(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

vone,
me kanna "arrow" to do a project lor..on top of my busy schedule somemore
now i am juggling with 2 projects on hand.
My boss wanted me to complete the "arrow" project before i go on leave or rather before i pop. I quietly do cos' he has not talk to me about my contract yet, very worrying...
Now i have to work during lunch hours too, like today. I wish i am clearing up and getting ready like you........alot of people asking me why i didn't plan to take leave before my EDD leh, felt abit sian, as though i don't want...sigh. Actually i still got 6 days leaves to clear off before my contract ends, but can't fit into my schedule at all

cakey,
so long didn't see u here already... our EDD same, but last checkup @35 weeks, dr says baby already 2.6kg... so he might induce me for early labour, prob 2 weeks earlier.. wah, ur next checkup will do cervix check har?.... they say very painful one leh.... now my checkup will be on weekly basis.....

mummytobe, think the media juz exaggerate the news lah... the more zoe tay try to explain, the worse it gets... haha.. think she meant tat she didn't bathe in COLD water lah... how can any1 stand not bathing in singapore climate?

reenie, im on my way out actually. just a quickie note heheh. i bought the thai ones from the supermarket. yap, the one with pointed top, its slightly opened for consumption oredi, i just had to slit the entire cap open with a knife. when u buy, do take note of the expiry date k

poor reenie. tink he noes tat ur contract is coming up, so he's using tis tactic. y dun u try talking 2 him abt ur contract 1st?? then at least u noe whr u stand.

4 me, i tink my boy will arrive early so i m trying 2 clear my wk asap. i dun wan my colleagues 2 complain tat i nvr do my wk.

Hi Cakey, Hoishi,

When do they usually do the cervix check? how will the gynae check? by looking or touching? eeps..

are you gals nervous? i am, especially now approaching 37 weeks.

Hi MTB,
Very tired after coming back from OG. Tot can get the size I want for Eternity nursing bra but out of stock.
Next week then they will replenish it.

Hi mummytobe,
There was a time when Abott label their FM as Gain IQ. So a lot of parents tot that it was really the IQ booster. It really mislead a lot of ppl until one day then they declare tat IQ is actually means "Intestinal Quotient". A lot of parents get so fed up & complain. Eventually Abott label it on their tin, but u can still see it purposely encap the words smaller.

Poor reenie,
Your boss really know how to squeeze u! Have u try to tok to him tat u can't take in any more projects?

Hi cat_tail,vone,
Ya, i oso find so many brands of FM consusing...guess, i'll juz take whatever is given to me, then trial & error loh...

Hi Samantha,
u sure eat spicy food will induce labour too? Aiyo... I'm still enjoying my fish head curry. chilli crab, laska... etc... + shopping + coconut.... that means i can't tahan till my EDD 18/Aug liao... hmmm... maybe i can aim National Day hor..

Hi mummytobe,
u haven't done cervix chk at 37 wks?
i did mine at 36 wks... my gynae put gloves & use his hand to insert in .. i think check dilation...not painful, but uncomfortable... u know like havin' 1st time sex.. hee hee....

vone,
actually i have a personal meeting with him this week, hopefully will hear something by then. I think he just want to get the piece of work done fast, don't think he is those type who will use tactic lor, positive thinking

cat_tail,
i oso have my limits, can't take in so much projects now...2 is a headache oreldi....

chris,
thanks! i will look out for the expiry date before buying

Hi Applejuz, me now is 36weeks 4 days. Friday seeing gynae, just nice 37 weeks
haven't done vaginal swab also. my last visit was at week 35. i was also wondering how come she didn't do vaginal swab then. but she told me she would do it on week 36/37

Hi Samantha,
Spicy food or walking also can induce labour??! alamak, does this mean can't eat spicy food? i am still eating curry and chilli sauce leh...when will these things like sex, spicy food actually affect/induce labour? only the last few days before EDD or anytime in the third trimester?

Ya lor Vone,
Just too bad I am slow. Nvm lor, next week I try again.

Hi Applejuz,
A lot of hospital rotate different brands of FM on regular basis. So a lot of parents just take watever they promote during their hosp stay.

