(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Just manage to come into the thread cos was busy rounding up the stuff cos on course for rest of week. So I won't be popping in much this week...

I bought the cot bedsheet from Aussino during sale. cost $63. I also bought the Eternity nursing bra. So far got 2. Think may need another 1-2 pieces. Will check out Seiyu.

Suppose to wash my bb clothes last weekend but then washing machine broke down!! End up getting some guy to fix and by then, too tired to do anything liao.
Will try to do it sometimes this midweek, hopefully no more disruptions.

Snoopy, take care hoh. i saw Watson selling disposable panties that are for sensitive skin. Why don't you check it out?

will you all be buying a tin of formula milk for standby? what brand are you thinking of? so manybrands, i see until blur..similac, friso, mamil, gain IQ.. any one got recommendations?

poor ixwong, how old is ur washing machine?? appliances these days r so unreliable. u take care k. talk 2 u soon.

went to seiyu to buy the nursing bras yesterday... prices have reverted to $9.90 already... but still cheap, so bought 5 at one go...hehe... thanks for the lobang!

btw, for those who've started wearing nursing bras, do you wear a set of nursing pads as well? cos there's no padding on the bras..

mummytobe, not sure if hospitals provide sample satches of infant formula, or whether we can request for one from the manufacturers? not keen to spend $20+ on a tin that i may not open... its presence may also weaken my resolve for BF...

allo girls

my gf was telling me not to buy milk powder if we intend to breastfeed. However, for standby purposes, can get a small tin free from our gynae... she said that's what her friend did, from 4th mth onwards, every visit she ask for a small tin and all the tins she collected over the months lasted her abt 2 mths!!

I am seeing my gynae today, will try my luck if can get any.

tingting

I went to J8 Seiyu yesterday and bought a couple of stuff at 20% (nipple sticker, disposable panties - their disposable feels so cloth-like and the sales asst said can wash and reuse if we want too) and one piece nursing at $7.90 cos they don't have my correct size so I bought one size larger to try try since the salesgirl said size 38 can fit me too due to engorgement.

Had a super busy day yesterday. Auditors came in liao... so there goes my honeymoon period....
Snoopy,
Are you feeling better now?

hi angel.. what is the brand of nursing bra you bought? i did not notice whether there was any further discount, but if so, then i shld go get the discount back...

the salesgirl also recommended their disposable panties to me, though material feels good, it's quite expensive.. i'd rather stick to the cheaper ones from NTUC since i'm ok with them as well.. i took size 38 too.. it's a comfy fit at the first hook, so i think can accommodate expansions in future... i also can use the bra extensions bought previously.

tingting, it's eternity/impressions brand lor. The rest all so ex, Sorella selling $29.90 each!!! The salesgirls said Triumph even more expensive. If you bought the same brand, yes, you should go back and get your discount back as you bought so many pieces.

The disposable after discount cost $3.20 for 5 pieces. I took 6 packets.. hehe kiasu. Size 38 is too big for me, the strap across my back rides up a bit even after hooking into the most inner hook.

angel, yah, i bought the same brand.. will check the receipt again tonight.

u not kiasu lah.. i bought 8 packs of 7 from NTUC..hehe...

me opposite from u... the outlet at BJ has got smaller sizes, but size 38 has limited colours left... :p

vone.. not yet!!! I m still short of forehead and ear thermometer, car seat, babysafe mattress, bb bath tub, changing mat, digital camera to capture bb's first moments, baby bjorn carrier, stroller (friend till now yet to dig hers out to pass to me). Can't remember what else need to buy liao. Need to look at my list.

Have you completed yours?

tingting
maybe later i'll pop by Bugis Junction as I got gynae apptment at 3pm today in Raffles.

hi vone, yah, only left slippers to wear in hospital.. mine's too old n little friction left.. better get new pair else may slip in bathroom...

i'm quite tempted to buy another set of beddings for the cot.. now i've got 3 sets already.. but 1 set seems to be quite "chlorine-fied", cos after washing it sort of stuck to the bamboo pole when dried... think too much dye/bleach was used by the manufacturer...

tingting, 1 more set ah... 3 sets more than enough liao. Try washing the set again and see if it gets stuck again.

