available in Singapore and I got it from States. Yes you are right, it is like the petal massager in Avent and it provides the same purpose. I bought it at about SGD 25 each that time...roughly.

re: bumbo seat
i saw kiddy palace @ compasspoint selling loh, is oredi discounted

re: weighing machine
can't remember who is looking for it, anyway i saw guardian pharmacy @ hougang green selling.. the glass type.

triniti
yr breast works wonders leh. can never achieve so much. my best is 160ml from both sides. average 100ml.

lib, do u know if kiddy palace also having 20% sales??

seabreeze, discounted item still can hv further discount huh?? me also decided to get a brand new 1 for Ern Ray.

seabreeze
if you want I can sell mine to you, don't think my gf has the shield. I only use it once and it does not suit me cos it is more suitable for women with smaller breasts. The avent pump is the same for me, I have to remove the petal massager.

cookies
haha my breasts are only good at times, there are also times whereby I can only pump 130ml for both breasts!There are good times and bad times hee.

triniti ...

okie okie ... then me get from you ... how much hur?? heehee

me small breast hahahaha ....

cookies ...

if discount liao ... then no discount liao lor ... my fren wan to start a bulk discount at $75 ... you int??

triniti,
May i know your secret to being able to pump so much milk? I now both breast only average 100ml leh. So disappointing. My bb coming 2 months.
Did you achieve this much milk gradually?
When your bb 2 months old, how much milk were you able to pump out?

I thinking whether to buy Ameda or PIS leh. Any recommendation?

seabreeze
how about 40SGD for both?
eileenp
No secret I guess, I pump very frequently when during the first month and subsequently the milk increased. I think starting off with a good pump is vital. I used ameda and it is pretty good but not good enough to feed a milk monster haha that is why I am getting the PIS advanced
when my baby is 2 mths old...about 220- 280 ml..thereabouts

triniti ....

okie ... how to collect fr u hur?? really hope with that i can achieve your kind of vol heehee ...

cookies ...

me will organise if am buying ... me might be bringing my bb out tom ... see if i can find a bumbo for him to try out anot ... must make sure that he like then buy mar ... stingy mummy heehee

seabreeze
but I have to let you know that I did not use the flexishield to acheive my current SS volume..but I really hope that the shield helps to increase let downs like it is supposed to. I did not experience it since it does not fit me well. Let me know if it works ok? Hmm...where do you stay/work?

eileenp,
my bb is 3+ months old and i still only pump average 100-120ml each time. Not disappointing lah.. I guess it depends on yr bb's needs right? My bb only drinks 120ml each feed, so i guess my ss still ok.. although its like barely made it.

triniti,
i also pump frequently since birth... that's y my 2nd hand ameda spoilt twice! but ss still not like yours.. :p

Any of yr bb ever have thrush on the tongue? My bb has that.. got thick thick white stuff on tongue that cannot be cleaned off. PD saw it and said it is thrush. Now my MIL said that my bb got thrush on her tongue becos i latch her on (she says its becos my nipple is dirty). *sigh*
I told her that i bath everyday leh.. but she said i am supposed to wipe my brs before i latch my bb on every time. Super sian. Today went my IL place after work again and my FIL fighting with me to carry my bb. FIL kept saying that my bb dun wanna look at me but wanna look at him so he should carry her. Me felt so upset.. think i should not go to my IL place again. Dunno y he can't understand that i miss my bb.. din see for 1 whole day whereas he saw her the whole day..

hi i need milk: dun be upset..!i guess all pils are the same..almost all i mean..
mine's the same..i remembered tt on last wed after my son's jab.. he was fussing in the evening..then i tried to soothe him by changing his tummy.. n massaging his tummy.. downwards.. but he was crying away.. immediately after tt.. she conveniently took my son away from me..!!!!! tt was rude!!!i was even thinking.. tt if i am the main caregiver.. i can't even soothe him.. wat makes her think tt she can! grgr... am jus complaining coz.. she is the dictator at their own home... crazy.. dun think my son really gives a shit! keke.. sigh.. next time.. jus snatch ur bb back into ur arms and lock urself up with her in the room.. so tt u 2 can spend some time alone!

