(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi reenie,
Yup, I'm teaching in a primary school. I can sit and teach, but I won't be able to see all my pupils. Therefore, standing is a better option. Very tired. Have to stand for about half a day with a couple of half hour breaks in between.

Cat_tail,
Hehehe, I enjoying my holiday also. But it's coming to an end.
That's why I'm really worried if I can cope. I very pai say take MC one leh. Parents will complain.

hi eileen,
understand how u feel...if u sit and teach, very hard to see all students and explain too..got to scribble on board sometimes hor. Hug hug. Enjoy your break, don't think too much. If u really cannot cope, must tell the principle or someone, don't over pressure or exert yourself
I think parents also have to understand lor....they are mothers too.

What's the Robinson number? Want to ask if they carry the Tiny Love Symphony-in-motion mobile....

Cat_tail,
I use a cleaning company as against the freelancer, so a bit more ex ($250 for 4 weeks). The regular weekly tasks include vaccum and mop the floor, wash the toilet, clean the kitchen stove and cabinet (outside), dust all counter/shelve tops, iron clothes, change bedsheet, and even fold my clothes and hand-wash my bath mats. On a monthly or quarterly basis, they will clean my windows, balcony glass doors and my fans (including my ceiling fan).

Eileenp,
heard swimming help with delivery. Unfortunately, been too lazy to go for the past 2 months. I dun care how other see. Still wearing my bikini top and boy shorts swimwear...
But must ask your hubby to go with you cos the floor quite slippery. be careful.

have you bought a diaper bag already? i'm looking for one, but those i've seen so far not very nice leh, quite lao tu or look like laptop bag.. anyone got nice ones to recommend? i'm looking for the tote kind (for ladies to carry)

Hi reenie,
I am working in engineering field so got to go out & repair. Cannot imagine I was still doing a lot of squatting, cycling, carrying heavy stuff last 2 weeks. :p

My suggestion to improve your walking freq is by:
1) Walking further out for your lunch break
2) Doing shopping

Hi cakey,
I saw the bb cot at Centrepoint but not too sure wat size. Word of advise, try not to buy too many toys, cos there will be a lot of ppl giving u toys during the first month celebration.

Hi Samantha,
The paper din show the bb stuff, just a big page on 15% storewide disc. I know wat they have baseed on my personal experience when I do my shopping last week.

Hi eileenp,
I am jealous now.. At least u got super long break then work for another few mths before another break come!

hi eileen, my teacher fren told me she felt veri tired & heavy during her last tri. sho bot tis tummie belt for support as she had to stand for long hrs. it helps a bit tho not totally la..mebe u can try dat..oso must eat well lor..otherwise may feel faintish..take care..

reenie,
Hmm... you are right. Will try my best to relax. Must put my bb in first priority now. Hehehe...

ixwong,
yup. My gynae told me swimming is like a total body workout. Trains your stamina for labour. Strengthen your muscles as well. I also have a set of bikini, hehehe, think I will have to start swimming soon.

May I ask if anyone of you have decided on using the epidural?

Hi ixwong,
The part-time maid u engage is worthwhile! I check some freelance ones & surprisingly they charge almost the same as yours! How many hours they do per visit? How u find them? And finally can intro your cleaning company? Heehee.. pai sek, ask too much.

Hi Timie,
I see. I will go scout for the tummie belt. Have heard about it. Thanks for the advise.
Yah. I feel faintish quite often also. Gynae says my bp on the low side. My grandma ask me to eat 'de gua'. Eww.. Don't like the taste... Hahaha...

cat_tail,
Our principal made known to us not to sit and teach. But I think I can be an exception. But when we sit and teach, we can't see all the students. Therefore, dunno if they are paying attention or not. And they can't see us as well. Normally, I prefer to stand and teach lor. Then I can have a bird's eye view of the whole class.
But, I think I have to make do with sitting and teaching until I give birth. Hehehe...

Hi Ladies, is TGIF again.. Hope u gals have a good morning.

Angel, u really have to eat more to booast up yr energy plus making sure yr bb has enough nutrients. When is your next check? Perhaps can juz give a call to yr gynae to ask him over the phone first.