I intend to buy only 2 sets. So far, I bought a 2nd hand The Baby First Wardrobe set from yahoo auction. Maid already disinfected and washed. Now sourcing for another set from Aussino. Waiting for sale in Aug (during National Day weekend). Usually Rob and JL will also hv their storewise 15% if I recall correctly.

angel, me not yet aso. hb's fren played us out. he promised 2 give us d bb cot, but backed out at d last min. veri mad at him now. so now looking 4 1. hopefully can complete mine by tis wk. veri tired oledi.

ting, tat's gd. tink 3 sets shld b more than enough oledi. if not enough, then u buy after bb is born.

ohh... i love the First Wardrobe series! and the Disney ones n the Winnie the Pooh... hehe, but quite expensive so hb put in his veto vote.. :p

i think safer to have 3 sets... cos sometimes bb may dirty the sheets (pee pee, poo poo, milk... u name it!) n the 2nd set may not be ready for change...

actually now Robinson's is having 20% sale...

tingting, the Rob 20% sale is not applicable to all items. The items I want don't have 20% discount. sob sob. I am aiming at the Britax car seat which cost $438 before less. Thinking of asking my daddy to buy for me.. hehe

I lovvvveeee the Baby First Wardrobe too.. but brand new set too ex for me so I bought a 2nd hand set for $40.

vone, there's a lady selling her Johnson cot from Kid's paradise for $200. Condition looks quite good as I've asked her to email pictures to me. Maybe you like to take a look. Usual price for the Johnson cot is $369. The cot loookssssssssss goood!!!! Matt size is 52x28 which is the best size to buy cos u can easily find sheets.

vone, yah, i guess so... was just v attracted to the cute designs...

the only thing i haven't bought is the stroller... maybe PILs can buy for us, hehe...

angel, actually jade had emailed me asking whether i m interested. hv replied tat i wan some pics but she had not reverted yet. saw some cots in yahoo auctions which lib & miso recommended. had put in a bid 4 1. hopefully i can get it

btw, u may wanna consider ikea's bb bathtub. oni $12 wif non-slip strips inside. saw some1 selling it 4 $3 on yahoo auctions, but it's abt 2 yrs old oledi. u can chk it out.

ting, ya, i agree wif u. i m always veri tempted by those cute designs whenever i go shopping. so i always bring hb along, if not sure spend a lot 1.

my in-laws nvr say anything. c wat they buy during bb's full mth. hopefully it's $$...

vone, let me see if i can find jade's email. there's also a deerdeer who is selling the johnson cot. I went down to Rob to take a look at the Johnson cot, really beautiful!!!!!

angel, i got her email addy. no worries. hey, tat's nice. d 1 tat i bid 4 is not so nice, somemore it's abt 2 yrs old oledi. okie, i'll chk it out. tks.

vone, bb tub with non slip mat I prefer to buy brand new cos I am afraid there are fungus trapped inside the sponge, under the sponge etc.

hi triniti, the 1st one looks nicer, but 2nd is more practical n greater mileage... cos think it's difficult to get accessories for oval shaped cots? think i saw the oval shaped ones in mothercare catalogue.

angel, my PILs also never offered... they v hands-off, v v seldom ask abt bb also... weird right? thot they shld be excited n kan cheong n all, afterall it's their first grandchild... but no leh... just wishful thinking to expect a pressie from them... :p

hmm, come to think of it, they also didn't give any wedding gifts, except ang pao during tea ceremony... for our house, they gave a simple (toyomi-kind) rice cooker that's too big for the 2 of us.. in the end we kept it away in the store room...

triniti, tink d 1st 1 is more unique. given a choice, i wld choose d 2nd 1. mayb coz i more old fashioned.
as 4 car seat, if u planning 2 let nb bb sit in it, tink fully reclined 1s r better coz bb's head is so soft.

ting, mine aso bochap. they got so many grandkids tat they r immune liao. 4 our wedding, as we didn't hv a dinner, my mil gave me a gold necklace & ang pao 4 d tea ceremony. as 4 my fil, he didn't give me anything at all.

Hi vone and tingting
Hmm yeah both of you made good valid points...I think i will go with the second one since the first one is harder to get accessories and beddings.

