(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

vone, if i turn up this evening only to find that the talk had been held 2 days ago, i think i'll lose my cool in the hospital and bite everyone in sight hehehheh...violent mummy with raging hormones

christina... first part of the talk is about labour which I find it's a waste of my time cos the information provided by the doctor is nothing new.

2nd part is more informative. It's on caring for new born (eg. how to care for the umbilical cord etc) and things to look out in a newborn which needs a visit to the doctor for eg skin rash (what is normal and what is not) with pictures shown on the powerpoint slides

Hi Angel, tingting,

For the nursing bras at J8 seiyu, what are the sizes they have? How do you know what size to buy har.. i bought 2 38C (85C) bras from Moms IN Mind last month, but when i wear them now, it feels just nice. So if my boobs get even bigger upon delivery plus nursing pad, i think maybe i won't be able to wear the MIM nursing bras leh...how?
MIM don't have larger cup size leh..and also, i think 40D might be too loose leh..do you recall if they have 38D or something larger than 38C (85C)? i'm more concerned about the cup and not the strap cause strap can add extensions..

Hi Christina
I think you can ask the exact weight everytime you visit your gynae. My gynae always tells me voluntarily at each visit so I know how consistent my boy has grown each month. So you are not delivering at TMC. I was also not informed about the change of time for the doc's talk until I knew it from another forummer in this forum. ( I did not attend the last class so I did not know the time change).Don't be angry or else your baby will be affected. Maybe the talk is not that imp afterall

Hi Christina,

you are also attending TMC's antenatal? well, i started quite early, but i missed the last 2 classes on feeding n babycare. prior to that, i even checked with Mrs wong n she said ok, n asked me to join/makeup the next batch in June. When i called up n this unfriendly person told me that they do not entertain makeup classes (which i totally understand n therefore had seeked Mrs wong's permission before being absent.) She then tried to give me 2 dates 10 Aug n 17 Aug for the makeup. I should be seeing u in the class if yours starts on 20 Jul. But i also told the person that if i deliver early (who knows?), i may even miss these 2 classes! just keep my finger's crossed that i will deliver at full term.

btw, i miss the dr's talk too....cos very lazy!

hi hi christina, dun be affected by the missed talk ya. I also didn't attend the talk, cos i lazy! Dun worry, i dun think you miss much ya.

seabreeze, i also wish i lazing at home now. Today weather seems so good.

hi vone, triniti and erowen, thanks for listening. i'm glad there's an outlet for me to vent some steam off. worst case scenerio i can always post my questions regarding infantcare since so many of u have graduated from mrs wong's classes.

angel, thanks. the second part seems interesting. glad to know what i've missed out.

aidanee, you're right! high chance that we'll c each other. i'll let u know what i'll be wearing on those days. be sure to say hi!

christina ...

the talk was so so only .. like what angel say .. only the second part on child care was something 'newer' ... the labour & delivery part was already covered in mrs wong class ... i almost fell asleep during that portion ...

hi mummytobe, mine not so big leh... heheh... only bought a cup B, which is 1 cup bigger than my usual A... we're advised to buy the bras around 8th month of pregnancy to have a close estimate of our cup size.. think it wouldn't go up much further.. furthermore, the cups are not firmly moulded so an extension would probably suffice if ur cup does increase by 1 size. For the ones at Seiyu, I dun recall them having Ds.

seabreeze, i c...think my hubby will probably fall asleep on such topics too. he's been so so busy, i've to force him to stop travelling in aug so that we can attend antenatal classes together. so last minute *sigh*

christina ...

better late than never mar ... its quite useful lar the lesson ... esp the exercise and massage ... they make the hubby learn how to massage for us ... shiok heehee ...

but now my hubby too lazy to help me massage liao ...

hi vone, i'll try to handle alone or with my mom. having a tricky situation with confinement lady, who is helping someone out in aug. hopefully the lady before me gives birth in time so confinement lady can arrive by 1st week of sept.

even if hb is around i doubt he can help much...he's the sort who'll only play with bbs but will not handle dirty stuff like poo, mucus, soiled diapers..etc. he even finds my maternity bra gross...*sigh*

seabreeze, my hb has massaged my calves no more than 3 times through my preggie months! imagine the tantrums i've to throw to force him to attend antenatal class with me!! on the contrary i've to massage him to sleep. hahah

Thanks for all your concern! I am glad to say that I am much better this week and am getting my appetite back.

