(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

hi cat_tail
I saw some really tiny hair bands for girls in Seiyu Bugis Junction yesterday. It cost 3 (in a pack) for $7+ I think. I was quite tempted to buy but did not as I am not sure if the band will restrict any blood flow as their skull still soft after birth.

Saw my gynae yesterday, I am now 32.5 weeks. My gal weighs 1.8kg. Doc commented that her size is average and her head is above average again!!! 2 weeks ago, her head size was back to normal but now big again. So strange. She also turned back into breech position!! My gal likes to do somersault and change her position every 2 weeks!!! Sigh

My doctor didn't mention anything abt ctg or vagina scan. Now it seems like the scan is not so detailed anymore. Most of the time, he will take a brief look, take measurements and then say everything normal. I did ask about the weight of an average size baby and it's 3.2kg. Every week you deliver early, you subtrack 200g and you'll get the approximate weight of the baby during birth. He said for the last month, bb gain an average 200g a week.

allo tingting

wow, your gynae package is ex at $1k without delivery. Mine with normal delivery cost $1550.

I went down to Seiyu Bugis Junction to look at Eternity nursing bra and they put it inside a gondola and when i asked them if there are further 20% discount. The salesgirl rudely answered me, 'no more discount'. As she is so rude, I didn't tell her that I bought my nursing bra in Junction8 Seiyu yesterday with 20% discount. Also, there were 2 sales girl around but none of them bothered to serve me.

Vone, hv you decided which cot you wanna buy yet??

hi angel, yah, i also find my package expensive... but am quite comfortable with my gynae so didn't think of looking for another... also too excited with 1st pregnancy to think so much..hehe...

hmm, the salesgirl who attended to me was ok... my receipt didn't show the discount... have asked my fren who works there to check it out...

angel, i emailed jade yesterday. she replied tat her cot had been reserved oledi. sigh... now got 2 look 4 another 1 oledi. i show hb d specs & photos, he's aso quite impressed wif it. hehe... really nice...

HI mummies,

What is a ctg? sorry ah, blur..

Btw mummies, do you intend to cut/trim your hair before giving birth? I feel like going to the hairdresser, but not sure safe or not. I hardly see any preggies who are more than 7 or 8 months going for haircuts leh..or at least, lying down to have their hair washed after the haircut...

allo vone
aiya.. you didn't get it. Such a pity. It's a really beautiful cot. How about you private message or email deerdeer. I think he/she is selling the Johnson cot too.

Hi Angel, Tingting,

I think my package also quite ex leh..i didn't realise until you guys were talking about it. Mine is $2075 including delivery. It covers all scheduled consultations and standard urine dip stick test, but anything else, have to pay additional (ie. medication, ultrasound scans, blood tests etc). Also it doesn't include postnatal checks, paediatrician and hospital bills.

hi mummytobe, i went for my haircut jus 1-2wks back in my 8th mth..no probs, in fact got veri good service
cos preggie mah..

for haircut, dun intend to cut mine lor, will just keep it and bun up during confinement. Now my hair is around bra around.

miso, for the ctg, is it the same machine yr gynae do the normal scanning? cos my gynae room not very big leh, only saw one machine.

timie, you are getting closer to yr EDD liao, everything packed and ready to go?

must be very excited right?
really hope to see you post yr birth-story here soon.

recently i got super strong craving for chocolatey stuff, you gals won't believe what i had for breakfast! 2 bottles of Yan Yan, those biscuit sticks with chocolate dip. Very unhealthy hor.
but i cannot help it.

Hi angel,
Thanks for the lobang. I want to get it first & then when my gal grows bigger, will decorate her like a doll. I very vain one..heehee..

Hi mummytobe,
CTG is a fetal monitor that places 2 transducers on your belly for monitoring the fetal heartbeat & contraction.

hello all mum-2b..

ero, tot all the while u hve super strong craving in chocolate.. hehe.. Yanyan is my fave too!!! thr was a period of time, yanyan is my fave tidbits.. but now dare not to eat too much liao..

kekeke, lib, u have very good memory leh. ya lor, my craving for chocolate has been super strong. =))
Yan Yan very yummy hor, now i even feel like eating again.
how are you this week? Your items are settled liao right? now is waiting time....i haven't bot nappy cream, nipple cream, breastpad, baby's hat and a few nitty critty items. Jus bot my evening gown at heartland mall yesterday.

tingting, oohh, prawn crackers! i also like to eat leh, guess we junk quite a lot huh.