So far I only know aprica is fully reclined, I wonder what brand also allows fully reclined baby carseats...hmmm

good afternoon gals!

tingting and angel, my PIL also never offer, i can only console myself that maybe they dun wanna interfere too much lor. Whereelse for my mum, she has been giving me advise and volunteer to accompany to buy bb stuff and cook soup. Think at the end of the day, it's always our parents who sayang us more.

tingting, the 7.90 impression nursing bra promo over liao?? so sad, i was thinking of buying a few more over the weekend!!! u bot at bugis or J8?

angel, for my gynae, so far he gave me a tin of Mamil, dun know whether he will give me more...i seeing him this friday? We have to ask from them?

oh ya snoopy if you got sensitive skin, will disposable cotton u/w be good for you?

btw gals how many sets of beddings do we need for the baby cot? And when will you get ready the bedding for baby cot? When you return from hospital?

hi erowen, according to angel it's still on, but think the salesgirl didn't factor it in for me... got to check my receipt n claim back the difference... but seems like sizes n colour is diminishing... better got buy soon.. i bought at BJ. I got 3 sets of beddings... if ur hb is not rooming in with you, he can get the bed done up when u are in hospital... else can get someone else to do it? but it's quite fast to put on the beddings, so no harm waiting till u n bb are discharged..

hey ladies,

haven't been here for a while cos bz at work....seems like got many things to clear b4 can go on ML....

Check with you something....from my next visit onwards at 33+ weeks, i'm supposed to be doing the CTG scan for baby's heartbeat every visit, that costs me additional $35 each time.....do u all also have to do this? Is this the usual practice?

joyful, i didn't do any CTG yet.. last visit was at 35 weeks. gynae did not mention abt this scan. but she did say that she'll do the vaginal swab to check for bacteria, and that costs $30+ as well... somehow i feel these are hidden costs... shouldn't they be included in package already if it's an SOP? do you gals have to pay for such things also?

tingting, i think it's quite common to pay for the VS, but for paying for CTG i am a bit surprised though....hmmm...But i think remembered Miso paying for CTG also, er...miso, pls correct me if i'm wrong.

but so far my gynae never said anything abt VS or CTG leh. hmmm...

hey thanks, vone!

ting, strange....guess it varies from gynae to gynae.....cos i might end up paying almost an addtional $200 juz for the CTG scans on top of my package....seems like end up my package also pretty ex....my doc didn't mention anything abt the vaginal swab or anything though....

Hi Christina
My Edd is now 5th of Sept, according to my last visit at TMC. Baby's weight is 1.92kg at 32 weeks and my weigh gain is 1.5kg. Have you decided which room you are going to take? I just went to the hosiptal tour yesterday and the VIP suite was fantabulous!Just like a hotel suite..

BTW joyful,
I don't think you should pay anything standard extra since you have paid your doctor the package. You should read the terms and conditions of the package you have taken. I did not need to pay anything more unless I am having a blood test which usually happens in the first and second trimester. I have not been paying ever since my 3rd trimester started except for supplements.

tingting, when i signed up for the package, it's stated that such tests + medication/supplements are not included, oni urine/protein test + routine scans included. so i was not caught by surprised having to pay..

timie, my package did not mention abt VS.. only said blood tests are excluded.. in fact, i dun even know that VS are required in 3rd tri... my gynae is actually v competent n i'm v comfortable with her, but just a bit disturbed that she's not v forthright in her package. She doesn't allow us to have a copy of the package details, even after we paid for it.. so everytime we want to check something got to ask the assistant to let us see the list. And she's not cheap either... abt $1k excluding delivery charges.

hmmmm, tingting and timie, for mine, my package states very clearly that the price only includes consultation, medication/vitamins and urine test. I need to pay extra for the rest, e.g. blood test.
the package details are spelt out and printed out his room.

for delivery charge, how much is yrs? mine is abt 700 - 1200 depending on the situation.

tingting, i guess some tests are not required for everyone so quite difficult to state down all the various tests that will not be included in the package (eg, GTT, Hb, VS, ctg, etc). normally it just says what are included..it's quite strange they dun give u the package details, mine gave when i enquired even b4 i first saw her as i wanted to know the delivery charges, etc. but i guess as long as her service and knowledge is good, and reasonably priced, it shd be alrite..

erowen, mine delivery charges fr 1K onwards..

Good morn all MTBs,
Hope everything went smoothly for you. So sad tat I am so slow in catching up the latest chat in the forum. If there's any mum going to be or already in labour soon, pls pls let us know. Very gan cheong now.. heehee..

Btw, I would like to get those cute hairband for my bb gal. Anyone can recommend me where to get it?

Hi morning ladies,

Yes erowen, I paid for the ctg cos my gynae dun have any package offer one. Joyful, the ctg cost me $35 and I did it last appt at 34wks 2 days. I dun think gynae will put you on ctg to scan every week from now.. but 2 - 3 times till delivery date perhaps.

Guess what? This morn I was taking out the bills from tmc when I delivered ds and the scans of ds done at the gynae and found out that at wk 34, ds only weighed 1.938 whereas my gal now at wk 34 weighs 2.2 kg. What a diff! haha...