Went for gyne appt today, dr says at 30 weeks, baby's head diameter is 7.4cm (the top part of the skull). Dr remarked that for ang mo baby, that normally have longer heads, baby is normal size, but for chinese baby, which normally have rounder heads, then baby is a bit small. Not sure what to make of that???

So far, I have put on 5kgs and dr seems pleased with that. Was up only 3kgs 3 weeks ago. My gyne visits have been changed to 2 weekly visits too.

Christina, I have signed up for the 20th July (Wed) antenatal class too. So you will see hubby and me at the class too.

I have finally bought my car seat, the britax meridan, preferred it over the britax royale as the head rest can be adjusted at the sides to cushion baby's head better. So now it's down to the baby cot, am thinking of getting the mothercare bedside cot, which can be lined up to our bed, but have to wait for mothercare to confirm when the stock is coming in. Have scouted for an alternative in case the bedside cot is not available.

chris, i keep my fingers crossed 4 u okie.
tink guys r like tat 1. but i m sure when he sees ur gal, he'll wanna help out. tat's wat my fren's hb did.

hi snoopy, glad to know that u're well and chirpy! so did the gynae confirm on your baby's gender?

your weight gain is the envy of many ladies here, myself included. lucky you! i was at a function yesterday and took some pictures with my family. gosh, i was a fat balloon...i could hardly recognise myself, my head's bigger than everyone in my family...heheh

Hi all MTBs,

Quite a slow day today. Can finally find time to drop a few lines here

Just a check, if it necc. to go on a hospital tour? I actually wanted to go to Mt. Alvernia (cos of location) but received a letter from TMC 2 weeks ago. Apparently my gynae already helped to register me there.

Any idea if the hospitals will family members to video the whole delivery process?

Speaking of video-ing ... I have a Samsung VP323i video camera which I bought from overseas for thousand over dollars but never get to use. It comes with a stand and bag etc. I would like to sell it for $600. If you know of anyone who is interested, pls let me know. Thnks!!!

vone, thanks. he's been singing nursery ryhmes to bb everynite. i think he tries...but not at his best. very lazy and chauvinistic with household chores. i blame it on his upbringing heheh... luckily can get domestic help.

anissa, no need for hospital tour unless u're deciding between hospitals. nothing much to see actually.. Alvernia does not allow videotaping of the delivery process, but u can video tape after the bb is delivered... i like alvernia bcos they allow bbs to room-in regardless of the ward u're staying in, but depending on which side of the fence u're on.. if u dowan to be disturbed at night, then u prob won't want to stay together with someone who opted for it..

haha, we all have our share of hubby bashing here... guess by and large they are better than generations ago... hope they'll keep improving!

Hi Anissa,

about hospital tour. It's up to individual. For me, at least after the tour i know what kind of facility the hospital will provide.

If I'm not wrong. we can't video the whole delivery process. Only camera allowed.

HI Anissa,

As far as i know, For TMC, you can't video the birthing process (the baby squeezing out from your cervix and all the bloody stuff before that), but you can video once the baby comes out. Ie. when they are cleaning up the baby, cutting umbilical cord etc.

Seems like this is the S.O.P for most, if not all, hospitals. Mt E does not allow filming of birth process too. We're only allowed to begin filming only after the bb arrives officially.

Hi tingting. Yah bb very nott, just like mummy i think. I bought stuff in green, yellow, blue but just no pink or flowery stuff cos if heng heng boy then will look funny in pink and flowers! :p
Hee.. i also try to eat durians cos some pple told me that eating durians will give birth to bigger but quite heaty leh.. always cannot go toilet after that!

Erowen, that's wat my hubby said.. small bb better, can feed more after come out... But i think small bb wait kanna bullied at playground! Haahaa....

Angel, i also have that same problem but mine is every nite! bb likes to do aerobics every nite.. kick and move so much! i think after bb come out i can forget abt sleeping at nite!