Hello all Aug/Sep MTBs

I am new here although been reading all your past postings for some time already (just 'forced' myself to register.. heehee). Me also a MTB, my EDD is 7 Sept. Still cannot confirm boy or gal cos my baby very notti.. always dun wan to show... But everyone i meet seem to think it's going to be a gal...

WOW! U MTBs are very hardworking leh.. already washed baby's clothes and prepared ur hospital bags liao... so unlike me.. i haven't even done anything yet! Now i feel so lazy and guilty!

Got some qns to ask:
1. When do we need to start drinking coconut water?? How many times a week??
2. Do we drink the chicken essence directly before we go for delivery?? Or is it like the coconut water thingie, must drink a few times?
3. How many of those side-tying baby vests did u all buy?? I read somewhere that those are better for new borns cos wldn't rub against the belly button stump.. But stump will fall out in a week or 2 rite? Also i dun know which size clothes to buy for baby cos newborn size scared to small, 0-3mths size scared too big! Argh! Headache leh...

Btw, the last time i saw gynae was at 30wks, baby only 1.4kg... seems abit small to me.. but she say it's okie.. hopefully baby will grow bigger..

Ero: hehe.. yes i hve settled all the items liao.. including finish setting up the baby crib.. now juz wait loh.. realise that my tummy has grown even bigger over these few days.. cos my friend told me abt the 5palmful thing, i measured few days ago was oni 4 palm size, but last nite it was 5 liao..

hey tingting/triniti,

my gynae also doesn't have a B/W package list written down but the clinic asst. did go through with me the list of items that are included/excluded. I knew that the CTG was additional but i didn't know whether it was a standard thing for all other gynae packages. For me, the mutli-vit supplements are included in the package so no nid to pay extra...

hey miso, i was told that the from week 33 onwards, i would need to do the ctg...

hey lib,

what 5 palmful thing? never hear b4 leh... share some details?

hey angel,

my baby also... doc just commented that his head is a little large for 35 wks on mon - he was average sized all this while... scary! and cos of the 'development', the edd computed by the computer is now 1 week earlier... dunno good or bad - i want him to come out earlier though! hehehe... wait f

ur girl so cute... dr tan told us that usually, if baby turns down, they won't turn head up again... looks like ur girl's really active!

allo lib
yeah lor, never heard of the 5 palmful thing? What's that?

allo musicgal
i am still looking at car seats.. can you believe it, after such a long time. Regardless whether my bb big or small, my EDD never change from day 1 and when the date on the computer changes, Dr Koh will say, let's leave it at 4 Sep cos it will change again. hehe

Dr Koh always say.. dun worry, your baby will turn again so in his notes, he drew picture of bb position and it is always different every visit. One visit breech, the next visit head down and then the 3rd one will be breech.... today my gal kicked me so often until I get quite pekchek already. If she kick me anymore, I am going to scold her.

hi moulincat,

welcome! ur bb quite mysterious huh? may be difficult to detect from now cos he/she will be getting bigger n scans will not show up as clearly... just prepare 2 sets of names!

some of us due in Aug, so got to do things fast... actually not really sure abt coconut water, but usually advised to take during last month of pregnancy. chicken essence is to be taken just before going hospital to give u energy (but docs dun advise us to eat before going in case of emergency c-section). I bought button shirts. if it hinders the cord stump, can just roll it up... anyway, bbs in hospitals are also swaddled in blankets right, dunno why they have to be aired when at home.. just keep the cord dry. clothes.. i usually buy 0-3 months, cos unless premature, else bbs usually can fit into these clothes, n they fill out quickly, so no worries. some clothes are even meant for up to 6 months...

ur bb weight is ok... at 32 weeks, mine was 1.8kg, and now it's at least 2.1kg liao (checked last friday). Am trying not to eat so much durians/beef cos can escalate growth quickly..