Hi reenie,
Glad u voice out yor concern to yor boss, or else he tot u r a superwoman..haha.. So just wait & see how he arrange the job. U dun worry too much for now.

re: FM ...

my boss was telling me that hospital will usually give a sample tin for us to try ... if the baby is okie with it then just stick to the same brand ... cos not all baby is suitable for a particular brand one ... need trial and error ...

anyway my dr's assistant oso told me that we should be expecting to rec like a goodie bag with alot of sample when we discharge from the hospital lor ... so think no need to buy FM for standby yet ... dunno what brand to buy oso ...

today having very bad backache ... dunno whats wrong ...

hi reenie, Mac's now has no minimum order, but got $2 delivery charge...

me also desperately clearning my work, cos i can go away anytime... but my colleagues dun think i'll deliver this week leh... they so relax abt the taking over...haiz...

cat_tail, can pm me ur hp no & wat size u wan 2 buy?? then i can keep a lookout 4 u when i m thr.

seabreeze, u okie?? is it due 2 not enough rest??

ting, u mean now they got no min order. oh, i didn't noe abt tat. mus go & chk it out oledi. haiya, mine is aso like tat. tat's y i headache...

vone ...

dunno ler ... backache and buttock pain ... dunno whether isit too heavy liao me ...

then tummy keep hardening then relaxing ... isit the braxton hicks thingy hur??

seabreeze, tink u been sitting 4 2 long liao is it?? try taking short walks now & then. ur hardening then relaxing is d BH thing. me aso hv them these days.

vone ...

maybe lor ... think should go toilet more often ...

very uncomfy hor the BH thingy ... very scary oso ... like anytime my tummy will burst like that ...

Thanks Vone,
Already send u my contacts.

Hi Seabreeze & Vone,
U all oso have this tightening effects very frequently! Me too, even walking oso have!! Are we going to be due soon? Scare scare...bag haven't pack.

seabreeze, not oni tat. u can visit ur ofc pantry more often. hehe... ya lor, d BH is pretty uncomfortable. we jus hv 2 take comfort in d fact tat our bodies r practising 4 d real thing.

Hi all MTBs,

Thanks for your words of comfort. I really dunno if I'm scaring myself or what. Not only is my baby too small, I feel that my tummy also getting smaller and smaller. On Sunday, I fell twice (was raining and ground was slippery)Yesterday can't feel any kick from him at all. There is no bleeding so I didn't think of going to see my gynae. Today woke up crying cos I'm scaring myself to death. *SIGH* Being pregnant is so stress.

My appetite is ok. No special craving or whatsoever. Gynae asked me to go on full cream milk, ice-cream, chicken fats etc.

Hoshi5, thnks for the ML form. Already d/l it.

hoshi,
ya lor, now work and family busier and also got to do handover, so only got time to quickly glance thru the thread and post on and off...
If induce 2 weeks earlier is national day?!? I once ask my gynae can I choose N.day if induce/c-sect but he say better not, cos got to pay extra O.T. for gynae and those hosp staff... unless it's emergency or heng heng deliver naturally on that day

mummytobe,
heard from other thread that the cervix check is uncomfortable.
But my gynae said it's nothing compare to labour pain then i nothing to say also. Hopefully I won't shout out during the checkup.. hehe...

tingting,
I also received the friso1 sample. The delivery uncle called my hp during off hr to inform me when he found no one at home! I was quite shocked, then I asked him to use a plastic bag to wrapped it and put at shoes rack (else sure gone one if hang nicely at door). The can only last for 4wk after opened... if on BF, then maybe can't finish it.

I managed to find nursing bras similar to Eternity brand at my neighbourhood market shops!Those shops where you can get bb clothing and stuff. In fact, I found the cutting to be bigger (even though same size tag as JL ones) and cheaper too. Bought 1 at $8.90.

Cakey,
Good to hear from you! My bb is now 2.8kg at 36 weeks. Think will be more than 3kg at birth. Ya, Dr Ang also told me he would do cervic check routinely from next visit onwards. My next appt is on 6 Aug. Yours?

looks like i have a big fat baby! his weight was 2.9kg at 36 weeks! yikes!! but the doc seems to think this is ok, said that's pretty average weight... hope he doesn't get too big, otherwise i sure peng!

ixwong,
so qiao! my next appt is also 6Aug! Mine is morning 9.30pm
Really hope i won't scream leh.. the swap test I already got make some noise.

nursing bra,
I've bought some from those cheap sales at JL and also 1 eternity brand. But all of them the cups are quite ill fitting, got many lines and crumpy which look funny on more fitting blouse.. So I suppose those only for home? Wonder are those exp same since they also dun have padding one..
(hmm... or maybe is becos I'm not 'big' enuff to fill the cup hehe..).

hi anissa, gosh... u okie?? better b more careful okie. tink u better call ur gynae 2 make sure tat everything's okie wif u & bb. dun b so stressed. it's no gd 4 u & bb. jus relax & make sure tat u eat regularly.

Oh no Anissa,
Hope everything is ok for u now. Try to relax & feel the bb's kick. Maybe call yor gynae as suggest by Vone to assure yourselves.

Hi anissa, dun worry and think too much... maybe if u wanna feel bb's kicking and/or movements, u can lie down on ur left side. This way, u can feel more of bb's movements.

cat_tail, tks. i rec'd liao. no wonder u can't get any, when i was thr, d lady oledi told me tat ur size was jus sold out. seems like tat size is quite popular. no worries, i keep a lookout 4 u okie.