Toking about tonics, now in our 3rd tri got to prevent ourselves from taking too much heaty stuff. Cordyceps are very heaty, so far i only had cordyceps for 2 times during my 2nd tri cos i felt so heaty after drinking it had skin breakdown and all, and has been following on birdnest.

Hi Cat_tail,
I'm quite happy with their work, all ok except sometimes when they iron my hubb's complex cuff-links shirts not so good (I think too complex for the aunties).

The freelance ones charge the same? My hubby was telling me this morning that his fren uses one who charge $10/hour, so he felt ours a bit ex....

The current company sent 2 cleaners each time, and both of them spend about 2 to 2.5 hours at my place (I think that's why even got time to fold my clothes
). I read about the company from another forummers. You can check out their website
http://www.proworks.com.sg/proserv.htm

eileen, when u go back 2 sch, jus try ur best. if u feel tired, then sit down. i'm sure tat ur students wldn't mind.

mummytobe, i m aso looking 4 a tote bag 2 double up as a diaper bag. i was tinking of geeting those fr adidas or nike as they look pretty sporty.

eileen, ya i tink ur principal will understd y u need to sometimes sit & teach. if not, lean on table for support..'de gua' is liver? eekk, i hate dat too! i rather take the iron suppl. if u dun mind beef can take some too, it's quite rich in iron. both me & bb luv beef..2nd tri, i took quite some then bb grew veri fast..keke..

ladies, do ur bbs hiccup often? mine hiccups every time i eat fruits..he like veri 'xin ku' lidat..hope he's ok.
my mom says too 'liang'..but thot we're suppose to feel heaty now rite?

I myself find their cot mobiles fascinating
and heard from some other forummers that their bb loves the mobiles. You can check out the website http://www.tinylove.com/developmental_toys.aspx Understand that Baby Hyperstore is having 20% sale on Tiny Love toys, so will probably head down there over the weekend....

Timie,
I read from the book "what to expect when expecting" that baby hiccups is unlike ours, they don'y feel 'xin ku' at all, so don't worry. Just enjoy the little tickles...

ixwong, thanx for the info. quite funny to see my tummie "trembling" keke.. the mobile looks interesting..will check dat out. so it costs abt $70+?

hee, vone, me dun hiccup, jus bloated..

wao piang!!!!! Robinson sale????!!!!! i just spent so much at kiddy palace the last few days...energy n Money drained out already. Will prob swing by to buy the bigger items like cot....

I cant swim. but what i do is that when i am in the water (in my bikini, of course! cos think it is a waste to buy a maternity swimwear for someone who cant swim), i do those leg exercises taught in Mrs wong's class. I also do push ups, breast firming etc. Then i just do kicking to tone up my legs. hahaha, hair also never touch water!!!

at 27/28weeks, do you rec that i can take Dong Cong Cao cos i thought of buying some to mix wtih birdnest?...maybe for 2 servings over the next 2 weeks. Will it be too heaty ah? i feel that body is abit cold in the aircon room, wondering if i am getting weaker each day...

Tangs is also having sales.. 10% off elect dept. 20% off Tangs home dept. today and tomorrow open until mid-night! But not sure got any sales at bb dept or not..

Hi Timie and vone,
Yup. I think my principal will understand. Will just try my best to relax as much as possible.
And yes, I hate 'de gua' (liver). Urgh. I'm taking iron pills from my gynae now. Cause she said my bp on the low side.

aidanee,
Yes, even if we dunno how to swim, we can go to the pool to do some kicking and arm exercises. Can use a floating board to aid as well. Will be good enuff. My gynae told me to swim 10-20 laps a day. Kaos. Can die lor...

hello ladies

i m back from my shopping and driving lessons. Spent $770 in Robinson within 30 minutes *heartpain* I bought the PIS, Angelcare movement and sound monitor (http://www.angelcare-monitor.com/angelcare.html), Avent travel set, Avent bb bath & shampoo and Avent breast shell.

Spoke to the Rob lady, she said Chicco Vector (car seat) is v good from infant to 18kg. it is not warm and not v pricey. Retail at abt $200+ http://www.chicco.com/hp.asp

hi cat_tail
PIS is Medela Pump In Style.

