(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

pinkroses, welcome. Jia you, it's anytime now....
we have more or less decided on bb name liao (but MIL said cannot tell people cos pang tang). Hubby does not want the hassle of going to fortune teller.

Aidanee,
rest well and be good.

Nowadays, I'm always nagging at my bb to be engaged and turned his head face down, so that his mummy me would have an easier birth.

Cookies,
no mc yet. he gives me 2 weeks to "buck up", ie to rest at ease n be kwai mummy. he will give me mc in 2 weeks' time if there is no improvement. i think i will request for 14 days since i have not taken any this year. dun want to eat into my ML.

Hi Seabreeze,
bb was at 2kg at 32 week. so the growth rate based on weight gain is fine...but not the overall measurement (head is at 34 week, but body at only 32 week n very flat/not rounded).I am more concerned abt the placenta more than the measurement. I saw a black patch (which is a hole) n some white dots.....no good sign....

When are you visiting Dr again?

All the best to cmy who is going for her C-section today, she will get to see her prince! Anyone knows what time she was schedule for the op?

Next we will have tingting, who will be induced tomorrow. How do you feel, ting? Nervous/excited?

After that, there is chemistry and pinkroses (welcome!), wonder who will be next?

Wow...this is so exciting....so many mummies popping.....sigh...I still have a long way to go....only in my 33 weeks.

Timie and lib, thanks for sharing your birth stories. Do take good care of yourselves and perservere in your breast-feeding! We are all here to cheer you on!

Ero, don't scratch your rashes ok? I have eczema skin and currently have a patch of rash on my left shoulder too....have been very discipline to not scratch it and to apply my moisturizer religiously every time after shower.

aidanee, I am like you in weight gain.....have only gained 6 kgs from beginning of pregnancy until now and I am in my 33rd week. Dr has not mentioned anything about baby's weight gain, just mentioned that baby's head diameter is a bit on the small side. At 32nd week, during my visit with him last week, his chart showed that the diameter should be 8.2cm, My baby's head diameter is only 8.1cm. But he told me not to worry too much about that....mentioned that as long as baby is growing....all is fine.

Snoopy,
great to know that all is well at your end too.

BTW, were you underweight to begin with? I am struggling with the extra weight in front cos i am not very big size.

Hihi!

yah..i might pop anytime...i think the last week is worst cos' keep wondering when will the bb come out, what kind of labour signs will I get (nothing dramatic, i hope), whether my tummy pains is the beginning of contractions..
kao_scared.gif

ixwong,
did your MIL tell you if the characters in your bb's name must not be as same as the names of certain relatives?

I heard that the characters of the bb's name must not be as same as the elder relatives' names, but I don't know what relatives? Anyone has any ideas?

aidanee ...

my next check up is 13 aug ... next sat ... doing the viginal swap ... hope that its painless and everything is okie ... after that will be seeing my gynae (and bb) once a week heehee ...

hmm true if the placenta breaks down then would be very dangerous ... anyway if your dr is monitoring closely ... should be fine ...

pinkroses ...

welcome ... i will be going to a fortune teller as well ... think maybe immediate elder relatives ... father, grandfather, uncles ... those father cousin type can ignore ... this is just my guess lar ...

thanks for the info regarding the PJs! sure appreciate it!

hi vone,

thanks! i'm hoping baby comes soon, i'm getting really tired!

Hi Timie, Lib,

Congratulations!! So exciting! one by one of us popping! Do share with us your baby pics!

Btw, i have a few questions to ask you ladies, hope you can dispense some advice

1) how does a labour contraction feel like? is it like braxton hicks with pain? or like very bad menstrual cramps?
2) How is an enema carried out? heard from my friend she had to stay in the toilet for half an hour before everything came out??
3) Will the nurse bring our baby to breastfeed almost immediately? must wear nursing bra during our stay in the hospital? how often did you have to BF during the day and night?
4) how many nursing bras did you bring/use?