Guess i will be doing the closing today.....have been so busy the whole day.

Seabreeze, u are not alone...i actually have the thought of c-section already. I think i will prob go for that if my gynae gives in....(he has been ignoring my questions on c-section!)

my appetite also seems to be better these days....hopefully bb can absorb all the nutrition rather than depositing onto me....i already stocked up on Clarins Total Body lift cream to lighten the cellulite after birth!

BTW, my bellybutton has protruded out already. hahaha! finally!!! and it looks kindda cute!

Gals, have a great dinner...and hope to hear good news from Lib real soon.......

vone ...

my pantry no food one ... they only put those unhealthy crackers there ... no craving for those crackers ...

anissa ...

you should see your gynae if you are worried lor ... dun create stress for yourself ... to fatten your baby ... think durian would be a good choice ... yummy and pu ...

cakey ...

me thinking of wearing those cheap nursing bra at home during the confinement period ... will get better bras when i go back to work lor ... scali fail in bf then will have to wear normal bra lor ...

aidanee ...

most gynae not very pro c-section one ... think they prefer us to go natural as far as possible ...

Anissa, be strong. Dont ever compare your tummy with other preggies because we are very different in size and shapes. Remember those true-life stories about preggies who went through all 40weeks without anyone's knowledge, from parents/ family/ friends? Tummy size is oso not equivalent to the size of bb...

if u wanna put on weight its very easy. Load on the carbs like i did! Eat bread...load on the full cream milk (i never take anything low-fats). if u're really busy, then take enfamama milk powder or durians, sure gain weight wann...guaranteed.

cheer up k..meantime be careful esp on rainy days. u wearing anti-slip sandals?

Hi mummytobe,
Abt the swab thingy, think diff gynae diff practise. shld be alright.
As long as result turns out good. Btw, my swab not only vagina leh... oso anus... luckily result all ok. No bacteria / Strep B .

Hi annissa,
Oops.. better watch ur steps... these few days raining.. floor wet wet... esp when goin down the stairs, our tummy will block the view... do be careful.... anything not right, better consult ur gynae..

To working mums..
time to knock off..enjoy ur evening... :>

Hi Anissa
Totally agree with the ladies on the wt gain.
<font color="ff0000">Eat Durians &amp; full cream milk!</font>
Work fantastic for me.

Tonite can try to take a cup of warm milk &amp; lie on your bed for at least half an hour to check your bb movement. Dun worry too much. Anything not right, call gynae for help ok? We will be here for you!

Got to knock off from work now, chat with u gals tomorrow.

vone, yah, no more minimum order... but every delivery comes with $2 delivery charge... good also, cos hard to chalk up the $25 order they required previously...

cakey, good thing the delivery lady had the sense to call me before coming down, cos i had to re-arrange the timing with her.. hope i won't have the chance to open the tin.. hehe...

anissa, do take care... check with ur gynae if u dun feel much bb movements or experience any pain ok?

i dun feel any BH anymore recently... but gynae says it's nothing to worry abt... guess pregnancies develop differently, so if we're unsure abt anything, best to check with gynae. For me, so long as i feel bb moving once in a while, i feel reassured...

Hi Applejuz,

Anus swab?? you mean the gynae will stick the swab in our butt? eeeks! gross!

Hi Anissa,
Try lying on your back or on your left side, baby should move. Do take care when walking, especially during wet weather...and no heels okie?
if you still feel unsure, worried, maybe you should go and make an appointment with your gynae for a scan. You will feel better after knowing for certain baby is ok, rather than keep worrying/guessing.

hi girls

juz came back from gynae appointment. BB is now 2.23kg at 34wks3days. At full term, bb will weigh around 3.4kg but I am asking my doc is it is possible to induce at 38wks (if it doesn't cause any harm to the baby). Doc kept saying his famous phrase.. 'we'll monitor first'

Also, he asked if I will be on epidural. I said yes then he said, 'in that case, then inducing is ok as it is more painful for induction and your labour will be longer too cos the body is not ready to deliver'

BB is now.... heads down again. my gal likes to play somersault in my tummy. This time doctor said hopefully she won't move up cos there are still plenty of room for her change position.