Hi Lib
I will try to eat more often in between meals. Even when I am not pregnant, my appetitie also v small. :eek:)

i'm running a fever of 39.2 c for 2 days now... polyclinic n A& E only ask me to take panadol n shower to bring it down... shd i b concern ? 26 weeks gestation now

Hi Ameliaa,

Generally, if GP tells you it's fine, should be alright. However, if you have been having fever for quite a while. I think it's best you see your gynae about it if you are worried.

Any of you bought baby sling yet? any recommendations? Am thinking of buying one.
Cat_tail,
How's your shopping at Robinson today?

Good evening,
My legs very tired now after doing my shopping..heehee..

Wow wow Angel,
U r so solid man! Can spend so much at 30 mins!
kao_scared.gif

Ok Samantha & the rest,
I din spend a lot cos most of my items already bot 2 weeks ago. What a waste, should wait a little longer.

I bot the Lucky Baby changing table, nasal aspirator, cotton balls, pacifiers, waterproof mat etc... not really much. Total I spend is around $150 cos I wanna hit their min limit for free delivery.

I would highly recommend to buy the Pigeon wet wipes cos it's only $8.45 rather than $9.85 for the 3 pks. They do sell in cartons of 8 sets but I just want to try out first so bot only 2 sets. A lot of mummies are there grabbing them, so this item is going very fast.

As for the new born wears, I am not really impress what they have in store. Eventually, went to Mothercare to buy 2 pairs of cute little booties & a set of 3 sleepsuits. Very cute!

Oh no poor ameliaa,
U ok? Rest now & monitor whether the temperature goes down tomorrow. If not call your gynae. Sometimes Dr from polyclinics & A&E are not so attentive.

Hi ixwong,
Thanks for your detail info on part-time maids. I dun find the freelance any cheaper from agents. They do almost the same job & the only difference is it's only a person work. She wants to charge me $10 per hr for 5 hrs job based on weekly basis. If I want ironing, additional $10 more.

Ameliaa..
Please go see your gynae asap, or at least call... It may be the weekend but I'm sure your gynae has an emergency number you can call.. If your fever is so high for 2 days, there could be an infection somewhere.. and you may need antibiotics..
Please don't self medicate, k? cos some medications can harm your baby.. In the meantime, panadol and cool showers and cold compresses for your forhead are a good idea..

Hi ameliaa, I would suggest you give a call to your gynae and see what he says, if he can prescribe you some meds to bring the fever down, then all the more btr.

wow angel! u really can ah! spend so much in such a short time! I v. heartpain when I see the figure! hahaha.. but then hor, it's inevitable one, what has to be spent, has to lor... right?

Hi Miso, yes i measure my tummy once every fortnightly. I'm now measure at 36" liao.. Goodness.

*Sigh I'm now having a swollen gum at my wisdom tooth area. It is so painful that it has been disturbing my sleep. Any remedies?

Angel, really peifu you.. Can spend so much $$.. But hor, to advise u spend only if you need cos bb really outgrow very fast.

Ladies, few updates for you:
1) OG is having 20% sale this weekend.
2) Saw some nice cots selling from S$299 at Carrefour, Suntec.
3) Thr is a new diapers brand, Fitti Premium.. Very soft.. can check this out.

Ameliaa, have lots of rest, drink lots of water.. Take care yar..

angel, gosh, u really went shopping.

ameliaa, give ur gynae a call & c wat he says okie. u take care & hv lots of rest.

samantha, i m tinking of getting 1. but i m afraid tat it wld b wasted if bb doesn't like it. tink i shall wait & c.

lib, if it's really painful, then go & c a dentist & c wat he/she says. in d meantime, can use cold compress 2 ease d pain. u take care okie.

an update, went 2 my gynae yesterday. bb is growing well, he's now at 1.3kg @ 29 wks. no wonder i hv been feeling veri breathless & easily tired recently.

then i went shopping coz i got a little bit of energy yesterday.
went 2 ck tangs, not much things thr even though thr's 20% d/c on selected bb items. so didn't buy anything thr. then i went chinatown. bought some bb clothes, nappies, handkerchiefs, mittens & booties. they were much cheaper thr. after tat i went kiddly palace & bought nappy liners, wet wipes, diaper cream, disposable nursing pads & milk bottles. after d last stop, i was veri tired oledi. so decided 2 head hm. then i realised tat my feet were swollen. hb forced me 2 lie in bed 4 d rest of d day. sigh... feeling a bit satisfied as i finally bought some bb stuff.