Hi ineedmilk,
Not too sure abt thrush. Did Dr prescribe anything for you to treat it?

Dun feel so upset cos ILs are like tat one. They always think they are right & want to be in control of everything, so u dun take it too hard. As what adelyee mentioned, just bring yor baby & lock inside a room. At least baby not so distracted by your ILs & u can build up the bond better.

triniti,
Hmm.. I think my pump not good enough then, i was using the medela electric single. Will be changing to either PIS or Ameda soon.

I_need_milk,
I think you are right too, my boy drinks average 100-120ml as well. Think quite a few factors to determine our ss.

i need milk: mmm... try to use the guaze.. u can buy it from the pharmacy... then everyday during bathing time.. roll it round ur smallest finger.. using cool boiled water.. then insert into bb's mouth to clean it..
i have been using it since my bb's birth.. no white thingy so far.. i mean it works for me.. than trying to use any other dunno wat solution lor.. hope this helps! cotton wool is not good enough to clean up the white thingy.. left by the milk..
its the milk! not ur nipple!!

eileenp,
r u feeding yr bb on EBM, if not think its fine. my pumping vol also averages 100ml, n i'm rather fine with it. its true diff pp has different output, so better not compare.

i need milk, is those white patches thrush?? my boy has it too. but i always thot thrush will affect bb's apetite, but mine's not, so i ignore. did yr PD prescibe anything to wipe it off?
Btw, your ILs got some kind of problem leh, always talk senseless things, ignore them, jus bring yr bb back n hv him all to yourself. Don't be upset by their nonsense.

adelyee, u mean those normal gauze or sterilise type? will it be too rough?so u manage to insert yr finger all e way into e tongue?? i always cannot reach further in, so give up after awhile.

eileenp
wanna get second hand ameda p ump from me? still have 9mths warranty left. will give u good price with freebies hehe

re: thrush

most babies will have white stuff on their tongues, usually it's milk residue. But for thrush don't think it can be cleaned off? And babies will cry n be uncomfortable during feeding. Thrush is not due to breasts not being cleaned every time lah.. if i remember correctly it's usually babies infecting mummies to start the cycle, so if there's thrush, better to feed via bottle (to avoid infecting mummy) n sterilise well.

i need milk, u shld then carry baby over your shoulder n ur FIL can stand behind u and "see" the baby instead...haha! my boy also sometimes ignore me, and smile easily at his daddy. Sometimes feel v indignant cos i'm the one who's the primary caregiver.. but babies change their temperament often. i find that he smiles at me more readily when daddy carries n i make funny faces or smile at him.

triniti ...

no prob ... cos usually after i express aft the first let down ... find that my breast cant fill up the funnel unless i press it hard against my breast ... so think the shield should be useful .. me staying at my mum's place near upper searangoon ... working near little india MRT ...

eileenp ...

what i did was that 2-3 weeks before i started work ... i latch my bb on 1 side and express out the other side ... i just let him drain 1 side of my breast all the time and express the other side out ... it was v tough cos he was always hungry and crying but i had no choice cos i knew tt i had to build up my supply before i went back to work ... cos i just keep latching him on ... guess thats why now i can express abt 100-110ml per breast ...

HI Cat_tail,
Re- feeding less
My baby's PD says that babies will tend to start feeding less from about the third month onwards, until they start feeding on solid food.. forgot to ask why though, hehe this mummy blur blur one.. was trying to calm baby down after her vaccination, so absent=minded plus distracted haha

Just went to see PD for my bb's jab and i asked him if the thrush is due to me.. lucky thing he said no, he say everyone got thrush on their bodies. Its just that when our body got some imbalance then the thrush will grow. He did give my bb some gel to put on the tongue. Hopefully it clears off cos i am still latching her on. PD say ok to cont bfg as long as my areola doesn't become red or itchy or got discharge.

cookies - yeah, its those white patches on the tongue that can't be cleaned off no matter how hard u clean... that's thrush.

tingting - haha, yeah, maybe next time i carry her on my shoulder so ILs can 'see'her...

adelyee - so far i use a cloth to wipe her tongue.. think a cloth is as 'rough'as gauze right?

seabreeze - yr milk ss is JIT production... mine is NIT production (not in time). :p