hi joyful, on the contrary, CTG is included in my package, but this is only done if there is a need to check bb's heartbeat, not as a standard checkup item...

erowen/vone, just continued with my junk food spree... had mushroom swiss meal for lunch..hehe... despite me cautious abt taking beef to prevent a big bb, but aiyah... tell myself this will be the last binge for the week (until sat when i go for high tea..keke...).

i'm trying out the disposable pigeon breast pads together with my nursing bras, cos they got no padding mah... found them quite warm to wear leh... should we stick them against the removable flap or the inner layer? i just placed it without using the adhesive... hope it doesn't fall out! haha...

gals dunno how true, my friend told me to use my palm to measure my tummy, if is full 5 palm size, means the bb is coming soon.. she said she tried it works.. so now testing on me how true is this old wive tales

hehe... i just did the measurement... already 5 palm size leh... means coming anytime? or is it by default we'll reach this size during last month?

hey lib, that's pretty interesting. we put our palms starting from the sideways right? across waist area..Mine 5 leh...wait i think it's 6! or i measured wrongly? anyway my tummy very very big now! i feel so tired carrying my bb...

recently when i take cab, taxi-drivers like so scared of me like dat, ask me am i going to deliver soon???? why i still go office?? so far 2 cabbies asked me liao.

tingting, is the pigeon breastpad thick? i yet to bot mine yet, thinking of either pigeon or avent breastpad...

welcome moulincat, as long as yr baby is growing everytime u do the scan, that's good. Small baby easier to come out. =))
for coconut drink, so far i drank once at my 32th week, most probably will drink another thing at 35th (next week).

hi angel,

yeah, my doc also didn't change the edd, just follow the original one...

hahaha... speaking of scolding the baby! i was rushing work one day and the baby kept kicking! so i said very sternly, ok that's enough! and guess what? he stopped immediately! BUT like 2 seconds after he stopped, he kicked me 3-4 times, in quick succession as if to show his displeasure! *peng* but he did stop for the next few hours... dunno to be happy or angry!

car seat ah? my church friend is using an infant car seat, it seems really convenient! we wanted to get one initially so that if baby falls asleep during church service, we won't have to pick him up to transfer him from stroller to car seat... dunno if u need that convenience! but in the end cos hubby could get the britax, then we decided to just use that... so u're still bio-ing the royale?

hi lib,

thanks for the info!
interesting! i'm still at 4... will see whether it really works!

hey lib, i just saw ur latest post... 5 palms from bustline? i only have 3, if include fingers! or is it just plain palms only?

hi erowen, mine is the pigeon disposable bra pads... there is a premium range that is slightly more expensive.. actually i feel ok in aircon environment.. only when i walk under the sun do i feel it being hot.. and also, i think we're supposed to stick the pad on the removable flap, so the entire piece is not supposed to cover our whole breast. only the nipple n aerola touch it. now i'm just putting it against my skin, maybe that's why it's warm.

hehe.. for me opposite... i had cab drivers asking whether i'm schooling or working! dunno why they cannot see my stomach meh... and once i had a stranger walking up to me n ask whether i'm expecting a boy... she commented that my tummy looked so pointed...

from bustline downwards, imagine.. u open yr 2hands.. 1st hand (thumb to finger), 2nd hand (finger to thumb).. so on till u reaches 5.

morning gals

i have 4.5 palms when i measured last night. recently i feel a round round bump below my breast area, wondering is it my baby's butt? =)
Hopefully my bb gal has kwai kwai turn down...

tingting, so good leh, that means yr tummy not very big lor, mine is very big, i feel like a whale. I really envy those preggies whose tummy not so big.
btw i heard breastpad cannot keep too long cos will have brown spots.

btw anyone following the NKF saga? me been reading papers chasing after it...wondering how tonight's show will go on...whether donations will still go up.

today is only thursday, can't wait for tomo to come.

hi gal,
am back....was busy movin house....my hm pc has not fix up yet...everythin is still in a mess...furthermore with the 2 puppies! i got more headachE! wonder how to keep them away when bb is ard.... ;o(