Morning all mommies! went to robinsons last sat, nothing much, quite disappted. oni bot the nipple cream & some breast pads..most pigeon items seemed all snapped up..

Samantha, the address is 83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 (BB kingdom) and 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 for BB hypermart.

Good morning everyone,
I saw in the papers that a baby cot was going for only about $59.90 leh. But dunno whether good or not. I think all baby cots should be about the same lah hor??? It's a John Little Sale item.

Are the things in the BB hypermart cheaper? Maybe I should go down and take a look as well.

hi eileen, it depends on wat kinda cots u r lookin for. such cots usually r smaller thus not convertible to toddler bed. oso may not be able to adjust the height too much. saw a few small ones at robinsons last wkend, a bit lower and smaller than the usual cots, not sure if they r same as JL ones..

Good morn all MTBs,
Haiz..it's Mon again.

Poor Lib,
Seen a dentist already?

Hi Timie,
I am so shock to hear that most of the Pigeon were snapped up at tat rate! Lucky I KS a bit, went on Fri.

292233.jpg

Hi Timie,
I see. Thanks for the advise. Normally you all would buy cots that can converted to toddler bed issit? Hmm... Those like normally cost a couple of hundreds hor? Will go take a look later.

ya cat_tail, wanted to buy some pigeon disposable breast pads, but no more leh, so ended up bot chicco ones..the area with pigeon prodts half empty..i tink many preggies tis yr..

btw, those mommies who miz the nepia nappy purchase at the recent fair can still get them at NTUC..cost $15+. saw it at clementi branch last sat..oni $2 more mah..

can check with you all where u bought ur bb's stuff at chinatown? Thinking of going ter to stock up bb's items...
thank u!

ya eileen, me bot the convertible one fr JL which comes with some freebies like bumper, bedset, mattress, mosquito netting etc. after discount abt $260+. but depends on u, some ppl use playpen or just mattress as bb bed leh. for me mebe it's the thrill of first-time parents, so got a bb cot lor. btw, good to get those with wheels, can drag the cot ard..

hi eileen, if you're looking for a non-convertible i'll try to take a pic of the one i bought at kiddy palace n show you... depends on what u need... e.g. i think timie's package is quite a good deal cos it comes with everything, but for me i may not be using bumper n mosquito netting, n i dowan a convertible so the price doesn't justify for me. if you're intending to push the cot around try not to get something too heavy...

hi vone, did u buy from the shops in the market or those under the HDB flats that face the market? i may be going down these 2 days...

oh yah, pls try not to walk too much or stand too long now... i walked for hours some days ago, and am now paying for it with muscle aches around pelvic area... it's no joke man... can't even wear my pants properly...

Good morning pretty mummies!

today is my first day travelling to work from my new house! i shifted in last weekend...finally :p Very tired, aching back, sleepless nite, lucky got a kind soul give me seat on MRT ride

For your information, I got the Kodomo Detergent from NTUC at 16.80, J&J Top to Toe Baby wash at 6.70
Was looking around for Pampers diapers for newborn, but don't have.

Went to Robinson with my SIL last weekend, nothing much, quite disappointed, maybe Centrepoint got more? i was at Cityhall branch. Anyway just bought cotton balls, 2 more tops for baby, nail clipper, thermometer and bathing towels. My SIL bought a play zone from Fisher & Price for baby, someting like play gym but its very entertaining! too bad no matteress for baby to lie on like normal play gym.

Alright! Have to start work now!

Hi Timie,
Thanks for the information.

any of you bought the MIM sling liao? Any feedback?
Oh, by the way, saw this brochure at mothercare on this Amby motion bed (hammock for bb). Any idea whether it is good? The price is super expensive leh.... $399.