Christina, how come ur doc dun tell u the weight of bb? But anyways, the weight is an estimate only. I had a fren who just delivered this mth. Her gynae told her that her bb already 3kg liao but still no signs of labour yet. She scared bb too big size for delivery (she quite small size)so she induced. In the end, the bb only 2.8kg! She say abit cheated cos if she knows bb only so small, maybe she would have just waited to deliver normally..

Dun worry abt the classes too. i haven't attended a single class, not even those antenal classes! Cos when i wanted to sign up all fully taken up already!
Anyways angel is rite too. The part abt labour not that impt cos by the time comes sure forget everything one. For the part abt bb care, u can check out fei yue community serices website. They have classes and tutorials on taking care of bb thru the different mths. I called them up before but the lady says they prefer u to bring bb along cos easier to practice and also u can ask qns pertaining to ur own bb.

Anissa, may i ask why u are selling ur video cam?? I am interested to buy one.

Hmm... looks like most of u are delivering in TMC... Me kanna 'forced' to go KK cos my hubby ks, he say if got complication will also have to be sent to KK so may as well just deliver there... :p

Argh! i just can't stop thinking of buying bb stuff! Hahaa... Oh btw, anyone staying in Sengkang area?? Does anyone knows if the metro in Compass Pt have much bb stuff?

hi moulincat, i guess my gynae wants me to eat normally hence he doesnt like telling me bb's weight. i'm already quite freaked out at the current 14kg weight gain. sometimes i think he must be pretty bored with seeing so many mtbs everyday, that's y my visits are always very basic and fast. perhaps no news is good news? *fingers crossed*

when's ur edd and place of delivery btw?

Christina, my hubby is very much like yours too....doesn't lift a finger to do housework. Last monday when I was down with food poisoning, he made sandwich and boiled the canned vegetable soup for me to drink, but he left all the dishes for me to wash the next day.
kao_frustrated.gif
When I am not well and can't really keep the house neat and tidy, he can make comments like,"wah...looks like hurricane swept through the house." But yet, he doesn't bother to pack up at all.

Tks vone, I will take care! I have been behaving....no sashimi, no salads, no spicy food, no beans and no milk items. I tried a bit of fried food on Tuesday to test my tummy and it was fine, so have another option for food!

Anissa, think would be good to go for hospital tour, so that you can know what kind of facilities to expect and can ask any questions about the maternity ward, labour room etc that you have in person.

Haven't been in here for quite a while. Spent almost 1 hour reading all the postings that I've missed. Hahaha...
Aiyah, I also went Bugis Junction to buy the nursing bra leh. And paid $9.90 yesterday night. Sigh.. But i only bought 2.
Asked the sales whether got discount or not and she said $9.90 already the discounted price wor...

Hi Seabreeze, Christina,

haha ya lor, not only gross, but obscene. No way am i going to allow hubby to film my 'down there' and show people!!

snoopy, oh my gosh, my hubby said the same thing! just that he uses tornado instead of hurricane (we used to stay in michigan which gets tornado storms every now and then). i burst out laughing after reading ur email.

i think most men sama sama lah. then one in ten will go "wrong" during production, thats when some lucky ladies get the very rare SNAG who massages her feet, does housework diligently, sorts her clothes, volunteers to wash bb's clothes, makes sure she has home-cooked food for dinner, and brings home fresh flowers. hahahah

Wow christina! u gained 14kg??? I am abt 32 weeks now, gained abt 9kg..
That's why bb abit on the small side.. Maybe i haven't been feeding bb much! Haahaa! Hmm.. my visits also always very fast one... I always complain to my hubby that i spend half the day at the hospital but only get to see the gynae for 10 mins! So not value for money! Haahaa... My hubby always scold me cos he say short means good cos long consultant means got alot of problems...

My edd is 7 sept and i am delivering at KK hospital. When's urs?

Hi snoopy, u mean u have been eating sashimi even when u are pregnant???! Wah! u very brave leh... i have not eaten sashimi ever since i discovered that i am pregnant although it's one of my favs! Been complaining to my hubby that pregnancy is so torturous cos i can't eat all my fav things like raw oysters, sashimi and all those sinful stuff (have to eat healthy for bb)...

My hubby also used to be very lazy and seldom do housework, his only job is to wash toilet! But ever since i got pregnant i also became kinda lazy and cannot be bothered (maybe bb got his father's genes! hahah). So nowadays, if he cannot stand it, he will still sweep up the dirt in the house.. But i still do the mopping!