Hi Anissa, Applejuz,
Heh i the same concern as you regarding contact lens. I am not used to wearing spectacles at all, very uncomfortable..but i heard cannot wear contact lens during delivery leh..not sure.. and same, cannot pack into the delivery bag yet..so worried i will forget later.

mummytobe ...

my aunt said that enema is done by pumping some water in thr our a**hole ... then we are told to control for 5mins ... after that go to the toilet and everything will be out ...

Hi mummytobe,
I am working in hospital. Can tell you that it is the hospital policy to make sure that patients do not wear any jewellery, contact lens, make-up etc.. just in case for emergency or necessary procedure. Basically, u dun wear anything other than your ownself. Even delivery suit oso provided.

Welcome pinkroses! Anticipated for the arrival of your little one?

Hi Applejuz,

I am seeing Dr KH Chan. How about yourself? actually i hated going to geh, cos my house very far (i stay in punggol). But all my SIL went to Dr Chan, so follow the crowd.

Seabreeze,
The enema bit sounded very gross...esp after lunch...keke

cat_tail,
lets say if i kenna pain at work & needs to go hospital direct.. do they help remove make-ups? or lens sol to remove our lens? (sorry, stupid Qn hor..) If not, gota carry more thing liao.. oh no...

Samantha,
I've frens who's with Dr KH Chan, heard he's rather snr & very good. hmm.. maybe we have met each other in lifts... hee hee...

im so MAD right now!! with my mil, just came back from lunch with her and dh and she was taking every chance to attack me.

we picked her up from mt e, where she works, bumped into few of her colleagues, and this is the way she introduced us "hallo everyone, meet my son, he came down to have lunch with me. this is my 2nd grandchild"...what the h*** she introduced me as a "2nd grandchild", no dil, no name no nothing. who exactly am i in her eyes??!!!

next in the restaurant she asked so u wake up at lunch time everyday is it? i was like "hey i make breakfast for ur son at 6:30am everyday!!" she was not happy with the answer and further added salt to the wound by saying "you still go back to sleep right? i had to carry my children to full term u know, c how lucky u are, so u cooking dinner tonight"

time to part...and she added again "good for u can go back to sleep" WHAT A B****!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

c what i mean when i said that she's my only source of post natal blues? i was so upset on my way back, now dh and i on cold war again all because of her....

i asked y is she showing a sudden interest in the bb (said she wanna come this weekend to help me wash everything, she has only been to my house twice since we moved in cuz she was so jealous of our new pad). dh said "give her a chance". i was like "but she was the one who said she doesnt want to have another granddaughter cuz she oredi has one (my bil's)." hb flared up and said she's not the kind of person, thats not what she meant.
huh so obvious....then what else does she mean. and he got mad.

i hate her i hate her i hate her!!!

btw when she 1st visited us after we moved in, she insisted on buying a whole salmon fish and bringing it over to our place to distribute the fish. i told her she can have the whole thing but she insisted i cook, her son dun like salmon so in the end we had to throw everything away.

after taking her share of salmon, she din wash her hands, i told her, oh the soap is over there, can wash ur hands. she said no need. when we brought her to the masterbed room to look see, she wiped her hands on my new quilt then on the curtains. HALLO!!!!!!!!!! U R A NURSE AND THE MOST UNHYGENIC PERSON I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! and now u want to come and help me wash bb clothess? i cant help but feel that this is gonna be another sabotage. MIL very malicious one, ever poured hot boiling soup onto my dh er ma's face during CNY. in the end during my wedding my step mil had to hire body guards!

Hi Christina,

Oh dear, sorry to say this, butyour MIL sounds like an absolute terror! is she the really traditional kind, zhong nan qing nu?