Reenie,
wonder how u keep ur new hs so clean n neat!?

where u galz bought the breastpad? i havent got mine....

will be seein my gynae tiz saturdae. hopefully bb is growin well...i hav put on 4.5kg since 4 wks ago! scary right! hopefully my weight gain is normal...;p

tingting,
hee....u must be looks very youthful n pretty mtb...tat'z the cab driver will ask tiz Q.

lib,
when r u poppin?! geng cheong or not!? think u hav well prepared....now is only pending the for the labor dae!

tingting

Yesterday, went to J8 and bought another 2 Eternity nursing bra and it's still 20% off. I asked the salegirl why Bugis Junction do not extend the 20%, she said it might be because BJ treat nursing bra as an offer item therefore not entitled to 20% but J8 treat it as a normal priced item, that's why got 20%

I couldn't get to sleep last night. Finally fell asleep at 4am cos my gal was kicking and moving so furiously. Now, I am so tired!! *yawn*

hi angel, i asked a fren who is working there to confirm for me, and she said i shld be entitled to the discount... now think they're working out how to refund me the difference... not easy for Seiyu to instruct the refund cos these counters are sort of leased out to various vendors so they dun have direct control in that sense...

skippy, no lah... in fact, found myself looking older since pregnant... think cab driver forgot his glasses that day..hehe...

erowen, i'm sort of following the NKF thingy... i think all non-profit organisations should be transparent in their financial matters. According to the trial report, there seems to be too many "mistakes" and "coincidences" along the way to the benefit of the organisation n its mgt. Anyway, I've stopped donating to NKF long time ago cos I feel it's more important to support smaller charities who have pressing needs now. And how can NKF assume that no one will pay for their dialysis treatment and thereby conclude their reserves will only last a few years? It's way too conservative an estimate...

ting, i m waiting 2 c wat's NKF's nxt move. tink it'll b interesting.

seabreeze, ya lor. actually sometimes i wish i m on ML now. hehe...

tingting, happy to hear that you are able to get the money back!!!! I want to buy more but J8 doesn't have size 36 and I am too stingy to buy from J8 cos they don't give discount. Urrrggghhh!!

Maybe after they've processed your refund, they will start giving out 20% for nursing bras too. :eek:)

hi ladies, been quite tied up for the past 2 days. i'm soooooooo mad with TMC right now. there was supposed to be a doc's talk today, which was part of my antenatal class (starts on the 20th).

Next doc's talk on the 23rd aug, which i had informed last month that i wun be able to attend since my edd might be early)....apparently today's talk had been held 2 days ago!!!!!!!! and no one informed me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wahhhhhhhhhhh. the lady was quite bochap and told me that if i deliver by the next talk (23aug), i can always come back for the oct talk. what is this??!!

do they change dates without telling participants? i thought it was quite bad of them to be so careless. afterall they have my name and contacts and specifically told me to attend today's class.

felt like a fool when i called them this morning to confirm venue and timing and the nurse told me the talk had been held 2 days ago =(

hi triniti, i've just seen your posting. i'm delivering in mt e, since gynae is not giving me options to deliver elsewhere. taking the single bedroom. my edd is getting earlier after yesterday's gynae visit too..coincidentally 5th sep, though doc thinks it could be late aug since bb's thigh bone is quite long and developing faster than the head.

i always find it very strange that my gynae never wants to tell me bb's weight. he just said shes gonna b a medium sized bb...

christina... if you are attending the same class as me, I think Mrs Wong mentioned in one of her class that the date been changed to 12 July. Seabreeze reminded me last week on the forum as well.

hi angel, im attending the next class, but attending the doc's talk for previous class as my edd is too close to the next doc's talk. so my first class starts next wed!!

what was the talk about? informative? i'm getting very kan cheong now cuz my classes will end very very late...

hi angel, dun buy too many lah... maybe ur size will increase so much that u need a larger one after delivery? my fren was surprised that i bought so many (5), but i lazy to look ard for other designs... just grab lah..hehe..

re doctor's talk.. think if they're changing dates/time/venue shld call up participants.. cos some pple may miss the earlier lesson and did not hear the announcement...