I guess some men are just not very housework friendly... haa! Too bad we married them...
I got 2 gal frens whose hubby does all the housework voluntarily! So lucky rite?

Eh.. u mean u guys seriously thinking of filming down the birthing process??? Isn't it gross?? And dun forget... i dun think we will look very glamourous!

chris, c, at least he sings 2 ur gal. mine doesn't. actually it's better tat he dun. his singing is pretty lousy. haha...

hi anissa, how's things wif u?? hope tat everything's okie wif u. u take care okie.

snoopy, wah ur hb is really d ultimate. 4 me, i m d 1 who leaves d dishes 4 him 2 wash, my excuse is tat i can't reach d tap wif my big tummy. haha... he can't tahan me. as 4 hsewk, he cleans, but oni when he feels like it. our record is 1 mth w/o vacuuming & mopping d flr. solid rite??
it's gd 2 hear tat u r eating well again. u take care k.

moulincat, i ate sashimi, fresh oysters, etc even when i m pregnant. cldn't resist.

morning gals... TGIF!

actually, it's ok to eat raw stuff but must make sure they're fresh n free from bacteria...

eileen, looks like the service staff for Impressions counter at Bugis Jn is not v competent... if u can take the trouble, may want to get ur refund from there... for me, i just depend on my fren to see if can get anything out of it, cos my cab fare home will take more than $10 liao...

moulincat, gynae can only estimate bb weight from the size they see on screen.. not 100% accurate one cos i think they cannot measure density. so for the same mass size one bb can be heavier than another. For me, i think weight is secondary... most importantly the head n body shld not be too big else hard to squeeze out!

morning mummies. TGIF!! yipee... tml got gynae appt, looking 4ward 2 c how much my boy had grown.

chris, yup. but will b doing it online coz i m looking 4 2nd hand 1.

ting, i agree wif u. heard a few cases whrby d bb's weight is lesser than wat d machine calculated.

so quiet today?? i'm feeling super sleepy today.. last night a fren from overseas stayed over at our place, n my dog was so edgy that she kept going to the guestroom door and whined softly.. so worried that she'll wake up our fren... in the end woke up every hour... sigh...

hi morning ladies..

Went for my gynae visit ytd, everything is normal at week 36-37 now. my gynae check has been changed to 1 week interval from next week onwards..

Vone, peifu u can tahan w/o vaccuming/mopping the floor for 1mth.. I 1 week oredi cant tahan liao.. hehe.. my schedule is at most 10days..

Tingting, do u hve msn chat?

hi lib, haven't used msn for long time liao... me more in icq... anyway, my access is blocked in office.. sob sob...

i also cannot tahan dirty floors, but no choice cos now at mercy of hb... :p

what are ur plans for the weekend?

ic.. tingting, cos now samantha, vone, christina, miso & me are online.. can join us if u hve msn access..

no plans leh, except for my seafood feast for my dinner tomolo.. hehe.. told my hb i wan to eat seafood b4 i go for labour.. can't go anyway, as i too tired to walk.. haiz.. u?

ting, u poor thing. nvm, it's fri liao. u can hv more rest during d wkend. u take care okie.

lib, actually i can't tahan. but no choice. i got no strength 2 vacuum & mop & hb dun hv d time / cldn't b bothered. so we tahan lor. trying 2 c who can tahan d longest. haha...

Hai.. wat can i say? i am a scardi cat.. i din touch any raw stuff cos dun really know how fresh is fresh the raw stuff in singapore is... not like japan where everything is really from the sea! hahaha...
Maybe cos i had terrible morning sickness for the first trimister... vomited almost everything i ate! Abit scared liao.

Btw, u guys all know each other?? As in met up before??

moulincat ...

same as you ... me dun dare to take the raw stuff too ... no matter how much I crave for them ...

some of the ladies have met before at reenie's place ...

lib, i c... maybe will reactivate my msn at home then... msn doesn't have the "lite" service hor? as in can access my acct online? must download program? our penalty for downloading software without approval quite hefty, so cannot take the risk....

seabreeze.. hai... the things we sacrifice for our baby! hahaha...

Does any of u mummies live near jurong area?

I am staying in jurong west... end of the earth...