Poor thing, sayang sayang! Lucky you are not living with her, if not will be worse. I also stay with my PIL..while every family has their problems, for me, most of the time they just leave me alone and grumble behind my back, but sometimes will still nag at my hubby and me. Sometimes the things they say really ridiculous but i still try to ren. but can't imagine if during confinement month, and i have mood swing, dunno if still can ren or not haha

btw mummies, will you be ordering/giving out full month cakes? where will you be ordering from? any recommendations for nice cakes with ang ku kuehs?

aidanee,
wow! ur gynae v gd...can tell u so many in details. my gynae only said bb is ok n no mention abt any placenta or labor.... ask me to see her in another 2wks time. which is 13 aug too..

think im plannin to take my ML from 29 Aug (38 wks) onwards.... also dun want to waste my ML.... took 4 daes MC liao... think boss not happie also..... (sigh....)

wah, ur weight gain is so little! im now already gain 13.5kg liao! gosh! im now only into my 34wks n i already gain tt much!!! (sob sob....)

btw, do u hav frequent hard n taut tummy? i think i exp it almost everdae n is few times a dae...very uncomfortable lor...

mummytobe, no she is not traditional, she is just a lunatic after her divorce. her only source of happiness is making bitter statements to piss people off. she is educated and is a nurse with mt e...but she takes pride in destroying happiness cuz she is always so angry with everything

Hi Applejuz,
It really depends on individual hospital. Some may have the lens solution, but for makeup remover, I dun see my hosp provide.
Does your hospital pharmacy or any shops around sell these? If yes, these things are easily purchased but could be a little exp. But it's still better to pack them in your hosp bag.

hoshi,
Thanks.. may I get your massage lady name and no? will call can checkout.

christina,
Your MIL really seems annoying.. maybe just wash everything again after she left? be careful if it's too slippery and don't go too near when she's washing in case you too agitated and dangerous if floor wet.

Engaged
Anyone knows if bb is engaged does it means she'll be in the middle of stomach? dunno why my bb butt is always slated towards my left side.. Sometime even more left then my left breast! Wonder is it cos no space so she got to lie down slanting hehe.. But I wonder like that slanting how to engage..

Poor Christina,
Cool down, cool down... U sounds so heated up. Dun let these kind of person affects your baby. Seems like your MIL appear to be another "Ci Xi Tai Hou"! Unbelieveable, she's a nurse somemore! Check with u, is she a Nursing Manager or "Sister"?

hi angel,

can check something with u regarding ur baby monitor?
do u still rem the transmission range and the usual price? we borrowed a friend's philips to test out, the one with a 150m range, and the transmission was intermittent! so scary!! thanks!

christina,
oh no! i can understand how u feel....
calm down, gal. dun let someone NOT important in ur life affects u n bb's mood. just ignore her n when she wants to talk to u, u just "yin chou, yin chou" her lor....

hey christina,

i totally understand cos a close fren's mom is exactly the same - bitter until she must make life miserable for everyone around her... so all the more must show her that she doesn't get to you! hang in there gal!

cakey i probably wun let her do it. she scares me, she burns amulet and drink the ashes with water cuz the fortune reader said that she would have weak legs this year cuz no one could drive her around (indirectly hinting to son that she should chauffer her more often)... she is so strange... sometimes i get scared eating her food oso cuz god knows if she has burn any amulet to feed us with...

cat_tail she is a oncologist's pte nurse..used to be one of the sisters at the common ward, now she is working for the specialists.

thanks for listening. my blood was really at boiling point. the 1st thing i did when i got home was turn on the pc, log in and rattle off whatever was on my mind. i needed an outlet! what angers me most was that hb was so defensive. esp the part about her not wanting another granddaughter. that was what she said in front of my gynae when he was scanning for bb's gender.

My god Christina,
Your MIL is a physcho freak despite she's working in a professional line. Unfortunately, she can brilliantly manipulate your hubby...
No matter wat, dun be angry with your dh. He's only trying to be fillial to his mother.

Hi Christina,
You MIL is really weird. Now i can fully understand why you hated her so much cos last time you did mention about her not acknowledging the bb gal.....but not much in details. A big sayang to you....dun let it affect your bb....you are right...,maybe she is very insecure that she is being "left" alone..... so she wants to show off to her friends how much her son still cares to have lunch with her. Dun take it to heart. If she wants to come over to help you wash the clothes, let her be. She wants to be close to her son lah....so be it. We are da-fang mummies, okie....

