(2005/08) Aug/Sept 05' MTBs

Hi Miso and Mummytobe,
pardon me for being sua ku. How to order online? seems like for littledreamers, have to go and buy from them unless you purchase >150 bucks.

How come for all of you, appetite seems to be getting smaller. I seem to be eating more. since morning till now non-stop leh. feel so much like a pig.

angel, aiyo... cannot continue like tat. make sure tat u eat small meals frequently okie. even if u dun feel like eating, bb must aso eat hor. when u go grocery shopping, buy some food so tat u can eat at hm.

Hi mummytobe, I also bought the same no-rinse shampoo. Have you tried it out?

My mum bought the bathing herb pack from Fu Hwa (Da Feng Ai or something). But I dun know how the smell would be like. Am now thinking whether I should order the Warming body wash from little dreamers....

Aidanee,
I'm still taking bird nest. Bought from Lau Hang Jia, the concentrated type....but always forget to eat. I heard that Korean ginseng is heaty, so we should not take so much in the 3rd trimester. I only took some in the 1st/2nd trimester.

allo aidanee and vone

I don't know why my gynae ask me to start seeing him twice a month liao leh. Every since I started my package, I've been seeing my doctor once every 3 weeks. :eek:)

My appetite is really small. That's why I am puzzled re my weight gain for the past months (except for the past 2 weeks as I ate even lesser than usual). Say eg right now, I ate 2 slices of yakun bread with kaya, a cup of kopi ice and now I am really full. Don't think lunch can go in.

If I stuff myself and eat normal portions, I will feel very full and bloated and will not be able to breathe properly

ixwong, my mil also prepares the bathing herb. she says it smells gd leh...dun know true or not.......maybe can use the bodywash with the herbal water? wat say u?

Hi Samantha,

I just ordered online and paid for delivery. think they charged me $6 for delivery? I ordered a few items.

Hi Ixwong,
I haven't tried the shampoo yet hehe, will do so one of these days. they have the conditioner also, but its not stated in the website. I also bought the wet wipes just in case. I bought the warming body wash from little dreamers..will be mixing with warm water and using it to wipe/splash..according to others who have used this warming body wash, after you bathe, you will feel very hot and perspire a lot, almost as good as not bathing hee hee

dunno lah, i very ks one, sure buy a lot of the same type of products just in case later i don't like this one, at least i have another one on standby. cause cannot go out mah... and i don't hubby will understand what i want to buy haha that's why i already bought three types of maternity pad (kotex, mothercare and madame) and soft overnight body fit. i opened all to touch and feel the material already heh, testing testing

i heard from those mummies whohave given birth already, sometimes the bleeding (lochia) during confinement is so heavy, that you have to stack two pads (one on top of the other) then enough. cause the flow very heavy.

Good afternoon all MTBs,
Just returned back to my desk & waiting for my lunch time. Now super hungry... even though I had a McDonald breakfast in the morn.

Hi angel,
I am so shock tat u eat so little! For me, I always feel so hungry...

For the weight gain issue & according to the growth chart, it's normal to slow down when we enter to our 3rd trimester.

Hi mummytobe,

So far which type of maternity pad is the best har? in terms of feel lah....

i went to kiddy yesterday and only saw madame. no wings leh. I wanted to buy those with wings, but seems like all maternity pads have no wings. Any idea where i can get those with wings, mummies ?

Hi cat_tail,
Sure or not, I thought 3rd trimester will gain most weight since bb grows fastest then.

learn from the anenatal class that better not to wash hair for the first few days cos the washing hair action might cause some ppl to feel giddy and faint while bathing .... maybe thats why they used to ban ppl from washing hair ....

told my mum that me wan to at least sponge myself using the herbal water ... cant imagine bleeding so much and cant clean up at all .. how to bf like that ... maybe my baby will find me too smelly heehee ....

angel, i m aso seeing my gynae twice a mth since i reached my 3rd tri. if ur bb is growing well, then dun worry. jus eat watever u can okie.

samantha, nope me not buying. r u planning 2 buy??

Hi Angel, think you have to break yr meals into smaller meals again. Like instead of eating 2 kaya bread, just eat 1. BTW is yr meal hours very near apart? try to spread out thru out the day. Remember our bb is absorbing the nutrients that we are taking in each day, if u don't eat enough once the nutrients in yr body mite not be able to substain for both of u.

Hi Aidanee, I'm still taking my bird nest (DIY) once every 10th days, my MIL has bought the amount that will last me till i give birth. I don't think we can think GAO LI SENG, u have to double confirm with the medical halls.

Oh yah for the third trimester MTBs, please increase your intake of protein, vitamin C, folic acid, and iron. This is the time when bb is developing her brain.

Hi Samantha,

Of all the three brands, Madame mat pads are the longest (like sofy night) and widest. Smooth.
Kotex mat pads are long (but not as long as madame) and slightly wider towards the back part. Smooth also.
Mothercare pads are long (but not as long as madame)but slimmer ie. narrower. smooth also.

of the three, only kotex is individually wrapped. Madame and Mothercare come in packs of ten. Ie. one pack inside got ten pads, not individually wrapped.