I asked about vagina swap/cervic check/ctg scan too and he said it is not necessary. How come with my doctor, everything is not necessary. Even detailed scan is not necessary too. My doc said as long as there's no complication, there is no need to do all these additonal checks..

so confusing la.. different gynae different practice

aidanee, wah u ks... so fast stock up on clarins's total body lift. but i heard tat if we r BF, then we can't use any lotion / cream tat's got caffeine in it. mayb u wanna take note.

seabreeze, can go pantry 2 take water or make milo 2 drink. i always walk 2 my pantry 2 get water so tat i can get some exercise.

ixwong &amp; cat_tail,
Yah lor. I oso dun understand why must visit so frequently leh. 2 weeks interval leh. Somemore now I'm only in my 30th week wor.
Maybe I will postpone my visit until it's like 4 weeks interval. Hehehe... save money.

tingting,
I also received the Friso 1 at home. My MIL received it from dunno who. I thought it's my gynae who sent to me. But I didn't ask. Anyway, keeping it as back up lor.

hi angel,

is it true that inducing is more painful? my gynae didn't mention abt this at today's checkup leh... anyway, i'll see whether i want to request for epidural on the day itself..

at today's checkup bb not v cooperative, so difficult for gynae to measure the size of bb... but est to be at 2.6kg (38 wks). was quite amazed that he can put on 200g in just 5 days! Have scheduled for inducing next monday, but hoping that bb can come out on his own in the meantime.

think for me the vaginal check is not painful, just uncomfortable, but rather she pressed on e cervix to check on e thinness n softness. There's this aching sensation....

hey angel,

my doc has the same mentality! no need for internal examination, strep b test, detailed scan... when i asked him about all these, he said, if u want me to earn more $, go ahead!
as for the internal exam, same thing, he said it's not necessary but if i'd like him to perform it, no problem! but he did say that different docs have different styles and preferences...

but one thing he wants is for me to do the ctg thing at the next visit or when i'm about 37 weeks...

musicgal, your doc is Dr tan from Raffles too right.. strange hor

You read from here that all the mommies gynae asking them to do this and that and when we request for it, our gynaes say no need. Re ctg, my gynae said no need unless he thinks bb got complications.

Today i juz saw that Dr Tan got 2 rooms!!! cool!

Tingting, my doctor did say that it will be more painful due to the longer labour process as the body is not ready to deliver yet so he sounded relieved when I told him that I will go on epi.

So excited for you. You will deliver by next Monday. I asked my hubby for his opinion on induction and he is not in favour and said I am interfering with nature. I told him that I am the one who is v uncomfortable at this stage of pregnancy and if it causes no harm to the bb, why not. He still feels otherwise lor. I'll see what my gynae say, my gynae quite pro natural delivery, he even said no need to consider c-sec, try natural first.

Hi anissa,

Don't worry, everything should be alright, but you have to walk more carefully.

Hi mummytobe,
I read that in a US book, but they never say when it will cause induction of labour. Read in one motherhood bklet that for 3rd trimester, if you wanna have sex, better use condom to contain the semen thou.

Tingting,
All the best for your coming monday induction. You be able to see bb soon

Angel,
Your gynae is good... I am also an adovcate of natural birth, but I haven't talked to my gynae yet. hope he is also pro-natural birth. One thing I know is that he is pro-epi. seems to think that women nowadays cannot take hardship. Hope i can prove him wrong...:p

Hi Cat_tail,
I think I could have bought the one last pc for the size you wanted on Sun...hehe...
Vone,
Did you go to OG on sunday too? if so, we just missed meeting one another....

Morn all MTBs!

Hi angel,
Different Drs have different way of handling. As long as u r comfortable with him, dun worry too much. My DR oso din tell me much or doing much test but I feel assured when he say my gal is progressing very well.

Hi eileenp,
Maybe your DR want to earn more..haha.. But first check with him why u need to come so frequently.

Hi tingting,
Seems like u r the next to be popped soon.
Mind I KPO a bit, why do u need to induce instead of waiting for the labour to come naturally?

morning!

angel, i also prefer natural birth, but not at the expense of endangering bb n risk of c-section. i quite agree with gynae's thinking that since bb is already suitable for outside living, no point staying inside me for too long n continue having risk of cord strangulation, passing motion while still inside, etc... after carrying the child for so long, it'll set my mind at ease to hold him in my arms earlier...

though scheduled for induction on monday, i hope bb can come out on his own this week.. been trying to coax him since last night..hehe...

ting, so excited 4 u. tink u r d nxt mummy 2 pop. u take care &amp; remember 2 let us noe when u pop okie.

sam, i went on fri after wk. asked hb 2 drive me thr coz i still feel okie. after tat short shopping trip, went hm 2 rest. really can't walk 4 2 long nowadays.

Morning gals!

mummytobe,
yap.. coz i'm opting for natural birth, so he has to chk whether got virus or not. Not painful, very fast one.. but a bit ticklish. :p

tingting,
so excited.. u can see ur baby in less than a week! r u nervous?

vone, think lib may be earlier.. she mentioned she may deliver this week rite?

applejuz.. not really nervous.. think at this stage i just want bb to come out soon... a bit tiring to carry the weight n anticipating his arrival...