Skippy,
no lah, if you have no issue, your gynae will not highlight...i kapo lah...ask alot of questions.

christina, your mil sounds terrible!! Try to avoid her as much as possible. Why not talk to hb about how you feel when mil makes all those comments? Hb should have noticed as to how she conveniently did not intro you to her colleague rite? Draw his attention to that and tell him how you feel too.

christina ...

dun be angry lar ... ignore her and dun let this affect you and your hubby k ...

cakey ...

my baby is oso slanted on my right side ... thats what my gynae told me ...

hi christina,

do vent your frustrations if need to.

i also agree that yr MIL is weird. i think most MILs r weirdos..

i also cannot tahan my MIL n in fact my BIL n SILs cos they always create alot of problems for my hb (eldest at home). i'm totally transparent infront of their family. they've never ask about my pregnancy since it happens.

understand wat u r going thru.

cool down n think of yr sweet little gal inside u.

hi christina,
Your MIL is horrible! And she's a nurse some more.. suppose to be very warm hearted person...
But dun let this affect ur mood okie.. ur bb inside will feel it too... not worth!

Stay cool!

hi cat_tail,
ya.. guess, i better standby every necessity..

cakey,
my mum say's if bb engage, u'll find ur tummy lowering down.. dunno how true...

my fren's MIL oso nurse ... then same as christina's MIL ... very unhygenic and almost made my fren vomit blood during the confinement ...

during confinement ... she told my fren dun on the air con ... open the window and let the air circulate at night ... end up my fren had aching joint the next day ...

my fren had a very bad fight with the hubby and force the hubby to 'chase' the MIL home ...

guess not all nurses are warm hearted at home ...

hallo, thanks for being there when i needed a listening ear. my anger went away after a cold shower and reading your postings. just glad to be able to vent! guess she's just another kookoo mil and i just have to live with it...

seabreeze, u're funny!

Yalor Applejuz,
Be more diligent in preparing these items. Just pack it like going for a 3 days 2 nites Genting Trip. Heehee..

Hi christina,
Glad tat u have chilled out.

Of cos, cannot forget the whole incident. If not, u will gone berserk one day! Got to use tactics to handle it. I suggest u joke with yor dh sometimes abt how the way his mother react to you. Dun do direct confrontation cos he will be in a difficult position. Firstly it won't make the matter so tense & 2ndly, to remind him tat u r not happy. Cannot 100% let her go her way rite? Must slowly slowly get yor dh to be on yor side.
Then infront of your MIL, remember to close all yor eyes & ears..to avoid evil.

Think my turn coming real soon liao. Got show since last night and my gyane say I'm 2 cm dilated already and ctg shows regular contractions. But the funny thing is that I don't feel any pain at my tummy area. Instead, i got recurrent cramps on my hips. So I'm taking that as "contractions" for the time being. As my water level is still good and bb's heartbeat is still strong, gynae suggested me to wait for more intense contractions before warding to the delivery suite. He say can induce if I want but may result in longer labour. So I'm now back home waiting!

hi chemistry,
wow wow... 2cm oredi! maybe ur bb will pop tonight / tomorrow.. so excited!
do u feel any tearing sensation for that 2 cm?

do share wif us ur birth story when girl girl is out!

Hi applejuz,

No feeling on my cervix or varginal at all other than the cramps on my hips! But the dilation check was TERRIBLE!!!!!! I almost wanted to scream!!! I was telling my hubby that i die die mush have epidural during labour!

hi chemistry, good for u! my checkup on monday only showed 1cm dilation... sianz... the ctg only shows contractions, can be real labour contractions or BH... my ctg also showed contractions but i didn't feel any pain... wouldn't it be nice if all the contractions feel the same..hehe... then there wouldn't be any labour pains liao...

snoopy - still some time away from the big day... trying to finish any preparations at home now...

abt ILs, well, though mine's pretty ok cos they leave us alone most of the time, but i wld say nothing can be compared to our own parents. E.g. knowing that i'll be inducing n going to hospital at midnight tonight, my dad took leave for the rest of the week, and asked if we want him to send us to the hospital (we dun have a car). We declined cos too late for him lah... but my ILs just said it's too late n my MIL even said she doesn't think my FIL wants to drive us when it's so late at night... ok, she's being frank i guess, and not that we'll take up the offer if they indeed ask.. but just to compare the disparity lor... and both sets of parents stay pretty nearby, so distance-wise is abt the same...