Price wise, for ten pieces, kotex in the $5+ range, mothercare i can't remember is $5+ or $6+. Madame is the cheapest, think $2.90-$3.90 depending on where you buy from.

So far mat pads usually don't have wings. I'm thinking of using a mat pad on top of soft night with wings, if the flow is too heavy heh

dun really understand about putting on 2 pads... the bottom layer that sticks to the panty is waterproof material right? so no matter how heavy the flow is, it won't flow to the panty... only that we will feel uncomfortable more easily during heavy flow days so need to change more frequently.

tingting
I agree with you. there is a plastic bottom layer which prevents flow to the bottom pad (if attached)

Also, i've been using tampons since 17 years old and don't know how to use pads anymore. Can we use tampons?

allo Lib
I don't know if my meal times are far apart. I will take breakfast at 9ish, then lunch at 2ish, then dinner at 8ish if I eat 3 meals a day. If I eat only 2 meals a day, it will be 9ish, then 7ish. In between, no snack cos if I snack, I will not be able to eat my dinner.

I must ask my gynae when I see him 2 weeks later cos seriously my appetite is really quite non-existent and I don't feel hungry BUT my tummy is HUGEEEEE.

I've posted pictures of my tummy before, any mommies-to-be here wanna share their tummy photo? Sometimes my tummy feel so low and tight, it feels like my bb is going to drop out.

I am so tempted to buy the Medela PIS. Any mother-to-be wanna purchase together. The lowest price I can get is $550 (not the traveller) with one cooler bag.'

If I can gather more orders, maybe can push down the price further...

angel ...

am tempted to buy the PIS oso ... but wanna make sure that i have the discipline and cfm successful in bf first then I buy lor ... not cheap ler ... so much cfm first ...

when you intend to buy?

Angel, are you coming to the 2nd Jul tea party at Reenie's place? if so, we would be able to see all tummies at real-time!

Hi Seabreeze/angel,
You all buying the Medela pump now? very expensive leh. i think i will wait until i confirm can bf then invest. Too big a sum of $$ leh.

Hey Angel,
Mums & Babes is selling PIS traveller at S$599 (original S$699) (comes with a ear thermometer)....What's the diff between yours n this one? cos i thought there is only one type?

Hi tingting,
i also don't understand but according to my sister-in-law and cousin who both gave birth at TMC, that's what the nurse will ask you to do.. i also dunno how that will work out..

samantha ...

same same ... me bought the avent manual one first ... PIS will decide when I go back to work ... must cfm can bf first ....

aidanee
i am getting the PIS from my daddy's supplier. My daddy used to retail bb's stuff. Now he doesn't anymore as he's retired and sold off his shop. Recently, he brought me to his distributor to buy bb products (prices only a tiny wee bit lower than market so I feel it's not really worth it but I give face so just buy a few items from her) The distributor lady told me the one which she is going to sell me at $550 comes with in a carrier bag (not backpack - PIS traveller is a backpack). If Mums & Babes offer at $599 with ear thermometer than it's better value for $ as I understand ear thermometer cost $89 to $100+ (is it??) In that case, I will buy from Mums & Babes instead of my daddy's supplier. may i ask where is Mums & Babes?

allo Samantha and Seabreeze
it's supply vs demand I read. Must persist. No milk also must persist then milk will come in. If we don't latch bb on for suckle, there will not be milk so no milk also must let bb suckle. Even if bb cry after suckling cos she/he not getting milk supply, we must harden our heart and persist and not give FM.

For me, I want to take a gamble cos even if i try my hardest and still not successful, I can sell it away cos got resale value of abt $450+ for a relatively new set. Putting the $ down is also a way for me to persist with breastfeeding and not giving up so easily.

aidanee
I can't come to the tea party cos I have antenatal class at 4.30pm that day. It will be too rush for me cos my hubby doesn't wake up early on weekends (if I wake him up, sure kena scolding) and I can't drive myself there. No licence lah!!!

Take lots of pictures and email me okie.

Lib,
I think i better ask my mil to check again cos she told me the medical hall guy said Gao Li Seng is good for mum n babe. so i drank. But now we are moving into 3rd tri....dun know if it will be too heaty. Sigh, she sure tell me got good stuff to drink also so picky! My hubby ever hinted to add Dong Chong Cao, but she said bb cannot take. So only make for my hubby to drink. I remembered Mrs Wong saying Dong ChongCao is good.

my mummy doesn't approve of me wanting to breast for min 6 months. She say the bb will 'suck' away all my nutrients, make me weak etc etc. Sigh.. old people!!

angel ...

thats actually wat alot of ppl tell me lar ... SS vs DD ... but hor ... dunno ler ... still thinking lar ...

anyway kiddy palace oso selling the PIS ... got 20% off for the PIS if I am not wrong ... saw it at the J8 branch ...

angel, cannot use tampons due 2 d risk of infection. i dun tink i wld b buying d pump 1st, unless cfmed can BF. 2 big an investment.

allo aidanee
Dong Chong Cao is GOOOODDDD for baby and mother. My mummy also said no need dong chong cao, just need to make 'bu' tang can already. She also said no need to drink bird nest, just make barley with gingko nuts and fu zhou can liao... sigh my mummy really niao la

I hint and hint and hint, till now, I still don't get to drink any dong chong chao soup

adianne ...

me alt bet birdnest and dong chong cao every week ... tot that dong chong cao is good ... think can continue to eat the tonic unless dr say tat baby is too big lar ...

angel, i thought the backpack looks abit bulky but that's meant for travelling... my gf visited me during my first tri...and she came with the backpack. so amazed the amount she can get within 10mins. and she said no discomfort at all.

Mums & Babes at Novena Sq & Plaza Sing. She can check them out and compare lor.....i only asked them briefly cos i was thinking of getting the Ameda one...but not now lah cos i think i can make do with the Avent one for the first few months. will try to latch on instead of pumping.

like tat ah...i think she bought alot of dong chong cao last time cos she was rushing her two sons to procreate....but we were not keen! hahaha, maybe now got grandson liao, no need to spend so much on the mother already! oh, I love the fu zhou gingko dessert!!

I will ask my mom if she has any supplies of dong chong cao at home and ask her to make some....can give to my bro too, prepare him for procreation. hahaha.....

Wow...Seabreeze, envy you!!

kiddy palace got 20% off...can check PIS out.

Hi aidanee, nope.. this is my first time buying from littledreamers. In fact, I just know of this when I am preggie this time round. I should hv got to know about the products in my first pregnancy! hahaha...regret..

I think now is not the time to take dong cong cao (cordyceps) oredi.. cos it's heaty. I took it in my 2nd tri. Now should be taking bird's nest. But I haven started yet.. mil will only make for me near to end tri.

btw, just now went to see my doc for my thyroid check up.. then weighed myself... walao! Put on 13 kg to date! My wt now is 66.3 kg! *faintz....*

(sigH) for me, if mil makes dong cong cao with birdnest, i sure drink...even if it is heaty. no such priviledge after i give birth cos my sis in law is preg too, so after my birth, she will have to "focus" on her...hahaha...

Good afternoon all MTB,
went ikea to buy the bath tub recommended by you all. Hehehe... $12. Very nice blue leh. I like it alot. Thanks for the recommendation.

Wow... the PIS is really ex man. I think I will also confirm can BF then I invest. Think try the Avent Manual one first, cheaper.

Hmm... I not very pampered leh. Don't have any tonics from in-laws. I brew barley drink for myself once in a while though. You all so lucky leh. Must treasure!!!

I know what i am going to do re PIS. I am going to ask my friends to give it to me as bb 1st month pressie!!!! My friends asked me what I need and I told them 'what I want is v ex so I dare not open mouth' then they say, 'nevermind, just tell us'.... and I am going to.. *evil grin*

just called Mums & Babes, they are still giving away free ear/forehead thermometer retailing at $79 so $599-$79=$529 (cheapest I can find)

gotta go.. driving lesson and then mahjong later.

chat later.. bye bye

PS: btw, I will not be able to get my licence before I deliver even if I pass 1st attempt cos the the earliest driving test date I can get now is in August and I am not permitted to learn driving/test after 25 July. sob sob

anyway, I FAILED my final theory. sigh.. mahjong all the time and never study. I deserve to fail. hehe Retest again on 7 July. Wish me luck.

Hi Sam & Angel,

Thanks for sharing. My hubby keeps pressurising me that the baby is not putting on enough weight. I also dunno what to do. He keeps saying it's cos I am not eating the right stuff and I don't go for regular meals
Very stress. Now he makes me milk every night.

Hi Angel,
Your life sounds good. we are still down here slogging away.... haven't been playing mj for a long time liao.

Hi anissa,
No stress. bb grow at their own pace. my colleague was saying most pp grow fat themselves rather than bb.
Wow, your hubby quite caring. good for you. think my hubby very bochap.

angel/seabreeze, dat day went to kpo ask how much is the dongcongcao, the person recommended a pack dat cost abt $200+, he say veri gd quality liao leh..$800+ must be superb quality. so far the ones my mom bot for me cost abt $200..i find quite ex oredi. my mom was saying dongcongcao helps to "bu" bb's respiratory system, thot better take cos me & my hb got sensitive nose/sinus la..

angel, u considering ameda pump? heard it's cheaper & good too?

timie ...

think my mum bought the $200++ one ... not the $800++ ... rather buy a PIS then heehee ....

anissa ...

as long as your gynae says that the baby is of a ok size then I think its fine ... my gynae always tell me to listen to him enough ... dun be too bothered by what other people say ...