I just went to my gynae earlier and after the scan, he asked me to go to TMC immediately tomorrow for an Obstertic Ultrasound Examinations - Obstertic U/S, Growth with Full Doppler. I asked him if every preggie needs to go thru that, he said 'no', only when baby is too small. Any idea what it is for? Anyone of you went thru that? He said he wanna see me after the examination. Now he is getting me worried

chemistry, congrats!!
u'll b seeing ur bb soon. u take care & remember 2 update us when u pop okie.

ting, dun bother abt ur ILs okie. d most impt thing is tat ur parents dote on u.
u take care ya...

anissa, i m not sure abt d test. dun worry so much. jus follow ur gynae's instructions. mayb he jus wan u 2 do some tests 2 make sure?? u take care okie.

Chemistry, so exciting! All the best for your delivery!

Dilation check is really very terrible huh? I
m doing mine this Sat. Anyone can tell me what the gynae will do?

Anissa,
dun worry. I'm sure all will be fine. Take care.

chemistry ....

congrats!! you should be seeing your little one real soon .... exciting yeah!!

anissa ...

dun worry ... go for the test and see how ... think your gynae is just being careful ...

Hi anissa,

I can completely understand how you feel. When I went for my 31 week detailed scan, Gynae did a doppler test for me as well. The test was done to me b'cos my baby's stomach was measured small for the 31 week. Think it was abt 28+ weeks. Basically, this test is to see the blood flow from the placenta to baby, to see if the baby is getting sufficient nutrients from the placenta and if the placenta is okie. My baby was only abt 1.460g at 31 week. So Gynae wants to observe me and ask me to come back 2 weeks later which is at 33 week. I went back on 33 week and my baby wt has increased to 1.8kg and size of the stomach is still below ave but within the normal range. Gynae said everything is okie and I am having small baby as well. Expected wt of baby during is only abt 2.5kg. Ave baby's growth rate per week is abt 200g. For my baby, it's only abt 100+g. So gynae said that my baby grow at a slower rate.

Dun worry so much, everything will be fine. The worst case scenario is that if placenta is not working, then baby will have to deliver earlier via C-section as small baby may not be able to pull through long labour. Gynae also said that as long as baby's wt is above 2kg, it should be out of ICU and there be no tubes on the baby except the feeding tube if baby does not how to suck milk. Baby will have to stay in hospital for observation for a few days.

Hi Chemistry,

Ooh so exciting! do let us know when and what happens!

Hi Ix Wong,
I don't know if all gynae does the dilation check the same way, but mine put on her gloves and stuck her hand down there, inside..used her fingers (dunno how many) to probe around.. it was not painful for me..but maybe because me not dilated yet?

Hi Timie, Lib,
Congratulations!! So exciting! one by one of us popping! Do share with us your baby pics!

Btw, i have a few questions to ask you ladies, hope you can dispense some advice

1) how does a labour contraction feel like? is it like braxton hicks with pain? or like very bad menstrual cramps?
2) must wear nursing bra during our stay in the hospital? how often did you have to BF during the day and night?
3) how many nursing bras did you bring/use?
4) how many night gowns do we need? i'm thinking of packing 2 only..cause i think first day we will be in the hospital gown?

Hi pinkroses

Me also like you, waiting for my baby to appear. My due date is this Sat... getting bored with the waiting game...

So where will you be delivering?

Hi other mtbs
Have been following this thread but hardly contribute. Read that many of you have done the CTG and cervix check. My gynae hasn't done any of this despite my due date being this Sat. Wonder why there are so many disparity in treatments between gynaes.

nicole and anissa, the size/ weight of our newborn has nothing to do with the growth rate during her/his next few months and years to come. In fact, the growth rate for preemies is faster than the normal sized baby cuz nature has planned for them to catch up fast.

dont worry too much about the bb's weight. most importantly take care of your diet, eat well and bb will be alright.

Hi Emmie,

What's a CTG? how is it carried out? Not sure if i have done it or not leh.. me now almost 38 weeks..